Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Manchester United Superthread 2014 mod warning #8081

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,833 ✭✭✭✭dahat

Phil Neville and Chris woods gone as well, had hoped Woods would be kept as De Gea has improved a lot this season under him.

• Site Banned Posts: 4,925 ✭✭✭Agueroooo

I hope Van Gaal is announced this week, I've a lot of worried rival supporting friends :D

as a rival fan I wouldn't be overly worried about Van Gall tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,446 ✭✭✭glued

Agueroooo wrote: »

O RLY?

Less than a month ago you said this:
    be careful what you wish for.

Van Gaal would be an exceptional appointing for Utd and something every Liverpool supporter should be worried about.

there is so much fluff and deadwood weighing them down at present that Van Gaal would shift in a matter of months with his no nonsense attitude.

that was something I was hoping wouldn't happen with a less aggressive appointment.

You've changed your tune quickly :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,843 ✭✭✭GSPfan

Not overly worried but you are worried???? :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,748 ✭✭✭✭Lovely Bloke

jesus christ

what's changed in a month? Or are we going to argue semantics between "worried" and "overly worried" in an attempt to worm out of this one?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,961 ✭✭✭markcahill1985

Reported now that Woodward has contacted rene to make a return and told P Neville that he has no future at club, right moves if through, the players loved Rene training, RVP is going to be a beats again next year!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,431 ✭✭✭Felexicon

KH25 wrote: »
    Jones and Smalling have been messed about by constantly being thrown in at RB, and not getting a good, consistent run at CB.

Yeah I'm not saying they're crap or anything just that they're not fullbacks and we need players who can play that position

Classic City fans, changing their tune at the drop of a hat

glued wrote: »
    O RLY?

Ancelotti for me would be the worse case scenario as a rival fan.

Van Gaal will do the clear out (no probs) but when it comes to a new starting point and ethos for Utd - Anceloltti would imo be the better candidate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

Full blown clear out going on it seems

Badly needed

there is definately weight behind the theory now that our squad size is going to be reduced due to no CL football. its highely likely that 8 or 9 faces will go and we will only bring in 3, max 4 players plus young lads like Wilson and Keane coming in.

if you look at it this way, we have already slashed £11.4million off the wage bill

Rio - £100k p/w
    Vidic - £120k k p/w

add Evra, Anderson, Nani and Giggs to that and goes up another £15.6million per year so its highly plausible that the wage bill will be £27million cut before we start budgeting for new players.

Bebe, Macheda adds another 800k and if you add somebody like Young, you can add another £5million to that.

it looks like our squad size will be about 20 players next season, with 5 or 6 young lads like Wilson, Adnan, Keane, Powell, Lawrence & maybe Varela making up the rest.

Van Gaals record speaks for itself in fairness.

No reason why he can't do well at ManU. I guess the only thing is he doesn't tend to hang around in jobs for a long period.

He should steer the club is the right direction though after the Moyes mess

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,843 ✭✭✭GSPfan

Van Gaal , Rene, Giggs.

That has to be the best coaching set up for us at the moment you would think.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,724 ✭✭✭tallaghtmick

glued wrote: »
    O RLY?

Don't ye hate when that happens :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,553 ✭✭✭✭Copper_pipe

So much change!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,748 ✭✭✭✭Lovely Bloke

So much change!

In Aguero's opinion, or at Manchester United?

Don't ye hate when that happens :p

nothing to hate.

read both posts.I was hoping Utd would stagnate for longer, but it seems the correct action has/is being taking and a no nonsense manager is doing the cutting- kudos to that.

but Ancelotti is 54yrs old (Van Gall 62yrs old) and has a more recent track record - not that Van Gall does not have an exceptional record, but taking everything into consideration, for me, I would have been more concerned if Ancelotti got the job.

all subjective, but hey imagine that on an internet forum.:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 553 ✭✭✭upstairs for coffee

GSPfan wrote: »
    Van Gaal , Rene, Giggs.

That has to be the best coaching set up for us at the moment you would think.
    All good except for Giggs.

nothing to hate.

read both posts.I was hoping Utd would stagnate for longer, but it seems the correct action has/is being taking and a no nonsense manager is doing the cutting- kudos to that.

but Ancelotti is 54yrs old (Van Gall 62yrs old) and has a more recent track record - not that Van Gall does not have an exceptional record, but taking everything into consideration, for me, I would have been more concerned if Ancelotti got the job.

all subjective, but hey imagine that on an internet forum.:cool:

Dig up Augerooo, dig up!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,222 ✭✭✭✭Will I Amnt

All good except for Giggs.

Reasons?

• All good except for Giggs.
    Don't agree here, think it's a great opportunity for both Giggs to learn & Van Gal to ensure he keeps someone who knows the club inside - out.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,930 ✭✭✭KH25

Van Gaal has said he always keeps 1 member of staff around when he joins a new club so he knows whats in the youth ranks. I wonder who that would be? I doubt it would be Giggsy tbh, though I think he will be around in some capacity (same with Scholes and Butt).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 930 ✭✭✭aperture_nuig

dahat wrote: »
    Phil Neville and Chris woods gone as well, had hoped Woods would be kept as De Gea has improved a lot this season under him.

Do you have a link for that?

I read that they were only being kept on until the end of the season,after the Moyes sacking!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,437 ✭✭✭redbaron_99

Deiseboy01 wrote: »
    So just for the record you are standing by two facts, Bill Foulkes is a better player than Rio and football today is no better than in 1950's/60's?

Having Foulkes in a top five ahead of Rio is sentiment and probably a little anti Rio sentiment.

Firstly, I am not stating anything as fact. I'm giving an opinion. There's a big difference. Don't be putting words in my mouth.

It's an old debate - comparing players from different eras. But one I do find interesting. And it's legitimate to compare United's best defender of the 60s and one of United's best modern defenders. Just as it's legitimate to compare Ronaldo to Best. Scholes to Charlton. Rooney to Law. And so on.

Football has improved greatly over recent years, but it is the same sport and it's wrong to dismiss top players from the 60s.

I believe that any player of that time would be massively improved if magically transported into the modern game. Any player would be better thanks to the improvements in diet, modern coaching, fitness regimes, better lifestyle, not having to play on dreadful pitches and not having to play with a football that weighed near what a basket ball does.

And I think Buckety stated that a player like Foulkes would be inferior for not having played against so many players from other countries, and being restricted to playing against players from the UK. Again I would disagree. Foulkes would have been restricted to playing against british strikers, but he was good enough to step it up and to win the European Cup on the rare occasion that he played in that competition.

Food for thought.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,495 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

And I think Buckety stated that a player like Foulkes would be inferior for not having played against so many players from other countries, and being restricted to playing against players from the UK.

It was somebody else who said that.

I said that you actually do not have a clue how good Foulkes was, you have never seen him play and don't even know his strengths or weaknesses. You are listing him as one of United top five greatest defenders based on absolutely nothing more than his name in the annals of history.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,638 ✭✭✭ericzeking

This is why DDG is one of my favourite players...last year it was a case of we needed to keep Steele cos he was so instrumental to his development, this year it's Woods....fact is DDG is just the dogs bollock$...gets on with his work no matter what and is a class act.
    Reported now that Woodward has contacted rene to make a return and told P Neville that he has no future at club, right moves if through, the players loved Rene training, RVP is going to be a beats again next year!

And this is why RVP is perhaps my least favourite player...doesn't like training...sulks

If Phil Neville is gone I can't wait to hear his take on the things that went on this year. For someone who is United through and through and part of the class of 92 to be turfed out separately to the rest of the class would suggest his loyalty to David Moyes was unmoved.

It's been a sh!t season on so many levels but there are going to be some great tales to be told on the back of it.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,737 ✭✭✭Hococop

ericzeking wrote: »
    This is why DDG is one of my favourite players...last year it was a case of we needed to keep Steele cos he was so instrumental to his development, this year it's Woods....fact is DDG is just the dogs bollock$...gets on with his work no matter what and is a class act.

And this is why RVP is perhaps my least favourite player...doesn't like training...sulks

If Phil Neville is gone I can't wait to hear his take on the things that went on this year. For someone who is United through and through and part of the class of 92 to be turfed out separately to the rest of the class would suggest his loyalty to David Moyes was unmoved.

It's been a sh!t season on so many levels but there are going to be some great tales to be told on the back of it.

i remember someone saying fergie had him on a special training regime which helped him from picking up injuries, when moyes arrived he got rid of the training plan and had him doing the same training as the rest of the squad which is why he pick up a few more injuries. but as i said this is what i read it could all be just rumors

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,333 ✭✭✭jonnyfingers

While I think Neville and Woods have been good, well Woods more-so than Neville, I'm kind of glad to see Woodward being decisive. This time last year he was new to the job, so was Moyes, and I think a bit too much trust was given to the outgoing personnel like SAF and the existing senior players. Woodward must know that the transfer business in the summer was a mess and hopefully he's learned from that and is looking to hit the ground running this year.

Already he's brought the hammer down on Rio, Neville and Woods and has launched a bid for Shaw. Get a new manager in now and we're well on our way to turning things around.

here would be our squad at the moment for next season, with those in red then likely to leave.

this gives us 3 keepers, 2 fullbacks, 3 centerbacks, 4 wingers, 7 midfielders and 4 strikers - thats a squad of 23 with 5 young lads then as back up.

our squad is still huge (even accounting for 8 departures) but on paper, the quality is shocking. its quite possible that up to 3 more players from that list below will leave to balance the books.

Keepers (3)
    David de Gea
    Anders Lindegaard
    Ben Amos/Sam Johnstone

Full Backs (2)
    Alexander Buttner
    Rafael da Silva

Center Backs (3)
    Phil Jones
    Chris Smalling
    Jonny Evans

Wingers (4)
    Ashley Young
    Antonio Valencia
    Wilfried Zaha
    Adnan Januzaj

Midfielders (7)
    Nick Powell
    Juan Mata
    Michael Carrick
    Tom Cleverley
    Marouane Fellaini
    Shinji Kagawa
    Darren Fletcher

Strikers (4)
    Wayne Rooney
    Robin van Persie
    Javier Hernandez
    Danny Welbeck

Possible Youth Players-5
    Varela
    Janko
    Keane
    Wilson
    Lawrence

Likely to leave - 6
    Ryan Giggs
    Patrice Evra
    Nani
    Anderson
    Bebe
    Macheda

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,137 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

Hococop wrote: »
    i remember someone saying fergie had him on a special training regime which helped him from picking up injuries, when moyes arrived he got rid of the training plan and had him doing the same training as the rest of the squad which is why he pick up a few more injuries. but as i said this is what i read it could all be just rumors

I think its more confusion in regards to what constitutes training. i'm of the understanding and belief that Van Persie's customised schedule did not change, the only change was to the agility and tactical work that Moyes would oversee with his team.

There is gym work along with personal regimes assigned for most players, which are done individually with those players. I do not believe they were changed for the high risk players, but they were subject to agility and tactical training as the rest of the squad.

This is the stuff where you see all the players together in photos, or doing little darts through angled sticks or cones etc.

It's normal this is done as a group, obviously photos arn't as compelling when its one player running with his trainer, or cycling on a bike in the gym, most photos you see from the club are the group sessions.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,638 ✭✭✭ericzeking

Hococop wrote: »

Every time I mention RVPs attitude this year someone comes back with that stuff about the specialist training...which I agree with by the way.... the specialist training.

And anyway, the medical staff remained the same and it's not like Moyes, Round, Neville etc had him running up mountains with logs across his shoulders.... he did some extra training, some different training, big deal, you're a professional athlete, get on with it.

None of it excuses the fact that his attitude was poor this season.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,961 ✭✭✭markcahill1985

ericzeking wrote: »
    Every time I mention RVPs attitude this year someone comes back with that stuff about the specialist training...which I agree with by the way.... the specialist training.

And anyway, the medical staff remained the same and it's not like Moyes, Round, Neville etc had him running up mountains with logs across his shoulders.... he did some extra training, some different training, big deal, you're a professional athlete, get on with it.

None of it excuses the fact that his attitude was poor this season.

Theres no doubt his attitude was off and that he clashed with Moyes, in regards to training its just a fact that some players are more prone to injury than others and when thats the case their weekly training should just be geared to getting them into prime condition for matchday. RVP was on a specialist training regime in his last year and Arsenal and under Fergie last year. If/when LVG comes in and Rene comes back then this will be the case again and we will see the rewards of it come matchday. paul McGrath never trained in his time with Villa and still won player of the year, would Villa fans have preferred his outstanding performances or for him to have done a full weeks training?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,724 ✭✭✭tallaghtmick

Couple of bits of paper rumours today

The Mirror: Arsenal target Karim Benzema could leave Real Madrid in the summer, with Manchester United another possible destination.

Daily Mail: England left-back Luke Shaw will join Manchester United from Southampton for £27m before the World Cup in Brazil.

Daily Express: Manchester United want Borussia Dortmund defender Mats Hummels to replace Rio Ferdinand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,437 ✭✭✭redbaron_99

It was somebody else who said that.

I said that you actually do not have a clue how good Foulkes was, you have never seen him play and don't even know his strengths or weaknesses. You are listing him as one of United top five greatest defenders based on absolutely nothing more than his name in the annals of history.

Sorry, I wronged you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,137 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

I think Young, after missing out on the World Cup as the final nail in the coffin, is likely to leave. I can see a future for Cleverly under new management.

Carrick is touch and go imo, again his WC omission where he was a shoe in 18 months ago, and indication of his piss poor form.

I think Smalling needs a crack at CB with Jones, otherwise they simply won't develop, remove the errors from their game and will be wasted talent. Smalling is very unimpressive for a lot of fans, I find him the exact opposite, but he needs an extended run. The main issue I see is probably a big name CB coming, along with the pecking order of Evans, Smalling or Jones, maybe both, will miss out another season where they should be developing their game at CB.

To be fair to them both it's not their fault, but I at this point fear for them longterm, and unless they really stake a claim next year they both have a real chance of turning into utility players, who rarely become mainstays or powerful players.

Zaha has tarnished a once in a lifetime opportunity with his piss poor attitude. Might get a chance under LVG, who won't tolerate his slack attitude. Make or break season for him, if hes gone out on loan again, be more then likely gone.

Kagawa is a main concern for me, can't ever see him fitting into a team that contains Mata, Rooney and RVP. As much as we can romance about formations, I don't think there is space for him. Might get renewed lease of life under Van Gaal who might deploy him properly or get the best from him out of position, but could just as easily be sold. Could be a makeshift in an attempt on Hummels or Reus as well. (I'm also a big fan of Bender, pretty under the radar at the moment, excellent CM/DM).

I'd imagine with LVG incoming RVP will hang on and any doubts or lingering worries he had will evaporate. Hopefully propels him back into form, his goals and clever play should bag the goals to help get back the title, if not top 4 at a minimum.

With Vidic and Ferdinand gone, two great players for the club, it does provide an avenue for Smalling and Jones to stake a claim. I imagine a CB will come in, but personally if one doesn't, I wouldn't be in tatters thinking forward of a CB trio of Jones, Smalling and Evans.

LB obviously something needs addressing. Feel some sympathy for Buttner, did well coming in this year. His positioning for offside can be ropey but that comes with experience, isn't REALLY getting a fair crack of the whip.

I don't see why or how we need another striker, so not buying into Cavani stuff. He's unhappy with PSG because hes playing wide of the middle accomadating Zlatan, why would he come here to do the same? Might have been contingency planning for RVP departure, but that doesnt look likely so I'd imagine Cavani interest will cool off.

CM x2 ( one world class) to accompany Cleverly, Fellaini and Carrick into the season would do nicely for me.

LB to come into the first team with Buttner backup

CB , world class, if possible. See no benefit buying potential or "for the sake" of it, with Smalling and Jones ready to step in.

Winger. Valencia, Nani and Young simply arn't performing to consistent levels. Need someone with pace and ability to take players on 1 on 1. Januz doing ok this season, but he's being viewed as a 10.

That's my opinion on it, five players there, I'd say we would be doing well to get three this summer considering all the mitigating factors. CM, LB and winger would be my priority.

We can't continue with our wingers on such sporadic.horrendous form.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,832 ✭✭✭✭Blatter

I would have thought Hernandez is likely to leave.

I also think there's a good chance that there's truth to the rumours that van Gaal would want to keep Nani. I'd say he knows that he's a much better option than Young or Valencia and only 27. He scored twice and played brilliantly against his Bayern side in the CL QF in 2010, I'd say he might remember that. He was also quite good at Euro 2012 and in the CL last 16 2nd leg v Madrid last season, matches van Gaal would have probably seen. Hopefully he backs himself to get the best out of him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,333 ✭✭✭jonnyfingers

In an ideal world I'd like to see Smalling/Evans and Jones as our CB partnership next season. It's the same formula we've had with Vidic and Rio, Pallister and Bruce - one tough and the other slightly more of a ball player with pace. I think they could be good enough, especially if they get consistent game time, but it would probably be too much of a risk to try it after the disaster of the last season.

I would be happy with one absolutely word class CB coming in to replace Vidic but I'd like to see a youth player come in to replace Rio

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,001 ✭✭✭Backstreet Moyes

Jones is constantly picking up injuries. Smalling and Evans also don't have the best injury record. It would be a disaster starting next season with those 3 as our only cb players. Realistically we need at least 1 and promote Keane.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,001 ✭✭✭Backstreet Moyes

Who do people think could excel in Van Gaal's fluid attacking system. I certainly think Nani, Kagawa and Wellbeck could really benefit from it.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,172 ✭✭✭wadacrack

Felexicon wrote: »
    How cheap? How do you know his price?

Who linked him with Madrid?

Stop playing Football Manager
    Because he is playing with Granada. He will be much cheaper than Shaw and better value. http://www.insidespanishfootball.com/103219/siqueira-set-to-be-first-real-madrid-summer-signing/ He has an 8million euro option of joining Benfica so if a greater bid came in he may be tempted as Granada are in need of the funds, Maybe u should turn of Sky Sports news

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,553 ✭✭✭✭Copper_pipe

In Aguero's opinion, or at Manchester United?

Manchester United

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,777 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

Nuts102 wrote: »
    Who do people think could excel in Van Gaal's fluid attacking system. I certainly think Nani, Kagawa and Wellbeck could really benefit from it.

Rooney actually if his attitude is right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,026 ✭✭✭duffman13

In fairness its not Vertonghans fault that Belguim don't have any full backs. He is a CB, and a very good one, I would be more than happy if he was signed this summer.

I didn't say it was. He has also played there for Spurs, would you be happy if he was the only CB signed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,006 ✭✭✭beno619

Nuts102 wrote: »
    Jones is constantly picking up injuries. Smalling and Evans also don't have the best injury record. It would be a disaster starting next season with those 3 as our only cb players. Realistically we need at least 1 and promote Keane.

Yep in an ideal world we would go into the season with the players mentioned plus Michael Keane but their history with injury is appalling.

the main worry i have is that at the moment we have only 5 defenders for next season, 3 of them are very very injury proned, if not 4 including Evans.

thats not ideal is it? need two top class defenders in at least, with keane being the 8th defender then. i mean, look how costly it was having to play Valencia at RB this season and Carrick had to play there a few times also.

i know he is not the answer to our problems, but seeing as it was clear that Rio, Vidic and Evra were leaving, i dont see the sense in selling Fabio, a loan deal surely was a better option.

Bruce wouldn't lace Ferdinand's boots either IMO.

There was a thing here maybe a couple of years ago where people picked the best United team of their lifetime and the amount of people picking Bruce compared to Pallister was unbelievable. Bruce was your prototypical British-pleasing player - ugly, committed, blood and thunder stuff and could knock one in from a corner, but Pallister was by a milllllllllllllllllllle the better player.

duffman13 wrote: »
    I didn't say it was. He has also played there for Spurs, would you be happy if he was the only CB signed?

Before the season just gone I'd have rated Vertonghan as possibly the best CB in the EPL in terms of upside, i.e. current performance and likely future development. Still think he'd be a superb signing for any team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,006 ✭✭✭beno619

i know he is not the answer to our problems, but seeing as it was clear that Rio, Vidic and Evra were leaving, i dont see the sense in selling Fabio, a loan deal surely was a better option.

Letting him and Ando go enrages me to the day, he weakened the squad in January.