Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Manchester United Superthread 2014 mod warning #8081

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,825 ✭✭✭Mikeyt086

IrishIrish wrote: »
    This is a genuine question...

Why do you think he has been picked for France world cup squad and will most likely be the starting left back? Must seem like a crazy decision for you if he's as bad as you seem to think.

I don't know why France have picked him. Presumably they still think he has something to offer the setup.

It does seem like a crazy decision to me, but thats not like the French national team at all, is it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,437 ✭✭✭redbaron_99

i think you should point the fingers at others before Evra for this game.

first goal the entire team went to sleep and Evra the LB is the only one that was actually trying to challenge the header in the center of defence - RB, CB and CB all went missing

2nd goal Vidic was beaten to the ball from a fairly innocuous cross that originally came from the right hand side again.

3rd goal deflected in off Vidic who stood off Robben and let him run. you could say Evra didnt challenge either but the ball literally travelled 70 yards straight to Robben and his run wasnt challenged by anybody.

its a but much to blame Evra when Vidic should be the first person you should be pointing fingers at.

Evra was poor for the goals in that game. Other players weren't good, but that doesn't change the fact that he was poor.

His challenge for the first goal was half hearted.
    He was definitely at fault for the second. He stood off robben and allowed him time to pick out the ball for the goal.
    Weak challenge for the third goal allowed robben to get run right at our centre backs.

Robbie fowler thinks van gaal is too old, and that we should have went for a young British manager.

Lol

A guy a work with (big Utd fan) thinks the same. Same chap wanted Martinez in last year and says he'd still like to see him there.

After Moyes it'd be too much of a risk tbf. Van Gaal should steer Utd back on the right track. Less risk involved. He'll also attract a higher quality of player.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,437 ✭✭✭redbaron_99

rarnes1 wrote: »
    A guy a work with (big Utd fan) thinks the same. Same chap wanted Martinez in last year and says he'd still like to see him there.

After Moyes it'd be too much of a risk tbf. Van Gaal should steer Utd back on the right track. Less risk involved. He'll also attract a higher quality of player.

Martinez is a good manager. But the size f the united job and the pressure that goes with it could easily crush him.

Van gaal is perfect for it IMO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 449 ✭✭SeanJ09

Evra has been below par since the 2009 Champions League Final IMO.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,446 ✭✭✭glued

rarnes1 wrote: »

Fowler is just stirring shít along with a couple of ex-United players looking out for Giggs. Hiring Giggs as manager would be a disaster. Martinez has won an FA Cup. That's it. Sure Everton played some nice stuff this year but I'd rather see a manager sustain that rather than a one season wonder. Also it might be just me but I don't like Martinez. He just seems to whinge about every little decision. I don't really like him but I do admire his style.

van Gaal is the perfect fit for United. We need a strong leader now. We need to attract players and van Gaal is somebody who can do that. We need a winner. He's probably only going to be here for 3 years and in that time we should be in much better shape than we are now and the likes of Klopp, Guardiola etc. will be available again.

Ferguson didn't really do Moyes a whole lot of favours with the squad he left. We have no competent central midfielder. We have an ageing squad. We had poor competition for places. Yes, they won the Premiership but there was little talent coming through. There was a hundred reasons why this season was a disaster and sacking Moyes and moving on some of the elder statesmen solves a few of those problems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,706 ✭✭✭Schwiiing

Robbie fowler thinks van gaal is too old, and that we should have went for a young British manager.

Lol

Kenny Dalglish thinks we should have signed Steve Bruce as manager lol. :pac::D:eek::rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,222 ✭✭✭✭Will I Amnt

Schwiiing wrote: »
    Kenny Dalglish thinks we should have signed Steve Bruce as manager lol. :pac::D:eek::rolleyes:

The rest of them think we should have kept Moyes :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 5,737 ✭✭✭Hococop

some opening 20 minutes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,017 ✭✭✭sReq | uTeK

Blatter wrote: »
    It's not very clear to me at all. Evans is good but overrated, Jones and Smalling have a higher ceiling than him IMO.

Couldn't disagree more, every time I've seen Phil Jones play he's liable to do something stupid and if he doesn't he normally injures himself.

Smalling for me is better than Jones but again he's suspect in half the games he's played, Evans for me is significantly better than the other 2. It's funny you call him overrated he was probably our best player playing the season we lost out on goals but before that came under stick every time he was named in the team

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

Hernandez has apparently said he is staying on at the club now.

its a shame that Vidic didnt wait to see if Moyes would stay or not :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,006 ✭✭✭beno619

Delighted for Atletico :)

Fair play to atletico for holding on, nice to see new title holders after years of barca and real

• Registered Users Posts: 1,000 ✭✭✭IrishIrish

I heard one of the ex players on MUTV mention that they'd been talking to Vidic in the last week or so and asked him why he didn't stay at united. He told them that he really didn't want to leave but he wanted a 2 year deal and the club were only offering him a 1 year deal.

Might not be true either but from a better source than most!

• Registered Users Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭irishfeen

beno619 wrote: »
    Delighted for Atletico :)
    Hopefully they can go one better next Saturday night too :)

I heard one of the ex players on MUTV mention that they'd been talking to Vidic in the last week or so and asked him why he didn't stay at united. He told them that he really didn't want to leave but he wanted a 2 year deal and the club were only offering him a 1 year deal.

Remember that rumor around this thread when it came out vidic was leaving so might be a bit of truth to it

One of the slowest United Superthreads days I have ever seen - sad to see that we're not involved at the business end of the season :(

its 100% true but its also clear something else is at play. all players over 32 get one year rolling contracts. it was good enough for Giggs, Rio, Scholes, Van Der Sar, Carrick but unfortunately not for Vidic.

he would probably have been offered contracts for at least another 3 years. cant see any reason that he didnt want to accept it from that sense.

people go on about "one big final pay day". Im not even sure he would be getting more at Inter than the huge salary he was on (120k) when he went and signed for Inter.

there were stories around (unconfirmed as such) that he just wasnt getting on with some of the players and his relationship with others was passed the untenable stage and this could be another if not the main reason for it. his interview with the guardian the last day while not confirming problems, confimed that there were fights so maybe there is some truth in it.

irishfeen wrote: »
    One of the slowest United Superthreads days I have ever seen - sad to see that we're not involved at the business end of the season :(

Only Hull and Arsenal are today :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

Any United representatives at the German Cup Final?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,229 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

Welbeck should be sold.

That should speed things up.

J. Marston wrote: »
    Welbeck should be sold.

That should speed things up.
    That's the spirit lad :)

Only Hull and Arsenal are today :confused:
    Aye but if were playing in the final or looking forward to a CL final this place would be buzzing.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,000 ✭✭✭IrishIrish

its 100% true but its also clear something else is at play. all players over 32 get one year rolling contracts. it was good enough for Giggs, Rio, Scholes, Van Der Sar, Carrick but unfortunately not for Vidic.

he would probably have been offered contracts for at least another 3 years. cant see any reason that he didnt want to accept it from that sense.

people go on about "one big final pay day". Im not even sure he would be getting more at Inter than the huge salary he was on (120k) when he went and signed for Inter.

there were stories around (unconfirmed as such) that he just wasnt getting on with some of the players and his relationship with others was passed the untenable stage and this could be another if not the main reason for it. his interview with the guardian the last day while not confirming problems, confimed that there were fights so maybe there is some truth in it.

The ex player also mentioned that Vidic had told him he felt his 'role had changed', but didn't go in to more detail on what exactly that ment.

In relation to Kroos to United - what result do we want from the German Cup Final? Easy Bayern win?

Pep to take him off at half time,Kroos to throw his shirt at him & put on a United one before getting a cab to the airport.

I think that's right if they have an easy win it looks good for pep and we may have a chance for kroos if they lose pep could go and it changes transfer targets

zerks wrote: »
    Pep to take him off at half time,Kroos to throw his shirt at him & put on a United one before getting a cab to the airport.

Add in a stone cold stunner

Hococop wrote: »
    I think that's right if they have an easy win it looks good for pep and we may have a chance for kroos if they lose pep could go and it changes transfer targets
    Yeah that's exactly my thinking - keeping Pep as manager is probably our only hope in getting the lad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,833 ✭✭✭✭dahat

Sure he is only on loan there?

weve only played past the last day of the domestic season 3 times in the last 15 years! add in 3 CL finals and its 6 in 15 years.

Ya but your forgetting - our season has basically been over since the 9th April when we exited the CL...

In other matters, delighted for Wenger... maybe not as much of a specialist in failure anymore and even more credit to Hull and Steve Bruce for giving them a massive fright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,424 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Jesus its 6 years since we won CL.

Time has flew by.

Glad for Arsenal tbh. I wanted Hull to win them being underdog but I have a lot of respect for Arsenal.

Roy Keane :eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek:

just there on ITV was asked if they ever thought of giving Sir Alex Ferguson the bumps just like Arsenal players were going to Fergie.

"Yeah we would like to throw him up but not catch him".

Jesus its 6 years since we won CL.

Time has flew by.

Glad for Arsenal tbh. I wanted Hull to win them being underdog but I have a lot of respect for Arsenal.
    Ah Moscow 2008 - one of the best footballing nights of my life - Good times :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,944 ✭✭✭✭ShaneU

RVP scored

Kagawa tells us what we all pretty much knew:

http://www.japantimes.co.jp/sports/2014/05/17/soccer/international-soccer/kagawa-eager-get-brazil/?#.U3e0qnbnExZ
    The Brazil-bound midfielder said the troops at Old Trafford couldn’t wait for the June 12-July 13 tournament to begin with United’s campaign being sucked into a downward spiral that led to the dismissal of manager David Moyes.

United, Premier League champion the previous season under Alex Ferguson, finished seventh on the table, missing out on both the Champions and Europa Leagues. The Red Devils ended up 22 points behind new champion and crosstown rival Manchester City.

“Towards the end, everyone was just getting ready for the World Cup,” Kagawa said, looking back on a season in which he didn’t score a single goal. “That’s where everyone’s heart was by then. We were all trying to look forward.”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Hococop wrote: »
    Add in a stone cold stunner

He must drink the can of beer first to get it started.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,424 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Ah Moscow 2008 - one of the best footballing nights of my life - Good times :)

Some Hangover next morning.

I literally sat at my desk did no office work as my boss was away.

My voice was gone too. Ended up in Whelans on Camden Street. Watched it in temple bar lost friends met other friends and just got smashed.

I am almost certain I gave the taxi driver a nice tip even though I can't remember getting home or hearing my alarm go off for 40 minutes before I eventually got up.

I would do it all again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,241 ✭✭✭Vic Vinegar

Couple of Italian papers saying we bid €50 million for Vidal. That would be more like it value wise if Fellaini is worth paying £27 million for.

Couple of Italian papers saying we bid €50 million for Vidal. That would be more like it value wise if Fellaini is worth paying €27 million for.

Fellaini cost €33.8m

My voice was gone too. Ended up in Whelans on Camden Street. Watched it in temple bar lost friends met other friends and just got smashed.

I am almost certain I gave the taxi driver a nice tip even though I can't remember getting home or hearing my alarm go off for 40 minutes before I eventually got up.

I would do it all again.
    I was only small (17) :) - it was leaving cert time and jaysus the younger Chelsea supporting brother got an awful doing god bless him - we went fcuking mad celebrating :D

RVP's goal this evening:

http://gfycat.com/SereneAnotherInsect

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,982 ✭✭✭billyhead

Anybody think their is truth behind the rumours of LVG wanting Robben and if so where exactly would he fit in? Also does anyone else think his best days are behind him?

Dortmund should be one up, looks like the ball was well behind the line and had a stonewall penalty denied... Watching the last 20min and its an awful match so far.

Couple of Italian papers saying we bid €50 million for Vidal. That would be more like it value wise if Fellaini is worth paying €27 million for.

Papers are going to be filled with a lot of bollox over the next few months.

I do really hope there's 3 or 4 absolutely massive, f*ck off signings.
    There's a lot of piss ripping going on about what calibre of player United fans think they can get, you know they're secretly sh*tting themselves just in case... :pac:

billyhead wrote: »
    Anybody think their is truth behind the rumours of LVG wanting Robben and if so where exactly would he fit in? Also does anyone else think his best days are behind him?
    Right Wing in 4-3-3 and yeah probably but he's still class, and all our wingers have been terrible.

I would do it all again.

Ha ha,

I was on baby watch as my missus was nearly due,planned on going out & not drinking.............ended up drunk as a Lord falling in the door at 4.30am.
    Young lad wasn't born until a fortnight later.His first United kit is framed and hanging on his wall.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,690 ✭✭✭ElChe32

Dortmund should be one up, looks like the ball was well behind the line and had a stonewall penalty denied... Watching the last 20min and its an awful match so far.

Yeah fairly poor stuff, Neuer is all over the shop..so glad we got DDG when we did. Ribery has done nothing..don't see the hype about him at all.

ElChe32 wrote: »
    Yeah fairly poor stuff, Neuer is all over the shop..so glad we got DDG when we did. Ribery has done nothing..don't see the hype about him at all.
    Kroos do anything or has everyone just been generally s.hite??