Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Manchester United Superthread 2014 mod warning #8081

• Registered Users Posts: 33,756 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

do not want us to go near him. Repulsive footballer with his diving. Would probably cost us a lot of money, will be 31 next season and we don't need attacking players.

The money would be better spent on someone like Turan from Athletico. A player with a back bone.

Well I would prefer Muller who is a natural right winger, instead of Robben, he is one of the world's best in my opinion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,437 ✭✭✭redbaron_99

but the point remains, why go for more attacking players when we already have far too many, and are lacking in other areas?
    I suppose some of you want to see a couple of world class attackers coz it gives you a stiffy, but I think we'd be better off spending the war chest on midfield and defence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,508 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

The Iron Tulip sounds like a knight from South of the Wall in Westeros

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46,399 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

but the point remains, why go for more attacking players when we already have far too many, and are lacking in other areas?
    I suppose some of you want to see a couple of world class attackers coz it gives you a stiffy, but I think we'd be better off spending the war chest on midfield and defence.

I do think the priority has to be defence and central midfield - but if we get that sorted and can still bring in a top winger to replace Nani/Valencia/Young then go for it - none of those three have proven themselves worthy of a spot.

I think we could we could spend everything we have on 2 CBs, LF, and 2 CMs. If there's any left over, then look at replacing those three (which I agree are not doing enough to stay at the club).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,575 ✭✭✭NTMK

we need wingers we cant spend another season relying on young/val/nani 2 of them arent good enough and 1 of them hasnt shown his ability in 2 years.

it not our highest priority but a winger is still needed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,333 ✭✭✭brinty

Lads to turn things on there heads a little bit, who'd ye think LvG will chuck out/get rid off..

I'd say chico is in danger off getting the gate. I reckon he'll try and convert Valencia into a CM (he did that with Schweinsteiger) and could be the makings of cleverly (unless he fcuks him out the door) and Carrick might be sacrificied too. We can't afford him to drop anyone in defence, so everyone of them is safe..

On RB, janko can play their too, think himself and Varela have played the right side for the reserves and have interchanged

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,661 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

Robben is such a class act. Its a pity he's to old now thou :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

Some of LVGs comments suggest that there will be more departures. He certainly seems to have an idea of some players that he doesn't want. I'm very curious to find out who.

Edit:
    brinty wrote: »
    Lads to turn things on there heads a little bit, who'd ye think LvG will chuck out/get rid off...

Heh, only saw this after I posted.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,223 ✭✭✭Macca07

brinty wrote: »
    Lads to turn things on there heads a little bit, who'd ye think LvG will chuck out/get rid off..

I'd say chico is in danger off getting the gate. I reckon he'll try and convert Valencia into a CM (he did that with Schweinsteiger) and could be the makings of cleverly (unless he fcuks him out the door) and Carrick might be sacrificied too. We can't afford him to drop anyone in defence, so everyone of them is safe..

On RB, janko can play their too, think himself and Varela have played the right side for the reserves and have interchanged

I think he'd love a player like Chico, someone who has never complained about the lack of game time he is getting, who works hard when he gets a chance, and a great striker to bring on when needed.

Any CM that is currently at the club has a good chance of remaining at the club as we don't have the numbers there, unless we bring in 3 more CMs.

We have too many attacking players at the club, Nani, Young, Valencia and Kagawa could all be offloaded, but it all depends on the formation he wants to play.

RvP is going to be the main striker next season (and possible captain), Rooney is going to be out of position, Mata probably out of position.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,607 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

I wouldn't be shocked if Rooney Out stories start soon. And you'd imagine Hernandez and Welbeck could go for a multitude of reasons. And RVP will have the team built round him but is old and injury prone.

In which case a striker is suddenly a priority as well as defence and midfield and wingers.....

I wouldn't be shocked if Rooney Out stories start soon. And you'd imagine Hernandez and Welbeck could go for a multitude of reasons. And RVP will have the team built round him but is old and injury prone.

In which case a striker is suddenly a priority as well as defence and midfield and wingers.....

The second part of your post is a really good reason why the first part probably won't happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,137 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

Headshot wrote: »
    Robben is such a class act. Its a pity he's to old now thou :(

And a pity he didn't come here over Chelsea.

One of the magnificent slips by Gill in his time.

I see no chance of Welbeck leaving.

Home grown (Uefa/PL Squad rules), good player, can be deployed in a few positions and does what he is told tactically. I reckon LVG will love him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

TheDoc wrote: »

I read a piece on the Robben saga,he visited OT & Fergie with his folks.Everything was done & he was committed to United.The day he was supposed to sign the contract,he signed for Chelsea.Was he tapped up??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,019 ✭✭✭✭adox

As far as I remember it Utd did everything they could to sign Robben.
    He chose Chelsea in the end over them and said he thought he had more chance of winning things with Chelsea.

• Registered Users Posts: 361 ✭✭BazBox

zerks wrote: »
    I read a piece on the Robben saga,he visited OT & Fergie with his folks.Everything was done & he was committed to United.The day he was supposed to sign the contract,he signed for Chelsea.Was he tapped up??

Wasn't Kenyon the one who messed that deal up, apparently he knew he was leaving United for Chelsea so he meesed the deal up and then went back in for Robben as soon as he was at Chelsea??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

i get the feeling that alot of you are expecting us to spend the guts of £150million this summer.

i hope i am wrong, but i think lads will be disappointed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,704 ✭✭✭Corvo

I think you will see pretty significant departures, simply because the squad does not need to be as large as usual and I'm sure I seen quotes from Woodward before the beginning of last season that the squad heading into the campaign "had a little fat on it" or words to that effect.

Outs Confirmed:

Ferdinand
    Vidic
    Giggs

Outs Likely:

Evra
    Anderson
    Nani

We want to see out but unlikely

Young
    Valencia
    Cleverley

That Giggs thread is ****ing awful.
    Gives a huge insight in to some posters, if it wasnt needed already.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,928 ✭✭✭dubmick

Can someone send Woodward over to YaYa's gaff to wish him a happy belated birthday?

• Site Banned Posts: 4,925 ✭✭✭Agueroooo

i get the feeling that alot of you are expecting us to spend the guts of £150million this summer.

there is the guts of £50mil worth fluff lying around the edges of the first team ready to be off loaded.

£100mil wouldn't be a big stretch imo

I think £80-£100 million tops will be spent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,677 ✭✭✭Aenaes

What would you guys think if the club went in for Barry?

Aenaes wrote: »

I`d be disappointed.

Thats not to dismiss Barry, he is a very good player but Utd need to be aiming higher than that.

BazBox wrote: »
    Wasn't Kenyon the one who messed that deal up, apparently he knew he was leaving United for Chelsea so he meesed the deal up and then went back in for Robben as soon as he was at Chelsea??

Some sort of shenanigans went on alright,United believed the deal was sealed yet suddenly Robben was pictured signing for Chelsea.I could only imagine Fergie's reaction.

I find it odd we are linked with him at this stage,LVG is renowned for working with young talent & at 30 years old, Robben doesn't fit that profile.

adox wrote: »
    As far as I remember it Utd did everything they could to sign Robben.
    He chose Chelsea in the end over them and said he thought he had more chance of winning things with Chelsea.

I might be mistaken, but I was under the impression that Fergie confident everything was in place, left Gill to organise the finer points and sign the contract. When Chelsea offered a higher salary Gill decided not to pursue and he moved to Chelsea.

Appreciate that Gill most likely consulted Ferguson on the matter, but I recall from the time that Robben received an improved offer from Chelsea that we didn't want to match.

I find it odd we are linked with him at this stage,LVG is renowned for working with young talent & at 30 years old, Robben doesn't fit that profile.

The team is severely lacking in leaders right now; we're in a position where we will need some holder heads with experience coming in, as well as youth for the future.

Robben would be a class player who the new manager knows well, would improve a position we're weak in and would be a name signing that would boost morale. He'd be a great short term signing, allowing the likes of Lawerence and Januzaj another year or two to mature, and learn from one of the best.

I hate, hate, HATE his smug face, but there's no denying he wouldn't be a brilliant signing for us.

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcQWKHmVwxiyUq-L4iBzWU96rCMYVDBWBgqaD0bR92cqg3icq-f0

I think it was the Telegraph that did the latest fantasy lineup,they had Carrick in midfield.Somehow I don't think he'll fit into LVG's system which is all about total football & pace.Carvalho if we get him would be more suited to the role.
    Our big failing over the last 2 seasons was a chronic lack of mobility in midfield,keeping an aging Carrick will hardly solve that problem.

The team is severely lacking in leaders right now; we're in a position where we will need some holder heads with experience coming in, as well as youth for the future.

Robben would be a class player who the new manager knows well, would improve a position we're weak in and would be a name signing that would boost morale. He'd be a great short term signing, allowing the likes of Lawerence and Januzaj another year or two to mature, and learn from one of the best.

I hate, hate, HATE his smug face, but there's no denying he wouldn't be a brilliant signing for us.

£30 million is taking the piss though.

I'd be off the contraversial opinion that Carrick is now surplus to requirements.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,831 ✭✭✭Peanut Butter Jelly

I'd be off the contraversial opinion that Carrick is now surplus to requirements.

He's needed until we get a new CM. After that, it's really up to LVG about his future at United.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

Agueroooo wrote: »
    there is the guts of £50mil worth fluff lying around the edges of the first team ready to be off loaded.

is there?

the max we will take in this summer is about £20million and thats for Nani, Anderson and bebe...and thats even stretching it based on the numbers going around.

Macheda, Giggs, Rio, Vidic & Evra are all out of contract so not worth anything.

to hit £50million you'd need the likes of Hernandez, Young/Valencia and Kagawa leaving along with the players above.

Some sort of shenanigans went on alright,United believed the deal was sealed yet suddenly Robben was pictured signing for Chelsea.I could only imagine Fergie's reaction.

fergies done the same in his time to be fair

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

Kind of hard to judge that until we see who comes in this summer. One top class midfielder coming in means he still has a role but if two come in he's obviously not gonna be getting too much game time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,205 ✭✭✭Lucas Hood

Van Gaal has a bit of a history of converting players from one position to another, Does anyone think we may see some of our existing players converted to play in a different position?

Rooney to Cm seems a logical move to accommodate Mata & Rvp but I hope we sign at least 2 specialist Cm's instead.

£30 million is taking the piss though.

What's his contract status like? We paid how much for RVP who was a bit older and less "World Class" if I remember right...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

But Robben isn't a leader. He's not going to motivate others or drag us out of a hole. I really don't want him at the club.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,205 ✭✭✭Lucas Hood

What's his contract status like? We paid how much for RVP who was a bit older and less "World Class" if I remember right...
    He only extended his contract with Bayern in March till 2017.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,582 ✭✭✭NoviGlitzko

**** Robben. I hate him. Want him no-where near the club.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,638 ✭✭✭✭bangkok

Aenaes wrote: »

gareth Barry?!!!!!!!!!! :eek::eek::eek::eek:

NO NO NO NO.......

we are man utd!!!

I might be misunderstanding you, but Van Persie is only 4 months older than Robben and was signed two years ago, so he was 1.5 years younger?

Van Gaal loves his deep CM to be a thinking passer of the ball - Carrick is the ONLY midfielder we have that can argue to be that.

Lucas Hood wrote: »
    He only extended his contract with Bayern in March till 2017.

Feck it,go for Sanchez from Barca.Younger & cheaper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,762 ✭✭✭bmcc10

bangkok wrote: »
    gareth Barry?!!!!!!!!!! :eek::eek::eek::eek:

NO NO NO NO.......

we are man utd!!!

Might do a good job LW Bangkok?

Van Gaal loves his deep CM to be a thinking passer of the ball - Carrick is the ONLY midfielder we have that can argue to be that.

Yeah, a thinking passer, as in "I think I'll pass it back to rio"

Backwards & sideways with the odd long diagonal is not a thinking man's style of play.There's younger,more dynamic players out there & I'm sure LVG has targeted somebody to come in.

• Registered Users Posts: 433 ✭✭Burt Macklin

A 30 year old Robben for 30 million when we already have players in that position like Mata would make no sense.

First priority should be a central midfielder and a centre half. Can't imagine van Gaal will have much patience with Cleverley, Fellaini, Fletcher or Carrick. It's been a glaring problem position for several seasons now and I really hope he addresses it quickly.

A 30 year old Robben for 30 million when we already have players in that position like Mata would make no sense.

Robben is an out and out winger. Mata is nothing of the sort.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,638 ✭✭✭✭bangkok

bmcc10 wrote: »
    Might do a good job LW Bangkok?

imagine we paraded Barry at Old Trafford..... Id say all of the fans would turn on ed woodward straight away