Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Would you be offended...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭Muise...

BQQ wrote: »
    It's only banter, you drongo.

Move on, and leave the chip on your shoulder. It'll only weigh you down.

Did you read The Aussie's posts, or just his/her username?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭Tail Docker

Muise... wrote: »
    Did you let the people who slagged you know you don't like it?

nah, I'm very shy -and it's in a work setting - you need to be cognisant of peoples sensitivities and the ins and outs of what is allowed under current workplace legislation - I take them aside and quietly say "call me paddy again and I'll rip off your balls you schnide little cnut" -that usually ends the issue in what I feel is a professional and unambiguous manner.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭Muise...

nah, I'm very shy -and it's in a work setting - you need to be cognisant of peoples sensitivities and the ins and outs of what is allowed under current workplace legislation - I take them aside and quietly say "call me paddy again and I'll rip off your balls you schnide little cnut" -that usually ends the issue in what I feel is a professional and unambiguous manner.

So that is a yes then. :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭gctest50

ryan101 wrote: »
    Exceedingly bad advice in a workplace
    Exceedingly bad advice for a workplace.

gwan gwan say it again say it again *

* ( ~ like the way UK girls get you to say things like 33 etc )

So that is a yes then. :confused:

It's a one-upmanship guff thing - lads over there would never do it one on one, but in a group, or a meeting, they feel the need to be top dog and get in a dig. Like I said - in a social setting, you can call me whatever you like, I'll call you right back and laugh, but in a work scenario, it's just a dig and is intended as such. We're all thick, didn't you know...sure we probably wouldn't even notice..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,145 ✭✭✭BQQ

Did you read The Aussie's posts, or just his/her username?

I read them alright.
    Here's one.
    The Aussie wrote: »
    Why, it is said to me in a workplace!!!

Some people like Coolbeans can move on without a chip log on their shoulder.

It seems to me you are carrying the burden of other generations, could be time to move on you know.

Then an indecently short time later he was getting offended by a generalisation about Australians.

My post was tongue in cheek. Pointing out the hypocrisy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,016 ✭✭✭✭vibe666

This is the workplace we're talking about, not secondary school or college.

Ask your HR department what they think of such 'banter'

Sooner or later it all goes very badly wrong.
    no, no it doesn't, not at all.

I don't work there any more, but some of the people I used to have that banter with were since at my wedding (and it wasn't a big wedding) and are some of my best friends.

There's a guy who's I work with now who used to be alright when he started here, but he is the sort who DOES go to HR over "that kind of thing" and after several "incidents"with colleagues, all he gets is more grief over it, barely anyone talks to him any more and he's generally regarded as a bit of a tool as a result and as far as I can tell he is leading a thoroughly miserable life as a result.

Even if someone IS doing something to get a rise it of you, if you let them, they will keep doing it, if you don't then they won't, it's that simple.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,440 ✭✭✭The Aussie

Then an indecently short time later he was getting offended by a generalisation about Australians.

My post was tongue in cheek. Pointing out the hypocrisy.

So calling Austraians ans South Africans C*nts and Irish Paddies is the same is it?

Maybe referencing The Ryan Report and the Irish would be the same?*

*LOL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,671 ✭✭✭ryan101

vibe666 wrote: »
    no, no it doesn't, not at all.

I don't work there any more, but some of the people I used to have that banter with were since at my wedding (and it wasn't a big wedding) and are some of my best friends.

There's a guy who's I work with now who used to be alright when he started here, but he is the sort who DOES go to HR over "that kind of thing" and after several "incidents"with colleagues, all he gets is more grief over it, barely anyone talks to him any more and he's generally regarded as a bit of a tool as a result and as far as I can tell he is leading a thoroughly miserable life as a result.

Even if someone IS doing something to get a rise it of you, if you let them, they will keep doing it, if you don't then they won't, it's that simple.

What you are describing is classic workplace bullying.
    HR departments in professional organisations have entire policies against this sort of thing for very good reason.
    It's that simple.

HR departments in professional organisations have entire policies against this sort of thing for very good reason.
    It's that simple.

See, it's context, it's all context. If we're down the pub, and you call me paddy, game ball - it's a pub, there's messing, all's fair. If it's a meeting, and there's a load of people all being serious around a table, and someone goes -"What do you think, Paddy??" - that's just having a sly one. Or if some git in a uniform, manning a gate, who doesn't know me from adam calls me Paddy having met me one minute earlier, and not knowing me from adam - that's just plain rude and presumptuous.

So calling Austraians ans South Africans C*nts and Irish Paddies is the same is it?

Yeah, pretty much.

You won't last long here if you get upset by being called a c*nt.
    The word is used so liberally as to be almost meaningless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 581 ✭✭✭DubVelo

Generalise much?

Personal experience, alright?
    And I'm not referring to standard back and forth workplace banter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,129 ✭✭✭coolbeans

Yeah, pretty much.

Dunno about that. I wouldn't put up with it being called a c#nt. It's pretty offensive in most contexts.

Yeah, pretty much.

I love your highly disingenuous use of quoting, why not quote the whole thing, maybe answer it at the same time*

*LOL

I've actually been here since 2001, is that long enough?

It's that simple.
    trust me, I know what bullying is, I grew up with a huge amount of it.

Professional organizations have entire policies of nannying bullsh1t because everyone these days needs wrapping in cotton wool and someone go and cry to every time someone calls them a name instead of dealing with it like a grown-up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,671 ✭✭✭ryan101

vibe666 wrote: »
    trust me, I know what bullying is, I grew up with a huge amount of it.

Professional organizations have entire policies of nannying bullsh1t because everyone these days needs wrapping in cotton wool and someone go and cry to every time someone calls them a name instead of dealing with it like a grown-up.

I'm afraid your proving your lack of workplace experience with every post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 581 ✭✭✭DubVelo

*LOL

Also, I was referring to people acting like c***s without seeming to realise quite how offensive the stuff they were coming out with was. I.e. there's no way you'd hear them come out with that level of stuff about say, Chinese people or Africans in the workplace.

I wasn't saying all Australians and Saffas were c***s.
    Convicts and racists respectively maybe... :D

I love your highly disingenuous use of quoting, why not quote the whole thing, maybe answer it at the same time*

I've actually been here since 2001, is that long enough?

I quoted the part I was replying to.
    I don't really know what point you're trying to make with the rest of it, but I guess that would be comparable with the royal commission into child abuse in Australia.

So you're here long enough to have been called a c*nt many times over.
    I hope you didn't get your knickers in a bunch every time.

I quoted the part I was replying to.
    I don't really know what point you're trying to make with the rest of it.

So you're here long enough to have been called a c*nt many times over.
    I hope you didn't get your knickers in a bunch every time.

Nah because it is not a everyday term like your attempting to make out, I don't hear it where I work, I don't hear it where I socialise and I certainly don't hear it at home, in fact if some little scut said it infront of my wife I would go through him as a short cut, maybe you are living in a different Ireland to me, but I certainly don't hear it, maybe I mix in better circles than you...

BTW, nice attempt at a sneaky edit. lOL

I'm afraid your proving your lack of workplace experience with every post.
    oh really, you must be some kind of expert then are you?

My wife is a HR manager in a large financial institution who has had to go to the labour relations court as part of her job on behalf of the company more than once during disputes over workplace bullying.

I personally have almost 20 years now working for some of the largest IT companies on the planet for clients of at least 30 more of the biggest companies both in Ireland and globally and I've always got on very well with everyone I've ever worked with, at least professionally and for the most part socially as well and in all my years i have only ever met one person who is enough of a cnut that I refused to deal with them and was universally regarded the single worst person ANYONE there (20+ people) had ever to deal with anywhere in their respective careers.

Some of the worst people I've ever dealt with outside of that were actually IN the HR department in one large organisation, so I guess those "policies" aren't always effective, to the point where practically nobody in the support department wanted to go near then except me, as they never bothered me.

maybe you are living in a different Ireland to me, but I certainly don't hear it
    you should meet my mother law, she would make you blush and intrigue you with the frequency and her creative use of the word. :pac:

Nah because it is not a everyday term like your attempting to make out, I don't hear it where I work, I don't hear it where I socialise and I certainly don't hear it at home, in fact if some little scut said it infront of my wife I would go through him as a short cut, maybe you are living in a different Ireland to me, but I certainly don't hear it, maybe I mix in better circles than you...

BTW, nice attempt at a sneaky edit. lOL

That's the spirit.
    Saying my social circles are inferior to yours.
    Now you're bantering.

Just throw in some potato reference and you're flying.

Just don't say the c-word or I'll kill you and your whole family. Lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

The next colleague who makes such a comment, try punching the head off him. He wont be laughing then!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

OOooh very heated in here!

Context is very important as others have said.

The one thing that DID get on me boobs when I lived there was the Mrs Doyle impressions when I'd ask my colleagues if they wanted a cup of tea. Funny at first but 2 years of it drove me potty. Got them back by doing impressions of them as Pearly Queens and Kings.

Good times. I miss England.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,588 ✭✭✭ahnowbrowncow

That's the spirit.
    Saying my social circles are inferior to yours.
    Now you're bantering.

Just throw in some potato reference and you're flying.

Just don't say the c-word or I'll kill you and your whole family. Lol

You don't want to mess with The Aussie, he's a real hero, sure he'd physically assault a young lad if they said c*nt in front of his wife.

Would I be offended? No.

Would I think that they were total, complete, knuckle-dragging f*cktards? Absolutely.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,223 ✭✭✭orangesoda

Mrs Doyle impressions when I'd ask my colleagues if they wanted a cup of tea. .

A true Hibernian would say 'tay' or maybe you are from the city?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 509 ✭✭✭Not G.R

coolbeans wrote: »
    I get called paddy, spud and people often shout "potatoes" in my wake.

By any chance is your name Patrick and are you a potato salesman because it would explain a lot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 205 ✭✭englander

Been in Ireland many years.

I could probably legitimately go to HR with an anti-'Brit' complaint most days I'm in work if I were that way inclined (ie looking to be offended).

But I see it mostly as banter.

As has been said, context is everything.

Getting called 'Brit' by certain people in the workplace in certain contexts I occasionally find offensive (and all the other sh!te/remarks/digs that surrounds it) and I stay away from them (usually from people who have never been outside the country or even their county)

I used to take it to heart, but now accept the occasional nastiness (ie beyond banter) as part of being a foreigner in this country. Thankfully it is a lot less frequent these days than say 15 years ago ...and as i get older it bothers me less.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,521 ✭✭✭ardle1

Your doing something wrong!! I worked in uk for a few years and never got sh!t like that, yeah fair enough the odd Paddy here and there, but all in good taste from people I would've classed as friends! That was all really

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 529 ✭✭✭yoke

OP gets slagged about nationality. OP not bothered. OP's friend gets bothered. You asK OP how he would feel about a black worker getting a racist slagging. There is no way he can answer on behalf of a hypothetical black worker. This does not imply he - or anyone else - thinks it's ok.

There's no way he can answer on behalf of a hypothetical black worker?

Is that because you think that black people think so differently that he could never even imagine what it would be like to be a black worker getting racist abuse, and hence he cannot have an opinion on it?

You don't have to taste a lump of dogsh*t to "know" that you wouldn't like the taste of it.

Regarding "context" - the context of being called racist names in a pub by someone you know, is that the person doing it is actually trying to affirm for you that you actually know them so well as to know they are not racist, so even if they call you racist names, you know they aren't racist - hence you're showing how strong your friendship is, effectively.

This of course points out the fact that what they're saying to you is actually racist abuse, and should be taken as such - you might decide to put up with it because of where it's coming from (dumb friends who don't know any better, but still friends), but it doesn't change what it is.

You don't want to mess with The Aussie, he's a real hero, sure he'd physically assault a young lad if they said c*nt in front of his wife.

Who said anything about a physical assult, you can do things verbally you know.
    Sorry but that post says more about you than me that your first thought is violence.

FAIL...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,159 ✭✭✭mrkiscool2

petrolcan wrote: »
    First off, the Irish are not a race.
    Sorry, this has been said a few times. Yes, the Irish are not a race. We are, however, an ethnicity. Racial abuse counts if you insult someone's ethnicity the same as if you insult someone's skin colour. Sorry, that was starting to bother me a bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,909 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

I wouldn't mind being called a paddy, however if was meant in a way to imply that I was stupid that would be different, i.e the "thick mick" who knows nothing.

Being called a spudpicker has references to the famine so I wouldn't like that at all.

Having said that I take a few weekend breaks to England during the year and have never come across this at all, English people are always friendly and it's very easy to chat to English girls in a pub.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Arthur Beesley

So is it not okay for one Irish person to call another Irish person a Spud Muncher?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,701 ✭✭✭snotboogie

I wouldn't mind being called it as I like a bit of banter. What annoys me is the PC double standards. Those people wouldn't dream to use a nationalistic insult against a Pakistani or Nigerian person, Irish are fair game...

So is it not okay for one Irish person to call another Irish person a Spud Muncher?

No, paddy, you spud-boiling bog-trotter, it is ok - try and keep up mick, ffs.

(lets try a real world test to see if it bugs someone)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

orangesoda wrote: »
    A true Hibernian would say 'tay' or maybe you are from the city?

Nobody calls it "tay" in Dublin! :) "Cha" here (or "there", I should say as I'm not in Dublin right this minute). Personally I like to call it turrrr.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,743 ✭✭✭blatantrereg

It is racist. If you say equivalent things back then it is "banter". If you don't then it is "abuse".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,250 ✭✭✭✭bumper234

Sure even calling people culchies could be deemed the same and as for slagging of Cavan people for being cheap!!! I guess it's ok when Irish say it about Irish (sure isn't it only a bit of slagging) But god forbid anyone else (English) says it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,163 ✭✭✭✭danniemcq

ara if thats the worst they are calling you you're grand.

If you are in an office i guess some people might find it more offensive than say if you were working on sites. On the funfair I was working with a heap of English lads and day in day out it was constant back and forth, no harm or malice intended and we all knew that.

But as an earlier poster said its all about context, and as long as you give as good as you get its grand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,195 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

danniemcq wrote: »
    ara if thats the worst they are calling you you're grand.

If you are in an office i guess some people might find it more offensive than say if you were working on sites. On the funfair I was working with a heap of English lads and day in day out it was constant back and forth, no harm or malice intended and we all knew that.

But as an earlier poster said its all about context, and as long as you give as good as you get its grand

If I wasn't known as the "Facking Paddy Caaahn!" on an English building site I'd be quite upset - I'd be thinking they didn't like me. :pac:

jimgoose wrote: »
    If I wasn't known as the "Facking Paddy Caaahn!" on an English building site I'd be quite upset - I'd be thinking they didn't like me. :pac:

Unsurprisingly when i worked on building sites in Ireland the Polish were all called Boris and the chinese lads were called Jackie (Chan) :D

bumper234 wrote: »
    Unsurprisingly when i worked on building sites in Ireland the Polish were all called Boris and the chinese lads were called Jackie (Chan) :D

In the '50s it was usual to refer to Fackin' Paddy by his county-of-origin, e.g. my dad was known as "Limerick". :cool:

There's a simple solution when someone says something to you that the PC brigade says should offend you.

Decide not to be offended, respond in kind with some witty reference their heritage and get on with your day.

Who knows, you might just end up with an extra few mates along the way.

In the '50s it was usual to refer to Fackin' Paddy by his county-of-origin, e.g. my dad was known as "Limerick". :cool:

I was in the UK in March and while playing pool i had one (drunk) gob****e keep referring to me as Paddy. He got a bit of a surprise when my cousin pointed out to him that i am actually English, served in the armed forces, hold a British passport and quite likely to snap his arm if i felt that way inclined so it would be in his best interest to stop with the "Paddy" ****e....he left shortly after :D

Wait a minute - you're Paddy Englishman, from the jokes!!

I suppose my Dublin accent does confuse some of the neanderthals a bit :D

I expect so. Be assured anyway, down South you would be a "Wesht Brit Hoor". :pac:

Have been called worse :pac: