Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

The Late Late Show 9th of May 2014

• 09-05-2014 4:24pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87,605 ✭✭✭✭

Acting legend Omar Sharif, Jim Sheridan and Dara O'Briain are among the guests joining Ryan Tubridy on The Late Late Show tonight.
    Dr. Zhivago and Lawrence of Arabia star Omar Sharif will be chatting to Tubridy along with writer/director Jim Sheridan.
    Aengus MacGrianna and his partner Terry Gill will also appear on tonight's show on the eve of Aengus' 25th anniversary of working as a newsreader, to talk about their upcoming wedding.
    Comedian Dara O'Briain will also be dropping by, as will the family of Triona Priestley, the young Irish teen who died from Cystic Fibrosis and made headlines after her friends and family launched a campaign online to give her the chance to talk to her idol Ed Sheeran

Tubs: "So Aengus what foundation will you be using for the wedding?"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    Tubs: "So Aengus what foundation will you be using for the wedding?"

WHAT?

aengus.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,321 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

You know the drill!

kitten_gif.gif

sleepy_kitten.gif

Your+Weekly+Puppy+Gif+Doze+7.gif

Your+Weekly+Puppy+Gif+Doze+12.gif

• Registered Users Posts: 253 ✭✭Hector Mildew

RayM wrote: »
    WHAT?

I'm guessing something to do with this...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87,605 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

You know the drill!

kitten_gif.gif

sleepy_kitten.gif

Your+Weekly+Puppy+Gif+Doze+7.gif

Your+Weekly+Puppy+Gif+Doze+12.gif

hate-everything-kitten.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,772 ✭✭✭delbertgrady

If Lara Marlowe's interview with Omar Sharif in the Irish Times is anything to go by, Tubs should prepare himself for an absolute car crash.

2024 Gigs and Events: David Suchet, Depeche Mode, Orchestral Manoeuvres in the Dark, The Smile, Pixies, Liam Gallagher John Squire/Jake Bugg, Kacey Musgraves (x2), Olivia Rodrigo, Mitski, Muireann Bradley, Bruce Springsteen and the E Street Band, Eric Clapton, Girls Aloud, Bruce Springsteen and the E Street Band, Rewind Festival, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Henry Winkler, P!nk, Pearl Jam/Richard Ashcroft, Taylor Swift/Paramore, Suede/Manic Street Preachers, Muireann Bradley, AC/DC, Deacon Blue/Altered Images, The The, blink-182, Coldplay, Gilbert O'Sullivan, Nick Lowe, David Gilmour, ABBA Voyage, St. Vincent, Public Service Broadcasting, Crash Test Dummies, Cassandra Jenkins.

2025 Gigs and Events: Iron Maiden, Dua Lipa, Billie Eilish (x2), Oasis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,641 ✭✭✭✭Elmo

If Lara Marlowe's interview with Omar Sharif in the Irish Times is anything to go by, Tubs should prepare himself for an absolute car crash.

Does he not do that every week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,675 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

Wahey, Dara O'Briain. Not just my favourite Irish comedian, my favourite comedian altogether.

And Omar Sharif...he's actual proper famous, isn't he? If he does a bad interview, all the better! (Don't forget the quality of the thread is inversely proportional to the quality of the show!)

Hell, I'm looking forward to it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

Did anyone else think Omar Sharif was dead? :o

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 83 ✭✭kaisersuzy

Eh Dara O Brien eh eh eh eh eh

eh eh eh eh eh ehhhhhhhhh.....not funny and says eh a bit to much

Skid X wrote: »

Yes! What's that all about?

One of the tourist "attractions" in Lanzarote is a house that he once owned. The hotel we stayed in last time had ads for it on the silly poolside radio yoke they have (in between Rihanna songs and Rihanna songs). It caught the ear, because the ad always started with the Dr Zhivago music, which doesn't exactly scream sun holiday. To me anyway.

Anyway I seem to remember them talking about him in the past tense, so I presumed he was brown bread.

Of course, it may have been someone else's house entirely. Either way, I didn't go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,068 ✭✭✭DenMan

Apparently he's had a huge gambling problem for a lot of his life!

"So, Omar. When you found out you were dead, how did that make you feel? Oh, right you're not dead...right... But you will be SOME day... How does THAT make you feel?"

Ol' Donie wrote: »
    Yes! What's that all about?

One of the tourist "attractions" in Lanzarote is a house that he once owned. The hotel we stayed in last time had ads for it on the silly poolside radio yoke they have (in between Rihanna songs and Rihanna songs). It caught the ear, because the ad always started with the Dr Zhivago music, which doesn't exactly scream sun holiday. To me anyway.

Anyway I seem to remember them talking about him in the past tense, so I presumed he was brown bread.

Of course, it may have been someone else's house entirely. Either way, I didn't go.

He lives in a House,
    a very big House
    in Lanzarote ...

Here you go, Donie - turn up the heating and you can have a virtal 15 minute tour of Omar Sharif's Lanzarote House. Just like being there!

Hang on til I get my sunglasses!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

Either way, I didn't go.

Ha, Brilliant! It's the way you tell 'em Ol' Donie!

In other news I'm back onto the Leffe once again this evening. €8 for 4 small bottles. But it's worth it!

Evening to all the rest of you slags too :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,739 ✭✭✭sudzs

DenMan wrote: »
    Apparently he's had a huge gambling problem for a lot of his life!

Wasn't there some board game or game in a box on which his photo appeared, looking clever and pensive dressed in black, possibly in a polo-neck!!. Anyone remember or am I delusional already tonight?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,347 ✭✭✭LynnGrace

keith16 wrote: »
    Ha, Brilliant! It's the way you tell 'em Ol' Donie!

In other news I'm back onto the Leffe once again this evening. €8 for 4 small bottles. But it's worth it!

Evening to all the rest of you slags too :)

I demand a graph!

sudzs wrote: »
    Wasn't there some board game or game in a box on which his photo appeared, looking clever and pensive dressed in black, possibly in a polo-neck!!. Anyone remember or am I delusional already tonight?

He was a great man for the Bridge, it might have been that

Omar-Sharif-Bridge.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,972 ✭✭✭cofy

Evening all, Omar Sharif was speaking earlier today of how saddened he was about Peter O'Toole's death, and how Peter was 11 months younger than Omar, so I suppose there will be talk about that tonight.

I am delighted that Aengus is on tonight, he has such a lovely manner about him, and he seems to be great craic.

sudzs wrote: »

This?

$(KGrHqZ,!roE-Yzv6i0yBP1cdomOug~~60_12.JPG

LynnGrace wrote: »
    I demand a graph!

For old times sake, and for you LynnGrace.

KBlFPhi.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,970 ✭✭✭Lenin Skynard

kaisersuzy wrote: »
    Eh Dara O Brien eh eh eh eh eh

eh eh eh eh eh ehhhhhhhhh.....not funny and says eh a bit to much

When he's on Irish tv tonight he'll just ramble on about the Brits. Then he'll go back to British tv and ramble on about the Irish.

I used to like him at one time but his schtick has worn a bit thin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,347 ✭✭✭LynnGrace

For old times sake, and for you LynnGrace.

KBlFPhi.jpg

I am truly honoured :D. Thank you!

• Registered Users Posts: 904 ✭✭✭squadro

beer sweet sweet beer. **** forgot to put in fridge.:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,972 ✭✭✭cofy

I would say there will be a mother load of clips shown tonight;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,206 ✭✭✭jos28

I thought Omar Sharif died years ago. He was old when I was a kid and that was long, long ago. According to Wiki he is 82

The Tg4 weather girl is seriously smokin' hot.

I like the way the LSS is bookended by Tg4s sultriness of the weather and a late night foreign movie with nudity.

It adds a certain symmetry to the whole evenings proceedings. Like this:

Arousal (Tg4 weather) / Regret (start of the lls) / Regret (a prayer at bedtime) / Arousal (Tg4 tits movie).

Clip numero uno!

I'm not sure that clip made Aonghus a "star"!

(I wonder would he even be on if it never happened, though).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Aungus' BF was my personnel manager in Dunnes lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,795 ✭✭✭taytobreath

its looking good tonight guys, i never forget u people and the funnies u come up with , hi all

I didn't realise A McG was gay! The name Terry has mislead me!! Along with my ignorance of the personal life of our nations newsreaders!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,186 ✭✭✭dee_mc

Wow, as they'd say around here 'tis younger lookin he's gettin'!

The Tg4 weather girl is seriously smokin' hot.

I like the way the LSS is bookended by Tg4s sultriness of the weather and a late night foreign movie with nudity.

It adds a certain symmetry to the whole evenings proceedings. Like this:

Arousal (Tg4 weather) / Regret (start of the lls) / Regret (a prayer at bedtime) / Arousal (Tg4 tits movie).

Keith, Which TG4 do you watch the dodgy films on? Channel 5 used to have dubious material but I don't remember TG4 ever going that way.

Haha, brilliant!

Guy in the audience was not impressed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 658 ✭✭✭unichick

Are the band not called the Camembert quartet anymore?

Guys in the audience don't look impressed with the gay couple. Terry's not bad looking.

I didn't realise A McG was gay! The name Terry has mislead me!! Along with my ignorance of the personal life of our nations newsreaders!

Really? I thought everyone knew that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,739 ✭✭✭sudzs

Clip numero uno!

That make up thing was set up wasn't it?? Or am I the last to cop that?!!! :o

Guy in Audience - "Them fecking gays"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,795 ✭✭✭taytobreath

oh my god thats not his voice on the news, .....legend tho

Keith, Which TG4 do you watch the dodgy films on? Channel 5 used to have dubious material but I don't remember TG4 ever going that way.

tbh Skid, I'm more the likely watching the one from my youth. My only source of breastage back in the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,056 ✭✭✭applehunter

What a load of ****e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

I'm not sure that clip made Aonghus a "star"!

(I wonder would he even be on if it never happened, though).

If he had a cent for every time that clip was shown........ he'd have about 25 cent by now.

Evening all.

Is Terry bursting out of his shirt?

efb wrote: »
    Really? I thought everyone knew that

Hadn't got a clue. But now that I hear him for the first time ever not reading the news, it's very obvious. That sounds incredibly ignorant of me, I know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,545 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

Wonder if Ryan will ask them about the Iona Institute?

• Registered Users Posts: 129 ✭✭rocky1813

Think Aenghus is the woman in that relationship.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,007 ✭✭✭mad m

Graham Norton in audience!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭JM Skipton

Is Terry bursting out of his shirt?

I'm behind the couch as I'm afraid one of his shirt buttons is going to ping me in the eye

• Registered Users Posts: 129 ✭✭rocky1813

murpho999 wrote: »
    Wonder if Ryan will ask them about the Iona Institute?

What does A McG have to do with the Iona Institute.