Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is landlord responsible for the outside deck?

Options
  • 10-05-2014 10:21pm
    Registered Users Posts: 109 ✭✭

Hi everyone,
    I have been renting this house for the past two years, due to proposed increases I had to give my (full written and correct timeframe) notice and will be leaving shortly.
    I suppose I may be a bit paranoid as my previous landlord illegally retained my deposit, which I got back plus damages after a year (which is time I don't have this time around). That's just conjecture, so back to the point!
    It has wooden chairs and a small round wooden table in the back deck. Since I have been here for two years, the wood has rotted through on the table from all the rain and now just the outer metal ring is remaining. On the lease, the table and chairs are included in the inventory. The lease also says I am responsible for keeping the patio area inc. shrubs tidy.
    There is a small shed with washing machine etc but it isnt big enough to put the furnture in when raining. The decking has never been treated it seems and is dodgy and actually broken in parts.
    So I am wondering is the replacement of the table or the deck something which could be deducted from my deposit?
    We also do not have a hoover and I'm not sure how to clean the stairs carpet without one, does he need to provide one for us to clean it properly before we leave? The rest of the floors are wood its just the stairs.
    I mean I want to have the place spotless before I go!