Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What age did you stop getting asked for ID?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,410 ✭✭✭✭endacl

many moons ago I was asked going into Fitzsimmons in Dublin. I was 30 :D

Something similar for me. The one and only time I was ever asked for ID.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,009 ✭✭✭umop.episdn

About 25 when I stopped getting asked, when I was trying to get a passport at the garda station for my upcoming honeymoon with my wife, the bangarda wouldn't sign my forms as she didn't believe I was 29!
    My wife still gets pissed that the garda had no problem believing her age! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,075 ✭✭✭✭bnt

I have never been asked for ID - not once, even though I was having the occasional drink in a local bar at the age of 16. Not much drink, since I was really there to practice my Snooker, and you need to see straight for that to work. I should explain that this was in South Africa, where they were a bit more casual about such things in the 80s. By the time I moved back to the UK In my early 20s, I looked old enough to get straight in anywhere.

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

―Oscar Wilde predicting Social Media, in The Picture of Dorian Gray

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,676 ✭✭✭✭herisson

I get asked sometimes, I'm 22.

I had one guy ask me for id before in aldi. He gawked at it for ages. Then looks me straight in the eye and goes "Thank you.....Herisson". I was a tad uncomfortable.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 360 ✭✭Olive8585

Used to get asked every time until I was 25. Only get asked the odd time now. It's a funny thing, it used to annoy me being asked but it was kind of a compliment at the same time. I'm quite pleased to be asked now and I always wonder if it's because I look young or they just ask everyone under 40. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,822 ✭✭✭sunflower27

I've never been asked for ID, I feel left out.

Does mummy and daddy know you are on here? ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

around 23, ten years ago:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,047 ✭✭✭GerB40

I've barely been asked for I.D. since I was 17. I suppose a mix of hanging around with older people and having the 'gift of the gab' with bouncers/offy workers worked. I'm 27 now and I look around 40 so I took the good with the bad on that one...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,091 ✭✭✭Antar Bolaeisk

+1. Never been asked for id/refused a drink. It was definitely easier back in the day. Someone posted about a DOB of '93 I was a seasoned campaigner then. There was at least one spot in most towns where a tall 15 year old had no bother "getting in". Used to go for a drink mid-week with the oul boy in the local when I was 16.

I'm not even from "Back in the day" :p

(Or at least I consider myself to not be...)

• Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,948 Mod ✭✭✭✭Neyite

I was asked a few months ago, when I was almost 39.

Do I win?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 996 ✭✭✭bnagrrl

I'm 30 and was asked for ID 3 times in the last month.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,302 ✭✭✭JohnMearsheimer

I'm 30. The last time I was asked for ID I was 28. I was buying a bottle of wine as a small present in Tesco. I didn't have ID so they wouldn't sell it to me. The girl on the counter said to me 'if it makes you feel any better I'm 28 as well'. It didn't. I just went across the road to Dunnes and bought it.

I'm 31, last time I was asked for ID I was 31.

I've never been asked for ID, which is good as I don't have any as when I was young they didn't really exist!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

stevek93 wrote: »
    Noticed over the past while, unless its all the stubble on my face, but buying alcohol cigarettes or whatever I rarely get asked for ID, find it somewhat intimidating I'm only 20. :P

i got asked for id for cigarettes a while back,im 32 and look it too :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 526 ✭✭✭OnTheCouch

I'm 32 and was asked for ID on Friday. Deep down I was so happy! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

34 and I can't remember the last time I was ID'd.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭whirlpool

I was visiting my brother in America last year. He is early 30s, I am late 20s. We went to the off licence. He was buying and paying for alcohol at the checkout. Checkout lady ID'd him. And just because I was with him, she had to ID me too. It's the law, apparently.

So you can't buy alcohol if you have someone under 18 beside you. You'd have to leave your kids in the car!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,411 ✭✭✭ABajaninCork

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭fergus1001

When I was 16 as I had and still have a desperate dan bearded face on me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,009 ✭✭✭umop.episdn

fergus1001 wrote: »
    When I was 16 as I had and still have a desperate dan bearded face on me

You poor girl :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,292 ✭✭✭yeahimhere

I think Aldi and Tesco have a general policy to ask everyone unless you look clearly over 50 to cover their arse. I always get asked in those two places, never anywhere else, but I love it since I'm nearly 30. I get a kick out of it so it's win win!

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 585 ✭✭✭WildRosie

I'm 29 and still get asked regularly, was asked twice in the last week in fact. Gives the sales person a great chuckle when they see my ID.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭Foxhound38

About 24 or 25 I guess

23 or so. 25 now.

A friend of mine got ID'd buying a barbecue recently. He's 24.

A fcukin barbecue!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,089 ✭✭✭✭LizT

I'm 24, haven't been asked for ID in the past few years, which is good because I'm such a scatterbrain I nearly never have any ID with me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 646 ✭✭✭cactuspaw

I still get ID'd all the time. I'm 30. It's most irritating when you go out and certain places are leatle for it. Once got told my passport was a fake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,597 ✭✭✭Witchie

Witchie wrote: »
    Was buying alcohol in Tesco a few weeks ago and the girl at the check out asked me for ID. I thought she was joking. She insisted. I was searching for my student ID and babbling away about how she had made my day. Told her I was 40 last September and my son is nearly 20. She eventually believed me, just as I found my student card.
    Neyite wrote: »
    I was asked a few months ago, when I was almost 39.

Do I win?

Nope! :P :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 991 ✭✭✭on_my_oe

I got ID'd last week... I'm 35. He then asked me if I had any other photo ID as he wasn't convinced ��

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

The last time I was asked was three weeks ago. I'm 33.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 495 ✭✭nails1

They wouldn't serve me at 18 with ID because the girl with me was 17 :/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,113 ✭✭✭SilverScreen

I'm 27 and I seem get asked for ID every time I buy alcohol in Lidl, Aldi or Dunnes. I just show them my drivers licence and smile at them.

I'm always asked. I'm 27 and I'm tiny, so that's probably why.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 97 ✭✭Lemonperv

Candie wrote: »
    I'm always asked. I'm 27 and I'm tiny, so that's probably why.

Same for me plus dimples :'(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,498 ✭✭✭obezyana

I got asked when I was 27 it was the best day of my life :D That was 5yrs ago I no longer get asked now I'm sad :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68 ✭✭Gerinspain

I got asked for ID to buy cigarettes at Walgreens in New Orleans.....I was 52. Didn't know whether to be flattered or annoyed. The cigarettes weren't even for me - I don't smoke :)

34 and I can't remember the last time I was ID'd.

That's spain for ya. Sure they were trying to give me wine in a restaurant when I was with mum there at the age of 14
    Compare that to when we went out for dinner here a few years ago and the waiter eyed me up and down then took away the wine glass... should have ordered some on principle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

I'm 25 and still get asked. Though I find that when I don't have ID on me; those are the times I get asked....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 397 ✭✭whitewave

Got asked over the weekend and I'm 26. Good to know something thinks I still look young when I'm not wearing make-up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,188 ✭✭✭dee_mc

I still get asked for it regularly (I'm 28) :) A couple of weeks ago i was buying cigarettes and got asked for ID - i had none, so just said 'I'm 28, but thanks for the compliment'. The lady on the till remained stony-faced, told me if i was going to lie i should make it more believable and just say i was 18 or 19, then sold me the cigs anyway!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,404 ✭✭✭Lone Stone

yea god, i remember when i use to smoke. Constantly being asked for id is partially why i gave them up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,088 ✭✭✭SpaceTime

The worst I heard was a French family I know who decided to go to NYC for New Years Eve one year.

Mother, Father and adult son and daughter. The idea was a family holiday that appealed to all of them and it was possibly going to be their last opportunity to all travel together.

Son was 19 and daughter was 20 and was working in the wine industry..

They ordered dinner and wine for the table.
    Waitress carded the daughter after about 20 mins because she had poured herself a glass of wine.

They refused to leave the restaurant when the waitress tried to throw them out (they actually speak quite limited English too, so I'm not sure they even knew what was happening and initially thought they were being thrown out for speaking French!!)., The restaurant called the cops and the mother got a load of anti-french jibes and charged with purchasing alcohol for a 'minor' !

Needless to say they won't be bothering with any further trips to the US for holidays!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,678 ✭✭✭I Heart Internet

SpaceTime wrote: »
    The worst I heard was a French family I know who decided to go to NYC for New Years Eve one year.

Mother, Father and adult son and daughter. The idea was a family holiday that appealed to all of them and it was possibly going to be their last opportunity to all travel together.

Son was 19 and daughter was 20 and was working in the wine industry..

They ordered dinner and wine for the table.
    Waitress carded the daughter after about 20 mins because she had poured herself a glass of wine.

They refused to leave the restaurant when the waitress tried to throw them out (they actually speak quite limited English too, so I'm not sure they even knew what was happening and initially thought they were being thrown out for speaking French!!)., The restaurant called the cops and the mother got a load of anti-french jibes and charged with purchasing alcohol for a 'minor' !

Needless to say they won't be bothering with any further trips to the US for holidays!

The 21 years rule is a ridiculous law. But it is the law. I wonder if a US family broke a similar minor law in France would they be regarded as victims or silly, uncivilised americans?

I'm 31 and haven't been asked for ID in a while :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,088 ✭✭✭SpaceTime

The 21 years rule is a ridiculous law. But it is the law. I wonder if a US family broke a similar minor law in France would they be regarded as victims or silly, uncivilised americans?

I'm 31 and haven't been asked for ID in a while :(

No most likely the French would just agree that it a ridiculous law. They're as cynical about their own government as the Irish are and not known for their tolerance of that type of legislation.

They weren't considering the Americans uncivilised but they think France should issue tourists with travel advisories much like they do for the Middle east.

They genuinely had no idea that the law existed and had been having a great holiday until that point.

France did issue travel advisories around the Atlanta Olympics because Georgia has laws against _____ edit googled...

Seems sexual intercourse between the unmarried is technically illegal under state law there. I'm sure it's unenforced but it caused a travel advisory!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,977 ✭✭✭TheDoctor

Havent been asked for ID since I'd say 23

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,622 ✭✭✭blue note

It's been a few months, but I'd be surprised if I never get asked for ID again. I'm 28. For the past few years I've been asked once or twice a year. Usually after getting my hair cut.

A few years ago, a group of 4 of us were refused drinks in a pub on O'Connell Street after going to the cinema. 3 of us had ID showing us to be between 24 and 27 if I remember correctly. One of us didn't have ID, but could in no way be mistaken for a 17 year old. I still can't get my head around what happened. He refused to serve us. I scratched my head to think of a reason he might just have used the ID as an excuse not to serve us, but it was about 4pm, none of us had been drinking, we didn't look in any way rough. I think I looked like I could possibly have been under 18 and he decided to ID the group. Even though it was blindingly obvious none of us were under 18 I think he just was stubborn and insisted that we all needed ID.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 Eirblath

Stopped getting asked regularly when I was about 23/24. Although I did get asked on one occasion when I was 27, was delighted with myself :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,726 ✭✭✭Pretzill

I was asked for ID recently I'm mid forties - I think the lady asking was being sarcastic but I still took it as a compliment! I regularly got asked in my thirties -

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 307 ✭✭Mrs W

I was helping a friend move into a new house so stopped in dunnes to buy rubber gloves, jif and 2 bottles of champagne at 11am and I was asked for id.
    Knacker drinking must have changed a lot in 10 years!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 196 ✭✭Dave H

34 now but I was about 29/30 the last time I was carded. Once I shave I end up baby faced, although if yer wan had have looked north of my nose she might have thought twice :P