Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Junkies on O'Connell St and sorrounding area *READ MOD NOTE POST #1 AND #11*

• Registered Users Posts: 191 ✭✭j.mcdrmd

Fire away with a few questions .
    chopper6 wrote: »

The drugs are being smuggled from Spain,bought online or being prescribed in huge numbers by disinterested GPs who will give junkies whatever they want to get them out of his surgery.

I have questions.

If huge numbers of drugs are being prescribed by disinterested GPs would that not be very easy to track down?

Would the pharmacys dispensing the drugs not notice a pattern?

j.mcdrmd wrote: »
    I have questions.

If huge numbers of drugs are being prescribed by disinterested GPs would that not be very easy to track down?

Would the pharmacys dispensing the drugs not notice a pattern?

I'm not in Dublin but I know where I could get sleeping tablets, sedatives, viagra or just about anything within a 2 minute walk of my house. It ain't street dealers passing them along.

• Registered Users Posts: 648 ✭✭✭VEN

and I work the door of a rock bar on Aston Quay so I'm not unfamiliar with them.

yea i think we all know that by now
    Why don't they bother me?.. Because the vast, vast majority are too weak from their sickness to be trouble to most people

you mean to be of trouble to yourself. most elderly people and women are scared of them out of fear of theft, blades, syringe attacks etc for not giving them money, they're not all capable to take men down in the heat of the night lol

• Registered Users Posts: 191 ✭✭j.mcdrmd

I'm not in Dublin but I know where I could get sleeping tablets, sedatives, viagra or just about anything within a 2 minute walk of my house. It ain't street dealers passing them along.

Prescribed by a disinterested GP for your use though?

Or do you mean prescribed by a disinterested GP for others use and they are selling them on?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,426 ✭✭✭italodisco

Drumcondra lower , around apache pizza / perki chick take away.

From 4 pm up til about 9pm there's a group of Russian /Moldovan lads that meet up with Irish junkies and openly deal pills etc.... Then around 8/9pm an Irish man shows up on a bicycle , sometimes with a kid and passes them what appears to be their supply .

They alternate this , few weeks in Drumcondra lower, few up around phibsboro shopping center, also around midnight express take away Dorset street.

If I can see this without going out of my way to see it then I'm pretty sure the gardai are only too aware.

Just not arsed to do anything about.

Is it wrong of me to think a vigilante approach is what we need ??

I'd be more than happy to join a mob and cause awful injuries to these dirtbags .

Is it wrong of me to think that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

VEN wrote: »
    yea i think we all know that by now

you mean to be of trouble to yourself. most elderly people and women are scared of them out of fear of theft, blades, syringe attacks etc for not giving them money, they're not all capable to take men down in the heat of the night lol

"lol"?.

The vast majority of attacks on people in the city center are carried out by drunks & opportunist scumbags, and people can minimize attacks further by being responsible and aware of their surroundings.

By the "dead of night" as you call it my trouble comes from drunks and not junkies.. I'd rarely see a junkie after dark tbh, most have scored for the day and are away home or shelters goofing off for the night.

I never felt that unsafe from the junkies heading to and from Connolly late at night, there are other breeds of scumbag around there that scare me more, a lot of them teenagers just out looking for a bit of trouble. I would never consider taking the Luas because I felt unsafe. I just keep my head down and keep marching where I am going and ignore everyone around me, especially if they're yelling at me. I find walking very quickly helps.

I think it's true that the junkies tend to go underground after about midnight anyway, if you speak to any of them or even watch that video posted earlier, they don't feel safe out at night either. It's the other breed f scumbag that give the most hassle. And no, before you ask, I can't define them.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,214 ✭✭✭chopper6

Before anyone looks down their noses at junkies I'd dare them to watch this series of videos interviewing junkies on the streets of Dublin.

yeah...very revealing...a bloke calling himself "Irish mortage brokers" asking junkies what do they think of the banking crisis...and using 30 year old terminology to try and sound cool.

<snip>

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,700 ✭✭✭tricky D

Hannibal wrote: »
    I'd add North Earl St to that, the corner of that on O'Connell St is beyind shocking, was walking from Marlborough St towards O'Connell St yesterday around lunchtime and 5 seperate people offered me Zimos and the like but the amount of junkies just roaming around was unreal.
    On the flip side, I was in that area last week, back and forth over about 2 hours and saw a sum total of zero junkies. Same the time before.
    italodisco wrote: »

I'd be more than happy to join a mob and cause awful injuries to these dirtbags .

Mod note: careful now, any thing close to advocating violence will get you a swift sanction.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,250 ✭✭✭✭bumper234

italodisco wrote: »
    Drumcondra lower , around apache pizza / perki chick take away.

From 4 pm up til about 9pm there's a group of Russian /Moldovan lads that meet up with Irish junkies and openly deal pills etc.... Then around 8/9pm an Irish man shows up on a bicycle , sometimes with a kid and passes them what appears to be their supply .

They alternate this , few weeks in Drumcondra lower, few up around phibsboro shopping center, also around midnight express take away Dorset street.

If I can see this without going out of my way to see it then I'm pretty sure the gardai are only too aware.

Just not arsed to do anything about.

Who decides in this little gang of yours exactly who is the "dirtbag" and who is just an innocent person walking through the area?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,700 ✭✭✭tricky D

bumper234 wrote: »
    Who decides in this little gang of yours exactly who is the "dirtbag" and who is just an innocent person walking through the area?

Mod note: vigilantism is not legal and thus not a topic for discussion here. Thanks.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,905 ✭✭✭Aard

tricky D wrote: »
    On the flip side, I was in that area last week, back and forth over about 2 hours and saw a sum total of zero junkies. Same the time before.

I've rarely been east of O'Connell St, compared to very frequently being all over the rest of town. One of the few times I've been on Talbot St I found a syringe on the path. Anecdotes will differ from person to person, but that doesn't mean that there is or isn't a problem. Compared to other parts of town, this area does have a higher concentration of junkies. Whether this poses a problem to people or indeed the city's image is debatable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,070 ✭✭✭ScouseMouse

I was in town last saturday and I have an issue with robbing junkies. I hate them.

I was in a certain shopping mall near Moore St, and a junkie bumped into me. He turned and apologised then asked me for money. He was off his face. I refused and he then went and put his arm over the back of a crepe stall and robbed a banana. Then he went outside and ate it.

Then he came back in and started bumping into people again. I tipped off security and they took him outside.

I hate that crap. I took a walk around the corner into a discount store and there is another one, a slight girl, thin and gaunt. Picking up stuff and sticking it into her top. I waited till she walked past the tills and let a roar at her that she should pay for the stuff before she went out the door. Everyone stopped and stared at her. She flipped and told me she was gonna get me punched and my iphone robbed.

I mentioned I didnt have an iphone and she went for me. I told her, DONT!. So then she just screamed at me in front of everyone.

I left satisfied, but guess I really do need to find a way to switch off :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

There are a few rough looking characters begging along the luas line between Heuston and Connolly at the moment one in particular who looks like an older man but is probably about 35-45 and pretends to be retarded or suffering from the effects of a stroke. He shuffles along and dribbles from his mouth and has his mouth contorted and keeps repeating the same incoherent sentence again and again(change/€2 for a hostel) and just stands in front of tourists dribbling and babbling like a halfwit.

I have seen him on other occasions when he was not walking like a stroke victim and was talking perfectly with another of the city's scammer beggars, the security guards on the red line know them all by name!

There is another elderly? man that hangs around the bus stops on O'Connnell street begging, he is on crutches and gives the impression that he is homeless and a stroke victim. I have also seen this guy skip along the street to get away from approaching Gardai. Had a chat with a Garda at the 11 bus stop a while ago and he said the guy is well known as a shoplifter and pickpocket as well as his begging.

I have never given beggars on the street money but always stick a tenner or fiver in collections for Simon Community or SVDeP.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,063 ✭✭✭Greenmachine

I was in town last saturday and I have an issue with robbing junkies. I hate them.

I was in a certain shopping mall near Moore St, and a junkie bumped into me. He turned and apologised then asked me for money. He was off his face. I refused and he then went and put his arm over the back of a crepe stall and robbed a banana. Then he went outside and ate it.

Then he came back in and started bumping into people again. I tipped off security and they took him outside.

I hate that crap. I took a walk around the corner into a discount store and there is another one, a slight girl, thin and gaunt. Picking up stuff and sticking it into her top. I waited till she walked past the tills and let a roar at her that she should pay for the stuff before she went out the door. Everyone stopped and stared at her. She flipped and told me she was gonna get me punched and my iphone robbed.

I mentioned I didnt have an iphone and she went for me. I told her, DONT!. So then she just screamed at me in front of everyone.

Robbing for the hell of it. I am sure they get fed already between hostels and soup runs.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭An Claidheamh

Fair play to you.

She didn't sound weak and feeble to me, as people who don't frequent the city centre like to portray.

These junkies aren't exactly shy about pointing out the nationality or colour of workers or tourists either.

Some just deserve a slap.

foggy_lad wrote: »
    There are a few rough looking characters begging along the luas line between Heuston and Connolly at the moment one in particular who looks like an older man but is probably about 35-45 and pretends to be retarded or suffering from the effects of a stroke. He shuffles along and dribbles from his mouth and has his mouth contorted and keeps repeating the same incoherent sentence again and again(change/€2 for a hostel) and just stands in front of tourists dribbling and babbling like a halfwit.

I have seen him on other occasions when he was not walking like a stroke victim and was talking perfectly with another of the city's scammer beggars, the security guards on the red line know them all by name!

There is another elderly? man that hangs around the bus stops on O'Connnell street begging, he is on crutches and gives the impression that he is homeless and a stroke victim. I have also seen this guy skip along the street to get away from approaching Gardai. Had a chat with a Garda at the 11 bus stop a while ago and he said the guy is well known as a shoplifter and pickpocket as well as his begging.

I have never given beggars on the street money but always stick a tenner or fiver in collections for Simon Community or SVDeP.

Is he baldish/grey haired, leather jacket?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

Meanwhile the junkies who are rich enough to snort their drugs of choice clog up the trendy bars, fancy hotels and less visible parts of Dublin. Allegedly. You know the type; the more "respectable" addicts. Allegedly.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,082 ✭✭✭cunnifferous

Before anyone looks down their noses at junkies I'd dare them to watch this series of videos interviewing junkies on the streets of Dublin.
    And?.

I'm guessing he was referring to that part.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,026 ✭✭✭Amalgam

A real chore walking along O'Connell Street in the evening, with the tourists, there seems to be a big rise in young lads cycling at quite a speed and just grabbing anything they can.

That activity has always been there, but it does seem busy at the moment.

Don't assume you'll be robbed by a pill mong, a lot of the dippers are non descript, usually middle aged women, with finely chiselled hands, to get into your belongings.. busy along Westmoreland Street, the bus stops near where Bewley's used to be.

And?.

And i've no sympathy for him or his plight.

That's one down, so. Do you have sympathy for addicts/homeless in general?

old hippy wrote: »
    That's one down, so. Do you have sympathy for addicts/homeless in general?

None of your business...thats not what this thread is about.

Funny thing is i've noticed a big decline in the numbers of alcos,tablet-monsters and yack bags hanging round the city centre of late.

None of your business...thats not what this thread is about.

It's alright, so. Your charming first post pretty much gives away how you feel about them.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,624 ✭✭✭SebBerkovich

O'Connell Street is the Crimea of Dublin - it's a sinkhole that requires far more resources than it could ever meaningfully produce and the only reason we're still holding on to it is because we can't push it into the Irish Sea and Russia isn't showing to much interest in taking it off our hands.

That said, i haven't been there in about a year but I don't feel like checking on it now just because it's now got a few less junkies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

Is he baldish/grey haired, leather jacket?

The guy on the Luas is balding with grey hair and usually just wearing shirt and pants pulled up way too far with braces, looks like he has been let out of a mental hospital on day release, The guy on O'Connell street has an expensive looking leather jacket.

• Registered Users Posts: 677 ✭✭✭vidor

It's a shame that O'Connell St wasn't maintained to be the number one street in the city. Obviously has lots more character than, say, somewhere like Grafton or Henry St but needs a good bit of work to bring it to the level of some other European cities. Just talking architecture/shops here but yeah, having addicts roaming the street doesn't help!

foggy_lad wrote: »
    The guy on the Luas is balding with grey hair and usually just wearing shirt and pants pulled up way too far with braces, looks like he has been let out of a mental hospital on day release, The guy on O'Connell street has an expensive looking leather jacket.

No way. I think I know him. Seems very convincing if it's him. Not sure he begs, just looks as you say.

I usually see him at Jervis/Four Courts.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,810 ✭✭✭✭jimmii

vidor wrote: »
    It's a shame that O'Connell St wasn't maintained to be the number one street in the city. Obviously has lots more character than, say, somewhere like Grafton or Henry St but needs a good bit of work to bring it to the level of some other European cities. Just talking architecture/shops here but yeah, having addicts roaming the street doesn't help!

Big time. I have a retail company and would never have a shop there. Talking to retailers who do have outlets there it is an absolute nightmare at times unless you have security.

Amalgam wrote: »
    A real chore walking along O'Connell Street in the evening, with the tourists, there seems to be a big rise in young lads cycling at quite a speed and just grabbing anything they can.

That activity has always been there, but it does seem busy at the moment.

Don't assume you'll be robbed by a pill mong, a lot of the dippers are non descript, usually middle aged women, with finely chiselled hands, to get into your belongings.. busy along Westmoreland Street, the bus stops near where Bewley's used to be.

Anytime anyone brings up crime in Dublin, someone usually brings up junkies aswell, as a canard, sometimes to change the subject like 'Old Hippy' seems to want to do.

I think it's fair to say, it's predominately the open drug dealing/taking, fighting and intimidatory begging by junkies that goes on unhindered in Dublin city centre that the gardaí allow and that the politicians who want to force people to visit Ireland can't be arsed enforcing.

In terms of thefts, muggings, attacks,etc, well they're scumbags, including juveniles who dress the same as junkies and act the same.

If the gardaí know where they operate, are not a match for them or won't stay where they know they are, and choose to ignore them, well then they should hand in their badge and let someone else do their job.

Does anyone else think that the gardaí are too afraid to actually stay permanently on O'Connell St and the like?