Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

UCD students hospitalised after taking "Scuzz"

13»

I feel sorry for these lads if they have stepped into the other world that is psychosis it will take them a long time to put things together again

A drug induced psychosis usually lasts up to a month. Any longer and there was probably an underlying psychiatric illness to begin with. It's a pity to see young healthy people scourged with schizophrenia.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,779 ✭✭✭Spunge

i got stimulant psychosis a few times. Only lasted a day or 2. Mainly from lack of sleep.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,442 ✭✭✭Sulla Felix

bnt wrote: »
    I have to admit that my first reaction upon reading the first story was to burst out laughing. The stuff is called Scuzz, FFS. That should be your first clue right there, assuming that you are so bloody stupid to ingest some random stuff being given out at a party.

I and all my peers spent years ingesting random stuff at parties. One of us is dead so far, from lung cancer. Must have been all the drugs, not the cigarettes of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,037 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

A drug induced psychosis usually lasts up to a month. Any longer and there was probably an underlying psychiatric illness to begin with. It's a pity to see young healthy people scourged with schizophrenia.

can anything be given to a patient in a drug induced psychosis or do they just have to ride it out?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,118 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

PND wrote: »
    I was brought up to believe that stupidity, alongside laziness, should never be rewarded. If you die or are seriously injured through your own sheer stupidity, who else is to blame? Who else should have to pick up the pieces?

Here's a scenario:
    You are a doctor working in an A+E department. You have two patients both requiring immediate attention: Patient (A)who consumed a cocktail of drugs and alcohol and is now blacked out comatose, or Patient (B) who was t-boned by a driver that broke a red light whilst driving home from work. Which one of these gets your attention first?

You treat the one that needs it most. I'm guessing Dr. PND would treat the car accident victim. And in the A+E department you won't know the details, like a patient knowingly took the drugs, or the driver of the car was the victim. You could later find out the drug overdose was from a spiked drink and the car accident victim was a joyrider in a stolen car who actually went through the red light himself.
    I don't know why I'm devoting any time to your idiotic opinion btw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 551 ✭✭✭Polka_Dot

Love the Brass Eye quote but unfortunately it doesn't answer my question ;)

I wasn't trying to ;)

can anything be given to a patient in a drug induced psychosis or do they just have to ride it out?

Usually put them on olanzapine or aripiprazole. Although, it varies from consultant to consultant and whether they have negative or positive symptoms. There is a case of waiting out though. Sad thing is that beenentally I'll, you are more likely to take illicit substances.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭Baked.noodle

I spent time inside, and they do dose you even if your illness has a illicit drug factor (Mentally ill people tend to abuse drugs). If you come out of it, and stay out of it they reckon it was drug induced psychosis. If you don't come out, or laps it would indicate a deeper mental issue. The Docs have to make their observations to try and work out what is what.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 107 ✭✭Miprocin

On a serious note. I work as a hospital pharmacist. These "legal highs" are the biggest threat in mental health at the moment. Quality and dose are not guaranteed. Again, I don't think that the drugs are specifically causing the psychosis, they are just precipitating them.Funnily, as heroin usage rates are finally coming down, legal highs are increasing.

If anybody is going to take legal highs, I would advise them to start off with a small dose, also if you are on any antidepressants or antipsychotics, to please stay away from them. The buzz ain't worth the risk of been locked up/ sectioned in a intensive pharmaceutical care unit.

None of the possible compounds in question in this particular case would be legal. Our Misuse of Drugs Act is pretty comprehensive and covers all ring substituted phenethylamines. I think it's quite clear that LSD doesn't cause this type of reaction.

And no, it doesn't sound like a bad trip "because the dosage was too high".

Again, LSD has been around for a long time and is physiologically safe. It doesn't cause seizures, foaming at the mouth or respiratory difficulties. The NBOMe class does.
    Just looking at the photo on the Irishtimes website. It's acid alright, whether or not there is anything else in it isn't clearly stated

Seems to me like a load people dropped acid (probably a substantial amount) in the wrong place and had a very bad experience

That photo just shows blotter tabs. There could be anything on them.

Relevant reading

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,063 ✭✭✭Greenmachine

Miprocin wrote: »
    None of the possible compounds in question in this particular case would be legal. Our Misuse of Drugs Act is pretty comprehensive and covers all ring substituted phenethylamines. I think it's quite clear that LSD doesn't cause this type of reaction.

And no, it doesn't sound like a bad trip "because the dosage was too high".

Again, LSD has been around for a long time and is physiologically safe. It doesn't cause seizures, foaming at the mouth or respiratory difficulties. The NBOMe class does.

That photo just shows blotter tabs. There could be anything on them.

Relevant reading

Different story again today saying the two drugs were taken seperately. Give it another day or two before we told, that what was taken was a single unrelated drug.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,779 ✭✭✭Spunge

neither LSD nor methamphetmine would cause the seizures and sh1t though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

c0rk3r wrote: »
    The consumer is the one driving demand and financing the higher ups.
    That's the case with everything in today's consumer society, do you take responsibility for the welfare of the animals that suffer because you buy cheap meat? Do you take responsibility for the children that died in mines getting the minerals to make your phone?

Consumers have no direct control of the market, the only group that can affect these markets is the government. Drug related organised crime is completely the fault of the law and the people who continue to enforce that law. The law creates the black market and that black market is much worse than the effects drugs have on a minority of people who can't control their urges..

Exactly, why should we care about their health if they don't? Hospital are full to the brim with people whose ailments are self-inflicted but we don't do personal accountability in this country.
    Luckily hospitals are there to cure medical conditions not to teach people the benefits of personal accountability.
    I was brought up to believe that stupidity, alongside laziness, should never be rewarded.
    Jaysus, it's a wonder you made it out of infancy. You must have got the whole walking thing first go.

Nobody is born with inbuilt knowledge, you have to make mistakes to learn.
    Here's a scenario:
    You are a doctor working in an A+E department. You have two patients both requiring immediate attention: Patient (A)who consumed a cocktail of drugs and alcohol and is now blacked out comatose, or Patient (B) who was t-boned by a driver that broke a red light whilst driving home from work. Which one of these gets your attention first?
    Doctors don't make choices like that, they look at who is most in need of the care. In your scenario the comatose drug user is probably just asleep so the doctor would move on.