Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Leaving Cert 2014 OT v2.0 - Official Bitch & Moan thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,849 ✭✭✭bluejay14

Good luck in the morning lads and with the rest of the exams too :) Ye'll be grand and it's not the end of the world at the end of the day!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,673 ✭✭✭aleatorio

LoveLamps wrote: »
    What do I need to know layout wise for p1?

Letter -
    .........................................................name,
    .........................................................address
    ..........................................................date
    receiver
    address

dear..
    yours sincerely/faithfully

Anything else? Is a diary just 'dear diary, ..... ' ??

And speech anything in particular? Just address your audience at the start?

That it?

Letter to the editor, informal letter, report

• Registered Users Posts: 781 ✭✭✭LoveLamps

aleatorio wrote: »
    Letter to the editor, informal letter, report

What do you do for those??

Informal letter how's the layout different to the one I had?

And report? What headings?

shit shit shit shit shit shit shit shit shit shit shit shit

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,374 ✭✭✭Hotale.com

I don't think I've ever had my mood more accurately represented on the internet. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,971 ✭✭✭✭peekachoo

Don't forget interviews!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,004 ✭✭✭pavb2

were-having-an-exam-tomorrow

Good luck everyone tomorrow

• Registered Users Posts: 34 TaiHusky

Why did I not study, like, what is wrong with me. Paper 2 is going to make me cry like a bitch. And geography!? Like, I know physical and thats about it. What even is economic geography!? Im so very ****ed for these exams

TaiHusky wrote: »
    Why did I not study, like, what is wrong with me. Paper 2 is going to make me cry like a bitch. And geography!? Like, I know physical and thats about it. What even is economic geography!? Im so very ****ed for these exams

Aspiring will be along now in a minute to offer you some reassurance :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,673 ✭✭✭aleatorio

What do you do for those??

Informal letter how's the layout different to the one I had?

And report? What headings?

Informal letter - you just put the recipients address in top right, use 'Dear..' And say something like 'with love' at the end, use informal language

Letter to the editor - at the top just have the name of the article you're responding to and the date and author of it, or if it's just general then have a topic sentence, begin the letter with 'Sir -' and continue writing after the dash, finish off with 'Yours etc.' and then put your name and address underneath

Report headings are: introduction (brief title), terms of reference (who commissioned it and what for), research methods (what you did to gather info), findings (make up statistics and facts), conclusion (expand on the findings and draw conclusions from them), recommendations (what to do to solve the problem etc.)
    Then sign off with your name and date :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 361 ✭✭jazz101

OH GOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOODDDDDDDDDD

What do I bring? I have my exam number, pens and a ruler. Is that enough? IS THAT ENOUGH?

jazz101 wrote: »
    OH GOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOODDDDDDDDDD

What do I bring? I have my exam number, pens and a ruler. Is that enough? IS THAT ENOUGH?

NEARLY FORGOT TO LEARN OFF MY EXAM NUMBER!!!!!! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,204 ✭✭✭Aspiring

Do yous not have your exam numbers stuck to the desk? We have it up in the corner of the desk. They'll all be set out tomorrow in order of exam number. Bad thing is that if you don't get a good seat then your fúcked.

• Registered Users Posts: 40 sammydev

Hotale.com wrote: »

Ohhhhhhhhh ****tttt!!!!! I forgot too!!!!!

Is it not on your table anyway?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,799 ✭✭✭onethreefive

Would the seating be roughly the same as the mock if its in the same room? I had a good spot for the mock. Nowhere near the fans blowing hot air!

sammydev wrote: »
    Ohhhhhhhhh ****tttt!!!!! I forgot too!!!!!

Is it not on your table anyway?

I dunno.. :p

• Registered Users Posts: 142 ✭✭MrAweesome

Last year the exam numbers were on all the tables :)

My number is super easy to remember. There's only 3 different digits in it :P

You have to learn them off? YOU HAVE TO LEARN THEM OFF? WHAT? MINE'S ON MY CALCULATOR STUCK ON THE BACK OF IT IS THAT NOT OK?

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 26,403 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peregrine

Would the seating be roughly the same as the mock if its in the same room? I had a good spot for the mock. Nowhere near the fans blowing hot air!

The fans! I remember them from JC mocks! They got proper heaters after that though, thankfully.

We do mocks in the gym and the real exams in class.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 244 ✭✭Huell

Lads it has been an honour, i hope you all get the papers ya want :P

Good luck everyone. There's always next year, even if you're already repeating ;) Cheers for all the wonderful procrastination :)

tumblr_mdcbi9ZuIt1rjd8x5o1_400.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,971 ✭✭✭✭peekachoo

Good luck everyone. There's always next year, even if you're already repeating ;)Cheers for all the wonderful procrastination :)

tumblr_mdcbi9ZuIt1rjd8x5o1_400.gif

I'm gonna ignore that and wish you well anyway :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,222 ✭✭✭Calvin

Good luck to you all tomorrow! Hopefully I'll see you all happy on the other end :pac:

And for those who forgot your exam number (like me) you can get it by logging into cao.ie

May your comprehensions be a breeze,
    No question of their meaning,
    Your Question B's flow with ease,
    Not cruel or demeaning,
    Your composition an orgasmic sneeze,
    To leave the examiner leaning.

You can bring it with you can't you?

jazz101 wrote: »
    You can bring it with you can't you?

I'd say you can in fairness :)

• Registered Users Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭bb1234567

Im both terrified and incredibly excited. Strange

• Registered Users Posts: 50 ✭✭Microphone Head

Are you allowed to bring your bag in and leave it up the front?

• Registered Users Posts: 445 ✭✭JDOC1996

Nope.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 4,621 Mod ✭✭✭✭Mr. G

Any books, notes, computers, phones, mp3 players etc have to be outside the exam centre. They go through the rules usually before the paper is given out.