Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

On route to becoming a powerlifter

• 15-05-2014 10:07pm
    Registered Users Posts: 939 ✭✭✭

Powerlifting has always been a sport I was interested in from a young age. Hopefully in the next year I will have competed in my first competition wether its in single lifts or the 3 lifts squat, bench and deadlift.

I currently weigh 84-85kg so I will aim for the 82.5kg weight category as I have gotten some advice not to drop into the 78kg category due to the strength freaks that are within :D

My current lifts are as follows

Squat ATG 145kg
    Bench Paused 137.5kg
    Deadlift 185kg

Giving me a total of 467.5kg. My aim is to get to around the 500kg mark before entering into a competition.

For my training I will probably do 4 weeks of 5x5, 4 weeks of 3x3 then test to see how my previous 8 weeks of training have gone.

• Registered Users Posts: 939 ✭✭✭chriity139

Will start my 5x5 training tomorrow as I have already done legs today which consisted of the following

Below parallel Box Squats
    1x10 @ 20kg
    1x10 @ 60kg
    1x10 @ 80kg
    1x5 @ 100kg
    1x5 @ 120kg
    1x3 @ 130kg
    3x1 @ 140kg

Hamstring curl
    1x10 @ 61kg
    1x10 @ 68kg
    1x10 @ 75kg
    3x6 @ 82kg

Bb SLD
    1x20 @ 40kg
    1x10 @ 60kg
    1x10 @ 80kg
    3x10 @ 60kg with a 3 second pause at max contraction

Pullups were done between each set of hamstrings

Finished it off with 10 rounds of the prowler 30 meters up and back each time.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,155 ✭✭✭COH

My advice to you is as follows:

- Do the first comp you can irrespective of your bodyweight or best lifts
    - Don't cut for your first comp
    - Don't worry about being 'strong enough' to compete!
    - Compete often
    - You don't get extra white lights for squatting ATG :D
    - You can find all the info you need re: comps on the IDFPA, GPC and IPO facebook pages.

Its a deadly little community.. I wish I had gotten involved much sooner then I did.

Good luck with the log, I shall be reading with interest.

COH wrote: »
    My advice to you is as follows:

- Do the first comp you can irrespective of your bodyweight or best lifts
    - Don't cut for your first comp
    - Don't worry about being 'strong enough' to compete!
    - Compete often
    - You don't get extra white lights for squatting ATG :D
    - You can find all the info you need re: comps on the IDFPA, GPC and IPO facebook pages.

Its a deadly little community.. I wish I had gotten involved much sooner then I did.

Good luck with the log, I shall be reading with interest.

Thanks for the advice COH :D

Will have a look at the pages and chose a date. I heard the community is great for support and advice. Have you done many comps ?

hahaha I just like squatting ATG so I should be a little stronger at parallel.

Nice one for the support

Got in touch with IPO on Facebook about upcoming events. In July they are having a bench your bodyweight for reps challenge and in September a bench and deadlift comp will be on. I will be going for both of these to start gaining experience for the meets

Week 1 day 1 5x5

Deadlift
    1x10 @ 70kg
    1x10 @ 110kg
    5x5 @ 140kg

Superset x 10
    db chest press 42.5kg x 10
    rear delt fly x 15
    Close grip pulley row 68kg x 8

Completed superset x 10 in less than 30mins

Week 1 Day 2 5x5

Box Squats
    1x10 @ 20kg
    1x10 @ 60kg
    1x5 @ 100kg
    5x5 @ 120kg
    1x2 @ 130kg
    failed 140kg

Rack pull
    1x10 @ 60kg
    1x10 @ 100kg
    5x5 @ 140kg

Week 1 Day 3 5x5

5 sets of rotator cuff exercises and pullups

Decline bench
    1x20 @ 20kg
    5x12 @ 60kg
    1x12 @ 80kg
    2x12 @ 100kg

Incline bench
    6x12 @ 60kg

Flat bench
    1x5 @ 90kg
    1x5 @ 100kg
    5x5 @ 110kg

Db press
    6x12 @ 30kg

Week 2 Day 1 5x5

Deadlift
    1x10 @ 60kg
    1x10 @ 100kg
    5x5 @ 145kg

Db chest press
    1x10 @ 35kg
    1x10 @ 40kg
    1x10 @ 45kg
    5x5 @ 50kg

Superset done between each set of pressing
    1x15 @ rear delt flies
    Rotator cuff exercises

Back extension
    5x10

Week 2 Day 2 5x5

Lower back was very sore all day, no idea what I did to it so I couldn't go as heavy as I wanted to on my box squat, was meant to do 5x5 @ 122.5kg.

Well below parallel box squat
    1x10 @ 20kg
    1x10 @ 60kg
    1x10 @ 80kg
    5x5 @ 100kg

Was ment to follow up with rack pulls of 5x5 @ 145kg this week but after warming up at 60kg I felt it constantly in my lower back so I did the smart thing and stopped.

Superset 1 x6
    A1 latt pulldown x10 @ 55-82kg
    B1 Cable rear delt flies x15 @ 5kg
    C1 Seated leg curl x12 @ 80-110kg

Superset 2 x6
    A2 Rear delt fly machine x15 @ 15-35kg
    B2 Leg extension x12 @ 50-130kg
    C2 Rope latt pull x15 @ 20-34kg

Superset 3 x6
    A3 Cable chest fly x15 @ 25-30kg
    B3 DB shoulder press with a twist x12 @ 10kg
    C3 Standing leg curl x12 @ 30kg

Bb Bench
    1x20 @ 20kg
    1x10 @ 60kg
    1x10 @ 80kg
    1x10 @ 100kg
    1x3 @ 120kg
    1x1 @ 130kg
    1x1 @ 135kg

Ran out of time to try 140kg. I'd say I would have got it this week as I found 135kg fairly easy with no sticking point.

Week 2 Day 3 5x5

Flat bench
    3x10 @ 60kg
    1x10 @ 80kg
    1x10 @ 100kg
    5x5 @ 115kg (pb)

Decline bench
    1x20 @ 60kg
    2x10 @ 100kg
    1x10 @ 120kg (pb)
    1x2 @ 140kg (pb)
    1x10 @ 110kg
    1x10 @ 100kg
    1x10 @ 60kg

Incline bench
    3x10 @ 60kg
    3x10 @ 80kg

Db Chest press
    5x10 @ 30kg

Week 2 Day 4 5x5

Warm up 10 mins on bike

Squats
    1x10 @ 20kg
    1x10 @ 60kg
    1x10 @ 80kg
    5x5 @ 100kg

Did arms for the rest of the session. Cant get over how hard 100kg felt to me on my squat last night since I changed from normal squatting to box squatting due to a tight hip flexor for the past 3 weeks. Hip flexor didn't bother me at all last night which is good news.

Week 3 Day 1 5x5

Walked on treadmill for 10mins to warm up

Deadlift
    1x10 @ 60kg
    1x5 @ 100kg
    1x5 @ 120kg
    5x5 @ 150kg

My deadlifts felt really good and strong dismorning. The last rep of set 4 and 5 were a bit of a fight. Looking forward to next week deadlifting to see how 5x5 @ 155kg goes.

Week 4 Day 1 5x5

Weighed in tonight at 83.6kg. Started this slow cut around 8 weeks ago at 87kg. Much prefer cutting over a prolonged period of time rather than say a month or two month cut to get down to your desired weight. I have managed to keep my strength 8 weeks into it and still have bags of energy. I don't have a goal weight in mind Im just going by feel with my strength. Once that starts to suffer I'll stop cutting and maintain.

Barbell Bench
    1x20 @ 20kg
    1x10 @ 60kg
    1x5 @ 80kg
    1x5 @ 100kg
    5x5 @ 117.5kg (pb)

Between every bench set I did the following
    Trap 3 1x10 @ 1.25kg plate
    Standing db rear delt fly 1x10 @ 7.5kg
    Latt pulldown 1x10 @ 73kg

The 117.5kg bench felt an awful lot heavier than the 115kg bench last week, this was only for the first set of 5. The next 4 sets were fine until my final rep which was a bit of a struggle but I got it in the end.

Superset x8
    Barbell row 1x10 @ 40kg
    Standing skull crusher 1x10 @ 40kg
    Standing db shoulder press with a twist at the top 1x10 @ 12.5kg

Rear delt fly machine
    Lots and lots

Week 4 Day 2 Squats

I have decided against training my squat in a 5x5 program as I have gotten the best strength gains from double reps.

Warm up 10 mins on bike

Squats
    1x10 @ 20kg
    1x10 @ 60kg
    1x5 @ 100kg
    1x2 @ 110kg
    1x2 @ 120kg
    1x2 @ 130kg
    Belt
    1x1 @ 135kg
    1x1 @ 140kg
    1x1 @ 145kg
    1x1 @ 150kg (pb)

Went on to do a bit of light chest afterwards

Decline bench
    Incline bench
    Dumb bell press
    Lots of rear felt machine flies

Delighted with my squat hitting 150kg. I have been chasing that double bw squat for a long time and Im finally knocking on the door of it. Another 14kg and I have accomplished that goal.

Week 4 Day 3 Deadlift

Warmup 10 mins on bike

Deadlift
    1x5 @ 60kg
    1x5 @ 100kg
    1x5 @ 140kg
    Belt
    4x4 @ 160kg
    1x10 @ 140kg
    1x10 @ 100kg
    1x10 @ 60kg

Gym was boiling, bars had no grip on them even when using chalk. Bar kept slipping out of my hand so was disappointed I didn't get 5x5 @ 160kg. Will have another go at it next week. I feel I have the strength to for it. Last week 5x5 @ 155kg was fairly handy, unreal the difference 5kg can make.

Week 5 Day 1 Bench

Bench
    1x10 @ 20kg
    1x10 @ 60kg
    1x10 @ 80kg
    1x5 @ 100kg
    3x3 @ 120kg
    Wrap
    1x1 @ 130kg
    1x1 @ 135kg
    1x1 @ 140kg (pb)

Wouldn't say it was an easy 140kg but was much of a fight. Had the biggest smile on my face in a long long while when I locked out the rep. My spotter was genuinely so happy for me and a bit taken back that a little fella could bench so much. Still smiling thinking of it :)

In between each bench set I did rotator cuff exercises and lat pulldowns

Afterwards I supersetted Db tricep extensions, Bb row and rear felt flies for 6 sets

Relaxed today with one the lads playing football golf in howth. Probably the most fun iv had on a gold course. Lovely sunny weather for it too. Grand way to spend 2 hours

• Registered Users Posts: 24,600 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

chriity139 wrote: »
    Relaxed today with one the lads playing football golf in howth. Probably the most fun iv had on a gold course. Lovely sunny weather for it too. Grand way to spend 2 hours

The one up in Deer Park?

Great craic!

Yeah only found out about it dismorning. Really really good fun

Overall body conditioning

Superset 1
    Leg press 1x20 @ 100kg
    hanging leg raises 1x15
    Walking lunges 1x30
    x10

Superset 2
    Tricep pushup 1x20
    Barbell squat 1x20 @ 20kg
    Standing skull crusher 1x20 @ 40kg
    x10

Superset 3
    Standing leg curl 1x15 @ 25kg
    Seated close grip cable row 1x15 @ 48kg
    Seated calf pushdown 1x30 @ 90kg
    x5

Finished this in an hour and a half. Heat in the gym was ridiculous and came close to getting sick a few times. Have no power what so ever in my legs at the moment. Walking is even hard

Week 5 Day 2 Deadlifts

Morning round of football golf, legs were so tired from yesterday conditioning.

Gym

Warmup 25mins on the stairs

Deadlift
    1x10 @ 70kg
    10x10 @ 100kg

Decided to take a break from the heavy reps so I am going to see how heavy I can go with 10x10

The rest of the workout was plate loaded row, lat pull down, lat rope pull, Bb row and rope pull down.

• Registered Users Posts: 769 ✭✭✭Da Za

chriity139 wrote: »
    Week 5 Day 2 Deadlifts

Morning round of football golf, legs were so tired from yesterday conditioning.

Gym

Warmup 25mins on the stairs

Deadlift
    1x10 @ 70kg
    10x10 @ 100kg

Decided to take a break from the heavy reps so I am going to see how heavy I can go with 10x10

The rest of the workout was plate loaded row, lat pull down, lat rope pull, Bb row and rope pull down.

You won't get too far with 10x10 before you die lol

Id say if I reach 120kg 10x10 i'll be happy.

Week 5 Day 3 Squats

Warmup 10 mins on bike

Squats
    1x10 @ 20kg
    1x10 @ 60kg
    1x10 @ 80kg
    1x10 @ 100kg
    1x10 @ 110kg
    1x5 @ 120kg
    3x3 @ 130kg

Stiff leg deads
    1x20 @ 20kg
    1x20 @ 60kg
    1x20 @ 70kg
    1x20 @ 80kg

Hack Squat
    3x10 @ 120kg

Standing leg curl
    3x12 @ 34kg

Week 6 Day 1 Bench

Bench
    1x20 @ 20kg
    1x10 @ 60kg
    1x10 @ 80kg
    1x5 @ 100kg
    3x3 @ 125kg

Between ever set I did rotator cuff exercises, lat pulldown and rear felt flies

Superset 1 x5
    1x10 @ 73kg Lat pulldown
    1x15 Leg raises
    1x10 @ 20kg seated machine rear felt flies

Superset 2 x5
    1x5 pull ups
    1x20 @ 60kg bench press
    1x12 @ 60kg Barbell row

60min swim

2 more weeks of this strength cycle then I can go back to focusing on reps for a while to give my body a break. Going to spend a lot of time fixing my shoulder as a little niggle has started to appear after I bench.

Forgot I also rack pulled last night so I'll add it in now

Rack pull below knee
    1x10 @ 70kg
    1x10 @ 110kg
    1x10 @ 150kg
    1x5 @ 170kg
    5x3 @ 180kg

Week 6 Day 2 Ment to be deadlifting

Deadlifting was on the agenda today but noticed it put a lot of strain on my already sore shoulder so just did a heavy back session.

Will probably come back to the deadlifting later on in the week.

Seated plate loaded row
    1x30 @ 20kg x2
    1x12 @ 40kg x2
    wraps
    1x12 @ 60kg x2
    1x12 @ 70kg x2
    1x12 @ 80kg x2
    1x10 @ 85kg x2
    1x10 @ 90kg x2 (Bearly got the 10th rep) pb

Medium grip lat pull down
    1x10 @ 45kg
    1x10 @ 54kg
    1x10 @ 63kg
    1x10 @ 72kg
    1x10 @ 81kg

Barbell row
    1x10 @ 60kg
    1x10 @ 70kg
    1x10 @ 80kg
    1x10 @ 90kg
    1x10 @ 100kg
    1x10 @ 110kg

Superset x5
    1x10 @ 72kg wide grip lat pulldown
    1x15 @ 20kg Bent over rope lat pull
    1x15 @ 63kg Kneeling rope face pull

Between every set I did 1x15 hanging leg raises. Getting my shoulder looked at tomorrow hopefully its nothing too bad

Week 6 Cardio + testing my shoulder

Today was suppose to be my rest day but got an itching to go to the gym. Only planned on doing cardio and leaving. After cardio I still had a lot of energy and didn't feel like leaving. For the past week or 2 I am getting a little nigle in my shoulder when benching with a barbell. Tried that again tonight but shoulder still bothered me. Went onto dumbbell. Had to mess around with hand positions to find one that didn't affect my shoulder at all.
    Found that pressing with my thumbs at a small angle inwards didn't affect my shoulder at all, was really happy about that as I missed pressing.

Cardio
    30mins on the stairs

Superset 1
    Db chest pressing
    1x20 @ 25kg
    1x10 @ 30kg
    1x10 @ 35kg
    1x10 @ 42.5kg
    Wraps
    2x9 @ 50kg (pb)
    1x1 @ 55kg (no idea why I failed after 1 rep)
    1x4 @ 55kg (maybe a pb)
    2x6 @ 50kg (previous pb for reps with 50kg)

Inbetween each set of db chest pressing I did the following
    1x12 @ 25kg Bb curl
    1x12 @ 20-81kg rope face pull
    1x10 raised leg raises

Superset 2
    1x24 @ 17.5kg Db hammer curls
    1x15 @ 14kg tricep rope pulldowns
    1x12 @ 25kg Bb curl

Cooldown
    bike for 10mins

Given your log and the fact it might never be the same, barbell pressing and some DB pressing kills my shoulder because of rotator cuff issues. Might be worth keeping an eye on.

DB has never given me any problems in my shoulders. Only reason I went back to BB is because I want to compete in powerlifting and sadly DB press is not one of the lifts :(

Id do rotator cuff exercises and rear delt exercises at least 3 times a week so can't imagine they are weak.

With my shoulder its not the usual part of the shoulder which you hurt by benching, I feel it where my trap and shoulder meets. I think its because I store a lot of tension in my upper back and traps thats causing this pain.

Fair enough...I just feel it where I shouldn't and a time seems to touch of shoulder impingement which has manifested itself in a couple .For ways. Nothing serious beyond irritation but BB bench is weak as Temple Bar booze but changing the grip a little works. Just said I'd flag it in case it helped :)