Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Elite: Dangerous

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,522 ✭✭✭ECO_Mental

Rocked up to Ceos sothis to grind the fed rank and having a bit of fun doing it. Started off with my AspX but got interdicted on the first trip by an NPC(and killed). Anyway said feck this and called in the cavalry, namely my kickass engineered FDL...:D now its oh yeah you want to interdict me? why don't I just slow up and double back around to make sure you catch me. Then boom game over you laddie :P

I'm also taking on the odd assiniation mission also as more than likely theses guys will find you and that's an extra 1.5m in the bank every trip to soften the donations.

The FDL is perfect for the job, boost out of the station at 480m/s and your out of mass lock in seconds. Also whacked on a docking computer and from jump in, boost like hell to the entrance power down and hey presto .... in like flynn, as they say. Flying through the missions and ranks.

6.1kWp south facing, South of Cork City

• Closed Accounts Posts: 885 ✭✭✭Internet Friend

I have to say, I do really enjoy flying the FDL if I'm just running missions for fun. Just remember to stick a 4t cargo rack in for those high paying missions that also reward commodities!

I have a 16 tonne cargo rack as the amount of missions I'm going through I would have to be emptying the cargo hold every few seconds when cashing in. I know its over kill and I'm down maybe a shield cell but I'm only fighting the odd NPC conda and can live without it.

Just noticed last night that CEOS is in bust I think, this wont affect my ranking rate. There are plenty of missions and I seem to be going handy enough through the ranks, at 87% lieutenant and started at 20% Ensign only a day or two ago.

It would have an effect on the type of missions being offered, which might have a lower rank influence. Depends on how long they stay in Bust really, that's entirely down to how many players are currently running missions out there and how they're affecting the BGS. Preferably you want the systems to be in a Boom state.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭Sesshoumaru

Is it just me or does anyone else like the 'engine' noises when flying the FDL?

It would have an effect on the type of missions being offered, which might have a lower rank influence. Depends on how long they stay in Bust really, that's entirely down to how many players are currently running missions out there and how they're affecting the BGS. Preferably you want the systems to be in a Boom state.

All the data missions are only 1 star influence. The kill missions are only 2 star

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

Is it just me or does anyone else like the 'engine' noises when flying the FDL?

is it just me but when flying the FDL in asteroids fighting something do you make the FDL noises for it?

dreamers75 wrote: »
    is it just me but when flying the FDL in asteroids fighting something do you make the FDL noises for it?

Yep, hit the boost button and automatically blurt out "Wu Du Du Du, pfhgtrhgfhgfthgfftt" :pac:

The Beluga Liner has an awesome boost as well one of the best better than the FDL I'd say

I call my kids over to listen to the engine noises :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,579 ✭✭✭EoinHef

So finally got the corvette to a decent point,took all the engineered modules from the conda and gave her a bit more engineering last night. Its pretty beastly alright

Only at 50% Lt. Commander myself so bit to go :( had to come back to the bubble from Ceos to give my brain a rest . Only to find Parutis on lockdown! So no money making for me. Ah well time to hit a haz res with the Conda and grind some combat rank. Was going to leave the bulk of this to the corvette, melt my way Elite:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,241 ✭✭✭god's toy

We had a stream on Twitch the other day where we compered every engine and boost sound in the game. lol it took about 6 hrs but was quite enjoyable, I didn't appreciate the subtle differences they put into each ship until now.

I say 'we' I mean 'my group' as I'm still quite penny-less as I spend more time watching people play than playing myself...

A little tip for those using Parutis/Medb run.

Theres a system right next to Parutis called Edenapel,with a station right next to the star called Yu Market. Much easier to use there and Evans Hub to fill up the larger ships,cutting the time i need to fill larger ships in half. Im nearly allied in both systems though so ymmv

Beyond - Chapter 1, Open Beta coming 25th January.

Update will include the new ship, the Chieftain

Beyond - Chapter 1, Open Beta coming 25th January.

Update will include the new ship, the Chieftain

wow a lot of info in that trailer:rolleyes:....that Chieftain look good though. will it be a goid specialist ship?

ECO_Mental wrote: »
    wow a lot of info in that trailer:rolleyes:....that Chieftain look good though. will it be a goid specialist ship?

Haha, yeah, there's a load in the 15 seconds or so! Not sure what it's speciality will be though. Allegedly its supposed to be highly maneuverable.

More info about the Beta on the forums here

There was a link within the link ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭Fian

Is this a patch or are they moving towards another season anytime soon?

I never bought horizons, now have a vr headset and am inclined to pick it up but want to avoid picking it up just before a new season launches. Expected one would have launched by now tbh. I kind of assumed thargoids would arrive with a new season pass.

New Ship: Chieftain
    Elite Dangerous Horizons Commanders will also be able to take to the stars in the new Alliance Chieftain, designed not only to dish out punishment, but to avoid it. Manufactured by Lakon Spaceways, the Chieftain is more maneuverable than ships of similar size and weight, and its combat profile means it can more than hold its own in a fight.

Improved Core Mechanics
    Chapter 1 of Beyond will bring improvements to some of Elite Dangerous' core mechanics, including accessibility enhancements to the engineering mechanics, an overhaul of mission rewards and big changes to Crime and Punishment. We’ll be sharing more information on the changes to Crime and Punishment, and the Engineers in a future post here on the forums and in the livestreams mentioned above.

Wing Missions
    Chapter 1 of Beyond will give you the chance to take on wing missions with your fellow Commanders, sharing both the efforts and rewards.

Revised Trade Data
    Commanders will now be able to access trade data from systems they have previously visited, in order to make more informed decisions when shipping goods across the Milky Way.

Planetary Visual Improvements
    Chapter 1 also includes the first of the planetary visual improvements coming as part of the Beyond series of updates (with more surface level improvements coming later in the year) bringing a new vibrancy to the Elite Dangerous galaxy.

GalNet Audio
    With the introduction of GalNet Audio, you will be able to catch up on the latest news from across the galaxy without ever leaving the action

Fian wrote:
    Is this a patch or are they moving towards another season anytime soon?

Update / expansion. All are free this year to horizons owners. They have 4 planned this year, 2 major, 2 minor. This is the first major update.

Also, thargoids have been in the game since Jan last year, but only interactive since late september.

Looks like the beta us free to all players regardless of Horizons, guess its a taster for anyone without it to buy it.

Anbody currently doing the Imp rank grind,Cemiess to Veques is a good spot in a large ship atm

I dont hang around to long looking for missions back to cemiess,to many stations in cemiess.

Went from50% squire to 20% from baron in about 3 and a half hours last night:)

Its alright, prefer the Corvette for combat.

522DC87B3B12B1D7D3F2B8A13CD8B15D11EE8E9B

Yes we are on top of each other, he is not far away :D

Grinding two ranks atm, federal and combat what else would you do with every single minute of your spare time:P

Anyway I can see an end to the federal but omg is combat a grind. 25% master atm and want to get least dangerous to unlock the g5 beam laser engineer. How did ye guys do it. Found a CNB and that's great lots of elites in AspX and even sidwinders :D also found that if you go to an anarchy system and a haz res you can blast the hell out of everybody and still get rank. There is no fast way here I suppose. Read up its about 1800 elite kills just for the last rank up, that's about 2400 average kills. I think this is a career target just dip in and out. But I think I will put an effort into getting to dangerous.

I only target Elite ships, as usual there is no fast way.

Going on a murder spree and killing everything in sight also helps!

Thats what Im doing in an Anarchy system haz res, felt a bit guilty blasting the S**T of some poor old miner in a type 7 for the first time:o, but hey its lawless...and its points . Everything and anything that crosses my path gets it:p

Kinda pointless killing everything.

http://elite-dangerous.wikia.com/wiki/Combat

You get 0 from of them just wasted ammo.

Kinda pointless killing everything.

http://elite-dangerous.wikia.com/wiki/Combat

You get 0 from of them just wasted ammo.

Ah yeah I know, but it's still fun!

The way I see it, I'd rather enjoy the game than get caught up in an XP grind. From what I've seen, the rank of NPC ships scaled with my rank (or at least appeared to, I know it's supposed to be random) so you won't be coming across many low ranked ships in a CZ or Rez as you rank up. Very rarely do I see anything below Expert these days.

If you are in a wing it scales to whoever jumps in 1st which can be fun.

Wonder what the points are for Thargoids.

Be interesting to see that alright, or if it even adds to combat rank.

If it does, surely it's on the same level as the equivalent for killing an elite NPC.

Okay, wouldn't mind some advice here! I've exported my Anaconda build:

https://eddp.co/u/axwFmos2

I've only had it a few days and I really like it. Up until now I've had an FDL & ASP Explorer. So it's my first big ship.

So I got invited to do some massacre missions in a CZ and it was really a different experience when you're in a big ship with other people in big ships! But I do end up running out of ammo eventually. I did initially go with MC as I can mod these to g5 overcharged. I don't have the laser engineer unlocked yet.

Anyway if anyone has any advise or builds they'd like to share, please do! Pulse lasers? burst? beam? or is it good to stick with MC? or a mixture? Also I don't think I need collector limpets, but should I maybe just go with another hull booster? Thanks!

Land on a planet gather as much MC synthesis materials as you can possibly get, like easily 150 eqch of Iron, Nickel, Sulphur for normal ammo.

Special 15/30% ammo needs more rarer materials.

Rearm during the fight, you need lots of them if have a shield tank.

Land on a planet gather as much MC synthesis materials as you can possibly get, like easily 150 eqch of Iron, Nickel, Sulphur for normal ammo.

Special 15/30% ammo needs more rarer materials.

Rearm during the fight, you need lots of them if have a shield tank.

Thanks! While unlocking engineers I discovered barnacle planets. Had to find a new one the other day to get Chromium as my usual spot never spawned Chromium. Just checked and I've 40 regular reloads and 10 premium currently. I'd forgotten about that as I'd been saving everything for leveling up engineers.

I guess you don't think MC are bad so?

MC's are awesome when overcharged.

My conda, when I had it fit for combat, had 2 large plasma, efficient mod, and overcharged MC everywhere else. Found it pretty balanced. Keep the plasma for big guys and rip everything else apart with the multis

After seeing this video, I set out to make my own Federal Annihilator. All MC5 Overcharged with explosive as the bonus.

It took a long time going from level 5 to 3 for 7 weapons.

But as you can see in the video above....well.

"ving of 3, ving of 2, ving of 1, ving of none" :D

A Corvette with G5 Overcharged MC's all around is the epitome of death.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,411 ✭✭✭Icyseanfitz

is there a wing that everyone here is on lads?

After seeing this video, I set out to make my own Federal Annihilator. All MC5 Overcharged with explosive as the bonus.

It took a long time going from level 5 to 3 for 7 weapons.

But as you can see in the video above....well.

"ving of 3, ving of 2, ving of 1, ving of none" :D

That looks awesome! But does he need multiple MC with corrosive? I thought it doesn't stack and you lose some damage on whatever weapon its applied to?

I'm mostly around Haxel Port in LTT 15574, I'm happy to wing up with anybody if I'm free.

That looks awesome! But does he need multiple MC with corrosive? I thought it doesn't stack and you lose some damage on whatever weapon its applied to?

I use a few pulse lasers for that reason,effects dont stack. Figure having a few rapid fire pulses with different effects is a good balance as opposed to all MC's.

In saying that with the size of the corvettes hardpoints an all MC build will shred anyway.

That's correct, the corrosive effect doesn't stack so really sticking it on both size 1's would be fine. My Corvette has MC's all round with a mix of Corrosive, Incendiary and Thermal rounds.

Think most of us on PC are in Mobius,a private PvE group. Im also in it on PS4. See a decent amount of people on PC as Mobius has 10000+ members on there iirc. Not so many on PS4 unless in a CG system

EoinHef wrote: »
    Think most of us on PC are in Mobius,a private PvE group. Im also in it on PS4. See a decent amount of people on PC as Mobius has 10000+ members on there iirc. Not so many on PS4 unless in a CG system

I signed up and can login to Mobius, but never really do... unless board flipping! But if I may ask you, what's in Mobius that's not in Open Play?

That's correct, the corrosive effect doesn't stack so really sticking it on both size 1's would be fine. My Corvette has MC's all round with a mix of Corrosive, Incendiary and Thermal rounds.

That's cool. I've always really liked MC loadouts. After watching that corvette video I think i'll add some incendiary mods.

I signed up and can login to Mobius, but never really do... unless board flipping! But if I may ask you, what's in Mobius that's not in Open Play?

A significant lack of murder hobos. PvP is not allowed (with the exceptions EoinHef noted below).

PvP is only allowed in Mobius in specific scenarios,other than those scenarios there is no PvP. So its a way of avoiding the perils of open but still being able to meet other commanders and wing up etc.

Its all incendiary's on the MCs in that video.

Tbh just 2 4A MC with incendiary will give that effect, you could add whatever you wanted to that. I put in the rest just for ****s and giggles.

Its all incendiary's on the MCs in that video.

Tbh just 2 4A MC with incendiary will give that effect, you could add whatever you wanted to that. I put in the rest just for ****s and giggles.

Is that you in the video?

Nope, my corvette is red :D