Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Woman who parked in disabled spot banned for 6 months

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,089 ✭✭✭henryporter

Mellamella wrote: »
    anybody who has had the pleasure of meeting the woman in question will agree that nobody likes her. She had this coming. Its called KARMA. Now maybe she wont be so quick to gossip about others and tell nasty lies and stories

Sounds like a right charmer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭Maphisto

I feel sorry for people that need Disabled Bays and good on Judge Durcan for making an example of this woman but €500 fine, OK, €100 costs, maybe, 6 month ban, no way.

This when you compare it to the punishment for DUI.

When you contrast it with all the great and the good getting their speeding tickets quashed but their mate the Garda Super.

These last two kill people.

As irritating and distressing as I'm sure it was, especially if Scullion had taken the last available disabled space - no one was put at risk by it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Thank you for having the decency to link us to the story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,961 ✭✭✭LionelNashe

Why is she a stupid bint?

Probably genetics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 134 ✭✭Jadaol

They need to look into the whole "disabled parking" situation.
    There is one very close to my door and the amount of people who park there and run into shops, pubs etc is amazing. They display these stickers but are clearly not disabled and abusing the system.
    Maybe they have a member of their family who is disabled but the disabled parking places should only be used when they are driving the disabled person.
    The whole thing is being abused imo.

Had to reply to this. A lot of people who have these discs don't 'look' disabled. They have underlying medical conditions that impair their mobility so they can only walk short distances safely. Their entitlement to the card is verified by a doctor. Also people may be collecting a person from some place.

What's open to abuse is possibly family or friends taking cards for their own driving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭emeldc

anybody who has had the pleasure of meeting the woman in question will agree that nobody likes her. She had this coming. Its called KARMA. Now maybe she wont be so quick to gossip about others and tell nasty lies and stories

Sounds like the judge knew her anyway :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,961 ✭✭✭LionelNashe

If a six month ban is comparable to what gets handed out for speeding and drink driving, then this is an argument to increase the bans for speeding and drink driving.

A six month ban is about right for parking in the disabled spot considering she had a history of being caught for illegal parking. People who are blatant in their crimes and misdemeanours annoy me more than people who try to hide them. It shows that they've no respect for socity and the law.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,058 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Jadaol wrote: »
    Had to reply to this. A lot of people who have these discs don't 'look' disabled. They have underlying medical conditions that impair their mobility so they can only walk short distances safely. Their entitlement to the card is verified by a doctor. Also people may be collecting a person from some place.

What's open to abuse is possibly family or friends taking cards for their own driving.

I see the same woman all the time taking up one of these disabled spots.
    She is well able to almost sprint down the street to meet her mates and head to a coffee shop. I watched her several times.

If she's able to do that so regularly then she's able to park outside a disabled spot. I seriously doubt she's disabled herself and probably has a disabled family member. My point is that the disabled parking space should only be used when she has the disabled person with her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭Maphisto

A six month ban is about right for parking in the disabled spot considering she had a history of being caught for illegal parking. People who are blatant in their crimes and misdemeanours annoy me more than people who try to hide them. It shows that they've no respect for socity and the law.

We have no details of these and considering that the women is an unpopular gossip (from a couple of posters here) these could be trivial like not paying the correct fees in car parks. A lot of these pay and display schemes now are not for traffic management but simply money making schemes for councils.
    If a six month ban is comparable to what gets handed out for speeding and drink driving, then this is an argument to increase the bans for speeding and drink driving.
    Agreed but surely we do that first and not start with this unpopular gobsh1te woman.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Tea drinker

eviltwin wrote: »
    Seems a bit harsh when people who are actually a danger on the road get off with less however I'm glad to see she was punished, its a skanky thing to do.
    That's true, this persons life could be very badly affected by this. I wholeheartedly agree with the 500 euro fine, with a warning for next time (in disabled spot) it's a ban.

So she was an unpopular character.... well my wife is a foreigner I'm sure she would be labelled/targeted easier than an Irish person, having seen how she was attacked by an Irish manager in a large retail I'm not really for rallying against "unpopular or different characters"

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 69 ✭✭Mellamella

That's true, this persons life could be very badly affected by this. I wholeheartedly agree with the 500 euro fine, with a warning for next time (in disabled spot) it's a ban.

So she was an unpopular character.... well my wife is a foreigner I'm sure she would be labelled/targeted easier than an Irish person, having seen how she was attacked by an Irish manager in a large retail I'm not really for rallying against "unpopular or different characters"

she had previous offenses, she totally deserves it, People that know the woman personally know exactly what she is like.
    Yes the woman is an unpopular character.It has nothing to do with her race, sex or orientation or anything like that. It is merely down to her actions and criminal offences, peoples comments that know her personally are about her bad attitude and nasty personality.
    It is ridiculous to say you do or dont agree with something about another person because your wife is foreign that, she would be labelled/targeted easier than an Irish person. Your wifes race has nothing to do with this post so I do not understand why you feel the need to even make such a statement. Your implying the majority of Irish people are racist and would target your wife because her manager did. Its people like you making the Irish sound racist and making issues with racism with silly comments like that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭humbert

I'd say it's more to do with not turning up the previous day than it is about the crime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,903 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Good, i'm glad this happened. I've driven away from car parks because the only space left was a disabled one.

People nowadays don't give a sh*t about anyone only themselves. About 20 minutes ago i was coming up from rathmines towards rathgar. I watched 2 cars go in to the left lane but rather than go left they just drove straight on and nearly milled the cars in the "correct" lane out of it. W*nkers with no care or consideration for anyone only themselves.

I see the same woman all the time taking up one of these disabled spots.
    She is well able to almost sprint down the street to meet her mates and head to a coffee shop. I watched her several times.

If she's able to do that so regularly then she's able to park outside a disabled spot. I seriously doubt she's disabled herself and probably has a disabled family member. My point is that the disabled parking space should only be used when she has the disabled person with her.

I agree totally with you if she's not the card holder. If she does have a card, then it's hard to know what to think without background knowledge as to why she has it. You would hope that no doctor would sign off on it without good reason. I do know they renew cards once you declare your condition hasn't improved and that's not checked and that is a weakness in the system that could be fixed immediately. On the other hand most conditions where this applies are permanent and degenerative. So you can't get one if you just broke your leg or for something temporary. So thinking about it, it's not an easy fix. But a solution could be found if someone was to take the time to look at it properly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,465 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

I'm sorry this country is mad.. Scumbags walking around with 158 previous convictions so on so forth. Park in a disabled spot feel the full force of the law.

I agree totally with you if she's not the card holder. If she does have a card, then it's hard to know what to think without background knowledge as to why she has it. You would hope that no doctor would sign off on it without good reason. I do know they renew cards once you declare your condition hasn't improved and that's not checked and that is a weakness in the system that could be fixed immediately. On the other hand most conditions where this applies are permanent and degenerative. So you can't get one if you just broke your leg or for something temporary. So thinking about it, it's not an easy fix. But a solution could be found if someone was to take the time to look at it properly.

She does not have a card nor does she need one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,665 ✭✭✭Tin Foil Hat

According to Citizens Information a Judge has the right to impose 5 point on the license of someone convicted of parking dangerously. There's no mention of points or disqualification for an ordinary parking offence. It seems to me that the judge had no right to take her licence for parking in a disable spot any more than he could have put her off the road for not paying her gas bill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 327 ✭✭userod

Thankfully, this will be quashed on appeal.

No one deserves to be banned for 6 months for parking in a disabled spot.

The judge should be banned from presiding for 6 months for wasting court time.

The law is the law. If you keep committing crimes then take what your given. Its about time this country put tougher penalties in place. Whatever about other crimes having more or less of a penalty, Thats a different subject. You do wrong you get punished

She does not have a card nor does she need one

Sorry. We weren't talking about woman at centre of this story but the one tayto described.

The other. I agree she should be punished and harshly, like I believe anyone who breaks the law or shows contempt should be. Her sentence is harsh when compared to other cases of worse crimes, but that's only because their punishment wasn't hard enough. The justice system here is crazy and judges are adding to it's mockery by their role in it. In America you're scared of the cops or courts unless you are one of the hardened breed that don't care about anything. Here, you'd laugh if it wasn't so serious

Sorry. We weren't talking about woman at centre of this story but the one tayto described.

The other. I agree she should be punished and harshly, like I believe anyone who breaks the law or shows contempt should be. Her sentence is harsh when compared to other cases of worse crimes, but that's only because their punishment wasn't hard enough. The justice system here is crazy and judges are adding to it's mockery by their role in it. In America you're scared of the cops or courts unless you are one of the hardened breed that don't care about anything. Here, you'd laugh if it wasn't so serious

Thats true it seems a harsh punishment because other crimes get a slap on the wrist for far worse. I can almost guarantee this will not stop her parking in disability spaces or driving during her ban

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭emeldc

According to Citizens Information a Judge has the right to impose 5 point on the license of someone convicted of parking dangerously. There's no mention of points or disqualification for an ordinary parking offence. It seems to me that the judge had no right to take her licence for parking in a disable spot any more than he could have put her off the road for not paying her gas bill.

Yep, I'm with you there (post #25). I think the judge screwed up royally here. She probably wont even have to pay the original fixed penalty fine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,391 ✭✭✭Scar Tissue

To the people who claim to see cars parked in disabled spots without disabled badges, please tell me that you report them!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

To the people who claim to see cars parked in disabled spots without disabled badges, please tell me that you report them!

No, who to? The garda or business or?

Boombastic wrote: »
    No, who to? The garda or business or?

Unless it's on Public roads Nothing the Garda can do as it's private property. Its a civil matter at that stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭D1stant

There is one very close to my door and the amount of people who park there and run into shops, pubs etc is amazing. They display these stickers but are clearly not disabled and abusing the system.
    Maybe they have a member of their family who is disabled but the disabled parking places should only be used when they are driving the disabled person.

Yeah. I do think there are a disproportionate amount of disabled spaces though and too many disabled badges around. My father has one for some reason. Not sure why as hes well able to walk

Total over reaction by the judge. Why cant there be set punishments / fines for these kind of petty offences - and administrated by a clerk not a judge

D1stant wrote: »
    Yeah. I do think there are a disproportionate amount of disabled spaces though and too many disabled badges around. My father has one for some reason. Not sure why as hes well able to walk

Total over reaction by the judge. Why cant there be set punishments / fines for these kind of petty offences - and administrated by a clerk not a judge

So you think its ok for somebody to repeat offenses and get away with it

Well I would rather have her walking around rather than some scumbag with 158 previous convictions for actual crimes. You know parking vs assault, burglaries, criminal damage so on so forth

If you knew this woman you wouldnt want her walking around lol. I agree more serious crimes like assault & burglaries need a tougher penalty, but at the same time that doesnt mean give a light punishment to somebody of a lesser crime because it too much in comparison to a bigger crime of a different situation. People like her need to be taught a lesson, as does every person who commits an offense

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

You also have the aul wans and aul fellas parking there without blue badges just because they are old they think they have a right to park there.:mad: (the same ones that never did a driving test as they got an amnesty)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 743 ✭✭✭KeithTS

I don't agree with people parking ilegally in any circumstance. h's no need for it and laziness or hoping you'll get away with niping to shop and back is generally the only cause for it.

However, the punsihment in this case far outweights the actual crime commited. THe 600 quid fine is steep and warranted as its a repeat offense but the ban is mental.

I wonder if the silly cow actually showed up for the court appearance would she have gotten it as bad, unlikely I'd say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,087 ✭✭✭Pro Hoc Vice

Parking regulations are made under the Road a Traffic Acts as amended and are a breach of said Acts. Under the said Acts there is a general power to disqualify http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/1961/en/act/pub/0024/sec0027.html#sec27

There have been amendments to section 27 in general and breach of RTA can lead to disqualification, and any conviction for any crime where a car was used can lead to such a punishment. Some judges are giving disqualifications where convictions for theft and drugs where a car was used in the commission of the offence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭iForgetMyPW

Big C wrote: »
    €500 fine + ban,

Happy days

How can you be happy for something like that? She was no danger to anyone, all she done was park in a wrong spot ffs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭D1stant

If that's what you think I said... then why yes I certainly do

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,570 ✭✭✭RandomName2

Big C wrote: »
    €500 fine + ban,

Happy days

Bit excessive, no? I mean she didn't kill anyone.

If that's what you think I said... then why yes I certainly do

D1stant i mistakenly quoted you instead of one of the previous comments. apologies. I wasnt speaking to you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,329 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

KeithTS wrote: »
    I don't agree with people parking ilegally in any circumstance. h's no need for it and laziness or hoping you'll get away with niping to shop and back is generally the only cause for it.

However, the punsihment in this case far outweights the actual crime commited. THe 600 quid fine is steep and warranted as its a repeat offense but the ban is mental.

I wonder if the silly cow actually showed up for the court appearance would she have gotten it as bad, unlikely I'd say.
    There is emergency situations where they're needed. But 99.99% of the time its just laziness

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,390 ✭✭✭markpb

Bit excessive, no? I mean she didn't kill anyone.

Is that the bar we set for enforcing the law now? If no one ends up dead, there's no foul. I'd imagine if you were disabled, you'd be a whole lot less flippant.

Disabled parking spots are a joke, they are giving out to every lazy kunt to can't be assed to walk a little. Don't get me wrong something in a wheelchair etc I have no problem with. But it's people with 'bad' backs, fat people and so on who annoy me.

They actually give those people disabled passes...

Disabled parking spots are a joke, they are giving out to every lazy kunt to can't be assed to walk a little. Don't get me wrong something in a wheelchair etc I have no problem with. But it's people with 'bad' backs, fat people and so on who annoy me.

Don't they use mobility scooters if so there is no walking involved so would not matter were they park.

Yeah I dunno, all I know is that they give passes to almost anyone. They should be strict and only give them to people who need them such as a wheel chair user as they need the extra space to get the chair out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,570 ✭✭✭RandomName2

markpb wrote: »
    Is that the bar we set for enforcing the law now? If no one ends up dead, there's no foul. I'd imagine if you were disabled, you'd be a whole lot less flippant.

Wouldn't, like, a €70 on the spot fine and no ban be a bit more reasonable? €500 + ban is is about the same penalty as would be received for dangerous driving causing death.I mean parking in a space you aren't entitled to is... parking in a space you aren't entitled to.

When you have a ton of kids, claiming benefits & working. €70 is nothing to these kinds of people. and especially repeat offenders. Maybe the penalty she received will make her think twice about doing it for the millionth time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 743 ✭✭✭KeithTS

When you have a ton of kids, claiming benefits & working. €70 is nothing to these kinds of people. and especially repeat offenders. Maybe the penalty she received will make her think twice about doing it for the millionth time

What????
    How is this relevant, are these the only people who park in disabled spaces illegally?
    "Gotta park up in a disabled spot to rush into the post office to collect my dole as I'm already late for work"?

Go away you clown!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 423 ✭✭shot2go

we needed a primary medical cert to get a badge - not an easy thing to get.

Were does it say that she is claiming benefits:confused::confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,725 ✭✭✭✭blueser

Charming.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 bladewolf061

You people make me sick let one person here who hasn't parked in a disabled spot comment cuz I bet u all did you all just didn't get caught and venz mesrine we we're in lehinch yesterday cuz we didn't know about the court hearing as a matter of fact you all know about this before we did we had to get phone calls and messages telling us about this for all of ye to past commet fine ur name are hidden but there is an old saying u mite point a finger but each and everyone of ye have four fingers pointing back at you all so look in a mirror and realise that you ain't happy with your life thats why you all bitch about everyone else's

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,219 ✭✭✭pablo128

She most likely did get a fine and didn't pay it. That's why she was given a court appearance, which she also thumbed her nose at. I will guaranteee you this - if she appeals it, she'll be in court that day, you can be sure of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Rasheed

You people make me sick let one person her who hasn't parked in a disabled spot comment cuz I bet u all did you all just didn't get caught and venz mesrine we we're in lehinch yesterday cuz we didn't know about the court hearing as a matter of fact you all know about this before we did we had to get phone calls and messages telling us about this for all of ye to past commet fine ur name are hidden but there is an old saying u mite point a finger but each and everyone pne of ye have four fingers pointing back at you all so look in a mirror and realise that you ain't happy with your life thats why you all bitch about everyone else's

Lol