Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Prime Time Debate, Dublin Constituency, RTÉ 1 Tuesday, 9.40

124»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

I do think Eamon Ryan is a very nice and honourable man.
    Even in the FF/Green government I felt he was trying his best.
    If I lived in Dublin I would vote for him (and then leave Dublin ;))

It's Europe you'd have to leave considering that's where you're voting him to.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,014 ✭✭✭tylercheribini

Bring back T.J Fay

• Registered Users Posts: 49,731 ✭✭✭✭coolhull

Dermot talks mostly bull****, but I love his voice. Shane Ross with hair.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,657 ✭✭✭CountyHurler

Did ye see Bríd Smith horsing down the water... It's be gas if David McCullough walked over to her after the show and handed her a water bill..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

David is so withering...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52,404 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Brid knows her stuff. Not going to be bullied.

Really...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,347 ✭✭✭LynnGrace

Eamon is going to do all the things they didn't do the last time.

David picked him up on that quite nicely. :D

That people before profit one is just pro every populist campaign isn't she without knowing anything at all.

This guy is a Bond Villain- Jaw Breaker or something

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

Damon Mathew Wise ran in the local elections in Clare and only received a handful of votes.

Date Election Party Status Constituency Seat Count Votes Share Quota
    1999 Town Council Non party/Independent lozenge Not Elected Shannon (6) 11 0.37% 0.04
    2004 Local Socialist Workers lozenge Not Elected Shannon (1) 27 0.33% 0.02
    2004 Town Council Socialist Workers lozenge Not Elected Shannon (4) 15 0.40% 0.04
    2009 Local Non party/Independent lozenge Not Elected Shannon (2) 42 0.42% 0.03
    2014 European Non Party/Fis Nua lozenge Candidate Dublin
    2014 Local Non Party/Fis Nua lozenge Candidate Ennis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83,517 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Control of building stock is needed to get the prices back to the boom, great times ahead for Irish people to rip off other Irish people.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,014 ✭✭✭tylercheribini

Lapin wrote: »
    Did he not miss the TV3 debate last night too?

Oh really? Didnt know that. Maybe he is ill. I know him quite well but havent seen him in a long time. I did all his youtube vids. I just know this is something he would not miss without good reason.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

"19 guards sleeping in their cars".

Maybe they should park closer to Starbucks and it wouldn't take so long for their colleagues to return with the coffee and muffins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,042 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

That long haired guy is out of his depth, big style.

Poor Eamon in with that lot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

The Mentalist follows the mentalists.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83,517 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Off to Vincent...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,042 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

ThisRegard wrote: »
    That people before profit one is just pro every populist campaign isn't she without knowing anything at all.

So many of the parties now are anti-everything and pro-attacking the rich.

Playing to the masses.

SF do this yet are signing off on major austerity in NI.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,646 ✭✭✭washman3

I do think Eamon Ryan is a very nice and honourable man.
    Even in the FF/Green government I felt he was trying his best.
    If I lived in Dublin I would vote for him (and then leave Dublin ;))

He was a central part of the circus that brought this country to its knees.
    Democracy is fine, but there is definitely a case for implementing a law that says charletens like him should never be allowed to run for any public office ever again.:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,970 ✭✭✭Lenin Skynard

Ah, they said "The Mentalist" is on next. I think it's a documentary about Tom Darcy.

"19 guards sleeping in their cars" Maybe they should park closer to Starbucks and it wouldn't take so long for their colleagues to return with the coffee and muffins.

All 19 of them are tracking Ian Bailey..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,347 ✭✭✭LynnGrace

That's my mind made up.
    I'm voting for Tom... ;)

Watching that tripe made the eurovision the most relevant thing I voted in this year!

RTE trolling the B candidates following them with the mentalist...

Well those three debates were enjoyable.. And remember people, it's your democratic right to vote, something which you would not be afforded in another country... I want to see you all out on Friday and vote Number One County Hurler..... Give your number two to Lapin from the "Bee-careful Using Ladders" Party...

I'm voting for... Everyone except Briefcase W@nker

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭Woodville56

efb wrote: »
    Watching that tripe made the eurovision the most relevant thing I voted in this year!

Agreed ! Conchita would give them a run for their money any day !

Anybody gonna bother with Vincent... They have all the candidates from the Longford / Westmeath By election..

Or Bye-Election as one candidate poster says !

More thrills and spills .....not !!!......zzzz

Well those three debates were enjoyable.. And remember people, it's your democratic right to vote, something which you would not be afforded in another country... I want to see you all out on Friday and vote Number One County Hurler..... Give your number two to Lapin from the "Bee-careful Using Ladders" Party...

Use your democratic vote on Friday and please remember to give County Hurler your number two preference. (If that's still his name then). :D

But give your number one choice to Lapin.

I have already delivered. (These threads over the past three nights).

And I promise to climb every rung and and lead you all to a land of milk beer and honey !

No sting in Lapin's tail. :)

Vinnie losing no time in filleting the wannabe TD's for Longford /Westmeath !

Join us over here Woodville. Turn off the lights in Montrose before you leave and drop the studio keys into the canteen.

First one to find them in the morning gets the 10.15 - 10.30 slot next Friday night. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 144 ✭✭wonder88

McCollugh is very good I think, impressed with him doing a piece with Damien English last week also. Not sure if Claire Byrne is really suitable for political/economic debates and don't get the impression that she is really interested in these matters. Maybe a consumer type programme would suit her better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,543 ✭✭✭dublinman1990

I thought that from watching last night's debate Nessa Childers for me had a nice performance against the other candidates although not many questions were asked to her in that debate which I thought was disappointing.

While I recognise she had a nice time with the Greens, she didn't probably explain to us (maybe due to time constraints) why Labour had originally defected from her. I would like to know what influences were making Labour to stop working with her.

Her one stance in Europe which I felt was heroic was the letter she wrote to the EU/EC about FF's Padraig Flynn's EU pension in his aftermath of the report into the Mahon Tribunal. That IMO was one bit of genius coming from her time in Europe while she was an Ireland South East MEP as the rest of them from here wouldn't dare to even bother trying as they were just focused on collecting their EU pay cheque or pension.

Although, I don't know why she wouldn't join another national party in Ireland again. Would it be the case that she would like to start her own party in a few years time? Or could she regret not joining another possible new political party which can be equal to her values. We cannot change it after all as it's her decision at the end of the day.

Her stance is a very strong one no matter what party brand she came from the past. I think she is a decent candidate to vote for on May 23rd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

Does Jim Tallon turn up for anything.

Lets hope for his own sake he turns up at the polling station on Friday.

Could be embarrasing if he becomes the first person ever to receive null points in a Euro election.

No chance, Jim Tallon always gets votes. Nobody knows why. He was running at 3% in one of the recent Opinion Polls (ahead of the DDI fantasists)

Jim is not eligible to vote for himself, he lives in the self declared Independent Republic of Glasnost (an enclave of Wicklow).

He is an eccentric oddball but he has outpolled some 'serious' candidates in his illustrious election history

http://electionsireland.org/candidate.cfm?ID=3417

http://www.independent.ie/regionals/wicklowpeople/news/glasnost-president-is-jailed-for-two-weeks-27835464.html
    ARKLOW man Jim Tallon, the self-proclaimed 'President of the Independent Republic of Glasnost', told Judge Donnchadh O Buachalla last week that the judge could stop World War III if he paid e64 million he believed he was owed for an aborted calf in 1995.Tallon of Glasnost, Emoclew Road, Arklow, was before Gorey District Court, charged with criminal damage to a wall at Emoclew Road

W in TF was that? ^^^^

Fuk'n spacer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

W in TF was that? ^^^^

He would have been the star of the debate last night.

Alas, we have to make with his Youtube videos

I thought that from watching last night's debate Nessa Childers for me had a nice performance against the other candidates although not many questions were asked to her in that debate which I thought was disappointing.

While I recognise she had a nice time with the Greens, she didn't probably explain to us (maybe due to time constraints) why Labour had originally defected from her. I would like to know what influences were making Labour to stop working with her.

Her one stance in Europe which I felt was heroic was the letter she wrote to the EU/EC about FF's Padraig Flynn's EU pension in his aftermath of the report into the Mahon Tribunal. That IMO was one bit of genius coming from her time in Europe while she was an Ireland South East MEP as the rest of them from here wouldn't dare to even bother trying as they were just focused on collecting their EU pay cheque or pension.

Although, I don't know why she wouldn't join another national party in Ireland again. Would it be the case that she would like to start her own party in a few years time? Or could she regret not joining another possible new political party which can be equal to her values. We cannot change it after all as it's her decision at the end of the day.

Her stance is a very strong one no matter what party brand she came from the past. I think she is a decent candidate to vote for on May 23rd.

That was a (Non) Party Political Broadcast on behalf of the Nessa Childers ______ Party (enter with non permanent ink)

Agreed ! Conchita would give them a run for their money any day !

She wouldn't be the Wurst...