Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin City marathon

• Registered Users Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

Toffeeboy wrote: »
    Question. Got a text from the blood donor group looking for a donation this week. Would you donate a pint of blood 2 weeks b4 the dcm?

No, takes up to 6 weeks for your iron levels to return to normal
    You can't donate immediately afterwards either

• Registered Users Posts: 949 ✭✭✭M.J.M.C

Interesting replies on the booze questions.
    No set answer for everyone but I like to give it up 2 months before dcm. Week before dcm I go to the off licence buy my favourite beer and put them in the fridge.
    You'd be surprised how motivating the thoughts of those beers are at mile 20 onwards :)

I purely do it as something to look forward to.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭Bahanaman

Bib No.| Username | PB | Predicted Time | Actual Time
    ? |yaboya1|2:59:11|TBC|
    |Tunguska|2:38:40|2:38:39
    |Netwerk Errer|3:15:29|2:59:59
    |Bahanaman|2:57:52 *|2:59:59

The PB above is from Waterford this year so doesn't count really :mad: I'm hoping against hope to try and get the official sub three this day two weeks. Not looking good though due to injury but we'll see how it goes. I'd love to meet the boardsies before the race as we gather around the pacers. Be good to put names to the faces.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,065 ✭✭✭dublin runner

|dublin runner|2:50:35|>2:43:00

Really hoping for a good day at the running office. My PB was set in April but I feel a much better place entering the taper phase. Anything can happen on the day though.

Two week to go. Cannot wait!

• Registered Users Posts: 962 ✭✭✭chavezychavez

|chavezychavez|3:20:57|3:20:00

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

Rant: People quoting and then updating an old version of the table.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,610 ✭✭✭yaboya1

|yaboya1|2:59:11|TBC|
    |Paddybarry|N/A|2:55
    |Adrian522|N/A|3:48:00|
    |Canine Marathoner|3.09.xx|2.59.59|
    |Fraggle00|4.05.xx|3.45.00|
    |xElDeeX|4:09:xx|3:45:00

I think that's fixed it?

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

Good man, should have taken the time to do that myself!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,065 ✭✭✭dublin runner

yaboya1 wrote: »

I think that's fixed it?

Thanks. I was just about to do it. Next time i'll read though every post to make sure the table I updated is the correct one.....not!

adrian522 wrote: »

ah, the 1000 mile challenge thread, how I missed that...:pac:

|RayCun|2:59:06|2:55

• Registered Users Posts: 5,236 ✭✭✭AuldManKing

ah no - a table - I just cant do these - I'm old.

Can some kind soul put me down for 3:40:10 ;)

|AuldManKing||3:40:10

• Registered Users Posts: 7,398 ✭✭✭fletch

|fletch|3:16:26|3:14:59

Jesus sorry adrian522! Didn't know how to add my info and was just following instructions from a previous helpful poster.

Bahanaman wrote: »
    Jesus sorry adrian522! Didn't know how to add my info and was just following instructions from a previous helpful poster.

No worries, just panicked when I saw my entry disappeared :eek:

ah no - a table - I just cant do these - I'm old.

Can some kind soul put me down for 3:40:10 ;)

are ye trying to get fired? I was going to tell people to follow you, as the most likely one to finish on time!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,062 ✭✭✭davedanon

Bahanaman wrote: »

I had this problem, too. I wasn't able to 'quote' the last posted table, because it was itself a quote, or something. I thought of going back to an earlier one, then realised I would have 'done a Bahanaman'.

I don't remember having this problem on the Best of thread, so I don't know what's going on, basically. Maybe a blessing in disguise, it saved me putting up a target to worry about.

No worries, just panicked when I saw my entry disappeared :eek:

Didn't realise I'd erased you adrian552! I thought I'd copied and pasted then changed the details!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,545 ✭✭✭tunguska

Thanks. I was just about to do it. Next time i'll read though every post to make sure the table I updated is the correct one.....not!

Ha ha the table Nazis will clean you out for that one....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,225 ✭✭✭DogSlySmile

|DogSlySmile|2:59:59|2:49:59

Go hard or go home, right?

• Registered Users Posts: 10 Endurancer123

|Endurancer123|3:25:59|3:19:59

• Registered Users Posts: 6,618 ✭✭✭Mr Freeze

|Mr Freeze|3:50:11|3:35:00

Haven't really been posting here, but did my first marathon in Limerick in May this year, 3:50:11. Was going to aim for 3:40 in DCM, but thinking of going in the 3:30 group now and hanging on for as long as possible.

• Registered Users Posts: 76 ✭✭Plodman

|Plodman|3:17:22|2:49:59

• Registered Users Posts: 155 ✭✭dcorcaigh

Mr Freeze wrote: »
    |plodman|3:17:22|2:49:59
    |dcorcaigh|4:19:40|3:49:49

I hope this works and I haven't fecked it up!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 76 ✭✭Plodman

You deleted me Dcorcaigh but I have fixed it now; we were probably posting at the same time

Jaysus Plodman, that's some chunk you're going to chop off the pb! Fair play.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,059 ✭✭✭Pacing Mule

|Pacing Mule| 5:36:53|4:19:00|

• Registered Users Posts: 5,059 ✭✭✭Pacing Mule

Questions about the wave starts ....

Is it a strict time for wave 2 and 3 ? As in if the first wave has cleared at 9:05 will wave 2 be let go then or will they hang off the extra 5 minutes until the advertised 9:10 start ?

The reason I am asking is I'm looking at hanging in between two pace groups that are only 10 min apart but are a wave apart too. Is it likely that the faster group will be minutes ahead in the first place too ?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,688 ✭✭✭BrokenMan

It's a strict start time. No chance of them starting early