Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin City marathon

• Registered Users Posts: 2 parkruns2maras

Guess I will be token last runner in this marathon ;) . Better than the DNF in Berlin :P . Aiming for 4:30, but that is just wishful thinking, but based on my parkrun, if I run like I do there..give or take 15 minutes.
    Have come down with the cold since Saturday so trying to not have it for the marathon is vital :( .

• Registered Users Posts: 18 Tetney

My first Dublin so looking for help with predicted time. My PB is Cork 2011 3:43. Ran Charleville half in 1:32 so looking at 3:30. I did one 20 mile run at 8:10 pace which felt ok. Good luck to all. At physio in the morning with a tight tendon in my ankle. Oh the nerves!!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,703 ✭✭✭PDCAT

Tetney wrote: »
    My first Dublin so looking for help with predicted time. My PB is Cork 2011 3:43. Ran Charleville half in 1:32 so looking at 3:30. I did one 20 mile run at 8:10 pace which felt ok. Good luck to all. At physio in the morning with a tight tendon in my ankle. Oh the nerves!!

Hi Tetney. i would think 3.30 should be no problem to you.
    i ran 1.35 in Tullamore half and then 3.26 in Berlin. My pace's for running 20mile's in training wouldnt even be close to 8.10. Looks like your in good shape. I'd say you might be even closer to 3.20 than 3.30 depending on what training you've been doing of course.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭Jay D

tunguska wrote: »
    But if I'm travelling to someplace I'll take out a map and figure out the most efficient way to get there. I won't just turn up, flute around like a headless chicken and hope for the best.
    Its that old Harvard study logic, where those who set goals and were specific were far more successful in life than those who didn't.

Look I'm all about everything in running being different for different people but I just don't agree this for two reasons.

First of all there has never been absolutely any need to know any race I have ever taken part in. Any dodgy turn offs have always had signage or personnel there to advise you on correct route. You'd hardly get lost! :pac:

I'm not entering this with a top 10 finishing position in mind and will take hills as they come like I always have. You fight through them and relax again on your jog. Oh and that said, I loved that statement of a member saying he looks at it as a 20 mile jog and a 10k run.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,551 ✭✭✭chinguetti

Jay D wrote: »
    First of all there has never been absolutely any need to know any race I have ever taken part in. Any dodgy turn offs have always had signage or personnel there to advise you on correct route. You'd hardly get lost! :pac:

I'm no elite (far from it) but I've been sent the wrong way in races on at least 3 occasions by poor or no signage or stewards/marshalls who didn't know whether I was to go left or right.

So I check and find out all I can about the route whatever the distance. You may not get lost but you might miss out on a pb and I train hard enough for every second.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,545 ✭✭✭tunguska

Jay D wrote: »
    Look I'm all about everything in running being different for different people but I just don't agree this for two reasons.

I'm not entering this with a top 10 finishing position in mind and will take hills as they come like I always have. You fight through them and relax again on your jog. Oh and that said, I loved that statement of a member saying he looks at it as a 20 mile jog and a 10k run.

You're not understanding my point at all. I said nothing about marshalling or fear of being sent the wrong way. The reason its a good idea to know the route is so that you're aware of what's coming at all times. So that you Dont blow your load on on stretches that are best taken easy, so that you know where to back off and where to push. So that you have land markers to let you know where you are and how much is Left. So that you get the best possible race out of yourself as opposed to turning up and having no clue about what lies ahead.
    I've run a lot of races and its way more efficient/enjoyable when you know the lay of the land.
    And who said anything about a top 10 finish? Why would you put yourself down like that? There seems to be a perception that beginners have no business knowing the route or having a strategy based on the course description. That's bs. It doesn't matter if you're a beginner or you've been racing for years, everybody benefits equally from knowing what's ahead of them and working out a plan to get the most out of themselves. Just because you're a beginner it doesn't mean you shouldn't have high aspirations timewise or otherwise.
    The obvious question I have is why wouldn't you use the information being made available to you? I saw some comments on the DCM Facebook page from people who were afraid to watch the route video.....there's great information being put on a plate for them that will help them in the race but all they do is respond with fear. That's madness, allowing fear to control you like that.
    If you Dont wanna know the route because you Dont care about a time and you like surprises then that's fine. But if your reason for not wanting to know the route is because of fear then that's not such a good thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 542 ✭✭✭Netwerk Errer

Kop On wrote: »
    Well somebody christened it "Heartbreak Hill" and if you ask any Dublin Marathon runner I'm fairly sure they'll have heard it mentioned.

But we agree, it's nothing to worry about so we're all good.

That hill isn't bad at all. It's only a bump in the road. It's only associated with heartbreak because runners start to fall apart there. If you're falling apart on that hill, the damage was done earlier in the race.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,814 ✭✭✭Tigerandahalf

Bib No.| Username | PB | Predicted Time | Actual Time
    |yaboya1|2:59:11|TBC|
    |Tunguska|2:38:40|2:38:39|
    |Netwerk Errer|3:15:29|2:59:59|
    |Paddybarry|N/A|2:55|
    |Adrian522|N/A|3:48:00|
    |Canine Marathoner|3.09.xx|2.59.59|
    |Fraggle00|4.05.xx|3.45.00|
    |xElDeeX|4:09:xx|3:47:00|
    |Bahanaman|2:57:52 *|2:59:59|
    |dublin runner|2:50:35|>2:43:00|
    |chavezychavez|3:20:57|3:20:00|
    |RayCun|2:59:06|2:55|
    |AuldManKing||3:40:10|
    |fletch|3:16:26|3:14:59|
    |DogSlySmile|2:59:59|2:49:59|
    |Endurancer123|3:25:59|3:19:59|
    |Mr Freeze|3:50:11|3:35:00|
    |Plodman|3:17:22|2:49:59|
    |dcorcaigh|4:19:40|3:49:49|
    |Pacing Mule| 5:36:53|4:19:00|
    |Martyoo| |3:55:00|
    |geodesic|3:44:17|3:59:59|
    |Killian Byrne|4:30:26|4:29:59|
    |Toblerone1978|3:05:23|2:59:59|
    |snailsong|3:12:32|3:09:30|
    |Tyrone_03|3:52:18|3:44:59|
    |skeleton_boy|3:28:02|2:54:59|
    |overthebridge|4:23:xx|4:19:59|
    |davedanon|3:17:15|3:14:59|
    |rockstar_91|N/A|4:19:59|
    |Crisco10|n/a|3:25:00|
    |Bladeserver|4:26:01|4:10:00|
    |run_Forrest_run|3:24:28|2:59:59|
    |JohnDozer|4:09:05|3:44:59|
    |Cabaal|3:33:33|3:19:59|
    |Basster|3:35:09|3:08:00|
    |MacSwifty|3:26:16|3:35:00|
    |bugsy2000|3:26:26|3:17:59|
    |Downtime|4:00:58|3:57:00|
    |Figlen|4:22:00|3:39:59|
    |Sideswipe|3:15:33|3:09:59|
    |neilc|3:10:28|<3:10:00|
    |Running Fool|3:35:07|3:29:59|
    |PaulieC|3:28:31|3:09:59|
    |TakeaBowSon|3:25:04|3:19:59|
    |JohnnyDun|4:01:10|3:58:00|
    |PeterParker100|3:49:11|3:45:00|
    |Slow_Runner|4:10:32|3:55:00|
    |Saucyjack|4:33:34|4:15:00|
    |Tigerandahalf|N/A|3:19:59|

• Registered Users Posts: 2,065 ✭✭✭dublin runner

Very few people ever mention the glorious stretch just after that hill. Take that hill comfortably and you'll make up any lost time heading down Fosters Avenue easily. Really fast section.

I personally hate watching those videos but I do. If running a race unknown to me, I will look at the elevation chart and ask experienced runners of that course.

It's good to be informed but you can overload yourself with information so it's a question of balance.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,659 ✭✭✭rovers_runner

Can anyone adding to the table make sure they quote the last entry?
    Two entries missing now..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,062 ✭✭✭davedanon

That hill isn't bad at all. It's only a bump in the road. It's only associated with heartbreak because runners start to fall apart there. If you're falling apart on that hill, the damage was done earlier in the race.

Agreed. Came to the start line in 2011 off the back of a 1.30 pb-half, confident of breaking 3.20, proceeded to blow up and struggled up Clonskeagh/Roebuck like I was in the death zone on Everest. Then in 2012 I ran 3.19 off an indifferent preparation, and was at the foot of Roebuck hill before I realised it, wondering where the hills had gone. Roebuck is such a tiddler too really, steep but quite short. You can see the crowds at the top, too, which is another aid to getting up it. And then, as someone said, you have Foster's ave., and I always have the feeling that it's all downhill to the finish from there.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,610 ✭✭✭yaboya1

Can anyone adding to the table make sure they quote the last entry?
    Two entries missing now..

|Saucyjack|4:33:34|4:15:00
    |Tipp man Running|3:19:36|3:09:59
    |rovers_runner|3:54:XX|4:20:00|

Not my fault/responsibility, but I'll fix it one last time :cool:

• Registered Users Posts: 6,179 ✭✭✭Gavlor

|Gavlor|2:59:08|3:39:30|

• Closed Accounts Posts: 433 ✭✭MaggotBrain

|Gavlor|2:59:08|3:39:30|
    |MaggotMan (SeanPuddin)|N/A|4:09:59|

In like Flynn.

The route video makes me feel ill after a few minutes. Think they should have added the map and logo after stabilising the footage, not before.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,695 ✭✭✭Chivito550

While most here are in taper mode and are worrying about all sorts, I have some questions of my own, regarding the post race reception in McGrattans:

- Is this an "immediately after the race finishes for each individual person", "after the 4:30-5 hour runners finish", or a "everyone heads off for awhile and congregates at an appointed time" kind of thing?

- Is there a reserved area in the pub for boardsies?

- Is this a one quick drink kind of thing, or a proper all day piss-up?

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

As far as I can work out it's straight after the race (or at least that's when I intend going there), I don't believe there is an area reserved and on the last point I guess as usual there will be a few who will stay the distance and some who will start drifting off after 1 or 2.

I'm not sure though, I've never been for post marathon drinks before.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

While most here are in taper mode and are worrying about all sorts, I have some questions of my own, regarding the post race reception in McGrattans:

- Is this an "immediately after the race finishes for each individual person", "after the 4:30-5 hour runners finish", or a "everyone heads off for awhile and congregates at an appointed time" kind of thing?
    Pacers normally have free showers in a nearby hotel, so they tend to get to the pub about an hour after they pace their band home. racers might go direct from the finishers or go get a shower first (depends) either way there should be a good crowd building from 1-2pm onwards...

Nope, its a big open plan floor. we normally congregate in the area of the pool table.

A drink for some, an all day piss up for others. I am in the 'others' camp. Have the day booked off afterwards

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,365 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Not even running the marathon and I have booked the Tuesday off for the festivities.

We will be repairing to a local hostelry in the Tallaght area for the duration, but first I have to attend my aunt's 90th birthday party in town. She's amazingly hale and hearty for her age. I may need her assistance getting up the steps to the restaurant, and she'll probably have to surrender her chair to me.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,179 ✭✭✭Gavlor

menoscemo wrote: »

Pacers normally have free showers in a nearby hotel, so they tend to get to the pub about an hour after they pace their band home. racers might go direct from the finishers or go get a shower first (depends) either way there should be a good crowd building from 1-2pm onwards...

Nope, its a big open plan floor. we normally congregate in the area of the pool table.

A drink for some, an all day piss up for others. I am in the 'others' camp. Have the day booked off afterwards

+1. Off Tuesday also. Screw the run, i'm looking forward to the session after ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 591 ✭✭✭Cona

Hi Lads,
    First time running DCM for me and not familiar with the city, Few questions if you dont mind:

- I will need to wait around for some friends who will likely finish an hour or so after me. Is it possible to store a bag somewhere so I can get changed or something?

- Is there any car park close to the finish that will be open? That way I could drive the car in and walk up to it afterwards? Not sure how road closures would affect getting back out of dublin city afterwards though, heading back out to Red Cow roundabout??

• Registered Users Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

There is a secure bag drop at the start/finish area. Leave warm clothes there to change in to, and a waterproof top if it might rain
    On street parking your best bet, but I don't have details

RayCun wrote: »
    There is a secure bag drop at the start/finish area. Leave warm clothes there to change in to, and a waterproof top if it might rain
    On street parking your best bet, but I don't have details

It might not be the handiest side of the city for you, but I've always found it quite easy to get parking quite close to the start, around the percy place area. That is just off the Grand canal after the junction with Baggot St. bridge.

• Registered Users Posts: 162 ✭✭Ecoenergy

Tetney wrote: »

I'm in a similar situation to yourself. PB of 3.40 from Cork 2013 and 1.32 in the Charleville half so hoping to go sub 3.30 in DCM. I've made out the kind of pace I'd like to go for each mile below and added a minute at the end for the accuracy of the garmin. Hard to see the times working out exactly like these on the day, but I do plan on running about 8.05 pace through the park from 4 - 7. I'm hoping to maintain 7.45 - 7.50 at the end if I still have it in the legs. Best of luck anyway.

Mile Pace Time
    1 7.55 7.55
    2 7.55 15.50
    3 7.55 23.45
    4 8.05 31.50
    5 8.05 39.55
    6 8.05 48.00
    7 8.05 56.05
    8 7.50 1.03.55
    9 7.55 1.11.50
    10 7.50 1.19.40
    11 8.00 1.27.40
    12 7.55 1.35.35
    13 7.55 1.43.30
    Half 8.00 1.44.18
    14 8.00 1.51.30
    15 7.50 1.59.20
    16 7.55 2.07.15
    17 7.50 2.15.05
    18 7.55 2.23.00
    19 7.50 2.30.50
    20 7.55 2.38.45
    21 7.45 2.46.30
    22 7.50 2.54.20
    23 7.45 3.02.05
    24 7.45 3.09.50
    25 7.45 3.17.35
    26 7.45 3.25.20
    26.2 7.45 3.26.53
    Total: 3.27.53

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

Another reminder email from DCM, another attachment that I MUST PRINT AND SIGN. This time different to the last one, at least with a space for the signature.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,811 ✭✭✭hawkwing

As someone who has cramped up badly for the past 4 years and tried different things with no joy to prevent it (nutrition-wise) i found the below interesting and probably my cause.

http://runnersconnect.net/running-training-articles/muscle-cramps-during-a-marathon/

If anyone has any stretches/tips for what to do when it happens rather than prevention at this late stage of training please share.
    It's been from lampost to lampost in recent years and trying to stretch out the calves and a few hamstring stretches for me--these would do the trick for anything from a half mile/mile to maybe only 200m late on in the race on the worst years. Sometimes it is so bad that i have to run at the side of the road and on the path due to the fear of collapsing in the middle and not having something to grab onto and stretch out.

• Registered Users Posts: 144 ✭✭Tyrone_03

adrian522 wrote: »
    Another reminder email from DCM, another attachment that I MUST PRINT AND SIGN. This time different to the last one, at least with a space for the signature.
    Let's hope nobody just deletes the second one on the assumption that it is a duplicate.

hawkwing wrote: »
    As someone who has cramped up badly for the past 4 years and tried different things with no joy to prevent it (nutrition-wise) i found the below interesting and probably my cause.

http://runnersconnect.net/running-training-articles/muscle-cramps-during-a-marathon/

If anyone has any stretches/tips for what to do when it happens rather than prevention at this late stage of training please share.
    It's been from lampost to lampost in recent years and trying to stretch out the calves and a few hamstring stretches for me--these would do the trick for anything from a half mile/mile to maybe only 200m late on in the race on the worst years. Sometimes it is so bad that i have to run at the side of the road and on the path due to the fear of collapsing in the middle and not having something to grab onto and stretch out.

I know the feeling having badly cramped last year (but somehow hit my target!). The reason for cramping can be difficult to isolate as it caused by a number of things.

I will share my experience. Having drank only water leading up to the marathon I believed my problems arose from a depletion in my sodium levels. I addressed this by consciously drank sports drinks (and water) leading up to the day. I didn't overdue it, having a 500ml bottle each day. On the day itself I took a dioralyte before and during the marathon. Since DCM 2013 I have ran two marathons with no cramping.

That's what worked for me.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,606 ✭✭✭ultrapercy

hawkwing wrote: »

Cramp is usually caused by a lack of salt. If you can take on an electrolyte replacement drink during the race do so. Something like nuun or even dyorolyte if not drink some in the few days leading up to the race, Simply putting salt in water can do the same job but its dangerous because its easy to get the proportions wrong.In the lead up to a marathon people get carried away drinking water and end up flushing out their system of nutrients, dont drink any more than you usually do and take on a little at each water station. Also and this might sound silly but if you are prone to cramp and you worry about it you will cramp. Try to relax mentally and forget about it until it actually does happen.

ultrapercy wrote: »
    In the lead up to a marathon people get carried away drinking water and end up flushing out their system of nutrients, dont drink any more than you usually do and take on a little at each water station. Also and this might sound silly but if you are prone to cramp and you worry about it you will cramp. Try to relax mentally and forget about it until it actually does happen.

+1 to this.

Nervously I drank a lot of water the day before. It's hard not to do but as you say, drink sensibly and don't worry about it!