Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin City marathon

• Registered Users Posts: 1,464 ✭✭✭jlang

Tough day out there. Dreams of under 3:15 died around Dartry, followed out the window by a sub 3:18 PB, followed by the being passed by the 3:20 pacers and pretty much everyone else. My mother says I was running well at the top of the hill at Foster's Avenue but I think she saw someone else! Carnage was definitely the word in my head at the finish (3:27 ish). I'd have thought I had it in me, so not sure whether to blame the training, the conditions or the race strategy. Probably a little of each but in hindsight going up the Phoenix Park exactly on pace instead of backing off a little (but it felt so easy at the time) was probably the turning point of the day and the fact that others found it rough by the end too is only a consolation excuse. I'll be back.
    Congrats to those who did achieve their goals today. They deserve the smiles on their face.
    Also must mention the fantastic support out there, best I've ever seen. Really helped me.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,695 ✭✭✭Chivito550

Anyone in the pub? Any clues on how to recognise some of you so I don't wander up to complete randommers?

• Registered Users Posts: 949 ✭✭✭M.J.M.C

That was horrific, doing grand till mile 18 when my body just fell apart.
    Managed to walk/run to the finish line for 3:49 same as last year.
    Support was UNREAL

God help ye all. That was hard to watch.

Well done everyone who crossed the start line today. Ye should be very bloody proud.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 768 ✭✭✭Letyourselfgo

• Registered Users Posts: 3,545 ✭✭✭tunguska

viperlogic wrote: »
    Tunguska 2:49:29

And I was lucky to get that even......Was going pretty well, stretch up crumlin road was horrendous but once we turned at the walkinstown roundabout I was able to kick it on. Was motoring really well but then left calve went on me at about 18/19 miles. Slowed right down, horrible shuffle/death match to the finish after that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,396 ✭✭✭Frosty McSnowballs

Lads that was tough enough. I planned on a 4:30 finish, managed 4:29 something.

Did yis see a guy called Kevin Byrne, race number 14921?

At halfway the legend was 3rd! With 1:07 something on the clock! Fair play to the guy, holding his own against the others.

Something happened and he came in with a time of 4:07. I want to meet that guy! Absolutely going balls out! Deadly!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,396 ✭✭✭Frosty McSnowballs

Legend!

• Registered Users Posts: 12,851 ✭✭✭✭average_runner

menoscemo wrote: »
    Well the '0' had to go sometime. I came into today 24-0 on successful pacing gigs and am now 24-1 :(.
    Was not feeling right from the off and even though the pace felt fine I started getting dizzy spells round mile 10 then had a few palpitations which frankly scared the sh1t outta me so I discreetly dropped just before HAlfway. Well done on AMK and Gavlor for gutting it out, I guess that's why there are 3 per group. Enjoy the night all, not feeling the best (though much better than before) so I am currently heading home.

Takes a bigger man to drop out than to keep going. You live to fight another day, still a impressive record

• Registered Users Posts: 5,376 ✭✭✭DublinDilbert

Finished in 3:40:05

Got a cramp at 21 miles and stopped for a bit.

Worked it out , but took the flag down as I needed a 7:35 mile to catch back up. Last 2 miles were 8:19 on the money, despite another twinge, and was at the back of the 3:40 group hounding them through.

Some gutsy performances within the group.
    not disappointed about 5 secs over as I got a good few through.

Very tough day, carnage out there.

Well done to those who Finished and a very well done to those who pb'd.

I ran with yous from about 17-21, was great to run with the group so big thanks. Yea I saw you stretching it out on the rhs, was at that point I realised I wasn't the only one feeling it today.

Never seen a dcm at 18 degrees, usually closer to 8. Tough going well done to everyone on the finish.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,431 ✭✭✭sideswipe

That was one tough day. Hate excuse.....yes it was warm....yes it was windy, but the biggest reason I crashed and burned- I was Sh*te.
    Massive explosion at 17 miles with, zombie walk/run for the spooky week thats in it to the finish, 3:27, 25 min positive spilt!!

Totally gutted and dejected to the point of promising that's it for me, 16 weeks of hard work and sacrifice (not just for me but also the rest of the family) and all I have is a kick in the arse. Time to find something else I might actually have some talent for in my spare time me thinks.:(

Well done to those who hit their target and also to the pacers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 54 ✭✭ddoylers

1st time 3hr 49. Ran with an ankle injury. Felt strong at the finish. Feels absolutely amazing to cross the line.
    Big thanks to each and every 1 Who came out to Support today. And to all runners. Your all heros.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

Well done everyone on your marathon and to those who came out to cheer as well of course. Some inspirational readings, enjoy your day now, you've earned it. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 763 ✭✭✭gerard_65

Feck, I didn't see you. I was standing about 50m from you. Just past the yellow sign on the left.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,811 ✭✭✭hawkwing

Got around in 4'22,happy enough as it is 4th best of my last 7 DCM's and conditions were not the best and it was my second worst year of running.
    I didn't think it was possible to be over 4'20 without walking any of it although the last 6*10'15 min miles are hardly running either:o
    Both legs almost went with 50 m to go and i had a vision of falling on the blue mat in front of everyone--another 20metres and i was in trouble from cramps. Had the fitness for 4'10ish but not the leg muscles. Nobody seemed overjoyed at the end--lots seemed unhappy with their times.I enjoyed the day a lot more than most of the other DCM's and was happy i didn't collapse to 4'40ish or something.
    Lessons i learned this year--hide gels in the park behind trees-saves you carrying them.
    Smile and wave to the crowd from 20 on as they all cheer you on and you forget you are tiring.
    Do 1 4hr LSR as you will get the distance more easily.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭entropi

Congrats to all of you slogging that one out today, it was far too warm! Stayed just a bit down from the UCD flyover for a few hours of support. Well done to you all :) Go have a cheat meal and take a well earned rest.

• Registered Users Posts: 81 ✭✭saucyjack

If any of ye are in here thanks you for the magical support, for all the organising and the patience and special thanks to the 4:10 pacers for the encouragement and humour - got a PB of 4:08 I'd genuinely wouldn't have gotten without ye. Ultimate respect for the job you do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 768 ✭✭✭Letyourselfgo

gerard_65 wrote: »
    Feck, I didn't see you. I was standing about 50m from you. Just past the yellow sign on the left.

That's annoying, great to see all the old heads out today, Heard a shout woddle from someone today which was funny, fairly sure it was chinguetti.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,464 ✭✭✭jlang

That's annoying, great to see all the old heads out today, Heard a shout woddle from someone today which was funny, fairly sure it was chinguetti.

I saw you there and gave out a mumbled shout, but I think you were distracted by something daughter related.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,282 ✭✭✭gucci

Legend!

Some people would call him a legend, some people would call him an idoit...but for me he definetely is a legend :D

• Registered Users Posts: 949 ✭✭✭M.J.M.C

entropi wrote: »
    Congrats to all of you slogging that one out today, it was far too warm! Stayed just a bit down from the UCD flyover for a few hours of support. Well done to you all :) Go have a cheat meal and take a well earned rest.

It is honestly people like you that get some people over the finish.
    I walked a lot of that part where you were standing and everyone was cheering me on to get running again.
    I honestly take my hat off to you for coming out and giving support. It's amazing.

Also...R.I.P toe nail as I thought.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

gucci wrote: »
    Some people would call him a legend, some people would call him an idoit...but for me he definetely is a legend :D

I think you are missing the point. He clearly cheated.

• Registered Users Posts: 12 capaleen

Strava tells me I have a new personal best for 30K and a a new personal worst for the Marathon.

Cramping set in at Roebuck and lasted all the way to the finish line, had to walk most of it. Had I known the cramps weren't going to stop I'd have packed it in. 3.3X for a half hour positive split.

...and another rubbish shirt to add to the race series 2014 collection - can we fire whoever is doing these? They look like a transition year student designed them in Word.

• Registered Users Posts: 248 ✭✭bonaparte2

=tunguska;92775983]Bib No.| Username | PB | Predicted Time | Actual Time
    2005|yaboya1|2:59:11|2:59:10|
    42 |Tunguska|2:38:40|2:38:39|
    |Netwerk Errer|3:15:29|2:59:59|
    |Paddybarry|N/A|2:55|
    5116 |Adrian522|N/A|3:48:00|
    |Canine Marathoner|3.09.xx|2:59.59|
    |Fraggle00|4.05.xx|3.45.00|
    |xElDeeX|4:09:xx|3:47:00|
    |Bahanaman|2:57:52 *|2:59:59|
    |dublin runner|2:50:35|2:43:00 <|
    |chavezychavez|3:20:57|3:20:00|
    |RayCun|2:59:06|2:55|
    |AuldManKing||3:40:10|
    |fletch|3:16:26|3:14:59|
    |DogSlySmile|2:59:59|2:49:59|
    |Endurancer123|3:25:59|3:19:59|
    |Mr Freeze|3:50:11|3:38:00|
    |Plodman|3:17:22|2:49:59|
    |dcorcaigh|4:19:40|3:49:49|
    |Pacing Mule| 5:36:53|4:19:00|
    |Martyoo| |3:55:00|
    |geodesic|3:44:17|3:59:59|
    |Killian Byrne|4:30:26|4:29:59|
    |Toblerone1978|3:05:23|2:59:59|
    |snailsong|3:12:32|3:09:30|
    |Tyrone_03|3:52:18|3:44:59|
    5394|skeleton_boy|3:28:02|2:54:59|
    |overthebridge|4:23:xx|4:19:59|
    5989|davedanon|3:17:15|3:14:59|
    |rockstar_91|N/A|4:19:59|
    |Crisco10|n/a|3:25:00|
    |Bladeserver|4:26:01|4:10:00|
    |run_Forrest_run|3:24:28|2:59:59|
    5376|JohnDozer|4:09:05|3:44:59|
    |Cabaal|3:33:33|3:19:59|
    |Basster|3:35:09|3:08:00|
    |MacSwifty|3:29:16|3:35:00|
    |bugsy2000|3:26:26|3:17:59|
    2243|Downtime|4:00:58|3:57:00|
    |Figlen|4:22:00|3:39:59|
    |Sideswipe|3:15:33|3:09:59|
    |neilc|3:10:28|3:10:00 <|
    |Running Fool|3:35:07|3:29:59|
    |PaulieC|3:28:31|3:09:59|
    |TakeaBowSon|3:25:04|3:19:59|
    |JohnnyDun|4:01:10|3:58:00|
    |PeterParker100|3:49:11|3:45:00|
    |Slow_Runner|4:10:32|3:55:00|
    |Saucyjack|4:33:34|4:15:00|
    |Tigerandahalf|N/A|3:19:59|
    |echancrure|3:14:15|2:59:59|
    |Narco0o0o0o|N/A|2:45 <|
    |amcgee|3:26|3:35|
    |Jay D|N/A|3:57:26|
    |kingQuez|2:58|3:10:00 <|
    |alsoran|4:52:xx|4:19:59|
    |Tetney|3:43:31|3:29:59 <|
    |wobblemouth|3:01:16|2:59:59 <|
    |jahaco|3:11:49|3:09:59 <|
    |shoottherunner|3:10:56|3:11:00 <|
    |clickhere |N/A |4:29:59 <|
    |bonaparte2|2.59.17|2:59:00 <|DNF|
    |MaggotBrain|N/A|4:10:00|
    |ciaranmac|N/A|4:59:59|
    |Calvin Johnson|3:34:48|3:14:59|
    |Badda Bing|4:31:30|4:10:00|
    |Trampas|3:28:57|3:19:59|
    |Ecoenergy|3:40:28|3:29:59|
    |Nem_e|3:57:43|3:29:59|
    |JoeyRamone|3:39:50|3:09:50|
    |hawkwing|3:58:30|4:09:59|
    |Tipp man running|3:19:38|3:09:55
    263|menoscemo (pacer)|3:04:58|3:39:40|

• Registered Users Posts: 803 ✭✭✭JohnDozer

bonaparte2 wrote: »
    =tunguska;92775983]Bib No.| Username | PB | Predicted Time | Actual Time
    2005|yaboya1|2:59:11|2:59:10|
    42 |Tunguska|2:38:40|2:38:39|
    |Netwerk Errer|3:15:29|2:59:59|
    |Paddybarry|N/A|2:55|
    5116 |Adrian522|N/A|3:48:00|
    |Canine Marathoner|3.09.xx|2:59.59|
    |Fraggle00|4.05.xx|3.45.00|
    |xElDeeX|4:09:xx|3:47:00|
    |Bahanaman|2:57:52 *|2:59:59|
    |dublin runner|2:50:35|2:43:00 <|
    |chavezychavez|3:20:57|3:20:00|
    |RayCun|2:59:06|2:55|
    |AuldManKing||3:40:10|
    |fletch|3:16:26|3:14:59|
    |DogSlySmile|2:59:59|2:49:59|
    |Endurancer123|3:25:59|3:19:59|
    |Mr Freeze|3:50:11|3:38:00|
    |Plodman|3:17:22|2:49:59|
    |dcorcaigh|4:19:40|3:49:49|
    |Pacing Mule| 5:36:53|4:19:00|
    |Martyoo| |3:55:00|
    |geodesic|3:44:17|3:59:59|
    |Killian Byrne|4:30:26|4:29:59|
    |Toblerone1978|3:05:23|2:59:59|
    |snailsong|3:12:32|3:09:30|
    |Tyrone_03|3:52:18|3:44:59|
    5394|skeleton_boy|3:28:02|2:54:59|
    |overthebridge|4:23:xx|4:19:59|
    5989|davedanon|3:17:15|3:14:59|
    |rockstar_91|N/A|4:19:59|
    |Crisco10|n/a|3:25:00|
    |Bladeserver|4:26:01|4:10:00|
    |run_Forrest_run|3:24:28|2:59:59|
    5376|JohnDozer|4:09:05|3:44:59|4:07:35
    |Cabaal|3:33:33|3:19:59|
    |Basster|3:35:09|3:08:00|
    |MacSwifty|3:29:16|3:35:00|
    |bugsy2000|3:26:26|3:17:59|
    2243|Downtime|4:00:58|3:57:00|
    |Figlen|4:22:00|3:39:59|
    |Sideswipe|3:15:33|3:09:59|
    |neilc|3:10:28|3:10:00 <|
    |Running Fool|3:35:07|3:29:59|
    |PaulieC|3:28:31|3:09:59|
    |TakeaBowSon|3:25:04|3:19:59|
    |JohnnyDun|4:01:10|3:58:00|
    |PeterParker100|3:49:11|3:45:00|
    |Slow_Runner|4:10:32|3:55:00|
    |Saucyjack|4:33:34|4:15:00|
    |Tigerandahalf|N/A|3:19:59|
    |echancrure|3:14:15|2:59:59|
    |Narco0o0o0o|N/A|2:45 <|
    |amcgee|3:26|3:35|
    |Jay D|N/A|3:57:26|
    |kingQuez|2:58|3:10:00 <|
    |alsoran|4:52:xx|4:19:59|
    |Tetney|3:43:31|3:29:59 <|
    |wobblemouth|3:01:16|2:59:59 <|
    |jahaco|3:11:49|3:09:59 <|
    |shoottherunner|3:10:56|3:11:00 <|
    |clickhere |N/A |4:29:59 <|
    |bonaparte2|2.59.17|2:59:00 <|DNF|
    |MaggotBrain|N/A|4:10:00|
    |ciaranmac|N/A|4:59:59|
    |Calvin Johnson|3:34:48|3:14:59|
    |Badda Bing|4:31:30|4:10:00|
    |Trampas|3:28:57|3:19:59|
    |Ecoenergy|3:40:28|3:29:59|
    |Nem_e|3:57:43|3:29:59|
    |JoeyRamone|3:39:50|3:09:50|
    |hawkwing|3:58:30|4:09:59|
    |Tipp man running|3:19:38|3:09:55
    263|menoscemo (pacer)|3:04:58|3:39:40|

A PB is a PB! Hopefully I'll see it that way when the disappointment fades...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,771 ✭✭✭jebuz

Ouch! Tough going today, felt fantastic for first 10 miles and was planning on kicking on for the 2nd half but was never going to happen. Wind hit hard after the halfway point and I had to re-adjust the target which got me home just under 2:47 I'm pretty happy with that, 8 minute PB. Last 3 miles were absolutely the hardest miles I've ever had to dig deep for but the pints afterwards tasted pretty good. Onwards!

• Registered Users Posts: 7,224 ✭✭✭plodder

Great day for watching if not running. I saw Raycun looking very comfortable at the turn for the last 800 metres. Others I know were wiped out by the unexpected heat. Quite a few of the top guys seemed to be struggling towards the end too. One thing I saw that shocked me earlier at the half way point was gardai stopping a bunch of runners to let a car across the course. Not an ambulance or anything important looking. Just an ordinary Jo(sephine) Soap. Disgraceful. Never seen it happen before.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 763 ✭✭✭gerard_65

plodder wrote: »
    One thing I saw that shocked me earlier at the half way point was gardai stopping a bunch of runners to let a car across the course. Not an ambulance or anything important looking. Just an ordinary Jo(sephine) Soap. Disgraceful. Never seen it happen before.
    Had to be an emergency. Can't imagine a car would be let on the course otherwise.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,776 ✭✭✭This Fat Girl Runs

Just home from cheering at the marathon! I was the girl with the 'Hate to see you go...Love to watch you leave' sign, btw! :D Hope you saw me and got a bit of a laugh from it!

I started at Meath Street from 9am, cheered there for a while, then headed for Mile 13, cheered there for an hour or so, then made my way to mile 25 where I cheered for three hours. It was epic. To see you go from the first few miles, to the halfway and then on towards the finish, your determination is legendary!

You marathon runners are really amazing, just getting across the starting line is an achievement. Congrats to everyone for taking part, no matter what time you did or didn't finish in. You're all inspiring just for lacing up the shoes and going for it!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,811 ✭✭✭hawkwing

The "run faster as the lions have broken out" poster at the zoo was class :).And just up from it there was a lad in a gorilla suit or maybe it was a real gorilla:confused: