Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin City marathon

• Registered Users Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭Jay D

Bahanaman wrote: »
    How do you add the finishing time to the table?
    Just look at where my finish time is when you quote message. Copy and paste to yours adding your time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 610 ✭✭✭kerrylad1

PaulieC wrote: »
    Was it not cheating ? Surely dragging someone over the line in order to achieve a time is ?

Are you serious?:rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 6,195 ✭✭✭PaulieC

kerrylad1 wrote: »
    Are you serious?:rolleyes:

Semi serious. Getting dragged across the line in order to achieve a time otherwise unobtainable is not cheating in some form ?

I'm not saying it's a big deal, but it could've changed some team times and results (again, could have)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 610 ✭✭✭kerrylad1

Semi serious. Getting dragged across the line in order to achieve a time otherwise unobtainable is not cheating in some form ?

I'm not saying it's a big deal, but it could've changed some team times and results (again, could have)

Fair enough,didnt think of that.

• Registered Users Posts: 497 ✭✭Bugsy2000

What a day!

Plan was to go out at roughly 7.30 pace for the first half & pick it up after that depending on how I was feeling. Was going well early on, sometimes ahead of the 3.20 pacers, sometimes behind but usually within touching distance. Eased off coming up Chesterfield & made hay on the downhills without getting carried away.

Began to feel a bit weak at around mile 8 but thought it would pass & kept the pace going. Then just after the 12 mile marker I suddenly got very dizzy & nauseous. Had to stop & sit down for a minute to settle myself & then jumped back in with a few clubmates that were passing. I managed another half mile before the head went again. I eased it back & unfortunately it was a run / walk race from there on. The splits don't make nice reading!

Don't really know what happened, I was using the same fueling strategy that worked well for me in London this year but something wasn't right. Whilst I know it was hot I wasn't running fast enough to generate a huge thirst but I couldn't get enough water into me. I was constantly gasping with thirst & took two bottles at each station plus more from random strangers.

The sun came out around mile 16 & it was noticeable the difference it had on people as from then on it was carnage. I was walking up a small drag in Clonskeagh (by O' Sheas I think) & took a look around, there was a few hundred people around & I'd easily say 70% of them were walking. I met two clubmates supporting at mile 18 (experienced sub 3 marathon runners) who reckon they've never seen carnage & attrition as they did today. From miles 16 - 20 there was bodies dropping like flies, At some points St John's didn't have enough crew to deal with them (not a slight on St Johns) and there was literally people collapsed on the side of the road with bystanders completely at a loss at what to do. It was a strange day!!

Support was unreal. First time through Castleknock & they put on a great show but the whole course was packed. First few miles were congested up to Christchurch but once on the quays it was fine. The last 2 miles were brilliant (bar the last long long long straight :) )

Kudos to Maria Mc on a brilliant race. Savage running. And big kudos to anyone who hit their targets or PB's today, pints well deserved tonight!!

It wasn't to be for me today, 3.53 & a 29min positive split. But on a positive note, my legs aren't as beaten up as they normally would be. A lot to be said for walking :D

• Registered Users Posts: 5,141 ✭✭✭rom

Hi, I want to say a huge thanks to the 3 hour pacers, particularly the 3rd guy in the team who kept motivating and pushing the guys at the back of the group. He even came back down Mount street and dragged me up the road by the hand towards the finish line ( I don't actually remember this but was told by my wife afterwards) but at this stage my legs were gone. I do remember him running back a 2nd time and pushing me up Mount Street but I had nothing left in the tank. I fiinished about 20 seconds over 3 hours but gave it everything I had so am happy with the result. The poor guy even came over an apologised afterwards even though no apology was necessary, at that point my brain was fried and I was carted off to the medical tent for an hour+. Hope I didn't ruin his 3 hour goal time.
    Like most others that have commented, I found the combination of the heat and wind very tough and the support incredible.
    I also want to thank the team in the medical tent and the physios who did a great job of re-hydrating me and getting me back on my feet. I'm feeling fine now. Not forgetting all the volunteers today.. Great job!

Small world. Had a better day with ya earlier on in the year. Would have been hard to do it without your pacing then. Glad that you are on the mend.

• Registered Users Posts: 89 ✭✭Dukie

Huge thanks to the 3:20 lads who bullied me across the finish line!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 107 ✭✭Johnners1878

Oh come on now... It was noble, it was heroic, it was a wonderful example of humanity and the co-operative spirit. The guy had been hanging on to the last, they'd probably run more or less together for almost 26 miles. What the Pacer did represents all that's good about sport and its ideals. And it made a brilliant photograph (see Twitter). For the vast majority today was not about team times or results, it was about participation and self-challenge.

No doubt if the few seconds he gained influenced results there'll be a few out there prepared to lodge objections.

• Registered Users Posts: 163 ✭✭Macaonbhuit

Is it just me, or was the course long by 300 odd metres?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭Bahanaman

xElDeeX wrote: »
    [bonaparte2;92783788]=tunguska;92775983]Bib No.| Username | PB | Predicted Time | Actual Time
    2005|yaboya1|2:59:11|2:59:10|
    42 |Tunguska|2:38:40|2:38:39|
    |Netwerk Errer|3:15:29|2:59:59|
    |Paddybarry|N/A|2:55|
    5116 |Adrian522|N/A|3:48:00|
    |Canine Marathoner|3.09.xx|2:59.59|
    |Fraggle00|4.05.xx|3.45.00|
    |xElDeeX|4:09:xx|3:47:00|3:54:19|
    |Bahanaman|2:57:52 *|2:59:59|3:02:19|
    |dublin runner|2:50:35|2:43:00 <|
    |chavezychavez|3:20:57|3:20:00|
    |RayCun|2:59:06|2:55|
    |AuldManKing||3:40:10|
    |fletch|3:16:26|3:14:59|
    |DogSlySmile|2:59:59|2:49:59|
    |Endurancer123|3:25:59|3:19:59|
    |Mr Freeze|3:50:11|3:38:00|
    |Plodman|3:17:22|2:49:59|
    |dcorcaigh|4:19:40|3:49:49|
    |Pacing Mule| 5:36:53|4:19:00|
    |Martyoo| |3:55:00|
    |geodesic|3:44:17|3:59:59|
    |Killian Byrne|4:30:26|4:29:59|
    |Toblerone1978|3:05:23|2:59:59|
    |snailsong|3:12:32|3:09:30|
    |Tyrone_03|3:52:18|3:44:59|
    5394|skeleton_boy|3:28:02|2:54:59|
    |overthebridge|4:23:xx|4:19:59|
    5989|davedanon|3:17:15|3:14:59|
    |rockstar_91|N/A|4:19:59|
    |Crisco10|n/a|3:25:00|
    |Bladeserver|4:26:01|4:10:00|
    |run_Forrest_run|3:24:28|2:59:59|
    5376|JohnDozer|4:09:05|3:44:59|4:07:35|
    |Cabaal|3:33:33|3:19:59|
    |Basster|3:35:09|3:08:00|
    |MacSwifty|3:29:16|3:35:00|
    |bugsy2000|3:26:26|3:17:59|
    2243|Downtime|4:00:58|3:57:00|
    |Figlen|4:22:00|3:39:59|
    |Sideswipe|3:15:33|3:09:59|
    |neilc|3:10:28|3:10:00 <|
    |Running Fool|3:35:07|3:29:59|
    |PaulieC|3:28:31|3:09:59|
    |TakeaBowSon|3:25:04|3:19:59|
    |JohnnyDun|4:01:10|3:58:00|
    |PeterParker100|3:49:11|3:45:00|
    |Slow_Runner|4:10:32|3:55:00|
    |Saucyjack|4:33:34|4:15:00|
    |Tigerandahalf|N/A|3:19:59|
    |echancrure|3:14:15|2:59:59|
    |Narco0o0o0o|N/A|2:45 <|
    |amcgee|3:26|3:35|
    |Jay D|N/A|3:57:26|
    |kingQuez|2:58|3:10:00 <|
    |alsoran|4:52:xx|4:19:59|
    |Tetney|3:43:31|3:29:59 <|
    |wobblemouth|3:01:16|2:59:59 <|
    |jahaco|3:11:49|3:09:59 <|
    |shoottherunner|3:10:56|3:11:00 <|
    |clickhere |N/A |4:29:59 <|
    |bonaparte2|2.59.17|2:59:00 <|DNF|
    |MaggotBrain|N/A|4:10:00|
    |ciaranmac|N/A|4:59:59|
    |Calvin Johnson|3:34:48|3:14:59|
    |Badda Bing|4:31:30|4:10:00|
    |Trampas|3:28:57|3:19:59|
    |Ecoenergy|3:40:28|3:29:59|
    |Nem_e|3:57:43|3:29:59|
    |JoeyRamone|3:39:50|3:09:50|
    |hawkwing|3:58:30|4:09:59|
    |Tipp man running|3:19:38|3:09:55
    263|menoscemo (pacer)|3:04:58|3:39:40|

• Registered Users Posts: 1,771 ✭✭✭jebuz

Bib No.| Username | PB | Predicted Time | Actual Time
    2328|jebuz|2:54:46|2:43:00|2:46:59|
    5116 |Adrian522|N/A|3:48:00|

Oh come on now... It was noble, it was heroic, it was a wonderful example of humanity and the co-operative spirit. The guy had been hanging on to the last, they'd probably run more or less together for almost 26 miles. What the Pacer did represents all that's good about sport and its ideals. And it made a brilliant photograph (see Twitter). For the vast majority today was not about team times or results, it was about participation and self-challenge.

No doubt if the few seconds he gained influenced results there'll be a few out there prepared to lodge objections.

I fully agree on the fact that it made for a brilliant picture, but I disagree with the pacers physically helping participants. I'm all for them encouraging, cajoling and bullying runners to get the most out of themselves, but I think that this was too much.

Also I think you underestimate the amount of teams that clubs had out there.

• Registered Users Posts: 22,646 ✭✭✭✭Sauve

That'll be your gps watch, they're always out by a bit over a long distance.
    You also have to consider your weaving in and out and going from one side of a road to another all adds up.

• Registered Users Posts: 89 ✭✭Dukie

Have to say folks, after doing Berlin last month, the support out there today left Berlin standing. Some places had the hairs on the back of your neck standing! Unreal atmosphere

• Registered Users Posts: 7,687 ✭✭✭Trampas

Dilbert75 wrote: »
    3.30 pacers seemed about bang on when they passed me. Would be unusual for them to get it that wrong - they're generally a reliable & experienced bunch, chosen because of that.

Any person who pace especially in a marathon is congratulated on but one of the 3.30 seemed to get a bit carrier away with himself

Finished in 3.27.41 after going through the half at 1.43.16 is just going to kill people.

Sorry but that's not 3.30 pacing

• Registered Users Posts: 5,141 ✭✭✭rom

Nah its just you :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭entropi

AnnaStezia wrote: »
    Full marks to the girl dressed as a clown. Great outfit. Classic !

Full marks to the St. Johns Ambulance people too especially the guys who attended to the young woman who had a collapse just before mile 23. Hope she is alright.
    I was the lad in the red hoodie with the first aid crew there. She started to pick up a bit after 15 minutes, they done some observation on her and tried to contact some people close by she knew. Hoping she came out of this alright. She had no hydration during the race as it turns out, heat must have got to her.

The first aiders done a wonderful job, even though I'm sure they were overrun and swamped with incidents needing attending to.

• Registered Users Posts: 167 ✭✭boodiebhoy

Tough day. Never saw so many people walking or receiving medical attention. Was going for sub 3.30 but ended up with 3.39. Was feeling sorry for myself for a while but then thought about that guy pushing his brother around the course and now just thankful that I got to run and survive to go another day. Brilliant support as always. I'm sure l saw 22 degrees c on a neon sign and it sure felt it but thanks to the crowd for keeping us going. Will be back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,361 ✭✭✭Kurt Godel

I ran with 3.30 pacers today and went through half in 1.43.19 (while behind pacer) and finished 3.33. Realised while race was going on that was probably a minute or so fast and paid for it later so is entirely my fault. all other pacing groups are close to time so just interested in why 3.30 finished so far ahead of time. Not sour grapes as delighted with time but....

No point in sugar coating it- one of the 3:30 pacers didn't pace as he should have. That's too fast at halfway, and seems to have been maintained that speed to the finish. Not good enough, and less than we expect when organising pacing groups. Sorry that it affected your performance.

(The other two 3:30 pacers performed to expectation, although one pulled up with 2k to go with muscle spasms, took his flag off and limped the rest of the way).

• Registered Users Posts: 2,601 ✭✭✭Wubble Wubble

Well done to everyone who ran yesterday, especially those who got PBs. I was out supporting just after the 7 mile marker in Castleknock, and even at that stage I saw a good few in difficulty and/or walking. Judging by the post match reports here, it seems to have turned out much harder than usual. The unseasonably warm weather certainly didn't help!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,901 ✭✭✭Van.Bosch

Well done to all who ran yesterday, I was out supporting and it seemed like a tough day. The crowd support was immense especially for the last 2 miles.

The one thing I would like to see, (and I think this gets raised each year) is the route being split 50/50 between the North and South side. It's a great reflection on all who come out and support but I feel people on the north side miss out. I know it has done it in the past but I would like to see serve areas like Griffith avenue, Glasnevin and Phibsoro and into the park or vice versa.

I think with the Luas cross city route O'Connell street is out but over the Samuel Beckett bridge and up Sherriff street could open it up.

Anyway, well done again to all.

• Registered Users Posts: 135 ✭✭Fiftyplus

First DCM, hoping for 3.30 but blew up after mile 22 and managed 3.37 - initially disappointed but seems to have been a common occurrence so not too bad. Great race organisation, crowd support and will be back. Noticed Connor Murray at one of the water stations handing out bottles - he dropped mine!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 247 ✭✭SharkTale

Well done to all participants, was on the start of Roebuck Hill supporting with jelly's.

The heat was unreal, and I could feel the pain from some struggling runners.

Well done once again to all

• Registered Users Posts: 320 ✭✭eoinín

frogstar wrote: »
    Anyone know if the guy who collapsed at 25.5miles was ok? Think he was around the 4 hour mark.

That was possibly me. I'm ok, thanks for the concern!

I had a bit of a shocker yesterday. I was hoping for 3.15 which seemed possible given my recent half marathon and the fact that my training had gone well. I was bang on target at half way, which, given the wind and Tunguska's advice to do the first half slower, probably meant that I was going too fast. Around 16 miles my legs began to feel a bit stiff and I was burning up. i was taking 2 bottles of water at every station to drink and spray myself. I was so hot that twice I even grabbed discarded bottles from the ground. In hindsight I may have actually been flushing electrolytes from my body with all the water I was drinking. I ran out of energy and slowed to a jog, doing a 10.15 mile at mile 25. But I was determined to get it done, regardless of time. Surely I could even just walk the last mile? But then I turned on to Shelbourne road and my legs just went from under me. Luckily I collapsed in front of a group of clubmates who looked after me and took me slowly to a nearby ambulance. I was assessed there for around half an hour before they told me I could go on if I wanted. I bravely / stubbornly / stupidly decided to walk on, with my worried wife and some friends keeping an eye on me. I had zero energy but pressed on. The crowd were amaaaazing! It felt to me like everyone was either chanting my club name or my name and wishing me well. With around 500 metres to go my calf started cramping painfully. Luckily it passed quickly - I had visions of me crawling the last bit! Eventually I got there, in 4.07, my slowest marathon, but one I'll probably look back on with pride in years to come.

I'm not sure where i'm going to go with marathons now, i had thought of trying the Wicklow Way Ultra next year or a mountainous marathon, but this puts things in perspective. I have to work on my nutrition and in race fuelling over the winter to make sure lack of energy doesnt scupper me again.

Thanks to anyone who may have cheered me on yesterday!

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,130 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

5116 |Adrian522|N/A|3:48:00|3:49:23

3:49:23. Have to be happy with that, given the conditions and some of the race reports coming in. There seemed to be complete carnage around Clonskeagh road, with few enough people even running at that point, seems to have been a tough day at the office for a lot of people.

I guess it's about time to throw up a race report.

Fiftyplus wrote: »
    First DCM, hoping for 3.30 but blew up after mile 22 and managed 3.37 - initially disappointed but seems to have been a common occurrence so not too bad. Great race organisation, crowd support and will be back. Noticed Connor Murray at one of the water stations handing out bottles - he dropped mine!!!

I got lucozade off the Gooch at the bottom of Roebuck hill. He didn't drop it...

• Registered Users Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

3313|RayCun|2:59:06|2:55|2:56:42

happy with that, think it was the best time I could get on the day

• Registered Users Posts: 6,205 ✭✭✭crisco10

|Crisco10|n/a|3:25:00|3:24:49

Happy with that, especially given the conditions!

eoinín wrote: »

I'm not sure where i'm going to go with marathons now, i had thought of trying the Wicklow Way Ultra next year or a mountainous marathon, but this puts things in perspective. I have to work on my nutrition and in race fuelling over the winter to make sure lack of energy doesnt scupper me again.

Thanks to anyone who may have cheered me on yesterday!

Glad you're ok, now is very much not the time to be making decisions on what to be doing next. Leave it for a few days and you'll have more distance and perspective. No hurry to decide on anything this week anyway.

• Registered Users Posts: 223 ✭✭Moycullen1

Great event again, well marshalled and well supported. I hate to complain but it has to said. I hadn't trained due to an injury in July but decided to run/walk it as it was my 20th so as a result I was towards the rear of the field. When I got to the third last and second last water stations they had totally run out of water. I know it was unseasonably hot, but those temperatures had been predicted for days. I found the heat and humidity very hard to take. The last time I saw that many people getting first aid was when I ran Chicago in 2008 in 29degrees. I came in just over 5hrs and there were still over 2000 people to come behind and I really feel sorry for anyone who was as dehydrated as I was. It is a really bad stage in the race to have to run without water. I know it is hard to plan for these things but I'm sure unopened cases of water bottles can be returned. It is one of those things I hope the organisers will not let happen again.