Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin City marathon

• Registered Users Posts: 2,065 ✭✭✭dublin runner

Bib No.| Username | PB | Predicted Time | Actual Time
    2005|yaboya1|2:59:11|2:59:10|3:08:42
    42 |Tunguska|2:38:40|2:38:39|
    2328|jebuz|2:54:46|2:43:00|2:46:59|
    |Netwerk Errer|3:15:29|2:59:59|
    |Paddybarry|N/A|2:55|2.55.28
    5116 |Adrian522|N/A|3:48:00|3:49:23
    |Canine Marathoner|3.09.xx|2:59.59|3:19
    |Fraggle00|4.05.xx|3.45.00|
    |xElDeeX|4:09:xx|3:47:00|3:54:19|
    |Bahanaman|2:57:52 *|2:59:59|3:02:19|
    |dublin runner|2:50:35|2:43:00 <|2:52:48
    |chavezychavez|3:20:57|3:20:00|
    3313|RayCun|2:59:06|2:55|2:56:42
    |AuldManKing||3:40:10|
    |fletch|3:16:26|3:14:59|3:21:34
    |DogSlySmile|2:59:59|2:49:59|
    |Endurancer123|3:25:59|3:19:59|
    |Mr Freeze|3:50:11|3:38:00|
    |Plodman|3:17:22|2:49:59|
    |dcorcaigh|4:19:40|3:49:49|
    |Pacing Mule| 5:36:53|4:19:00|4:58:34
    |Martyoo| |3:55:00|
    |geodesic|3:44:17|3:59:59|3:56:58
    |Killian Byrne|4:30:26|4:29:59|
    |Toblerone1978|3:05:23|2:59:59|2:59:11
    |snailsong|3:12:32|3:09:30|
    |Tyrone_03|3:52:18|3:44:59|
    5394|skeleton_boy|3:28:02|2:54:59|
    |overthebridge|4:23:xx|4:19:59|
    5989|davedanon|3:17:15|3:14:59|
    |rockstar_91|N/A|4:19:59|
    |Crisco10|n/a|3:25:00|3.24.49
    |Bladeserver|4:26:01|4:10:00|
    |run_Forrest_run|3:03:31|2:59:59|3:03:31|
    5376|JohnDozer|4:09:05|3:44:59|4:07:35|
    |Cabaal|3:33:33|3:19:59|
    |Basster|3:35:09|3:08:00|
    |MacSwifty|3:29:16|3:35:00|
    |bugsy2000|3:26:26|3:17:59|
    2243|Downtime|4:00:58|3:57:00|
    |Figlen|4:22:00|3:39:59|
    |Sideswipe|3:15:33|3:09:59|
    |neilc|3:10:28|3:10:00 <|
    |Running Fool|3:35:07|3:29:59|
    |PaulieC|3:28:31|3:09:59|
    |TakeaBowSon|3:25:04|3:19:59|
    |JohnnyDun|4:01:10|3:58:00|4:07:30|
    |PeterParker100|3:49:11|3:45:00|
    |Slow_Runner|4:10:32|3:55:00|
    9833|Saucyjack|4:33:34|4:15:00|4:08:26
    |Tigerandahalf|N/A|3:19:59|3.18:20|
    1523|echancrure|3:14:15|2:59:59|DNF
    |Narco0o0o0o|N/A|2:45 <|2.48.03
    |amcgee|3:26|3:35|
    |Jay D|N/A|3:57:26|4:31:51|
    |kingQuez|2:58|3:10:00 <| 2:55
    |alsoran|4:52:xx|4:19:59|
    |Tetney|3:43:31|3:29:59 <|
    |wobblemouth|3:01:16|2:59:59 <|
    |jahaco|3:11:49|3:09:59 <|3:15:49
    |shoottherunner|3:10:56|3:11:00 <|
    |clickhere |N/A |4:29:59 <|4:16:12
    |bonaparte2|2.59.17|2:59:00 <|DNF|
    |MaggotBrain|N/A|4:10:00|
    |ciaranmac|N/A|4:59:59|
    |Calvin Johnson|3:34:48|3:14:59|
    |Badda Bing|4:31:30|4:10:00|
    |Trampas|3:28:57|3:19:59|
    |Ecoenergy|3:40:28|3:29:59|
    |Nem_e|3:57:43|3:29:59|
    |JoeyRamone|3:39:50|3:09:50|
    |hawkwing|3:58:30|4:09:59|
    |Tipp man running|3:19:38|3:09:55
    263|menoscemo (pacer)|3:04:58|3:39:40|
    1792|James Howlett|3:51:10|3:29:59|3:36:06

Needless to say a bad race for me. The support on the course was immense. The best I have yet to experience. For me though the new course is pretty grim in places. I preferred the old course. While the finish was great, the first few miles up to Castleknock do nothing for me.

Delighted to have finished. Just got word that there may be a silver lining in finishing yesterday smile.png.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,062 ✭✭✭davedanon

|dublin runner|2:50:35|2:43:00 <|
    |fletch|3:16:26|3:14:59|
    |Pacing Mule| 5:36:53|4:19:00|
    5989|davedanon|3:17:15|3:14:59|3:45:09
    |Basster|3:35:09|3:08:00|
    |clickhere |N/A |4:29:59 <|

Thank Christ everyone agrees it was savage out there yesterday. Like many others it seems, I also went down in flames like the Graf Zeppelin. Massive positive split too, after going through the first half in 1.39, which seemed slow enough as it was. I blagged an elite sticker off a buddy, which probably contributed to the downfall. Not that I was getting ideas above my station, but the warmup area, the loos, and the baggage van are all great perks. Anyhoo, went out 7.02,7.08,7.15 which felt effortless but no doubt didn't help. I coped ok in the park, and remember commenting to no-one in particular at the time that it was 'only' a crosswind, and didn't feel too bad. I think it took an unseen toll, though, and it was only when we hit the Crumlin road - as Tunguska said, horrific - and that wind hit me full-on, that I began to realise I was in trouble. I had to stop running at a certain point, and it became a matter of sheer survival. My strategy was: do a little run, and I got to walk for a bit. Teammates passed by and urged me on, of course, but that rarely is enough, sadly. In a funny kind of way, though, I'm proud of finishing, and of the effort. It's a reminder of just how tough this distance can be. Chalk it off. Roll on London. Maybe.

• Registered Users Posts: 98 ✭✭amklo

Didn't compete myself (marathon virgin!) but wanted to wish a huge congrats to all who completed the DCM yesterday. Great achievement for you all, hope the pain is managable today.

• Registered Users Posts: 126 ✭✭loughie

4 weeks after Berlin and I was back at it again. Plan was to try and go under 3 again. I wasn't sure how the body would react. Looking at the weather and the course profile compared to Berlin I knew it was going to be a big ask. I felt 'recovered' and fresh at the start line. Running with a club mate with similar target we set off aiming to hit halfway in 1:28:30. Felt grand early on but then the effort up chesterfield ave was definitely harder than I'd have liked. Got to halfway in 1:27:42. This was a shock to me as I was really running by feel mostly and not keeping a close eye on watch. This was too fast and I paid dearly later!! Stretch up Crumlin was like being in a wind tunnel. Not panicking yet I just kept working along and got back into a nice rhythm. Hit 20 miles and the first niggles kicked in. Started to struggle from here in. 3 hour pacers passed me just before Stillorgan. Last 3 hr pacer tried to bring me along and I did try but the body wouldn't react. Last 2 miles were torture and I felt like stopping to walk in mile 24. I didn't stop but continued to shuffle on. I hadn't looked at the watch in ages at this stage, it was one foot in front of the other. Seen the finish line in the distance and it couldn't come quick enough. Finishing stretch was fantastic, much prefer the new one! Pity I couldn't enjoy it! Finished in 3:02:17. My club mate came in a few minutes later. I felt a bit weak in the baggage area and concerned runner wanted me checked out by St Johns ambo. Initially I refused help just wanted to come round. They came back a second time and brought me upto the tent. But at this stage I was grand.

Funny 4 weeks earlier I was doing my cool down jog and this time they were trying to put me in wheelchair!!

I definitely over-cooked the first half and paid with interest in last 6 miles. But overall I was happy with my time after running a marathon 4 weeks earlier. The wind and heat was definitely challenging and made the course a lot tougher on the day but I guess you can't select the weather. Just got to get on with it.

Have to say the support in Dublin is fantastic and credit to the race organization too. Shout out for the pacers also especially the lad who I reckon would have given me a piggy back if I'd have asked. Dublin Marathon is a cracking race.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭Chartsengrafs

|Basster|3:35:09|3:08:00|3:18:07

Had a shocker: following chopped from tri forum..

I was on 3.08/09 pace until 36km or so.. started to feel very weak, slowed a lot, walked a bit. I really was in pieces. Was more or less carried by volunteers (I think?) the final 1 or 2km.
    All the HTFU in the world doesn't help when your head's rolling and you can barely stand. Collapsed over the line. Ended up on an ambulance trolley, apparently in the section for particularly fvcked people in the med tent. Was semi conscious for about two hours while the drip did its work. Woke up every now and then to yack my guts up, the ambulance people were the most heroic people I saw during the day. Gave me about three rounds of anti-vomit drugs. Ended up finishing in 3.18 but I'm still pretty shaken today.

Thought I was good for sub 3:10, the 1:27 half was comfortable and I'd trained consistently and carefully for months. I had the busiest month of my working life in October. Couldn't have helped. Or maybe my target was too ambitious. Or maybe I didn't drink enough. Or maybe...who knows. Will be hard to come back from this one.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,070 ✭✭✭neilc

3483|neilc|3:10:28|3:10:00<|3:14:25

Didn't hit target but only 3:56 off pb so considering all pretty happy.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,548 ✭✭✭Marthastew

Congratulations to all who ran yesterday, very tough running conditions so it's not surprising so many were disappointed with their times. A good way to look at your result is to remember that it was a race and everybody ran under the same conditions, have a look at your finishing position and you might feel better.

To those who DNFed; always a very tough decision to make mid-race but usually the right call and all your training is still in your legs and won't go to waste:)

I was lucky enough to be running as one of the 4 hour Pacers and I really enjoyed it. We had a really great bunch of people (I think one or 2 of you may have posted above, congrats and well done!) but not surprisingly we lost a good few after 21 miles, the sun and wind seemed to sap the energy out of so many people. My 3rd year pacing DCM and definitely the toughest one.

Special thanks to the amazing marshals, volunteers and St. John's Ambulance, they had a very busy day yesterday and I was so relieved not to be reading any bad news on the DCM Facebook feed this morning.

This was my 6th time running this and I have to say the crowd support was the best I've ever experienced. The people of Dublin were AMAZING; The noise in the last 2 miles was phenomenal and I really liked the new finish.
    The crazy man with the megaphone on Merrion road at the 24 mile marker was Mr Stew;) He said he had a super day supporting and he saw so many people having to really dig deep:)

Best of luck with the recovery:D

• Registered Users Posts: 151 ✭✭freethearmy

hit the wall at 21 mile felt so bad walked for 1.5k and plodded on finished 4hr 31mins which wasnt to bad for my 1st marathon and only started running on 16th aug this year

• Closed Accounts Posts: 433 ✭✭MaggotBrain

Marthastew will you be releasing the gopro footage? I'd love to see the bitterness in my face when you passed me at halfway! ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,610 ✭✭✭yaboya1

Just got word that there may be a silver lining in finishing yesterday smile.png.

Do tell....

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,252 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

1792|James Howlett|3:51:10|3:29:59|3:36:06|
    |Dub13|N/A|3:50:00|3.56:50|

• Registered Users Posts: 601 ✭✭✭Slow_Runner

6335|Slow_Runner|4:10:32|3:55:00|4:22:11|

Absolutely my worst race ever! Was 40-60 sec ahead of target up to Crumlin but that drag to Walkinstown seemed to suck all the air from me. From mile 14 on I knew I was in trouble, just thought get to mile 20 where my OH was waiting. By the time I saw her I just crumbled to the ground gasping for breadth. It felt like my lungs were shrinking with each step. Tried to keep going after that but all plans went out the window. Decided to just enjoy the atmosphere for the last 6 miles (walked most of it) and have to say really enjoyed it, high fiving kids and planning my next attempt and working out where I went wrong (it's a long list:o).

Saw a poor girl around mile 14 or so being held back by a guard trying to get back out onto the course and she was crying - obviously told she couldn't go on by the medic standing beside her, seeing the "carnage" in the following miles it was a good call

The crowds were unbelievable yesterday, Castleknock was something special and the finish straight gave me goosebumps. Not being under any pressure I was able to run over to herself when I spotted here 600m from the line and have a smooch:D.

Huge thanks to everyone involved and roll on next year as I have unfinished business

• Registered Users Posts: 53 ✭✭NameThatTune

Hi Everyone, is there anywhere I can get my mile by mile times? I can only find splits over 10k half, 30k on the dcm website

Not unless you recorded them on your own watch, no.

No. They were the only timing mats.

Dublin needs to update is tracking/timing mats. Most big city marathons have mats every 5k now. It's really not fair on people tracking friends and family. The last on course mat is 30k and then the finish mat. Bloody nerve wracking for people following!

• Registered Users Posts: 22 rockstar_91

Dublin needs to update is tracking/timing mats. Most big city marathons have mats every 5k now. It's really not fair on people tracking friends and family. The last on course mat is 30k and then the finish mat. Bloody nerve wracking for people following!

This was the case for my folks. Had been on target for my time but it was after 30km that I completely fell off. They were very worried that I wasn't appearing when I wasn't appearing at the line anywhere close to what had been estimated.

I've just posted this in Calvin Johnson's log, but thought it might be appropriate in here too. I'd be interested to know if anyone agrees/disagrees with me or has any other opinions on the matter:
    yaboya1 wrote: »
    It's already been said, but it was a tough day out there yesterday. Something I've learned from yesterday, Berlin and last year's Dublin HM is that Irish/English people don't seem to take the conditions on the day into account when devising their race strategy. I'm including myself in that category so please don't take that as a personal criticism.
    In Berlin I wondered why I was struggling at 16 miles having run 18 at the same pace in training (heat/humidity? Probably). In last year's Dublin HM, I saw 5 people being medically attended to (one of those died as we all know :() on my way around. And that was only what was ahead of me. I'd imagine there were many more behind. Another unseasonably warm/humid day where most people tried to run their original target time regardless. Yesterday I passed many, many runners who were walking in the second half. I made up 281 places in the final 13.1 miles, despite running a positive split by almost 6 minutes. Africans, Americans, Continental Europeans and basically everyone else who's not Irish or English seem to take the weather into account. I've seen Gebrselassie interviewed and he'd be talking about having a different race strategy based on a difference of 1 or 2 degrees in the temperature. He's an Ethiopian who was raised not a million miles from the equator at high altitude. So maybe if elites like him see the weather as that much of a factor, people way down the field like us should be taking even more note and adjusting accordingly. We seem to believe: I've trained for this time, I'm running this time, no matter what the conditions. It generally doesn't end well as we've seen from the events I've mentioned and lots of others.
    Anyway, I think that's why you and everyone else struggled so badly. As I was more of a spectator yesterday I can see this now and realise the same thing probably happened me in Berlin. I plan to take the weather conditions much more seriously in future.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,236 ✭✭✭AuldManKing

Whatever about the new route, the longer finishing straight was a very long wall of sound. An amazing experience.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,388 ✭✭✭laura_ac3

I've just posted this in Calvin Johnson's log, but thought it might be appropriate in here too. I'd be interested to know if anyone agrees/disagrees with me or has any other opinions on the matter:

I've still a lot to learn about all this but I think for me I definitely need to take weather into account. Doing the clontarf half in the heat (20 something degrees) last year I scaled back my target time that morning and I was definitely the better for it. Tough but manageable.

Yesterday it was my first marathon so there are lots of other variables but as a I said in my report I think if I had done the same thing earlier yesterday I may have been the better for it. Still would have struggled I'm sure but maybe not as much. Definitely something for me to take away, I'm sure others are different but I don't think the heat agrees with me when running.

Whatever about the new route, the longer finishing straight was a very long wall of sound. An amazing experience.

I heard you enjoyed it so much, you spent an extra five seconds taking it in :D

• Registered Users Posts: 5,236 ✭✭✭AuldManKing

I heard you enjoyed it so much, you spent an extra five seconds taking it in :D

If it wasn't for helping the old lady crossing with her shopping, it would have been grand. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 6,179 ✭✭✭Gavlor

If it wasn't for helping the old lady crossing with her shopping, it would have been grand. :)

Ah here, we agreed not to rip the p!ss out of meno for at least 48 hours.

Calling him an old lady is out of order

• Registered Users Posts: 311 ✭✭DarByrne1980

its only a year or two ago when there was no tracking. i remember waiting with me nerves hanging out waiting for friends to finish DCM then. so its a big improvement even if its not perfected.

True. Things change though. It's a city marathon, not a fun run.

How did you find the 26.2 miles? Did you end up running in the end?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,724 ✭✭✭Dilbert75

echancrure wrote: »
    I might take a little break, and see if I can shift this infection (if I do indeed have one). I was looking at the Waterford Half last night... and Connemara 2015 too. So the morale is OK if a little dented. I need a steady result to get back on track.

This sounds scarily like my experience in Limerick last year - upset tum the week before, not well enough rested, warm day, ending in a triage tent dehydrated after 25.5 miles. After I recovered, and as I skulked off home, I realised that it had taught me some of the best lessons I'd learned in many years, including to train for your target, do your best on the day and accept what comes out of it. Highly appropriate that Frank Sinatra came on the radio singing That's Life, as I drove through Tipperary (have a listen to the words if you want some inspiration!). Sounds like today could have been similar for you - hopefully you'll find some positives in it too.

• Registered Users Posts: 311 ✭✭DarByrne1980

True. Things change though. It's a city marathon, not a fun run.

How did you find the 26.2 miles? Did you end up running in the end?

only ran the first 15 miles or so. wouldnt have had the training in to do anything more. Tough going out there for everyone.

• Registered Users Posts: 612 ✭✭✭Rantan

this hits the nail on head for me and sums up my learning curve. Post mortem continues...but luckily in Berlin on hols with lots of time and great German dunkel beers. Life doesn't seem as bad as bad as it did 48 hrs ago

• Registered Users Posts: 64 ✭✭Blue Steel

Can dehydration cause muscle stiffness to the point where your legs (calves + hamstrings) will very quickly prevent you from running and even walking properly?

I was drinking a couple of sips at every water stations to keep hydrated but not drink too much to avoid being blotted + stop too long + wanting to go pee.

I am trying to understand why my legs started to act against me like that (I was like a crippled old man barely capable of walking at mile 16. Actually not true, older men were passing me at that point, so I was worse)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Ososlo

Blue Steel wrote: »
    Can dehydration cause muscle stiffness to the point where your legs (calves + hamstrings) will very quickly prevent you from running and even walking properly?

I was drinking a couple of sips at every water stations to keep hydrated but not drink too much to avoid being blotted + stop too long + wanting to go pee.

I am trying to understand why my legs started to act against me like that (I was like a crippled old man barely capable of walking at mile 16. Actually not true, older men were passing me at that point, so I was worse)

I'm no expert but when training for my marathon last year I was advised to sip on fluids (diluted lucozade sport and nuun tab) the whole way around. Drip fed it into myself the whole way. I did this on all my lsrs and for the race and never had cramp or stiffness or anything. Just my take on what worked for me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 542 ✭✭✭Netwerk Errer

Blue Steel wrote: »

That's glycogen depletion, a.k.a the wall. If you have no fuel left, your muscles will cease.