Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin City marathon

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,115 ✭✭✭Pacifico

When does registration for next year open?! Is there normally a deal if you sign up to the half marathon at the same time?

• Registered Users Posts: 150 ✭✭CorkRunning

I have links to loads of photo galleries in this post on the Running in Cork site.

I'll add more as I come across them.

• Registered Users Posts: 612 ✭✭✭Rantan

I was with the 3.20 pacers till about m20. Blew up then. I remember during one of my walk phases hearing the crowd shout 'go the 3.30' pacers and thought 'sh#*e im not going to even make 3.30' but it was just the 'rogue' pacer flying home on his own. Even at that stage i thought it weird and would have been pretty peed off if i had been following him just to have him burn me over the last few miles

• Registered Users Posts: 72 ✭✭Bladeserver

Really couldn't have went any worse for myself. Was aiming for sub 4:10 ended up 4:40. I don't want to make any excuses but it was clearly obvious I didn't train properly or hydrate on the week. Calves seized up on mile 12 and had to walk/run it from there. 1:50 for the half and it went downhill badly after that. Onwards and Upwards. I would like to lose more weight and work towards a better program so next time I can do better.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

Pacifico wrote: »
    When does registration for next year open?! Is there normally a deal if you sign up to the half marathon at the same time?

registration opens in about a week
    There's usually a deal when the race series is available, any two races for a fiver off, any three for a tenner off, that kind of thing, but the race series won't be open for booking until the spring some time

• Registered Users Posts: 27 JohnnyDun

Marthastew wrote: »
    Congrats on your run yesterday, we passed A LOT of people after halfway yesterday*
    The Gopro belonged to Redbox media who produce the DCM videos, the short one on Facebook yesterday was a teaser for one that apparently will be aired in December on Setanta. The footage I took will mostly be of people's heads so there's only so much they can use of it. I assumed there was no audio but the guy from the company said they found my commentary "very entertaining" so I'm hoping that part definitely ends up on the cutting room floor!

*favourite quote of the day was from a guy to his running partners beside him

Right so lads, 4.10 it is then........

Interesting to hear that there was audio on that camera.I don't know if you recall but your group passed a guy beside his bike changing his shirt and you said something like " here's a little something for the ladies" I asked if there was going to be anything for the lads and you promised girls from Hooters with wings and beer.It was around then that I decided I was getting there first, you might remember a short fella in an Eagle AC singlet disappearing into the distance.I never did find those girls and paid for my desire to get there first. It will be good to have proof :-)

talking of passing people in the second half, I went through halfway with your group in 7121st place and finished in 5525th and that was after averaging 12 minute miles for the last 3 miles.

My favourite poster was somewhere in Ballsbridge I think, it said "hurry on the Kenyans are drinking all the beer"

• Registered Users Posts: 6,340 ✭✭✭TFBubendorfer

geodesic wrote: »
    All this whining about the pacers, what gives?

Seriously, we're not elite Kenyans pushing for a WR in Berlin. They expect and get professional rabbits who get the pace right on the money. The pacers in the DCM are amateurs doing the runners and race organizers a favour, IIUC.

For recreational runners to have pacers, it's pretty much just a way of switching your brain off for the duration. But if a single minute faster thru' the half is enough to blow your entire race, then I'm sorry just buy yourself a Garmin and pace your own feckin' race.

Actually, the professionals don't always get it right either, I have read plenty of comments from elites that the pacers had run too slow/fast/uneven. Last year's London was such a case and I think I remember Mo not being happy with his this year either.

The standard of pacers in Dublin is actually very high, plenty of races abroad have pacers that find it perfectly acceptable to run within 5 minutes of goal pace; even the Belfast marathon had that.

• Registered Users Posts: 162 ✭✭Ecoenergy

Bib No.| Username | PB | Predicted Time | Actual Time
    2005|yaboya1|2:59:11|2:59:10|3:08:42
    42 |Tunguska|2:38:40|2:38:39|
    2328|jebuz|2:54:46|2:43:00|2:46:59|
    |Netwerk Errer|3:15:29|2:59:59|
    |Paddybarry|N/A|2:55|2.55.28
    5116 |Adrian522|N/A|3:48:00|3:49:23
    |Canine Marathoner|3.09.xx|2:59.59|3:19
    |Fraggle00|4.05.xx|3.45.00|
    |xElDeeX|4:09:xx|3:47:00|3:54:19|
    |Bahanaman|2:57:52 *|2:59:59|3:02:19|
    |dublin runner|2:50:35|2:43:00 <|
    |chavezychavez|3:20:57|3:20:00|3:40:22
    3313|RayCun|2:59:06|2:55|2:56:42
    |AuldManKing||3:40:10|
    |fletch|3:16:26|3:14:59|
    |DogSlySmile|2:59:59|2:49:59|
    |Endurancer123|3:25:59|3:19:59|
    |Mr Freeze|3:50:11|3:38:00|
    |Plodman|3:17:22|2:49:59|
    |dcorcaigh|4:19:40|3:49:49|
    |Pacing Mule| 5:36:53|4:19:00|
    |Martyoo| |3:55:00|
    |geodesic|3:44:17|3:59:59|3:56:58
    |Killian Byrne|4:30:26|4:29:59|
    |Toblerone1978|3:05:23|2:59:59|2:59:11
    |snailsong|3:12:32|3:09:30|3:27:28
    |Tyrone_03|3:52:18|3:44:59|
    5394|skeleton_boy|3:28:02|2:54:59|
    |overthebridge|4:23:xx|4:19:59|
    5989|davedanon|3:17:15|3:14:59|3:45:09
    |rockstar_91|N/A|4:19:59|
    |Crisco10|n/a|3:25:00|3.24.49
    |Bladeserver|4:26:01|4:10:00|
    |run_Forrest_run|3:03:31|2:59:59|3:03:31|
    5376|JohnDozer|4:09:05|3:44:59|4:07:35|
    |Cabaal|3:33:33|3:19:59|
    |Basster|3:35:09|3:08:00|3:18:07
    918|MacSwifty|3:29:16|3:35:00|3:36:30
    |bugsy2000|3:26:26|3:17:59|
    2243|Downtime|4:00:58|3:57:00|
    |Figlen|4:22:00|3:39:59|
    |Sideswipe|3:15:33|3:09:59|
    3483|neilc|3:10:28|3:10:00<|3:14:25
    |Running Fool|3:35:07|3:29:59|
    |PaulieC|3:28:31|3:09:59|
    |TakeaBowSon|3:25:04|3:19:59|
    |JohnnyDun|4:01:10|3:58:00|4:07:30|
    |PeterParker100|3:49:11|3:45:00|
    6335|Slow_Runner|4:10:32|3:55:00|4:22:11|
    9833|Saucyjack|4:33:34|4:15:00|4:08:26
    |Tigerandahalf|N/A|3:19:59|3.18:20|
    1523|echancrure|3:14:15|2:59:59|DNF
    |Narco0o0o0o|N/A|2:45 <|2.48.03
    |amcgee|3:26|3:35|
    |Jay D|N/A|3:57:26|4:31:51|
    |kingQuez|2:58|3:10:00 <| 2:55
    |alsoran|4:52:xx|4:19:59|
    |Tetney|3:43:31|3:29:59 <|
    |wobblemouth|3:01:16|2:59:59 <|
    |jahaco|3:11:49|3:09:59 <|3:15:49
    |shoottherunner|3:10:56|3:11:00 <|
    |clickhere |N/A |4:29:59 <|
    |bonaparte2|2.59.17|2:59:00 <|DNF|
    |MaggotBrain|N/A|4:10:00|
    |ciaranmac|N/A|4:59:59|
    |Calvin Johnson|3:34:48|3:14:59|
    |Badda Bing|4:31:30|4:10:00|
    |Trampas|3:28:57|3:19:59|
    |Ecoenergy|3:40:28|3:29:59|3:29:24|
    |Nem_e|3:57:43|3:29:59|
    |JoeyRamone|3:39:50|3:09:50|
    |hawkwing|3:58:30|4:09:59|
    |Tipp man running|3:19:38|3:09:55
    263|menoscemo (pacer)|3:04:58|3:39:40|
    1792|James Howlett|3:51:10|3:29:59|3:36:06

Got the sub 3.30 target by the skin of my teeth. Felt at mile 13 that I was working way too hard and thought there was an almighty wall waiting for me somewhere. Managed to dig deep and keep it going and I'm still not sure how. First time not cramping and avoided the first aid tent for the first time also, so a good day. Now to start planning the next one...

• Registered Users Posts: 6,618 ✭✭✭Mr Freeze

Bib No.| Username | PB | Predicted Time | Actual Time
    2005|yaboya1|2:59:11|2:59:10|3:08:42
    |Paddybarry|N/A|2:55|2.55.28
    5116 |Adrian522|N/A|3:48:00|3:49:23
    |Canine Marathoner|3.09.xx|2:59.59|3:19
    |chavezychavez|3:20:57|3:20:00|3:40:22
    3313|RayCun|2:59:06|2:55|2:56:42
    |Mr Freeze|3:50:11|3:38:00|3:49:33|
    |geodesic|3:44:17|3:59:59|3:56:58
    |Toblerone1978|3:05:23|2:59:59|2:59:11
    |snailsong|3:12:32|3:09:30|3:27:28
    5989|davedanon|3:17:15|3:14:59|3:45:09
    |Crisco10|n/a|3:25:00|3.24.49
    |Basster|3:35:09|3:08:00|3:18:07
    918|MacSwifty|3:29:16|3:35:00|3:36:30
    3483|neilc|3:10:28|3:10:00<|3:14:25
    9833|Saucyjack|4:33:34|4:15:00|4:08:26
    1523|echancrure|3:14:15|2:59:59|DNF
    |Narco0o0o0o|N/A|2:45 <|2.48.03
    |kingQuez|2:58|3:10:00 <| 2:55
    |jahaco|3:11:49|3:09:59 <|3:15:49
    1792|James Howlett|3:51:10|3:29:59|3:36:06

I had hoped for sub 3:40, but I only managed 3:49:33. I honestly think I was lucky to finish.

I thought it was just me having a really bad day, I didn't realise that (nearly) everyone was suffering as much, I thought all the people collapsing and being hauled off limp was normal for a big city marathon.

It wasn't till I finished and met people I knew that I realised most peoples times were down, and a good few people I know got DNFs.

I wouldn't be in a rush back to do that course again (not right now anyways).

The support was amazing, I'm only sorry that I didn't really have the energy to thank people who gave me sweets or words of encouragement, I was like a zombie just staring straight ahead looking for the next water stop to pour it over myself.

Thanks to the 3:40 pacers, looks like ye paced it bang on, I hung on till 30km, but the heat took its toll on me then and I slowed to almost a crawl.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

I think the 3 hour group was a little fast in the early stages, I'd have said it was a day and a course for negative or even splits. But that is holding them to an extremely high standard. From the reports on here of races abroad, a lot of pacers are doing well to be within a couple of minutes of an even split. We've been lucky in Dublin to have some excellent pacing.
    But anyway, everyone has to take control of their own race, pacers can only be a guide. If you think they're going too fast you drop off, if they're going to slow you speed up. The pacers do the best they can, but if you don't hit your goal time its on you.

• Registered Users Posts: 261 ✭✭caycro

A friend of mine ran the marathon .... his fifth this year. He was staying out in Howth and there was no public transport to get him into town in time for the start. He had to get a taxi in. He was shocked, he said in London not only was there fabulous public transport for the race but by flashing his race id he was free on all public transport.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,517 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

caycro wrote: »
    A friend of mine ran the marathon .... his fifth this year. He was staying out in Howth and there was no public transport to get him into town in time for the start. He had to get a taxi in. He was shocked, he said in London not only was there fabulous public transport for the race but by flashing his race id he was free on all public transport.
    Perhaps staying in Howth was a judgement error? I ran Frankfurt marathon at the weekend and made damn sure I stayed somewhere close to the start/finish and knew how to get to the race months before the race took place. No doubt the public transportation infrastructure on the day isn't great, but simple planning does allow you to avoid this.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,398 ✭✭✭fletch

Hope nobody minds but I just added a new column to show if people were behind or ahead of their target. I added colour to give a quick idea of the general trend
    When people are adding their time, if they were behind target add [HTML][/HTML]
    If you were ahead of target add
    [HTML][/HTML]

Hope its not too complicated for people
    Bib No.| Username | PB | Predicted Time | Actual Time | Behind/Ahead Target
    2005|yaboya1|2:59:11|2:59:10|3:08:42|
    |Paddybarry|N/A|2:55|2.55.28|
    5116 |Adrian522|N/A|3:48:00|3:49:23|
    |Canine Marathoner|3.09.xx|2:59.59|3:19|
    |chavezychavez|3:20:57|3:20:00|3:40:22|
    3313|RayCun|2:59:06|2:55|2:56:42|
    |geodesic|3:44:17|3:59:59|3:56:58|
    |Toblerone1978|3:05:23|2:59:59|2:59:11|
    |snailsong|3:12:32|3:09:30|3:27:28|
    5989|davedanon|3:17:15|3:14:59|3:45:09|
    |Crisco10|n/a|3:25:00|3.24.49|
    |Basster|3:35:09|3:08:00|3:18:07|
    918|MacSwifty|3:29:16|3:35:00|3:36:30|
    3483|neilc|3:10:28|3:10:00<|3:14:25|
    9833|Saucyjack|4:33:34|4:15:00|4:08:26|
    1523|echancrure|3:14:15|2:59:59|DNF|
    |Narco0o0o0o|N/A|2:45 <|2.48.03|
    |kingQuez|2:58|3:10:00 <| 2:55|
    |jahaco|3:11:49|3:09:59 <|3:15:49|
    1792|James Howlett|3:51:10|3:29:59|3:36:06|

• Registered Users Posts: 89 ✭✭Dukie

What a difference a month makes!!

I followed the P&D 55 mile plan for Berlin 4 weeks ago & was aiming for a 3:15 marathon but crashed & burned in the second half struggling home for 3:29. After regrouping I signed up for Dublin at the last moment & decided to go up & enjoy it.

Was way more relaxed over the weekend than I was in Berlin & decided to start with the 3:20's & see what happened. As it turned out I had to take a toilet break within the first 2 miles so ended up way back from the 3:30 pacers. So when I got going again I said I'd gradually make way way back through the field & not to panic. Got back to the 3:20's bang on the half way point for a 1:39:54 halfway split.

Picked up the pace from halfway to the 30k by 10 seconds per mile & felt great until the 24 mile mark when I got a bit dizzy so stopped for a second, shook out the arms & legs & got going again. Pace for the last 2 miles dropped to around 8 mins per mile. I had to stop again for a second around 25 & the 3:20 pacers caught me and bullied me up the final straight to get me home in 3:19:26!! Huge thanks to the 2 lads.

Missed out on a PB by 60 seconds but absolutely delighted with the time & looking forward to next year already!

• Registered Users Posts: 32 DixNeuf

Thanks for that Fletch, I was looking at the number of people on that table that were down on the predictions all right. Is that usual? As in, is it a case of the perfectly understandable slight over-optimism we can all slip into ahead of a race? Or do you guys reckon it's a reflection of a particularly gruelling day out?

I was pretty happy myself overall but did lose a good 30 seconds/k from about 20 miles on. Felt I had fuelled reasonably well, was doing relays with water bottles from station to station. Most of what I've read so far people seem to feel that it was a tougher than expected slog.

I think having to duck off course for a pit stop halfway through the second section in the park followed by lifting the pace slightly to get back with the chap I was running with afterwards didn't do me any favours either....

• Registered Users Posts: 155 ✭✭dcorcaigh

|dcorcaigh|4:19:40|3:49:49|3:47:34|

I really hope I haven't fecked up the table...
    anyway I am delighted with my time considering the carnage that was on the course. Its over a 30min PB for me. Low points for me were from mile 19 to 22 but I somehow got a second lease of life for the last few miles. support was unreal especially in Castelknock, new route was worth it alone just for that support.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,081 ✭✭✭BeepBeep67

Robert W 3:30 3:27:41
    Beepbeep67 3:30 3:39:19
    Caprica 3:30 3:28:59

Was hoping to go with 3.30 pacers. Two of the pacers were well ahead of the last pacer. I thought they were fast;but thought 2 out for 3 have to be correct. Managed to catch the 2nd guy and asked why were they so far ahead of last pacer. His reply was they were bagging time. It's only now I think WTF bagging 2 mins at mile 17. I blew up at mile 21 so finished 2.5 mins over 3.30. Managed to stay with last pacer for a bit but all of a sudden he disappeared. Maybe I'm looking for excuses but think if they paced correctly I'd have a better chance. Always next time "without pacers" I think.
    Other than that a good day out :-)

I can't comment for the other 2 pacers, but my plan was to run pretty close to the 3:29:30 target time, with a small margin in the bag before Milltown so I could give back a little each mile as we climbed to the top of Roebuck.
    Anyone who I had with on route were told this and from about 10 miles I was giving out feedback on how we were doing as there were quite a few discussions about the other pacers being up the road.
    For the record I went through 30k in 2:28:44 vs a 3:29:30 target of 2:29:00.
    Unfortunately for me from the top Fosters my right quad began to seize, but I kept average pace going, but it completely locked on Nutley, so I had no option but to stop and stretch.
    At that stage anyone following me was 30 seconds inside 3:30 pace and assuming they started in and around me would have had in in their own hands to bring it home with just over 2.5 miles to go.

Anyway, overall it was an enjoyable day, I liked the course, it feels like the on course support and noise from the crowds is growing every year - here's to next year.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,357 ✭✭✭RubyK

Mondays marathon was the hardest I've ever done (6 in total), stuff of nightmares with people just dropping to the ground. I felt really rough from mile 16 and was just grateful to be still moving, and not in a heap on the footpath like so many others. I'm not particularly religious, but I actually spent the last 6 miles saying prayers over and over in my head. Thank you Grannies for getting me to the finish :eek:

The crowds were just incredible, yet again Dublin shows how fantastic it is when it comes to getting out there and giving support, .

Well done to all.

• Registered Users Posts: 3 shaneor15

I want to thank the 3 hour pacers for a great job. I was targeting sub 3, having done 3:01 last year. Went through half way at 1:28:55 with the pacers which I figured to be spot on. I has trained hard and was feeling good so kicked on at mile 23 and finished in 1:57:44. I waited for the 3 hour pacers to finish and shook all their hands.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,618 ✭✭✭Mr Freeze

Is any there any pic's or video from the race yet?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,742 ✭✭✭ultraman1

Mr Freeze wrote: »
    Is any there any pic's or video from the race yet?
    Loadzs.....Flickr,,action photography on fb....

• Registered Users Posts: 162 ✭✭Ecoenergy

BeepBeep67 wrote: »
    I can't comment for the other 2 pacers, but my plan was to run pretty close to the 3:29:30 target time, with a small margin in the bag before Milltown so I could give back a little each mile as we climbed to the top of Roebuck.
    Anyone who I had with on route were told this and from about 10 miles I was giving out feedback on how we were doing as there were quite a few discussions about the other pacers being up the road.
    Unfortunately for me from the top Fosters my right quad began to seize, but I kept average pace going, but it completely locked on Nutley, so I had no option but to stop and stretch.
    At that stage anyone following me was 30 seconds inside 3:30 pace and assuming they started in and around me would have had in in their own hands to bring it home with just over 2.5 miles to go.

Anyway, overall it was an enjoyable day, I liked the course, it feels like the on course support and noise from the crowds is growing every year - here's to next year.

Having lost the second pacer I stopped for a leak somewhere around mile 21 or 22. I had just about given up on the 3.30 but when I came out of the portaloo (the sight of which will haunt me for my remaining days) you were just going past so I dug deep and decided to try to stick with you. I was slightly ahead of you coming into nutley lane so I wasn't sure what happened to you but I finished in 3.29.24. If I hadn't seen you when I did I might not have done it because it was a bad point of my race, so I think you did a great job pacing. Cheers. ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 144 ✭✭Tyrone_03

|Tyrone_03|3:52:18|3:44:59|3:40:52|

• Registered Users Posts: 7,398 ✭✭✭fletch

|fletch|3:16:26|3:14:59|3:21:34|

• Registered Users Posts: 155 ✭✭dcorcaigh

|dcorcaigh|4:19:40|3:49:49|3:47:34|

please reply to last table...Time added again!

• Registered Users Posts: 193 ✭✭FOXFISH1

4409|FOXFISH1|3:56:58|3:39:59|4:07:57|

Stuck with the 3:30 pacers until mile 16, then pretty much out of the blue my head and legs just seemed to go.... i probably went off too fast but i was confident that i could hold 8min pace for 20-22 mile but it just seemed to be such an energy-sapping day.
    Much respect for the pacers you do a fantastic job!

• Registered Users Posts: 796 ✭✭✭Johnnio13

hats off to all runners/finishers. in my humble opinion an amazing feat and one that I intend to complete next year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,225 ✭✭✭DogSlySmile

|DogSlySmile|2:59:59|2:49:59|DNF|
    4409|FOXFISH1|3:56:58|3:39:59|4:07:57|

Would be great to get this table completely filled out to see the final result. Looks like a lot more red arrows than green arrows anyway. Though dont think it really reflects fairly on people who ran big PBs (e.g., jebuz, Narco etc) but they didnt hit their target times.

Well done to all anyway.

• Registered Users Posts: 69 ✭✭Rebelrunner

BeepBeep67 wrote: »

Pacers have a tough job. I never actually spoke to you about the other two pacers speed to clarify things. I'm just sorry that I tried to follow them and not you from the start. Sorry to hear about your quad, as that can happen. Overall I'm pleased. Thanks for replying.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭Jay D

Slightly o/t but I was amazed I didn't need to stop for a leak for this! In fact, I went for one beer after and waited until I got home and everything before having to go. Beer in town, home 20 minutes away...

I hadn't trained very well for that because even on a 15k run or less I'd stop off at a tree or something...

Is that normal? I drank a fair bit throughout!