Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What is passage west like?

• 25-05-2014 1:21am
    Registered Users Posts: 142 ✭✭

Hey guys, i am moving to passage in the next week or so for work.

Any advice on the town? Places to avoid, friendly pubs, any shops etc...

I have heard that the town is boring, has no shops and is full of scumbags and RA-heads, but I doubt that is true, sure the same can be said about any Irish town
    Also, I am hoping to cycle to work in Ringaskiddy, is this realistic?

Thanks in advance!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,758 ✭✭✭Temaz

There is a Eurospar as you enter the town which is handy for shopping. Some of the new estates are very nice. If you are into sports there are clubs. The Line walk to Hop Island is just beautiful to run or walk on a sunny day.

There are some very good doctors there if you ever need one.

The pharmacy is a modern and well run one. Taxi base available also. Mens barber shop, Post Office, ladies beauty salon. The Shamrock shop is in the main town as is an O Donovans off licence.

The cons
    What you heard about RA heads is very true. A few people charged with IRA membership live in the town and it doesn't really bother anyone, it's no big secret. Some of the money from the Northern bank robbery was found in Passage West as well.

There is a certain pub which is a Celtic supporters club so I'll say no more on that.

The town is very clannish and for a stranger going into a pub you might get some some weird looks. There are a lot of drug users in the town so people would be wary of anyone new in case they are drug squad.

There's a lot of drunks and addicts in the town ranging from all ages.

I'm an ex user and drank in every pub in the town so I know what I'm talking about but once you get to know the people they are pretty sound.

I moved away for work and I'll just say that all in all it's not a bad town.

• Registered Users Posts: 553 ✭✭✭upstairs for coffee

It is an absolute tip and I hate the place. Hate dribing through there. Hate it.

Best of luck though, hope you find it better.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,657 Mod ✭✭✭✭Faith

Monkstown would be a nice alternative if you're not committed to passage yet.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,651 ✭✭✭Milly33

It is a bit clannish down there, people are friendly I will say that but then I would know a few of them. It isn't the most exciting place to live especially if you are single female, male you might have a better chance at getting to know the locals in the pub..

I would say the same as above Monkstown would be a better bet, or even somewhere in shanbally if you wanted to be closer to ringaskiddy. Shanbally is on the bus route and has a nice shop and pub and church so tis passage without the griev.

You can cycle from passage to ringskiddy aswell tis do-able

Faith wrote: »
    Monkstown would be a nice alternative if you're not committed to passage yet.

They are a bit full of their self importance down there though.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭Herb Powell

ClimberC wrote: »
    Hey guys, i am moving to passage in the next week or so for work.

Any advice on the town? Places to avoid, friendly pubs, any shops etc...

I have heard that the town is boring, has no shops and is full of scumbags and RA-heads, but I doubt that is true, sure the same can be said about any Irish town
    Also, I am hoping to cycle to work in Ringaskiddy, is this realistic?

Thanks in advance!

It kind of is, though

• Registered Users Posts: 3,055 ✭✭✭Red Nissan

Milly33 wrote: »
    It is a bit clannish down there, people are friendly I will say that but then I would know a few of them.

Sums up my experience of them too.

As a stranger you'll feel you're in a movie set. Once accepted by one, you'll be instantly accepted by all.

At it's shortest it's a 9km trip cuttin up from Raffeen to SHanbally where one has a good hill.

All this area has massive hills, much of Passage West in very high but the coastal road is relatively flat and of varying interest to cyclists.

Some of it quite narrow and under a 50km/k speed limit and the some motorway size with good hard shoulders.

Navigating the traffic is something I'm not familiar with.

The place gets a bit of stick but being sandwiched in between more "upmarket" areas like Rochestown and Monkstown hasn't helped it but my OP is basically how it is.

I grew up there had some good and bad times but turned out OK.

On the subject of Monkstown I witnessed a guy from Passage getting his head kicked and stamped on outside a pub there and being called a "Passage knacker" a few of us in the taxi jumped out and stopped it but we were told to "**** off back to Passage ye knackers"

Great bunch of lads those locals.

It turned out the guy getting his head kicked in had not left one of them use his phone.

Kicking and stamping on a guys head is scummery of the highest. Don't let the nice view and upmarket accent on some of the Monkstown locals fool you into thinking it's a better place to live.

• Registered Users Posts: 142 ✭✭ClimberC

Thanks everyone for the replies, I am viewing a house in carraigaline, so hopefully i will get that, i am a bit freaked out about living in passage because i look 17 but am in my 20's and have a wicklow accent and have been started on a few times in cork for being from dublin ( :rolleyes: ). So hopefully carraigaline works out!

• Registered Users Posts: 18,121 ✭✭✭✭rob316

ClimberC wrote: »
    Thanks everyone for the replies, I am viewing a house in carraigaline, so hopefully i will get that, i am a bit freaked out about living in passage because i look 17 but am in my 20's and have a wicklow accent and have been started on a few times in cork for being from dublin ( :rolleyes: ). So hopefully carraigaline works out!

Carrigaline is a nice spot I would recommend. Passage is a tip and full of ra heads, believe me I know better than most.

• Registered Users Posts: 142 ✭✭ClimberC

rob316 wrote: »
    Carrigaline is a nice spot I would recommend. Passage is a tip and full of ra heads, believe me I know better than most.
    Its more of a take what i can get situation at this stage!

rob316 wrote: »

Lot of scummers around Carrigaline as well. It's a part of life suck it up and get on with things. Passage ain't all bad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,376 ✭✭✭54kroc

Temaz wrote: »
    There is a Eurospar as you enter the town which is handy for shopping. Some of the new estates are very nice. If you are into sports there are clubs. The Line walk to Hop Island is just beautiful to run or walk on a sunny day.

There are some very good doctors there if you ever need one.

The pharmacy is a modern and well run one. Taxi base available also. Mens barber shop, Post Office, ladies beauty salon. The Shamrock shop is in the main town as is an O Donovans off licence.

The cons
    What you heard about RA heads is very true. A few people charged with IRA membership live in the town and it doesn't really bother anyone, it's no big secret. Some of the money from the Northern bank robbery was found in Passage West as well.

There is a certain pub which is a Celtic supporters club so I'll say no more on that.

The town is very clannish and for a stranger going into a pub you might get some some weird looks. There are a lot of drug users in the town so people would be wary of anyone new in case they are drug squad.

There's a lot of drunks and addicts in the town ranging from all ages.

I'm an ex user and drank in every pub in the town so I know what I'm talking about but once you get to know the people they are pretty sound.

I moved away for work and I'll just say that all in all it's not a bad town.

Great post, sums up passage perfectly.
    As well as Monkstown there is Glenbrook which is a nice spot too.
    The cycle to work would be handy out as well.

• Registered Users Posts: 195 ✭✭Pitcairn

Every time someone asks for a comment on a town in Cork, you always get people telling you how much they hate it. It's hard to get an honest view.
    I'm from Passage and it's a great town full of wonderful people, but that's my opinion. As you said yourself you can say negative things about any town.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,431 ✭✭✭run_Forrest_run

Some people need to cop on here, Monkstown is clannish too, they will only talk to you if you have a boat but make sure it's not bigger than theirs, they wouldn't like that.

And those mentioning Glenbrook, get real ye snobs, it's all Passage by any other name.

Listen Passage is fine with some lovely walks and a decent community spirit if you want that. Plenty of local businesses always willing to help. Ok, the pubs are clannish but what pub in any small Irish town isn't?

Some people need to cop on here, Monkstown is clannish too, they will only talk to you if you have a boat but

MAKE SURE YOU'VE put petrol or diesel in it so the Crosshaven inshore lifeboat does not have to tow you ashore.

Pitcairn wrote: »
    Every time someone asks for a comment on a town in Cork, you always get people telling you how much they hate it. It's hard to get an honest view.
    I'm from Passage and it's a great town full of wonderful people, but that's my opinion. As you said yourself you can say negative things about any town.

You might like to review your username, you would not like it disparaging your home town.

If you need help PM me.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,673 ✭✭✭bladebrew

I think the main thing is Passage is perhaps not a good option for people just moving to Cork, Carrigaline would be a better option, I am assuming the OP does not drive so anywhere further away from Ringaskiddy is not an option?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,985 ✭✭✭mikeym

Not all of Passage West is bad.

Theres scum everywere not just Passage West.

Douglas is a great spot for shops and pubs and has a cinema.

• Registered Users Posts: 374 ✭✭ROY RACE

Awful kip

• Registered Users Posts: 6,165 ✭✭✭beer enigma

Always amazed how quick some people are to be negative.

For those of you that have lived & worked in the town then fully respect your views, but I'm sure a lot of the comments here are from people who've rarely if ever set foot there.

For my 2cents, I'm English and worked there for a good few months socialising in a couple of the pubs on the main road and had no issues whatsoever. On the whole found the locals very welcoming. Yes it has its down side, but so do most towns to some degree.

You'd think Passage was nothing but drug headed IRA members with pubs that are part of some secret society judging by some of the posts.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,819 ✭✭✭liam7831

• Registered Users Posts: 1,160 ✭✭✭Eurovisionmad

What's Passage West like? In short: bleak.

• Registered Users Posts: 469 ✭✭Janedoe10

The locals in this pub would say otherwise

http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=s5ZzfrH7KhU

• Registered Users Posts: 10 acfunduro

I've lived here since 2001. It's a great spot for families. Safe, quiet with lots to do very close by. For social life, it doesnt' look great. Douglas or Carrigaline, the latter a better be for cycling to Ringaskiddy.

When I moved here there were a lot more pubs than there are now. Pubs aren't really a barometer for a town given the dying nature of them and those that frequent them on a regular basis.

• Registered Users Posts: 682 ✭✭✭Xantia

I know a few people across different ages from Passage and its fine. To me its a bit like Cobh except you have a different road in and out unlike Cobh.
    Unfortunately most small towns get a name over a few individuals.
    Great fishing there from the quay walls if you can cast out far enough.