Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

supermarket checkout procedure

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 837 ✭✭✭Going Strong

At the weekend I had one of those cnuts who wait till all of their goods are scanned before they remember "just one other thing" then disappear for 10 minutes to get it while holding up everyone else in the queue. Ignorant bint! :mad:

Mine was a woman who waited until all her stuff was scanned through and, before paying, stood there with everything at the bottom of the chute, took out her mobile and made a call. :eek:

The rest of us stood there glaring at her as she told whoever it was that she'd got the messages and would see them shortly.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 277 ✭✭BBJBIG

Obviously a Scummer.
    Was she wearin a shell suit and knacker shoes ?
    Maybe she needs a good Slap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,050 ✭✭✭gazzer

Heresy. Outside the Pale we have to contend with Nora out on pension day chatting to Mary the Kiosk attendant while repeatedly going back for more lotto lines while breaking the ten item rule.

Ahhh you must shop in the Dunnes in Cavan too :) I had to stop shopping in there to safe my sanuty and blood pressure. Rudest staff and customers I have ever come across.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,957 ✭✭✭miss no stars

That happened to me once, I ran out of space for the rest of my half full trolley as the woman behind me had put all her stuff on the belt. I said it too her but she just ignored me. So when all my stuff was gone from the belt I then proceeded to hand the girl on the till the remainder of the contents in my trolley, one by one. Once I handed everything over I them went to the end and started packing my stuff up, before paying. They were the best packed bags ever. I would say it took me at least 10 minutes to walk away and by this time she was ready to explode. The girl on the till gave me a wink as she handed me the change as she knew full well what I was doing and why. I know this was probably just as ignorant as the belt hogger but i could not help myself!

I was doing the weekly shop with my mum a few weeks ago and the checkout operator decided she didn't like the look of us and suddenly slowed down. We hadn't done a thing wrong, she just decided to be a pain in the hole. Ya know when you pick which till by how many are ahead? Well, we could have been 2 people later on any other till and been out before we got served she was on such a go-slow. Then when she was done with the person ahead, she went off the till and someone else (friendly) took over. My mum was saying to me during the delay that she was doing it on purpose. I actually didn't believe her til I saw the look the woman shot us as she left the till - except she clearly didn't mean for me to see it cos she looked away sharpish when she saw that I'd seen her. Fair enough, our groceries flew through and got them packed nice and quickly. Mum was paying so I moved off with the trolly towards the exit and right as I got to a bit of a bottle neck I realised the first woman from the checkout was right behind. Trolly got VERY difficult to push and the floor was VERY slippy so it kept going from side to side. She was doing her NUT behind me trying to get past. Every time she'd try to squeeze through one side the trolly would lurch out of control in that direction. Mum was following behind in stitches laughing. Karma's a biatch! And the lesson there is, don't be nasty for no reason. Everyone has a nicer day if we're all nice to each other.
    Everybody. Do what I do. I always stand at the back of the belt whilst unpacking. Hence, belt hogging has never happened to me.

From now on through I will be eyeing up fellow shoppers with suspicion and I'll know what to do in the unfortunate event of being belt hogged.

I don't understand what that isn't normal practice. That's what I've always done :confused:

Saw a guy in Aldi a while back start putting his stuff on before the 2 guys ahead of him were done putting theirs on. They started a screaming match in the shop over it :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 837 ✭✭✭Going Strong

BBJBIG wrote: »
    Obviously a Scummer.
    Was she wearin a shell suit and knacker shoes ?
    Maybe she needs a good Slap.

Nope. Well-dressed "Ladies who lunch" type with posh accent to match.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭Tarzana

leck wrote: »
    Do posters do it to annoy or think they are funny or are they just simple?

I often find that, rather bizarrely, it's often used in a smug, trump card kind of way.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 277 ✭✭BBJBIG

Nope. Well-dressed "Ladies who lunch" type with posh accent to match.

I hear ya ....

I guess an aul Yoke with a profound sense of Entitlement.
    She needs to be toult to go to hell in such a way that she looks
    forward to the trip.

The fooookin Aul Bat ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,909 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Happened to me twice, first time this ould fella behind me started pushing my shopping up the belt, I let it go because some old people are just pig ignorant and think their age lets them away with behaviour like this but they won't change the habit of a lifetime so not worth bothering about.

Second time was in SV when this woman let the cashier put all her shopping through and she packed it up and put it in the trolley, cashier asks for the loyalty card and she hands it to her.

Cashier politely tells her the loyalty card is out of date, then out of nowhere a major bitch fit from yer wan and turns around to me and the woman behind me and tells us to fook off to another till because she wants to see a manager.

We moved off as the poor till operater was getting it on both barrells.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 731 ✭✭✭Butterface

I'd say Aldi and Lidl sees a lot of that behaviour, the conveyor belts are much longer and the packing areas much smaller!

I nearly always go to the self-scanner in Sainsburys. When I'm in a queue I suddenly feel under extreme pressure to have bagged all my groceries in the time I hand the money/card over and receive the change and receipt. They start to scan immediately after you finish so you're left standing there like a fool while the next person looks on angrily at you because you're now in their way.... it's an endless feckin cycle of misery!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55 ✭✭wadefuq

Butterface wrote: »
    I'd say Aldi and Lidl sees a lot of that behaviour, the conveyor belts are much longer and the packing areas much smaller! QUOTE]

The packing area in ALDI/LIDL is actually quite large.. its about 10 feet behind the checkout... just sayin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,347 ✭✭✭LynnGrace

eisenberg1 wrote: »
    When I go shopping, I bring handcuffs with me, I attach one end to my wrist and leave the other cuff (With some ketchup on it) dangling free, and I never get bothered by anyone....................

I think I've seen you in my local supermarket alright ;).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

Another thing I've noticed lately is the growing trend for buying a roll of plastic carrier bags at the till to pack shopping in. Fine in itself, not fine is waiting until every item of shopping has built up at the end of the till before bothering to pack a single thing.

There was one of our traveller mammies at this recently with a gang of kids running around the supermarket tilting a pram backwards on to the floor blocking the aisle, while she held the mobile between her shoulder and ear, packing as slowly as possible. I was furious and I wasn't even at that till.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

There was one of our traveller mammies at this recently with a gang of kids running around the supermarket tilting a pram backwards on to the floor blocking the aisle, while she held the mobile between her shoulder and ear, packing as slowly as possible. I was furious and I wasn't even at that till.

you used the T word, now everyone's going to call you racist. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

you used the T word, now everyone's going to call you racist. :rolleyes:
    I think of myself as discerning rather than racist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,725 ✭✭✭✭blueser

At the weekend I had one of those cnuts who wait till all of their goods are scanned before they remember "just one other thing" then disappear for 10 minutes to get it while holding up everyone else in the queue. Ignorant bint! :mad:
    As Albert so brilliantly put it back in the good old days; ''there's wimmin for ya''!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,922 ✭✭✭dashcamdanny

Another thing I've noticed lately is the growing trend for buying a roll of plastic carrier bags at the till to pack shopping in. Fine in itself, not fine is waiting until every item of shopping has built up at the end of the till before bothering to pack a single thing.

Strange. They usually don't bother with tills.