Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

UK man faces jail for "accidentally" slapping Ryanair stewardess on bottom

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,481 ✭✭✭Barely There

Have Ryanair contributed to the sexualisation of their flight attendents by publishing scantily-clad pictures of them?

It's possible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,676 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Santa Cruz wrote: »
    Well his one eyed snake is going to be introduced to Bubba in his cell one of these nights.

More double standards, hinting that he will be sexually assaulted in prison and you get 2 thanks for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,089 ✭✭✭✭P. Breathnach

Have Ryanair contributed to the sexualisation of their flight attendents by publishing scantily-clad pictures of them?

It's possible.
    I'd go so far as to say that it's probable.

But that still does not give me a right to lay a hand on any of them, or any justification for doing so - not even one who has posed for scantily-clad pictures; not even one who has performed in porn films.

I'd go so far as to say that it's probable.

But that still does not give me a right to lay a hand on any of them, or any justification for doing so - not even one who has posed for scantily-clad pictures; not even one who has performed in porn films.

Link please!

Do your own research: Google can get you there.

• Registered Users Posts: 48 Technophobia

Did you actually read my post? The part about Ryanair allowing drunken passengers to fly? I did not say that it was her fault. A drunk guy would slap the arse of any woman, regardless of attractive she might or might not be. Don't be in such a hurry to start throwing around accusations of the blame the victim sh*t.

Yes I read your post. I can read.

This is what you said..

*Ryanair hires attractive stewardesses and allows pisse* up passengers on board. What do they think is going to happen? *

So if someone is good looking and comes into contact with someone is drunk, its only inevitable?

Why doesnt the guy take responsibility for being langerated and sleazy?
    Why is it RA fault for hiring an attractive woman? Why does it matter that she is attractive. What do her looks matter when she is being assaulted?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,652 ✭✭✭I am pie

Ahh he's drunk, he couldn't help it probably doesn't wash in a court of law.

Nor does "lookit, they put a good looking woman on this plane full a drunken frustrated wnkers"

Cop out, take some responsibility. You got drunk. You acted the maggot. Deal with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,985 ✭✭✭mikeym

The man should get a fine not jail.

Obviously men like him have no respect for women.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 226 ✭✭oak5548

Christ, people think he should be punished for just being a drunken idiot.
    The only thing this deserves in a warning. Not even a new article should have been written.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 226 ✭✭oak5548

bluewolf wrote: »
    Well it shouldn't be

why not? I couldnt give a crap if a girl did this to me. Infact its been done many times. Are you suggesting we all just start becoming offended by a complete non issue all of a sudden?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,192 ✭✭✭Sound of Silence

The responses by some men here have really surprised me. this has nothing to do with a woman indecently slapping a guy. the incident in question is a man slapped a woman, focus on the issue in hand and if the table was turned, the same legal action should be taken as well. But anytime now a woman is involved in one of these cases, the male brigade come out in full force saying "if a woman did this...." well in this case she didnt.

Well, it offers a little perspective here - especially on an issue which provokes such strong reactions.

And I'm sure everyone here (including the men) are in a agreement that the guy was an absolute tool and deserves to be reprimanded. But jail time and the likelihood that he will lose his job? Is that really justice or are we being carried away by hysteria?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

Yes I read your post. I can read.

This is what you said..

*Ryanair hires attractive stewardesses and allows pisse* up passengers on board. What do they think is going to happen? *

So if someone is good looking and comes into contact with someone is drunk, its only inevitable?

Why doesnt the guy take responsibility for being langerated and sleazy?
    Why is it RA fault for hiring an attractive woman? Why does it matter that she is attractive. What do her looks matter when she is being assaulted?
    I think you need to get a grip. A slap on the arse is not assault. Good looking women and pisse* up men are a recipe for that kind of thing, always has been always will be,regardless of the location. The issue is more a case of Ryanair allowing drunken passengers to fly. By doing so they are creating an unpleasant atmosphere for both staff and passengers.

In my younger days I had many a drunken slap on the arse and while it was extremely annoying it is just typical drunken behaviour which I would never consider to be assault. Sweet mother of Jesus people need to cop themselves on and stop bandying around words like 'assault'. It was a stupid, sexist thoughtless thing for him to have done. The emphasis being on thoughtless.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,671 ✭✭✭ryan101

She better not ever visit Turkey, the ass pinching and ass slapping of western women there is very common.

I think you need to get a grip. A slap on the arse is not assault....
    Yes it is, and it's also battery.

To suggest otherwise is to offer a licence for men to indulge in lewd behaviour. If a woman does not want a man's hand on her arse (or any other part of her) she is entitled to have her wishes respected.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,056 ✭✭✭_Redzer_

To suggest otherwise is to offer a licence for men to indulge in lewd behaviour. If a woman does not want a man's hand on her arse (or any other part of her) she is entitled to have her wishes respected.
    So I'm the victim of assault too?

Would you also be in favour of jailing said women that have assaulted me?

You only seem to talk from the woman's side. This happens to men too, but you're ignoring it, or at least making it out to be less important.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,780 ✭✭✭Frank Lee Midere

As a male with a fine arse which has never been molested I am feeling a tad left out here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,412 ✭✭✭Shakespeare's Sister

oak5548 wrote: »
    why not? I couldnt give a crap if a girl did this to me. Infact its been done many times. Are you suggesting we all just start becoming offended by a complete non issue all of a sudden?
    But lots of people (male and female) don't like it being done. And "You should get over it" rather than "It shouldn't be done" is a pretty weird take.
    "We all" don't have to start getting offended, because people shouldn't be slapping strangers' arses in the first place.

_Redzer_ wrote: »
    So I'm the victim of assault too?
    Yes.
    Would you also be in favour of jailing said women that have assaulted me?
    What do you mean "also"? I never said that I was in favour of jailing the guy in this case. You may infer that I am in favour of prosecuting him and applying a sanction.
    You only seem to talk from the woman's side. This happens to men too, but you're ignoring it, or at least making it out to be less important.
    The thread was started to discuss a particular man's behaviour in relation to a particular woman. There is an element of whataboutery in some of the posts about the behaviour of some women in relation to men, and I was choosing to focus on the issue raised in the OP.

But as you have raised the question, I am equally against women touching men inappropriately, and would be supportive of a woman being prosecuted and sanctioned for equivalent behaviour.

To my mind, the fact that the woman was at work is also a factor in the case. She didn't have access to some of the response options of a woman in a social situation, as she had to maintain a professional demeanour. In treating her as he did, he was taking advantage of the constraints under which she had to operate.

As a male with a fine arse which has never been molested I am feeling a tad left out here.

Moar squats!! :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,642 ✭✭✭MRnotlob606

put him up against a firing squad and get him to recite the poetry of robert frost in esparanto

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭Tarzana

hen party+male steward=non story

Not necessarily, if the male steward doesn't allow it to be no big deal. I'm not well versed on case law in this area, so I don't know if there's precedent. If not, take it to court, set a precedent. Be a trail-blazer. Or if you don't care about it, carry on. But men are not powerless here either. Little steps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

Same sentence if a woman did it to a man? No, because its not the same thing. Its very confusing.

Seriously? If any woman asked her friends if she should prosecute some drunk guy because they slapped her arse they'd laugh at her. It's fricking ridiculous. We aren't talking about ongoing sexual harassment or sexual assault. It's a case of a drunken passenger slapping an air hostesses arse for Christ's sake. I really don't see that this is an issue that should have gone anywhere near a court.

Of course a woman shouldn't be put in that situation but it's a non story, if she can't cope with the occassional slap on the arse from an asshole passenger then she's in the wrong line of work.

Seriously? If any woman asked her friends if she should prosecute some drunk guy because they slapped her arse they'd laugh at her. It's fricking ridiculous. We aren't talking about ongoing sexual harassment or sexual assault. It's a case of a drunken passenger slapping an air hostesses arse for Christ's sake. I really don't see that this is an issue that should have gone anywhere near a court.
    I agree with most of that, except for the downplaying of the incident - "It's a case of a drunken passenger slapping an air hostess's arse for Christ's sake". Yeh it is - it's completely sh-t and unacceptable.
    Of course a woman shouldn't be put in that situation but it's a non story, if she can't cope with the occassional slap on the arse from an asshole passenger then she's in the wrong line of work.
    Why on earth should she "cope" with it? How about: he shouldn't have done it?
    There's no way she should just accept it happens, bizarre way of looking at it (and disquieting). She's dead right to have reprimanded him/reported him to her manager.

... if she can't cope with the occassional slap on the arse from an asshole passenger then she's in the wrong line of work.
    So a woman who doesn't want strangers slapping her should not think of working as a flight attendant?

Yes.

What do you mean "also"? I never said that I was in favour of jailing the guy in this case. You may infer that I am in favour of prosecuting him and applying a sanction.

The thread was started to discuss a particular man's behaviour in relation to a particular woman. There is an element of whataboutery in some of the posts about the behaviour of some women in relation to men, and I was choosing to focus on the issue raised in the OP.

But as you have raised the question, I am equally against women touching men inappropriately, and would be supportive of a woman being prosecuted and sanctioned for equivalent behaviour.

To my mind, the fact that the woman was at work is also a factor in the case. She didn't have access to some of the response options of a woman in a social situation, as she had to maintain a professional demeanour. In treating her as he did, he was taking advantage of the constraints under which she had to operate.

I was not sexually assaulted.

To say I was sexual assualted because some girl drunkenly grabbed my ass for a laugh is an insult to people who *actually* get assaulted.

• Registered Users Posts: 91 ✭✭Dilly.

What do you mean wrong line of work?? Its not like she's a stripper FFS!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,687 ✭✭✭✭Penny Tration

Ah here.

When you're in a club or pub, you know full well that having your arse grabbed is a possibility. It happens, we laugh it off.

Completely different story in work. If somebody dared to touch my arse in work, I'd be calling security. I wouldn't be allowed tell them to fcuk off, like I would on a night out, because I'd lose my job.

Nobody, male or female, should have to put up with sexual harassment in the workplace.

It's going to happen on nights out. It doesn't make it okay, but you're gonna laugh it off.

Happening while you do your shopping, walk down the street, do your job, fcuk yes, report it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,180 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Very simple. Do not touch me. I can't kill you, so I will make it my business to jail you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 274 ✭✭comewatmay

Don't see any harm in it myself.

As was pointed out if it happened a man there'd be no issue.

Girl needs to grow up and get on with it.

It's a compliment if anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,694 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

comewatmay wrote: »

Oh jesus...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭Lyaiera

What if the man does have a problem with it? I know men who've been groped about it and were told to "man up" despite being obviously upset. And that's complete bull****.

"I don't think it's a big deal, therefore nobody else should."

Actually I think it's just as skanky for a woman to slap a man's arse, particularly in the workplace in front of loads of people.

But anyway, this is about this particular woman, and she didn't like it - as is her right.

Even if it is a compliment-ish... it shouldn't be done. Bizarre the "logic" some people use.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 274 ✭✭comewatmay

Many women would be honoured to have their ass grabbed.

It's an 'agricultural' way of complimenting a woman.

The more the merrier I say.

Magaggie wrote: »
    "I don't think it's a big deal, therefore nobody else should."

Actually I think it's just as skanky for a woman to slap a man's arse, particularly in the workplace in front of loads of people.

But anyway, this is about this particular woman, and she didn't like it - as is her right.

Even if it is a compliment-ish... it shouldn't be done. Bizarre the "logic" some people use.

And I would agree you shouldn't put up with it at work, but getting jailed for it is still absolutely crazy. For men or women that do it.

_Redzer_ wrote: »
    And I would agree you shouldn't put up with it at work, but getting jailed for it is still absolutely crazy. For men or women that do it.
    I've already said I think jail would be way too OTT, but the downplaying of the incident by a few people is spectacular.

Seriously? If any woman asked her friends if she should prosecute some drunk situation but it's a non story, if she can't cope with the occassional slap on the arse from an asshole passenger then she's in the wrong line of work.

A lot of dumb **** gets posted on Boards on a daily basis, but frankly, that's the dumbest sentence I've read on here in years.

Hungry troll is hungry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,337 ✭✭✭Wishiwasa Littlebitaller

How much time should this woman serve?

A lot of dumb **** gets posted on Boards on a daily basis, but frankly, that's the dumbest sentence I've read on here in years.

You're absouletly right there. I can't believe that in this day and age I'm having to argue with another adult, presumably you are a grown up?, that a drunken slap on the arse is a trivial, though inappropriate thing to do. It is not assault, it is not something that should be before a court. For goodness sake cop on to yourself.

If she has any complaint it should be with her employer for allowing drunken passengers on board a flight.

So a woman who doesn't want strangers slapping her should not think of working as a flight attendant?

It's a job where they must have to put up with a lot of crap on an almost daily basis, so if she can't handle the occassional obnoxious drunk, then yes, she possibly should consider a career that doesn't require a thicker skin.

Interesting that your proposed solution to 'ass-grabbers' is that the women should basically just put up with it, as opposed to sanctioning the ass grabber.

Very interesting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,609 ✭✭✭stoneill

Doesn't Mary have a lovely bottom.

Interesting that your proposed solution to 'ass-grabbers' is that the women should basically just put up with it, as opposed to sanctioning the ass grabber.

Very interesting.

It's not sanctioning the ass-grabber, putting up with the odd ass grab is just one of those annoying parts of life that women occassionally have to deal with. You must lead a very sheltered life if you think it's such a big deal that someone should be prosecuted for it.

I don't like it, most women don't like it. I'd say that most air hostesses have had their asses slapped at some point, if they were all prosecuting every time it happened there'd be no male passengers on their flights. I really don't get the hysteria. It must just be boredom on the part of the over reactors or else some of you are just out of touch with reality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,609 ✭✭✭stoneill

Of course, they all have lovely bottoms

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,736 ✭✭✭✭kylith

It's not sanctioning the ass-grabber, putting up with the odd ass grab is just one of those annoying parts of life that women occassionally have to deal with. You must lead a very sheltered life if you think it's such a big deal that someone should be prosecuted for it.
    How much should we have to put up with it? Once a day? Twice? Hourly? When does it stop being something you should put up with? So one guy feels entitled to do it, what if every other guy you pass feels the same? Sure they're all only having a bit of fun. They're all only having a laugh. They're all of the opinion that it's no big deal. Sure, it's a compliment really.

It is never ok to put your hand on another person without their permission.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,180 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

It's not sanctioning the ass-grabber, putting up with the odd ass grab is just one of those annoying parts of life that women occassionally have to deal with...

That's as may be Pumpkin, but they shouldn't have to deal with it. Touching anyone's arse without appropriate site-certification and clearance is not cool, even in the case of a six-foot valkyrie with two handkerchiefs on her and a posterior that could start a World war. Admire all you like, but do not touch! :D

kylith wrote: »
    How much should we have to put up with it? Once a day? Twice? Hourly? When does it stop being something you should put up with? So one guy feels entitled to do it, what if every other guy you pass feels the same? Sure they're all only having a bit of fun. They're all only having a laugh. They're all of the opinion that it's no big deal. Sure, it's a compliment really.

It is never ok to put your hand on another person without their permission.

I totally agree with you. I just don't think prosecuting someone is the right thing to do and I don't believe for a minute that prosecuting a passenger will stop any others from doing it. The article describes a guy who was so drunk he was making an ass of himself in other ways too. I just don't get why so many women think this is something that should be prosecuted.

I'm not trying to defend the guy. I think it's a major over-reaction and I think the blame should be focused more on Ryanair for letting a drunk passenger on board a flight. It could just as easily been a female passenger who had her ass slapped, and the last thing most women would think of doing is prosecuting.

I don't like it, most women don't like it. I'd say that most air hostesses have had their asses slapped at some point, if they were all prosecuting every time it happened there'd be no male passengers on their flights. I really don't get the hysteria. It must just be boredom on the part of the over reactors or else some of you are just out of touch with reality.

Why's that then?

Because all men are ass-grabbers?

Why's that then?

Because all men are ass-grabbers?

No, because I think that it's probably something that happens to air stewardesses on a regular basis and as my post said if all of them were prosecuted there'd probably be a lot fewer male passengers. You really are just arguing for the sake of it now. Tbh if you really think that an ass slap and it was an ass slap not an ass grab, is such a big deal then you real do need to get out more.