Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

The all new and only slightly recycled off topic thread (read post 1)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,413 ✭✭✭chupacabra

Not really off topic but... im staying in the same hotel as the Edinburgh team, which I found out when I got into an elevator and saw Chris Cusiter. All I could think to do was point right at him and say "youre Chris Cusiter". He simply rolled his eyes and smirked a bit.

I thought "what a bollocks". It was only later I realised it was Greig Laidlaw and I had the names mixed up.

Morto

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,508 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

any time I get a puncture I either walk home or if it's too far lock the bike and get the bus and come back for it later with the car. With a tube costing three Euros I just change it rather than spending time fixing it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,870 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

awec wrote: »
    Get a skinny one. Seriously!

Would it hide my "slight" gut!!

She told me to check out the Hugo Boss outlet in kildare. Have to say i bought a Hugo Boss suit about 8 or 9 years ago and it still is in great nick.

Hardly wear a suit now - most of the pals on both sides are married so i never get a chance to wear one. I presume you can't go wrong with a simple grey or blue.

• Administrators Posts: 54,110 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Speaking of punctures I took my bike out of the cupboard today and it had a puncture. Spent 15 minutes replacing the tube and then the second tube got a puncture. :mad:

Forgot to check the tire before putting the new tube in. :o

• Registered Users Posts: 24,258 ✭✭✭✭Buer

mfceiling wrote: »
    Would it hide my "slight" gut!!

She told me to check out the Hugo Boss outlet in kildare. Have to say i bought a Hugo Boss suit about 8 or 9 years ago and it still is in great nick.

Hardly wear a suit now - most of the pals on both sides are married so i never get a chance to wear one. I presume you can't go wrong with a simple grey or blue.

HB clothes are expensive but they're cut very well and last excellently. If it's within price range, I'd consider it. But if you're hardly ever going to wear one, then perhaps something more reasonable.

Go to a specialist suit shop (not a shop that has a suit section) and pick something up. Spend €50 going to a tailor and getting if altered to fit you correctly.

Anyone else in town for the giro? Very few at the ifsc...just pick your spot

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,548 ✭✭✭rockbeast

chupacabra wrote: »
    Not really off topic but... im staying in the same hotel as the Edinburgh team, which I found out when I got into an elevator and saw Chris Cusiter. All I could think to do was point right at him and say "youre Chris Cusiter". He simply rolled his eyes and smirked a bit.

I thought "what a bollocks". It was only later I realised it was Greig Laidlaw and I had the names mixed up.

Morto

Classic:)

In the Shelbourne bar one night and one of the lads(not a rugby fan) was pissed off because "George Pope" wouldn't respond to his introductions.

"Oi, George Pope, How's it going?"

It was Brent Pope and he was almost as embarrassed as me!:)

I got glasses today for the first time ever - my left eye is a bit short sighted and apparently my right eye is a bit oval.

My laptop isn't square any more when I look it with them on - one half is bigger than the other. Weirding me out.

Even as I write this text it's slanting down as I see it rather than straight across.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,009 ✭✭✭umop.episdn

Sounds like astigmatism, specsavers are very fond of that condition

Yea apparently I have that in my right eye.

My left eye is a bit short sighted - only noticed recently. She said that the left eye was probably compensating for the right.

I only need to wear the glasses when I'm watching TV / at the cinema. But it makes the TV look slightly trapezoid! :pac:

Youll get used to it after a week.
    Didn't mind my first pair of glasses, but when I went for my next test my eyesight had deteriorated so badly that the new pair threw off my depth perception. Was stepping up on footpaths like a high jump & looking at the pavement made me dizzy. It's a bugger for a while

Youll get used to it after a week.
    Didn't mind my first pair of glasses, but when I went for my next test my eyesight had deteriorated so badly that the new pair threw off my depth perception. Was stepping up on footpaths like a high jump & looking at the pavement made me dizzy. It's a bugger for a while

Will I get used to it even when I'm constantly taking them off and on? I reckon I'll be wearing them only 2 or 3 hours a day.

You will, it's just going to take your eyes time to adjust to seeing things correctly. The brain can't process the images yet, by the middle of next week you'll be grand

Get a skinny one. Seriously!

You were bloody right!!

Went in to TM Lewin on South Anne St and within 20 mins i had a lovely blue "fitted" suit purchased for only €259...a bargain i thought.

Can collect it next week after it's been altered to fit. Very helpful (gorgeous) girl was a great help. Definitely would recommend it.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 27,330 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

TM Lewin is great. Get most of my shirts there and have a suit from them. They were very helpful.

You were bloody right!!

Went in to TM Lewin on South Anne St and within 20 mins i had a lovely blue "fitted" suit purchased for only €259...a bargain i thought.

Can collect it next week after it's been altered to fit. Very helpful (gorgeous) girl was a great help. Definitely would recommend it.

Yep!

Even the most expensive suit will look terrible if it doesn't fit you right. It's supposed to stop a few cm above your wrist to show a bit of shirt, and when buttoned you should only be able to fit 2 or 3 fingers in between. And one break in the trousers.

Yet ye see loads of lads walking around in suits and they look like wee lads who've borrowed their dads suit for a day. :pac:

I hate wearing a suit mind, mine comes out of the cupboard for weddings and funerals. I've had mine about 3 years and I've worn it about 8 times I reckon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,693 ✭✭✭Deano7788

I hate you! I have to wear a suit 4 days a week for work. Hate wearing the damn things, never feel comfortable.

I have to say that i love throwing on a suit.

I'm in snickers trousers and a polo shirt most days, so at the weekends it's always a shirt for me.

The girl that fitted me was great though. The "fingers" trick of checking for fit was used, though i thought i was on to a good thing when she dropped 2 fingers into the waistband at the front of the trousers!! When she claimed she was happy with them i was thinking of something else entirely!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,718 ✭✭✭Taco Corp

I have to say that i love throwing on a suit.

I'm in snickers trousers and a polo shirt most days, so at the weekends it's always a shirt for me.

The girl that fitted me was great though. The "fingers" trick of checking for fit was used, though i thought i was on to a good thing when she dropped 2 fingers into the waistband at the front of the trousers!! When she claimed she was happy with them i was thinking of something else entirely!!

dude, she was totally flirting with you. you should have asked for her number.

Yeah i thought that too...

Tried to make a bit of small chat -

Me "so, it's busy in town today what with the cycle race"

Her "yes, my boyfriend went earlier to watch it"

Me (quietly) "this is a nice jacket"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,308 ✭✭✭✭.ak

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,899 ✭✭✭✭BBDBB

.ak wrote: »

he looks great, provided you can afford the meat pie bill

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,415 ✭✭✭Swiwi.

Swiwi. wrote: »
    You're looking at about €25 from memory

LOL puncture coming home from work today. Lucky bike shop didn't close till 6. Cost €14.50.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 27,330 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

A real man does not get a bike shop to fix their punctures...

Podge_irl wrote: »
    A real man does not get a bike shop to fix their punctures...

Draw your own conclusions so...

I'd consider myself a real man...just lazy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,320 ✭✭✭Teferi

Fixing a puncture is a pain in the balls to be fair.

Teferi wrote: »
    Fixing a puncture is a pain in the balls to be fair.

You slipped off the saddle & landed in the crossbar? I've done that, could sing soprano for a week afterwards ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,413 ✭✭✭chupacabra

I have never seen Scarface. Should I?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,264 ✭✭✭✭Fireball07

It's pretty good.

Slightly overrated for sure, and a bit long; but it's still enjoyable. I'd watch it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,257 ✭✭✭Hagz

Overrated.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,997 ✭✭✭Grimebox

Whenever I watch so-called classics, I try to imagine seeing it for the first time in the cinema, compared to half the tripe you would usually see. I was being hypercritical of the Godfather recently until I thought of that. Scarface is good.

Yes, you should watch it, Pacino at his manic best. That & Dog Day Afternoon are imo, his 2 greatest performances.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,219 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

Grimebox wrote: »
    Whenever I watch so-called classics, I try to imagine seeing it for the first time in the cinema, compared to half the tripe you would usually see. I was being hypercritical of the Godfather recently thought of that. Scarface is good.

Yeah that's a good way to think. I remember having an argument with a film buff friend of my mine saying that Pacino was overacting the ****e out of it in Scarface. I was, of course, used to Pacino already as I'd seen a good few of his films before I saw Scarface. If I'd never seen Pacino before though it would have been a different story altogether.

I have a horrible habit of leaving out words in the middle of sentences, making them almost illegible... I just did it there in my last post. You should have seen the state of some of my exam papers over the years.

I always leave out the words "to be" in a sentence and it drives my girlfriend nuts. :D

"The car needs washed"

"The dishes need done"

I always leave out the words "to be" in a sentence and it drives my girlfriend nuts. :D

"The car needs washed"

"The dishes need done"

Are you originally from Yorkshire?

"The car needs washed"

"The dishes need done"

Use the present participle there dude. "The car needs washing", "The dishes need doing". Grammatically correct and flows off the tongue...

Are you originally from Yorkshire?

Nope!
    Swiwi. wrote: »
    Use the present participle there dude. "The car needs washing", "The dishes need doing". Grammatically correct and flows off the tongue...

That sounds weird too.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,632 ✭✭✭ssaye2

For some reason that stresses me out after about 15 seconds.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,632 ✭✭✭ssaye2

ssaye2 wrote: »

I smell an oculus rift demo in the making....

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 6,524 Mod ✭✭✭✭dregin

Pity we'll never see the hardware to actually run it :'(

You know what really grinds my gears? Beyonce. This article sums it up for me. It's actually hilarious.

http://www.vice.com/en_uk/read/im-sick-of-pretending-i-dont-get-beyonce

dregin wrote: »
    Pity we'll never see the hardware to actually run it :'(

Even just running stuff on a PC it's pretty amazing so far. I reckon next year we should be pretty close to a retail version of it, a couple of years of PC support and then console support.

Have you demo'd it yet? A few of my friends have and even with pretty low key demos they said it's amazing.

I bought a oculus rift dev kit a while ago. It is definitely cool but I got bored of it very quickly. The resolution was too low and there was a slight lag (a slight delay in the screen turning when you turn your head). That added up to motion sickness for me. The potential there is amazing but its current iteration isn't quite there ye. I ended up selling it for €240 (bought for €300) so got more than €60's worth out of it. It was great fun to show friends as a gimmick. It certainly does blow you away at first. I had a family thing over Christmas and my sister calls insisting I bring it down. Seeing my 90 year old granny flying through space had to be the highlight. Or my aunt on a rollercoaster making questionable noises.

.ak wrote: »
    Even just running stuff on a PC it's pretty amazing so far. I reckon next year we should be pretty close to a retail version of it, a couple of years of PC support and then console support.

Have you demo'd it yet? A few of my friends have and even with pretty low key demos they said it's amazing.

My point was that the chances of it being released in a usable form are significantly hampered by facebook's involvement.

I bought a oculus rift dev kit a while ago. It is definitely cool but I got bored of it very quickly. The resolution was too low and there was a slight lag (a slight delay in the screen turning when you turn your head). That added up to motion sickness for me. The potential there is amazing but its current iteration isn't quite there ye. I ended up selling it for €240 (bought for €300) so got more than €60's worth out of it. It was great fun to show friends as a gimmick. It certainly does blow you away at first. I had a family thing over Christmas and my sister calls insisting I bring it down. Seeing my 90 year old granny flying through space had to be the highlight. Or my aunt on a rollercoaster making questionable noises.

Wasn't there a later version that resolved some of those issues?