Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The all new and only slightly recycled off topic thread (read post 1)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,207 ✭✭✭durkadurka

There isn't anything wrong with sessions on boards so something on your phone is removing the session cookie for some reason it seems. Do you have private browsing turned on?

http://support.apple.com/en-us/HT203036

^ Have a look here, if you have private browsing turned on it'll possibly be related.

You sir, are a genius. Much appreciated .

• Registered Users Posts: 24,258 ✭✭✭✭Buer

F*ck Christmas parties. I'm sicker than a flight to Lourdes.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 27,489 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

My Christmas party is on Wednesday.

Not looking forward to work the next day :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

durkadurka wrote: »
    You sir, are a genius. Much appreciated .

Ah I internet for a living so tis no problem at all! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,459 ✭✭✭Molester Stallone II

Ah I internet for a living so tis no problem at all! :)

You watch porn for a living ?.... You sir...are my hero!!

• Administrators Posts: 54,184 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

mfceiling - who you reckon will win the X Factor?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,880 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

awec wrote: »
    mfceiling - who you reckon will win the X Factor?

Who is in it? I've spent the weekend looking after my wife's lesbian friends new baby while they drank like fish. At one stage there were 10 females here - women and kids.......and me. Looked like a Benetton ad!!

mfceiling wrote: »
    Who is in it? I've spent the weekend looking after my wife's lesbian friends new baby while they drank like fish. At one stage there were 10 females here - women and kids.......and me. Looked like a Benetton ad!!

All that fanny....and none for you

Ben and Fleur.

IMO Ben's final performance was better.

All that fanny....and none for you

It's like walking past the chipper when it's closed.......you can smell it but you can't eat it!!

Sounds like a potential hygiene issue.

Have you never heard the classic "if it tastes like chicken, keep on lickin. If it tastes like trout it's time to get out"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,320 ✭✭✭Teferi

Just saw the last Hobbit there. Very meh. Martin Freeman is excellent and I enjoyed everything he did in the movie but CGI has ruined Peter Jackson. It felt like I was just watching a video game for most of the movie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,308 ✭✭✭✭.ak

Teferi wrote: »
    Just saw the last Hobbit there. Very meh. Martin Freeman is excellent and I enjoyed everything he did in the movie but CGI has ruined Peter Jackson. It felt like I was just watching a video game for most of the movie.

Me too. Felt the same... And I actually enjoyed the 2nd one.

What was the point of entirely using CGI for Billy Conolly's character

McIlroys caddy should have won a sports personality award ahead of Hamilton ffs.

Can't trust the public to vote for anything!

What was the point of entirely using CGI for Billy Conolly's character

Just on that, the fact there was more comedy actors than normal ones summed it up for me. Novelty factor.

I'm a massive Tolkien fan, so for years I've always wanted any sort of media representation from the books. As a kid I used to listen to the BBC radio LoTR series over and over (still think it's the best media of the novels), when the movies came out I was pretty young so I was excited and they didn't disappoint. Whilst there's a lot of issues with them, I realized they couldn't please everyone and they did a pretty good job.

When I heard they were doing a Hobbit movie I thought great, more Tolkien related stuff, I'll lap it up. I didn't actually realize they were making it a trilogy until the end of the 1st one. I actually laughed when the credits came up. Not to mention it was a fairly poor movie, far too slapstick and whilst I know the Hobbit was written to appeal to his children the movies were designed to link into the LoTR trilogy so I don't see why they'd go so far in a different direction. Oddly enough though I thought the 2nd was a pretty strong movie, it had a proper movement in the story, the additional bits that weren't in the books actually worked to make the story flow and it added a bit of depth to an otherwise pretty linear story.

The third is just awful. It's basically, as the title suggests, the battle of the 5 armies... for over 3 hours. And everyone is a CGI ninja. EVERYONE. Even the Dwarves.

Thing is... Will the kids like it? If so, then fine, job done. That's what Tolkien was aiming for so I don't get the whole 'JRR would be rolling in his grave' thing, he wrote the Hobbit for the enjoyment of children and if that's what they're into these days then fine. I hate this whole 'oh you need to appeal to the 30-60 year olds who read the books as children'. F' off, it's a bloody family movie and they're trying to make money from it. Nobody does anything for free. Like, if the world was recaptured on screen the way it is in my mind it would be far more Game of Thrones than Harry Potter - like, I HATE the way they did the Shire, it's supposed to be wet, cold north england country-side like. Not a lego playground with every house only a stones throw away. But I imagine that wouldn't appeal to the family audiences, so I honestly don't mind.

McIlroys caddy should have won a sports personality award ahead of Hamilton ffs.

Can't trust the public to vote for anything!

Ironically my dirty socks have more personalty than both of them together.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

.ak wrote: »
    Just on that, the fact there was more comedy actors than normal ones summed it up for me. Novelty factor.

I'm a massive Tolkien fan, so for years I've always wanted any sort of media representation from the books. As a kid I used to listen to the BBC radio LoTR series over and over (still think it's the best media of the novels), when the movies came out I was pretty young so I was excited and they didn't disappoint. Whilst there's a lot of issues with them, I realized they couldn't please everyone and they did a pretty good job.

When I heard they were doing a Hobbit movie I thought great, more Tolkien related stuff, I'll lap it up. I didn't actually realize they were making it a trilogy until the end of the 1st one. I actually laughed when the credits came up. Not to mention it was a fairly poor movie, far too slapstick and whilst I know the Hobbit was written to appeal to his children the movies were designed to link into the LoTR trilogy so I don't see why they'd go so far in a different direction. Oddly enough though I thought the 2nd was a pretty strong movie, it had a proper movement in the story, the additional bits that weren't in the books actually worked to make the story flow and it added a bit of depth to an otherwise pretty linear story.

The third is just awful. It's basically, as the title suggests, the battle of the 5 armies... for over 3 hours. And everyone is a CGI ninja. EVERYONE. Even the Dwarves.

Thing is... Will the kids like it? If so, then fine, job done. That's what Tolkien was aiming for so I don't get the whole 'JRR would be rolling in his grave' thing, he wrote the Hobbit for the enjoyment of children and if that's what they're into these days then fine. I hate this whole 'oh you need to appeal to the 30-60 year olds who read the books as children'. F' off, it's a bloody family movie and they're trying to make money from it. Nobody does anything for free. Like, if the world was recaptured on screen the way it is in my mind it would be far more Game of Thrones than Harry Potter - like, I HATE the way they did the Shire, it's supposed to be wet, cold north england country-side like. Not a lego playground with every house only a stones throw away. But I imagine that wouldn't appeal to the family audiences, so I honestly don't mind.

Ah jaysus. Haven't seen it yet. You've ruined it for me now! :mad: :pac:

Zzippy wrote: »
    Ah jaysus. Haven't seen it yet. You've ruined it for me now! :mad: :pac:

After watching the second one soon before going to see the new one, my expectations were somewhat high; I was looking forward to seeing it. You're better off having your expectations in the gutter and being pleasantly surprised.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 6,525 Mod ✭✭✭✭dregin

Teferi wrote: »

There's no way a book that takes a couple of hours to read can be stretched out into 3 decent films.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

chupacabra wrote: »
    So eh.. I feel weird posting this here but what the hey, if its not proper then mods can remove...

I'll be performing stand up comedy at the Ha'penny inn on the 16th (Tuesday). Show starts at 9.30pm, its 5eur at the door if you mention my name (Tim Reidy) but honestly if you actually show up ill cover your entry AND ill buy you a drink :D

I'm not being paid for this, its an open mic so im not promoting anything. I just think it would be interesting to meet some of you boyeens and if youre out on the night then sure why not? You're at least getting a free drink out of it. :o

So who's getting a free pint going to support a fellow boardsie tonight?

I might do actually

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,413 ✭✭✭chupacabra

Jaysus the structure of last night was a bit mad really. 3 sections that went on far too late. If anyone showed up and left because it was getting too late then you didn't miss much. I was on third to last and was running on fumes. I was the mountain with a beard sitting at the bar that the MC was taking the piss out of.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,767 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

Jaysus the structure of last night was a bit mad really. 3 sections that went on far too late. If anyone showed up and left because it was getting too late then you didn't miss much. I was on third to last and was running on fumes. I was the mountain with a beard sitting at the bar that the MC was taking the piss out of.

I wasn't able to make it unfortunately, but how did it go apart from that?

I know from music open sessions there's nothing worse than hanging about waiting for others to finish and seeing them go on longer than they should. I've been in situations where I haven't even gotten up at all because of it. And that's bloody annoying.

Podge, lets be having you! NFL final this weekend for title of NFL saddo of the rugby board.

After a fairly whopping season, I fully expect my side to completely capitulate this weekend.

After getting soaked coming back from work, I couldn't bring myself to head out in that weather again :o

Buer wrote: »
    Podge, lets be having you! NFL final this weekend for title of NFL saddo of the rugby board.

After a fairly whopping season, I fully expect my side to completely capitulate this weekend.

Just for the record, I never wanted you in the league.

I also can't believe I'm still playing Eli Manning :rolleyes:

Podge_irl wrote: »
    Just for the record, I never wanted you in the league.

I also can't believe I'm still playing Eli Manning :rolleyes:

I can't believe I auto-drafted Tate and Benjamin after I lost connection!

Looking back at the draft is interesting reading. My last place spot turned out to be a blessing with a lot of top RBs flopping this season. Bell and Murray, 12th and 13th and then managed to get Gronk on my next choice at pick 36.

Jimmy Graham was a bit of a disaster for you. I took him another league. Out of the guys who haven't been thrown in jail and actually played, he's possibly been the flop of the season.

molloyjh wrote: »
    I wasn't able to make it unfortunately, but how did it go apart from that?

I know from music open sessions there's nothing worse than hanging about waiting for others to finish and seeing them go on longer than they should. I've been in situations where I haven't even gotten up at all because of it. And that's bloody annoying.

Went fine I spose. A lot of the regulars did go over their time which is always a tax annoying and most of the comedians sucked the energy out of the room so it wasn't easy. But it was grand out.

Midweek work parties :(

It's a joke. We all work in offices. So why the f**k organise it for a Thursday or Wednesday? Every year.

Construction lads aren't so slow...all parties are on Friday nights!!

Wife's party was on a Tuesday night...phone call at 8.15 Wednesday morning..."what time will you be home today"

Hang over on work time. Take the positives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

I think the reasoning is that larger companies are afraid that if they put it on a Friday or Saturday less engaged employees won't turn up and will have other plans etc. whereas if they put it on a week night they'll get a bigger turnout.

Definitely an element of that and also trying to limit how much people will drink at a company function.

A mate had his party for a large company that took place on a Friday recently and ended up with the police called to break up an all out brawl between two lads who were off their heads drunk.

I will never understand this. Being hungover in work has to be my worst first-world problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,407 ✭✭✭✭justsomebloke

Construction lads aren't so slow...all parties are on Friday nights!!

Incorrect there I'm afraid. Ours was on a Saturday

Buer wrote: »
    Definitely an element of that and also trying to limit how much people will drink at a company function.

Well that certainly didn't work...

Well actually yes, that I agree with that. I do prefer to be paid to be hungover than wasting my day off with one.

I will never understand this. Being hungover in work has to be my worst first-world problem.

Surely it's better to be dealing with a hangover in work on a Friday giving you your whole weekend than losing a day at the weekend to have the party on the Friday? You'll have the hang over either way.

I understand the logic and the hangover isn't even the main issue. I just can't stand being this tired in work.

I think they are mid-week so as not to take up people's weekends.

Work from home the day after lads, problem solved. :)

I understand the logic and the hangover isn't even the main issue. I just can't stand being this tired in work.

Well as someone who rarely suffers hangovers I can understand this. At least you get the lie in on the weekend.

In my last job we didn't have Christmas parties the last few years and my first one in the new job is on Friday. But I have family all coming into Dublin that weekend and we'd all planned to go to the Connacht game and on for a few jars after so I'll be missing it. That said I'll probably do more drinking on Friday than I would have done with work...

I think they are mid-week so as not to take up people's weekends.

Work from home the day after lads, problem solved. :)

By "work from home" I think awec means, sitting on the sofa in his onesie, eating ice cream whilst watching re-runs of the x-factor!!

Nailed it.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,920 ✭✭✭✭stephen_n

What's a hangover?

Replace X factor with breaking bad and you just described my life :(

Replace Breaking Bad with porn and you've described mine!