Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

The all new and only slightly recycled off topic thread (read post 1)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,997 ✭✭✭Grimebox

I ordered 3 pints in temple bar a while back. I handed over a 20 and the bar tender wanted another 40c

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,219 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

Grimebox wrote: »
    I ordered 3 pints in temple bar a while back. I handed over a 20 and the bar tender wanted another 40c

That's why you don't go to Temple Bar!

I also learned the hard way :o

• Administrators Posts: 54,110 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Think it was 6.80 or something a pint in fitzsimons.

Near made me sick paying it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,871 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Grimebox wrote: »

A small piece of me died reading that post...

Just started a game of FIFA, the guy picked Real Madrid Castilla and I picked Chelsea.

I don't think he has realised that Castilla are their B team. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,796 ✭✭✭✭Pudsy33

awec wrote: »
    Just started a game of FIFA, the guy picked Real Madrid Castilla and I picked Chelsea.

I don't think he has realised that Castilla are their B team. :D

If you lose its time to pack it in I think.

For sale: one copy of FIFA 13.

That'll teach me. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,796 ✭✭✭✭Pudsy33

For sale: one copy of FIFA 13.

That'll teach me. :(

Ah here! What was the score? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

At Croker, Mayo fans have taken over.

Another chance for Munster to scout AOS! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 24,258 ✭✭✭✭Buer

At Croker, Mayo fans have taken over.

Another chance for Munster to scout AOS! :D

Half the county has made the journey. Their fans are almost complacent about the result today and are here expecting an inevitable win. I hope the players are as driven and focussed as they've appeared previously.

I fully expect Tyrone to try and get under AOS's skin from the off. An early yellow will limit him.

Pudsy33 wrote: »
    Ah here! What was the score? :pac:

3-2. He was good in fairness, one of those people that knew all the tricks.

Ah Jesus Christ. Come on.

choking.jpg

And there's the yellow for AOS. Stupid by him and fully deserved. He embarrassed himself with the play acting then.

Mayo are playing Tyrone at their own game - a bit of dirt.

Ah, Mayo have a tradition of being a footballing side who play the game like the traditionalists enjoy but, make no mistake, they're not adverse to a bit of niggle and physicality. AOS in particular has a habit of getting involved. He was red carded in the QF for two silly tackles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,264 ✭✭✭✭Fireball07

Tyrone were impressive in the first half, be very disappointed to go in only a point up. Can't see them winning now...without goals anyway.

Penalty has settled Mayo and Seamus O'Shea has really stepped up. Not over yet though by a long shot.

Mayo could have had at least 2 more goals in the past 5 minutes.

Fireball07 wrote: »
    Tyrone were impressive in the first half, be very disappointed to go in only a point up. Can't see them winning now...without goals anyway.

As expected tbh. Mayo had too much for them over 70 mins.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,257 ✭✭✭Hagz

If you haven't seen Elysium, get your priorities in order. Fantastic movie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

Decent performance from Mayo from the 20th minute on. They'd want to cut out the hail mary attempts in the final though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,415 ✭✭✭Swiwi.

Hagz wrote: »
    If you haven't seen Elysium, get your priorities in order. Fantastic movie.

Have you seen District 9 by the same director? Enjoyed that.

Yep, loved that too. I didn't know it was the same director going into the film, but it didn't take long before it was obvious.

If they were ever to do a Halo film, he should get it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

I didn't realise it was the same guy. Might pop along to it tomorrow

Anyone watched "Meet the Millers"?

Thinking of going next saturday night with herself to see it.

Also any recommendations for a nice restaurant for a romantic evening - my birthday, she's paying...doesn't get better than that!!

*in dublin*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,308 ✭✭✭✭.ak

mfceiling wrote: »

Also any recommendations for a nice restaurant for a romantic evening - my birthday, she's paying...doesn't get better than that!!

*in dublin*

Bit of restaurant junkie but the last place I was at was this place.

http://www.lastapasdelola.com/

Amazing tapas, best I've had outside of Spain.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 27,334 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

*in dublin*

Depends what age you are and what you're looking for, but I adore The Church. Its in a converted early 18th century church - there is a bar downstairs and a very nice restaurant in the gallery upstairs. Wouldn't be the quietest of places but the food is great, the scenery is phenomenal and you can have a drink before and after downstairs in the bar. Not a restaurant in the truest sense of the word though - but the food in the restaurant upstairs is genuine top quality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

Faching prawns :D

Podge_irl wrote: »
    Depends what age you are and what you're looking for, but I adore The Church. Its in a converted early 18th century church - there is a bar downstairs and a very nice restaurant in the gallery upstairs. Wouldn't be the quietest of places but the food is great, the scenery is phenomenal and you can have a drink before and after downstairs in the bar. Not a restaurant in the truest sense of the word though - but the food in the restaurant upstairs is genuine top quality.

Age is only a state of mind Podge!!

Church is nice all the same...so is the view inside (the female kind)!!

.ak wrote: »
    Bit of restaurant junkie but the last place I was at was this place.

http://www.lastapasdelola.com/

Amazing tapas, best I've had outside of Spain.

I've commented on how nice it looks recently...think we'll have to give it a shot. Plenty of nice watering holes in the vicinty also....probably bump into awec heading for coppers!!

*in dublin*

Very much depends on what you're looking for regarding cuisine and atmosphere. Absolutely loads of places around that could suit all tastes.

Was at Alfies recently on South William Street and enjoyed it. Quite a nice feel, dark without being gloomy, good service and food catering to standard cuisine.

A lesser known favourite is The Bridge over near. Grand Canal Dock. Superb food and possibly the best steak I've had in Dublin.

If you're looking for a more upmarket place for the occasion I'm a big fan of Bang on Baggot Street but the tables can be very tight. Food is superb though and you feel like you've had a dining experience when you leave (with a significantly lighter wallet).

Exams next week, hard to get the motivation to study :(

I might have to check out The Bridge next time I'm home

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Think about it this way: What would John Hayes do?

Well he would be a ligind and study, with plenty of pashun.

(In all seriousness, best of luck with it! :) )

Why do you have exams next week? Is that not a very unusual time for exams?

Think about it this way: What would John Hayes do?

Well he would be a ligind and study, with plenty of pashun.

(In all seriousness, best of luck with it! :) )

I thought he was blessed with all knowledge and wouldn't have to study... just turn up at the exam and pashun would carry him through? :P

Ah cheers :)

Why do you have exams next week? Is that not a very unusual time for exams?

Ah, they're repeats... missed 3/5 back in May because I had an operation on my eye a week or two before.

Thought that splitting them would be a good decision, but having to work now is a pain :P

Ah exams.

**** that ****.

I've commented on how nice it looks recently...think we'll have to give it a shot. Plenty of nice watering holes in the vicinty also....probably bump into awec heading for coppers!!

Yeah I recommend against the grain beside it, excellent choice of brews!

Buer wrote: »
    Very much depends on what you're looking for regarding cuisine and atmosphere. Absolutely loads of places around that could suit all tastes.

Was at Alfies recently on South William Street and enjoyed it. Quite a nice feel, dark without being gloomy, good service and food catering to standard cuisine.

A lesser known favourite is The Bridge over near. Grand Canal Dock. Superb food and possibly the best steak I've had in Dublin.

If you're looking for a more upmarket place for the occasion I'm a big fan of Bang on Baggot Street but the tables can be very tight. Food is superb though and you feel like you've had a dining experience when you leave (with a significantly lighter wallet).

Been to bang before - very good.

Heard good reports about the bridge alright. I'm a big fan of L'Guelton on fade street - excellent grub.

Yeah amazing French fare!

The new Eden grill on South William is quite nice also for moderately priced grub.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,599 ✭✭✭matthew8

Reminder to the NFL fantasy guys:

Draft tomorrow at 8pm. You can do a mock draft here:

http://fantasy.nfl.com/draftcenter/mockdrafts

It's an 8 team league, so no matter what you should get a decent team together.

matthew8 wrote: »
    It's an 8 team league, so no matter what you should get a decent team together.

All the same, probably best not to pick a kicker in the first round.

Podge_irl wrote: »
    All the same, probably best not to pick a kicker in the first round.

I've read up on this extensively and you're correct. You should pick your Defence 1st, THEN pick the kicker. Fantasy Draft 101.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,997 ✭✭✭Grimebox

It is my last day of work and I have nothing to do for two hours. Looking forward to this

KTEXnaH.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,221 ✭✭✭Ugo Monye spacecraft experience

there's a pretty amusing thread in the feedback section of boards right now. One for the conspiracy theorists

Which one is it?! :D

shouldn't be that hard to figure out!

:/

:/

pm sent!