Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

The all new and only slightly recycled off topic thread (read post 1)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,221 ✭✭✭Ugo Monye spacecraft experience

WAIT!!!! WHAT!!!!

Nice avatar brah!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

Podge_irl wrote: »
    You really need to work on your add/drops!

Yeah that's 2 rookie mistakes on that score so far, gotta give the opposition a chance y'know :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,871 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

And it's that time of the week again when MF's wife and daughters take over the living room to watch the "shíte" factor, while i'm relegated to the kitchen, the laptop and an 19 inch portable with about 6 channels...FML

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,219 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

I only have 5 channels and my kitchen is in my living room (it's an apartment you see)!

CatFromHue wrote: »
    I only have 5 channels and my kitchen is in my living room (it's an apartment you see)!

Yeah but do you share with a woman and 3 girls under 7!!

I swear, i'll go through the menopause before the missus with the lack of testosterone in this house!!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,219 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

mfceiling wrote: »

I swear, i'll go through the menopause before the missus with the lack of testosterone in this house!!

Well at least if you come in here and act irrational and you have a good excuse

• Registered Users Posts: 24,258 ✭✭✭✭Buer

Settling in for a lovely evening of food, NFL and HEC.

I only read the news about Adrian Peterson earlier today. Insane. I don't know how he can be in any frame of mind to play today two days after his infant son was beaten to death. A really tragic and upsetting story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

Buer wrote: »

I only read the news about Adrian Peterson earlier today. Insane. I don't know how he can be in any frame of mind to play today two days after his infant son was beaten to death. A really tragic and upsetting story.

I would not like to be facing him today.

I hope he has an amazing game

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

My Bucs are so terrible, but Darrelle Revis is amazing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,308 ✭✭✭✭.ak

Jesus. I'm just reading about it. Sickening. Unfortunately not a totally uncommon thing.

I would not like to be facing him today.

I hope he has an amazing game

Aye, wouldn't fancy being a member of the Panther's D this evening

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,599 ✭✭✭matthew8

Going pretty well against the inactive Ugo Warriers (who couldn't have their bye week players subbed as they had practically no active subs) after that Nelson TD. Another week at number 1 methinks.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 27,342 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

matthew8 wrote: »
    Going pretty well against the inactive Ugo Warriers (who couldn't have their bye week players subbed as they had practically no active subs) after that Nelson TD. Another week at number 1 methinks.

Feck it Ugo!!

I couldn't do anything about inactive players this week cause I was in Paris (I live quite the jetset lifestyle ;) )

My game is pretty close

With Davis on my bench.

AAAAAAAAAAAARRRRRRRRRRRGGGGGGGHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

With Davis on my bench.

AAAAAAAAAAAARRRRRRRRRRRGGGGGGGHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

30 points in the first half alone!!!

Feck's sake the Warriers have been scoring lots of unopposed points and I'm a little over 13 points down. Probably going to need Alfred Morris and Rivers to actually score.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,257 ✭✭✭Hagz

Jimmy Graham with no points. Say Whaaaa

Bizarre. Knowing him he'll salvage it with a 1 yard TD or something.

Wait a second he's on the sideline, no helmet. Is he injured?

Pulled up a few minutes ago during the intercepted play.

Looks like my kicker whoopsie may have cost me here...

Looks like he'll be held catchless for the whole game now that they have their score. At one point I was projected to win 154-84, could actually be close now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

We need a new poll.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 6,525 Mod ✭✭✭✭dregin

We need a new O/T thread dedicated to NFL!

dregin wrote: »

Ha, I think there's a forum even! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,415 ✭✭✭Swiwi.

+1. Nothing personal, but each Sunday night about 3 pages of NFL are added to the thread.

However, it's not that big a deal, so I won't be holding placards or marching on the street or such (which I would never ever do anyway...I'm trying to think what would make me march up O'Connell St with a sign...)

Ah its mainly down to the league a few of us from this parish have going on between us. Didn't realise it was annoying a few

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

If the NFL gets it's own o/t thread then the John Hayes Ligind Fanclub demands the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,796 ✭✭✭✭Pudsy33

If the NFL gets it's own o/t thread then the John Hayes Ligind Fanclub demands the same.

This thread is pretty much a 50/50 split between the above, with the odd beer conversation thrown in for good measure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,772 ✭✭✭P.Walnuts

P_1 wrote: »
    Ah its mainly down to the league a few of us from this parish have going on between us. Didn't realise it was annoying a few

Ye don't see the problem myself, it's only one click of a button to skip a page

P.Walnuts wrote: »

*clicks mouse*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,415 ✭✭✭Swiwi.

P.Walnuts wrote: »

Yeah, but you might skip a page and miss some life-changing post...by USME for example. Or his latest username. Or a cool track you really should listen to.

The only logical solution is to start watching the NFL lads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,901 ✭✭✭Howard Juneau

Pudsy33 wrote: »
    The only logical solution is to start watching the NFL lads.
    I did, 30 years ago when it was good!

Today I learned that Howard Juneau is older than I imagined.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,221 ✭✭✭Ugo Monye spacecraft experience

Jaco may have a run for his money

• Administrators Posts: 54,110 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

NFL is so bleh.

awec wrote: »
    NFL is so bleh.
    Says the Harp man? :pac:

I'm young at heart!

Ah, the old heart transplant, adds years on really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,308 ✭✭✭Hersheys

I like NFL but I don't have the energy to stay up that late on a school night :(

.ak wrote: »
    Ah, the old heart transplant, adds years on really.

Rugby mods donate their hearts to medicine as they no longer have need of them!

Hersheys wrote: »
    I like NFL but I don't have the energy to stay up that late on a school night :(
    the vast majority of the games kick off at 6 or 9 :)

• Administrators Posts: 54,110 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Says the Harp man? :pac:

An indication of my refined tastes surely?

The extra hour time difference is killing me. Games starting at 10 are a pain in the arse.

Though on the plus side it removes any temptation to stay up for "just the start" of the prime time games.

First round of games (usually the majority) are on at 6pm. They'll finish at 9pm and the next round (normally just a few) start then. Normally I watch the first round and plan on watching the first half of the second round which means I'm done by 11pm.

The extra hour time difference is killing me. Games starting at 10 are a pain in the arse.

Though on the plus side it removes any temptation to stay up for "just the start" of the prime time games.

Thats a dangerous pitfall that you are lucky to be avoiding

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,308 ✭✭✭Hersheys

But they go on for HOURS. My bedtime is 10 o'clock!

All the 6pm games are over shortly after 9pm unless there's overtime. You'll get about 8 games starting in that early slot!

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 6,525 Mod ✭✭✭✭dregin

I will say this - the fantasy NFL stuff seems a LOT more involved than the generic "everyone can buy anyone" approach that the fantasy soccer games take.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,708 ✭✭✭ScissorPaperRock

I'm just delighted to have a 'k' at the end of my username now. Well worth the fiver to end years of irritation.