Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

first bike ?

• 28-05-2014 4:02pm
    Registered Users Posts: 255 ✭✭

what was your first bike ?

here is mine

maxresdefault.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,180 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Nice wee yoke that. My first bike was a CB250N Super Dream in 1988, but being sixteen at the time it transpired I couldn't get a license for it so I got rid of it again after about ten days. Then I got a Honda Cub 90 which broke my arse with the CDI failing. That went also after a couple of months. Then I got a 1984 Suzuki GP100. Great wee beastie that - served me well for over two years, on the road every day. :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 347 ✭✭neamhspleachi

1969 Lambretta 150 Grand Prix

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

Mine was a new Suzuki Marauder 125 i bought in 2000 for the princely sum of 2750 Punts !!

746_0_1_2_marauder%20125_Image%20credits%20-%20Martin%20Bell.jpg

Its so far removed from what I have now its funny :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,772 ✭✭✭jameshayes

This was mine... loved it... miss the smell of 2 stoke and the pain of getting it started on a cold morning... knocking the sh!te out of kickstarter!200901020129250.538428.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 50 ✭✭AD!

Mine was a Yamaha tdr 125! I'm sure there is still a cloud of smoke around cork from that 2 stroke bike!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,031 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

Some sort of Bultaco trials bike

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,306 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

KTRIC wrote: »
    Mine was a new Suzuki Marauder 125 i bought in 2000 for the princely sum of 2750 Punts !!

746_0_1_2_marauder%20125_Image%20credits%20-%20Martin%20Bell.jpg

Its so far removed from what I have now its funny :p
    Same here. Insurance was roughly what you paid for the bike. Wouldn't pull the skin of a rice pudding

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,013 ✭✭✭✭Wonda-Boy

Blue CB125 (well it was my brothers) any key would start it too. Robbed on me and I never seen her again.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 216 ✭✭burstbuckle

Virago 535

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,306 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

Virago 535

My second bike. Great bikes! Mine was the 400.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

1991_DR125S_blue_450.jpg

some fecker took it
    i loved that bike

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,306 ✭✭✭ratracer

This was mine: (not this exact one, but identical to it)

C6F1DE4A1A134740A5DDBBBC05B2C179-0000362220-0003574315-00450L-A1946089C9884A8C8BED9AD4C2D5E82F.jpg

Crazy to think when I bought it I had never driven a bike on the road. I just rocked up to the shop with the cash, handed it over, signed the paperwork and was given the keys. That was a nervy ride home, but I've never looked back since. A cracking little starter bike, I put some mileage on it before I sold it on.

• Registered Users Posts: 225 ✭✭inchiuvatu

The ultimate in racing pedigree, the envy of all, THE bike that all learner bikes want to be! (but never will)..
    CBR...... 125.. R
    ! lads it had 2 R's in the name that makes it awesome.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,778 Mod ✭✭✭✭Zascar

CBR125_red_rhs_bg.jpg
    Thought it was the mutts nutts at the time - now I have his Daddy!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,454 ✭✭✭Blondie919

I started out in 1995 on a Suzuki AX 100. Great little bike which served me well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 599 ✭✭✭ambasite

'89 CBR250

yachtclub4.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 97 ✭✭Lemonperv

First and only bike so far is my Ninja 250r :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭vektarman

1969 Lambretta 150 Grand Prix

Is this it?
    DSCF4253.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 347 ✭✭neamhspleachi

vektarman wrote: »
    Is this it?
    DSCF4253.jpg
    Nice, tis the right colour, rusty :D

Mine was more like this one after me & the brother got our hands on it

• Registered Users Posts: 255 ✭✭the cats pajamas

ambasite wrote: »
    '89 CBR250

yachtclub4.jpg

what a beauty!

• Registered Users Posts: 18 Ninja_Spirit

Mine was a little suzuki gn 125, used to fly around corners on it...until a week before i sold it, hit patch of diesel and wrecked it...as well as myself !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,286 ✭✭✭Bikerguy

my first bike or bikes. i as lucky i had 2...

back in the 1996

babeta 49cc.. automatic 2 speed, push start or start with pedals :) kinda kick... if you run out of fuel you could just cycle home... :) top speed 50km/h

6355112-babeta-babetta-210-2_zps954023d7.jpg

then JAWA 49cc .. manual 3 speed, kickstart... the best of the best.. it could do anything.. top speed 70km/h with wind on your back

jawa-50_zpsc8e1e3fc.jpg