Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back a page or two to re-sync the thread and this will then show latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

BQ or Bust!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

Are the results wrong D?
    They are showing 20:58.....https://www.parkrun.ie/stannes/results/latestresults/

• Registered Users Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭Bungy Girl

Murph_D wrote: »
    I should have been capable of another few seconds today, it's a bit ridiculous to do two 5ks in a row so close to the target so while it's another PB, it's a bit of a hollow one.

I hear ya! But third time's the charm right ? I had a similar situation with the 5 milers this year, so all will come good but I know how you feel. So congrats, but HTFU too (in the nicest possible way of course). You'll get there for sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,483 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

menoscemo wrote: »
    Are the results wrong D?
    They are showing 20:58.....https://www.parkrun.ie/stannes/results/latestresults/

Yes, saw that and a correction is in the works.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Mrs Mc

Sat 19 Dec

St. Anne's parkrun 21:02 (PB)

Now that this is over, I can say it was a bit of a blast, although at the time I hated every inch of it, to be perfectly honest.

KennyG laid down a bit of a challenge a few weeks ago with his idea for an end-of-year sub-21 bid at St. Anne's and a few of us took him up on it. In the end he blew us away with a 90 second PB, and I'd delighted for him. It was obvious after his DCM that he's in terrific form and it showed.

As for me, I felt surprisingly good this morning before the event. Drove over to St. Anne's with BG, and KennyG joined us for a couple of kms warmup. I must say he's a master of lowering expectations, his chat was all what was he thinking getting into this, sure his previous best is 22:30, etc. etc. Mind games how are ya! DenisB and aquinn joined our little group at the start, with FBOT on pacer duties, with yaboya joining in for extra encouragement and back up. Fair play lads.

Right from the siren I felt pretty sluggish and it was a struggle to keep up. G got right on FBOT's shoulder and kept a good line, while I found myself jinking a little to get past some slower starters. But got into a good position about three metres back by the end of the first km which beeped bang on at 4:12. The watch is a bit useless in St. Anne's with the tree cover so I was always going to ignore it for most of the run. Started to feel a bit better on the back straight and by the time we hit the avenue for the 900m downwind stretch I was able to draw level with the pacing group as the wind gave a bit of assistance. So it felt like a bit of a breather for a bit. Nice to see FD and laura shouting encouragement at the end of lap one. The timer called 10:28 as we passed halfway so nothing wrong with the pacing.

Into lap two and the twilight zone. Really started to fade here and dropped 10 metres, then 20 back. I could see M and P glance over their shoulders and try to egg me on. No idea what was going on behind either and by the 3k mark It felt like I was going backwards and I expected one of the others would probably pass at any second, although I refused to look back and give them any encouragement. For a while anyway. After making the second last turn with about 1500 to go I stole a look back but couldn't see any of my rivals (aquinn saw me doing this apparently so I missed her, she was probably hiding behind someone).

By the top of the home straight I must have been 30-35m behind the pacers and not feeling like I'd be catching them. Could see G still stuck to FBOT's shoulder, it was a pacee performance to be reckoned with. But the wind was behind and the hard part of the course behind us. A woman passed pretty confidently, and I decided I wouldn't let her get away. About 500 to go and I put on a bit of a surge and went by her again. I immediately started to slow up again though after passing her but by now M and P were shouting back at me to put out the cigar and HTFU so I managed to respond over the last 300 but it was too late. Having escorted G to the finish line the lads roared at me again and I stumbled over the line in 21:02 before having a bit of a lie down. After a few seconds I think I heard aquinn ask me was I OK, so I was probably lucky enough not to be quinned on the home straight.

Previous PB: 21:04-ish (Jingle Bells Dec 2015)
    Target: <20:59
    Actual: 21:02, 25th (27th?) position, second M50 (that's a bit annoying too, I think he passed me on the Avenue).
    Verdict: Disappointed

Splits (approx):
    km 4:10 4:18 4:14 4:20 4:00
    mi: 6:50 6:59 6:57

Always hurts to be smacked down but I'm delighted for KennyG who certainly looked the part - with the long shorts and compression socks I was hoping he'd overheat and blow up but it was not to be. I should have been capable of another few seconds today, it's a bit ridiculous to do two 5ks in a row so close to the target so while it's another PB, it's a bit of a hollow one.

Lots of other good results today too, with aquinn getting a PB and 31st/5th female, Mrs Mc running a PB and winning her age category. She was probably trying to catch me and hit me over the head for my FGOT snafu the other day. :P Tough day for BG who was off the pace today but no doubt will be all over this the next time.

Thanks again to Mark, Peter, run director killerz and all the volunteers today. Happy Christmas!

WTD: 36 km (22 mi)
    MTD: 116 (72)
    YTD: 2,765 (1,719)

Well done D a pb is a pb so while your disappointed at not breaking 21 you still got your pb. Forgot to clock you for the FGOT post remind me when I see ya next. !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

Yes, saw that and a correction is in the works.

Probably those two 'Unknown's' messed things up :pac:
    Well done on the PB anyway, they are always hard to come by over 5k

menoscemo wrote: »
    Probably those two 'Unknown's' messed things up :pac:
    Well done on the PB anyway, they are always hard to come by over 5k

Thanks. Yeah, you're right about the "unknowns". Wonder who they are? :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

Thanks. Yeah, you're right about the "unknowns". Wonder who they are? :)

why is there a correction in the works? if the official results have you sub 21 then????

well done today, too bloody hot to be racing ugh, hats off to ye all, you left everything out on the course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,610 ✭✭✭yaboya1

Firedance wrote: »
    you left everything out on the course.

Including his cigar........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

Well done D, a PB is a PB and they are hard come by over the silly season. Is it sun 21 as FD asked?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Ososlo

Nice work D! Congrats on the pb!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭denis b

Well done D on the pb. I feel your pain about the time. Watched you pull away down the avenue and thought that you would make it. We will have to try again and move over to the Gary Side as soon as..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,415 ✭✭✭Singer

Happy PB!

why is there a correction in the works? if the official results have you sub 21 then????

well done today, too bloody hot to be racing ugh, hats off to ye all, you left everything out on the course.

Ah I normally wouldn't sweat a few seconds either way but seeing as it was an organised sub-21 attempt you have to draw attention to any inaccuracies. What I ended up being assigned the "unknown" 25th finisher's token and time as he delayed accepting his token. I actually finished 27th in 21:02 and I clearly remember the timer counting off the time as I crossed the line so never a doubt really (my garmin agrees too).

tang1 wrote: »
    Well done D, a PB is a PB and they are hard come by over the silly season. Is it sun 21 as FD asked?

Thanks B. See above. :)

Ah I normally wouldn't sweat a few seconds either way but seeing as it was an organised sub-21 attempt you have to draw attention to any inaccuracies. What I ended up being assigned the "unknown" 25th finisher's token and time as he delayed accepting his token. I actually finished 27th in 21:02 and I clearly remember the timer counting off the time as I crossed the line so never a doubt really (my garmin agrees too).

ah ok gotcha, you're right of course in that instance to get it corrected.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,968 ✭✭✭aquinn

denis b wrote:
    Well done D on the pb. I feel your pain about the time. Watched you pull away down the avenue and thought that you would make it. We will have to try again and move over to the Gary Side as soon as..

Will be honest so and fess up that I used you as a target to catch. Thanks & apologies Denis.

D, an honest report and a great effort. You've had some really great PB's over the distance recently and I'm terribly sorry you couldn't stick with the lads today for sub 21. My money was on you. We'll all be supporting compression socks, mine were already on the way so definitely using them today after seeing Gary take 90 seconds. Actually can't even claim to have seen him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,526 ✭✭✭Killerz

Congrats on another PB! Is someone sorting that token mix up for you - drop me a message on FB if you need me to do it. Cheers, JK

Killerz wrote: »
    Congrats on another PB! Is someone sorting that token mix up for you - drop me a message on FB if you need me to do it. Cheers, JK

Thanks J, think Mark is on it. Great job from all the team and volunteers today, no criticism implied.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭Kennyg71

Well done today D, never looked back today, but heard your foot steps a few
    Times and pushed me along.

Never got close enough for footsteps, was probably FBOT geeing you up. :D

Sun 20 Dec

Recovery 16k @ 5:56 (10 mi @ 9:33)

Headed up to the Park with Anna and aquinn, meeting up with POTY FD. :) Very pleasant loop from Visitors Centre via the Kyber, Military Road and the Glen, mostly with AQ as we lost the others somewhere along the line. Back home then via the NCR. So that's week one of the plan complete, without doing a single run as prescribed. Mileage is about right though!

WTD: 52 km (32 mi)
    MTD: 132 (82)
    YTD: 2,781 (1,728)

Sun 20 Dec

Recovery 16k @ 5:56 (10 mi @ 9:33)

Headed up to the Park with Anna and aquinn, meeting up with POTY FD. :) Very pleasant loop from Visitors Centre via the Kyber, Military Road and the Glen, mostly with AQ as we lost the others somewhere along the line. Back home then via the NCR. So that's week one of the plan complete, without doing a single run as prescribed. Mileage is about right though!

WTD: 52 km (32 mi)
    MTD: 132 (82)
    YTD: 2,781 (1,728)

Lost us? Nooo you abandoned us pretty much straight away :p beautiful day for a run in the park :)

All A's fault, she couldn't slow down enough. Obviously didn't try hard enough yesterday. ;)

It's fine :) I wouldn't expect you two speedies to run with a slow poke like me as ms Quinn pointed out to me during the week :p fab weather for a run today

Boston: 16 Weeks to go

Mon|Tue|Wed|Thu|Fri|Sat|Sun|Total
    Rest|13k (8m) GA w/ 10x100 strides|Rest/Cross|16k (10m) GA|Rest/Cross|8k (5m) Recovery|21k (13m) w/ 13 (8) @MP)|58k (36m)

Will try to stick to the plan this week. 8 MP miles at the weekend will be a tester. MP this cycle is somewhere between 4:46-4:51/k (7:40-7:49/m) depending on the calculator. McMillan says the slower end, Jack Daniels the higher, based on 47 VDOT from recent 5ks. Will be happy to be anywhere in that range for now. At least Christmas is a rest day.

At least Christmas is a rest day.

No Goal Mile then ??

Bungy Girl wrote: »
    No Goal Mile then ??

Only if I can get out of the kitchen!

Can Anna come out then ;) ?

Got a pass, so not going to waste it. Will be going to Irishtown for about 10:30 if either of you fancy it.

Bungy Girl wrote: »
    Can Anna come out then ;) ?

Got a pass, so not going to waste it. Will be going to Irishtown for about 10:30 if either of you fancy it.

Of course she can. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,629 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

Only catching up here now D.

Well done, solid running and a PB.

TbL's crystal ball -

2016: vintage year for the veterans!

Keep it up

TbL