Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda Recruitment - Stage 5

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 881 ✭✭✭Bloodwing

Becca22 wrote: »
    Clothes stay on Blaireness

Really? They certainly didn't when I did it! First thing they did when you went in was hand you a gown.

• Registered Users Posts: 221 ✭✭BRB

Bloodwing wrote: »
    Really? They certainly didn't when I did it! First thing they did when you went in was hand you a gown.

At least it's warm out.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 562 ✭✭✭ShodenMcClane

Bloodwing wrote: »

I'm guessing it's the whole women stay clothed, men get naked thing. I was reading an article about it, supposedly a common thing in medical fields. Not sure why.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,778 ✭✭✭WilcoOut

I'm guessing it's the whole women stay clothed, men get naked thing. I was reading an article about it, supposedly a common thing in medical fields. Not sure why.

Docs must fancy a laugh

• Registered Users Posts: 138 ✭✭20times

Yeah, testes examination was part of it!

• Registered Users Posts: 125 ✭✭Blaireness

Grand day for a stroll through Phoenix Park :D

• Registered Users Posts: 11 ian180power

Has any one who wears glasses completed their medical? how did the eye test go?

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 18,115 ✭✭✭✭ShiverinEskimo

Met the Super last night. 5 minute job, relatively informal and he was insisting that I try to enjoy templemore when I'm there so it all seemed very positive when I look back.

Squeezed an extra level out of the beep test - up to 6.3 now. Weekend will be dedicated to it. Going to try and get 3 tests done each day at 4 hour intervals for recovery. Also jumping straight into the sit-ups and press-ups when I finish each beep test attempt so I'm used to the transition on the day.

• Registered Users Posts: 240 ✭✭mickaleen

Highest I've reached in the Beep test is 7.6 and I only have to get to 8.1 as I'm an old man. I find once I hit level 7 I really start feeling it. Would a few 4/5 mile runs during the week build up some stamina/endurance?? I only started from scratch with the Beep test and haven't any long runs put in. Also, I find I am getting about 11 push ups done and bate out then. I leave it for 2 mins and get another 11 done etc. If I keep doing this will I eventually master them?? I don't have a date for my medical yet so I am hoping that I will have at least 2/3 weeks to get myself in order. Any idea's??

Has any one who wears glasses completed their medical? how did the eye test go?

Was v worried about it beforehand. I found it tough, you're looking into this machine and it is difficult. But thankfully I got the required standard. While I was actually doing it, I thought I was failing it!

mickaleen wrote: »
    Highest I've reached in the Beep test is 7.6 and I only have to get to 8.1 as I'm an old man. I find once I hit level 7 I really start feeling it. Would a few 4/5 mile runs during the week build up some stamina/endurance?? I only started from scratch with the Beep test and haven't any long runs put in. Also, I find I am getting about 11 push ups done and bate out then. I leave it for 2 mins and get another 11 done etc. If I keep doing this will I eventually master them?? I don't have a date for my medical yet so I am hoping that I will have at least 2/3 weeks to get myself in order. Any idea's??

If it were me I would just keep plugging away at the beep test and just keep squeezing one more press up per day out. You'll rack up the numbers fast. You don't have a lot to cover in the beep test now - I'm envious.

The sit ups and press ups ramped up fast for me - muscle memory clicks in before long and you'll be hitting the targets in no time. I do them at lunch time and then again in the evening.

Anyone on here have any thoughts on the obstacle course, or has anyone ever done it before? Just thinking about how llong a lap will take

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,297 ✭✭✭Ron DMC

20times wrote: »
    Anyone on here have any thoughts on the obstacle course, or has anyone ever done it before? Just thinking about how llong a lap will take
    On the open-day I asked what the course record was for 3 laps and was told someone did it in about 1:50 but it was just as a laugh and they were knocking cones all over the place, so I imagine someone quick and careful could probably manage 45 seconds per lap, giving you loads to spare under the overall limit.

If it were me I would just keep plugging away at the beep test and just keep squeezing one more press up per day out. You'll rack up the numbers fast. You don't have a lot to cover in the beep test now - I'm envious.

The sit ups and press ups ramped up fast for me - muscle memory clicks in before long and you'll be hitting the targets in no time. I do them at lunch time and then again in the evening.
    Yeah I'm not overly concerned about getting to 8.1 in the Beep Test, was just wondering would the 4/5 mile run help, I should manage to get there by repeating the Beep Test.

I am more concerned about the push ups though. Will keep plugging away anyway and see how I am getting on. Taking a day off today to give the body a chance to recover.

Yeah I'm not overly concerned about getting to 8.1 in the Beep Test, was just wondering would the 4/5 mile run help, I should manage to get there by repeating the Beep Test.

I am more concerned about the push ups though. Will keep plugging away anyway and see how I am getting on. Taking a day off today to give the body a chance to recover.

Im still concerned about push ups and mine is next Fri!!

Was v worried about it beforehand. I found it tough, you're looking into this machine and it is difficult. But thankfully I got the required standard. While I was actually doing it, I thought I was failing it!

Thanks for the info, do you mind me asking do you where your glasses full time, or just for driving etc. I don't legally need glasses for driving but I do wear them when driving watching TV etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 99 ✭✭almeraguy

At the info day the guard said that running/jogging won't help with the beep test. Advice I got was to do interval running. Sprint 20-30 meters then back to your usual pace for 20-30 metres and keep alternating over a couple of kilometres. You only need to cover 1.4km in the beep test.

As ShiverinEskimo said keep adding a couple of pushups each day and you'll build up the the required level in no time.

• Registered Users Posts: 61 ✭✭fitzzbill

Anyone else a bit anxious to find out when there actuali goin down?

Thanks for the info, do you mind me asking do you where your glasses full time, or just for driving etc. I don't legally need glasses for driving but I do wear them when driving watching TV etc.

I have to wear them when driving. I probably should wear them all the time but I dont wear them much and that's probably what has saved me in the end. Im -3.0 and -3.25 so my uncorrected vision is poor. Will eventually get laser but from now on Ill make do with contacts!

• Registered Users Posts: 3 Wazzio182

I've worked in the fitness industry the last few years so hoping everything on the day of physical goes ok. just a couple tips for anyone having trouble with press ups, may sound very simple and obvious but get your breathing right, inhale on way down exhale on way up. Concentrate on pushing from your chest and not just your arms. If you want to try and increase reps practice doing your push ups with one foot elevated and your body will start to find regular pushups more comfortable. In terms of beep test as mentioned above interval training is the best method of improving your fitness. you need to get your body used to working in a higher heart rate zone as opposed to jogging where your heart rate remains more consistent. doing shuttles runs of 5 metres apart is also a good way of doing this. start with 5 and back,then 10 and back,then 15 etc. do this flat out for 30 secs record the distance you've covered and recover for 30 secs. then go again. do this for 6 mins in total. ie. 3 mins of sprints,3 mins of recovery. This is a tough test but is a quick and effective way of getting your body used to working at a higher level which will be needed for latter stages of beep test. Bare in mind also on the day your adrenalin and motivation will be sky high which is always good for pushing out that bit extra. Hope that's of some help

I have to wear them when driving. I probably should wear them all the time but I dont wear them much and that's probably what has saved me in the end. Im -3.0 and -3.25 so my uncorrected vision is poor. Will eventually get laser but from now on Ill make do with contacts!

your in a similar boat to me so. Thanks a lot for the info, feeling more confident about it now.

Best of luck with it. Try not to worry too much when you're doing it, I honestly started to get a bit agitated because I reckoned I was failing it - it seems harder than a standard eye exam with a chart but it mustn't be! Dont forget to bring your glasses too :-)

• Registered Users Posts: 75 ✭✭wideasagate

This is my first time posting here but I've been keeping an eye on the chat.

Just about the bleep test, we all want to pass and I'd hope that we all get down there together, I've been with a personal trainer since before the stage 4 results came out just to be sure I'll be ready. We've been doing interval training and leg work. Getting the legs strong will help you on the day.

Here's the interval training on a treadmill for anyone who needs it.
    Warm up, then 4 minutes of a brisk walk or jog, for the fifth minute aim to run at 10km at least or faster then return to a brisk walk for a minute. Carry this on until you finish 12 minutes. As you progress make the sprint faster and the jog just slightly faster, then when ready reduce the walk to 30 seconds and run for 90 seconds. When I started I was brutal, I've played sport all my life but I was always slow. Today I did 4 min warm up then 90 sec @11.5km, 30 seconds at 6.5km and repeated this four times, for the last set I upped the pace to 12.5km. I am definitely improving and when I last did my usual run at home I took 40 seconds off my fasted km. You wont feel like you're doing much on the treadmill but I had to jump off it today, couldn't even wait for it to slow down and my trainer said I'll fly through the test.
    I hope this helps anyone who was struggling with it!

For anyone who has recently had laser eye surgery, GET YOUR SIX WEEK CERT. I've just been deferred until I get mine. Quickest turnaround ever. I'm on the way to cork for an appointment at half four.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,805 ✭✭✭Rothmans

Blaireness wrote: »
    For anyone who has recently had laser eye surgery, GET YOUR SIX WEEK CERT. I've just been deferred until I get mine. Quickest turnaround ever. I'm on the way to cork for an appointment at half four.

Sorry, but what is a six week cert?

Rothmans wrote: »
    Sorry, but what is a six week cert?

A six week check up basically. It was news to me today. I'm gutted about being deferred, even if it is only until they get this document.

Apparently at six weeks, things should be fairly settled although the eyes are still healing.

The doctor is a little stern just to warn ye.

• Registered Users Posts: 35 HungryMantis

Did you tell him you had had laser eye surgery done or did he check and find out?

A six week check up basically. It was news to me today. I'm gutted about being deferred, even if it is only until they get this document.

Apparently at six weeks, things should be fairly settled although the eyes are still healing.

The doctor is a little stern just to warn ye.

Did you pass everything else. Did you get a physical date? Also, if you send in the cert asap, will they put you into the July intake?

Did you tell him you had had laser eye surgery done or did he check and find out?

I told her, I had to. She asked if I had everything on my form.

Did you pass everything else. Did you get a physical date? Also, if you send in the cert asap, will they put you into the July intake?

Passed everything else. Should not have worn a thong considering I had to touch my toes. No physical date, you only get that if you pass the medical and I got deferred. I really hope so. It's all I want and I've worked so so so hard for this. I'm well within the 100 group too.

• Registered Users Posts: 208 ✭✭Chem Lord

Passed everything else. Should not have worn a thong considering I had to touch my toes. No physical date, you only get that if you pass the medical and I got deferred. I really hope so. It's all I want and I've worked so so so hard for this. I'm well within the 100 group too.

Did they mention when you are being deferred until?

Chem Lord wrote: »
    Did they mention when you are being deferred until?

Until they get the cert and review and decide that they like me basically. I'm hoping I'll hear Monday. Doctor didn't like me much. Lady in the office was lovely though. Told me they'd let me know Monday as long as they have the cert by then.

• Registered Users Posts: 64 ✭✭TooLate

The thong may have helped if it was a male doctor Blaireness!!! :)

Don't take it personally with the doctor. She justs wants to batter through the numbers as fast as she can I reckon. Conveyor belt mentality.

It's not about liking you, it's about ticking all the boxes that say you're medically fit. Get the cert in Monday and chase it up Tuesday if you hear nothing. Before you know it you'll move forward.

Must you only get this cert if you've had the surgery WITHIN the past 6 months ?

Honestly, I haven't a notion. I just know that I need it.

• Registered Users Posts: 38 babybell

Passed my medical today but received a date for my physical while I'm away but there was no problem changing it and it will not affect what intake I'm in as that will be decided on the vetting coming back in time they said all medicals and physicals should be done by notification of 1st group

Well I made a call to the HQ and they confirmed that I will have to be deferred for five weeks on my eyesight when I go in next Tuesday.... I hope the person who takes my place in the top 105 really appreciates it :D On the bright side of things, atleast I have the rest of the summer to myself and can travel. Hopefully I'll be called for the October batch :) p.s the lady on the phone from HQ was extremely friendly and helpful. If anyone has any queries, don't hesitate to give them a call.

You getting something done to your eyes chemlord?

• Registered Users Posts: 437 ✭✭wobzilla1

Just back from my interview with the superintendent.
    I was a bit worried it would be cancelled as somebody was shot in the town 3 hours beforehand.

Of course the trouble I was in when I was younger was brought up.
    He said it didn't matter at all and it didn't bother him but the fact that I never put it on my form B did concern him.
    He said it wouldn't be something that would stop him recommending me though.
    Looks like the medical and physical are the only things in my way now.

You getting something done to your eyes chemlord?

Yes I had laser eye surgery last Tuesday and the apparently it takes six weeks for the eyes to fully heal.

Eyes healing perfectly. Thank god. She's writing up a letter at the moment so fingers crossed.

• Registered Users Posts: 35 HungryMantis

Eyes healing perfectly. Thank god. She's writing up a letter at the moment so fingers crossed.

When did you get the eyes done?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Santa Cruz

Chem Lord wrote: »
    Yes I had laser eye surgery last Tuesday and the apparently it takes six weeks for the eyes to fully heal.

Good luck with that. My cousin failed the medical on eyesight grounds back in 1996. He went to a specialist here in Dublin who brought him and five others to a clinic in London for the laser treatment. He appealed the medical result subsequently, did a re test and is a Garda since 1997. The laser treatment mustn't have been available in Dublin at that time. Hope all goes well for you.

When did you get the eyes done?

6 weeks ago today. Could not have been a closer call.

Will they give a physical date once you submit the report stating that you're eyes are on good nick?

That's the hope/expectation!

Good stuff! Don't forget to keep us updated. I may be in a similar situation to yourself!

• Registered Users Posts: 61 ✭✭fitzzbill

Whats the official start date? 21st or 29th of july?

• Registered Users Posts: 24 Becca22

Did anyone get a reply from the Garda College when they confirmed their PCT date?

Does anyone know how long the physicals are going on? The only date I've seen on here is the 20th of June.