Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fracking announced for Belcoo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 514 ✭✭✭md23040

To imagine that a frack site's area of influence is confined to the drill well is like imagining that a substance injected into the body only remains at the injection site. Cop on would ya! There is a whole water table and geological
    substratum at play here that is interconnected with ...well actually..the whole of the island ultimately. You think they put down plastic boundaries or something, to keep everything contained...?

Referring to the aesthetic appearance of the site and not the area of distribution that is not visible, in the context of over dramatised, tourist run for the hills, style wastelands that's a complete exaggeration, corrected from someone's an earlier post.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,100 ✭✭✭Autonomous Cowherd

md23040 wrote: »
    Referring to the aesthetic appearance of the site and not the area of distribution that is not visible, in the context of over dramatised, tourist run for the hills, style wastelands that's a complete exaggeration, corrected from someone's an earlier post.

And the aesthetics are the decisive factor? Let's invent a new parameter for environmental impact assessment and call that the ''Kardashian Criteria''...for a laugh like..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,219 ✭✭✭✭biko

What is worse, the fracking or the hippies the fracking will attract?
    The fracking.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

If a company wants to frack on your land, do they pay you.
    I know in the states landowners get a royalty every month.
    In some parts of North Dakota a acre of land could be brought for $1000 10 years ago, now that same acre brings in thousands in royalty payments each month.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,970 ✭✭✭Lenin Skynard

"I couldnt give a rats ass if it turned some small area of some county into a sand pit" is what you said and what I quoted. Maybe sandpit sounds better to you than wasteland, sounds about the same to me, and I wasn't referring to the aesthetic appearance. Your prioritising of an abstract debt in favour of the actual ground beneath our feet shocked me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,315 ✭✭✭circadian

That oils extraction from sands. Completely different.

Ok, sorry for my ignorance. Could you explain a little further about the difference? Are you saying that extracting gas from similar methods won't create a mess especially that of the water supplies?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Santa Cruz

The locals will have to shift their sabotage activities from Quinns old businnesses to the Fracking sites.

Will it affect the Croke Park residents? I'm sure they will find some reason to object to it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,336 ✭✭✭wendell borton

There are currently six factories using waste products to produce bio gas, with more in the pipeline.

http://www.teagasc.ie/publications/2013/1943/BarryCaslin.pdf

Kerry ingredients are a global player and tight with money. If it didn't make economic sense they wouldn't be investing in it.

Even if today the benefits are only marginal for the time being, increasing fuel cost means its only a matter of time until they are. They will also create employment opportunities.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,676 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

coal burning is making people addicted to heroin.

It's entirely recreational and I can quit at any time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,987 ✭✭✭mikeym

Tamboran claim they wont use chemicals in the fracking process but I dont know of any other company that is not using chemicals.

The conservative government over in the UK are determined to push ahead with fracking.

If people want information rather than to indulge blindly in rhetoric, I recommend this site.
    http://www.frackaware.com/wordpress/
    http://www.frackaware.com/wordpress/?cat=28

All the best for the long weekend. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,987 ✭✭✭mikeym

The Polish government are desperate for fracked gas so we should wait and see what happens to the Polish enviroment/economy before we make a decision.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

If people want information rather than to indulge blindly in rhetoric, I recommend this site.
    http://www.frackaware.com/wordpress/
    http://www.frackaware.com/wordpress/?cat=28

All the best for the long weekend. :)
    In fairness, an anti-fracking blog isn't the best resource.

Anyone know if details of what exactly will be done been published yet? Have they explained what type of fracking they'll be doing and published environmental reports etc? I'm not majorly keen on the idea, but don't know a huge amount, and there has been quite a lot of fearmongering going on that really dilutes any genuine fears there may be.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,465 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

humanji wrote: »
    In fairness, an anti-fracking blog isn't the best resource.

Anyone know if details of what exactly will be done been published yet? Have they explained what type of fracking they'll be doing and published environmental reports etc? I'm not majorly keen on the idea, but don't know a huge amount, and there has been quite a lot of fearmongering going on that really dilutes any genuine fears there may be.

No one with an issue with these problems ever listens, Look at the massive amounts of data for wind farms and pylons. I mean seriously they still trot out pylons giving everyone cancer and wind farms keeping people awake needing medication to sleep. Also none substantiated remarks about house prices crashing within sniffing distance of a pylon/wind farm. Anything just to no have them in eye line of their one off.

ajjmk wrote: »
    This opinion really boils my blood, "Oh, it's only Leitrim".
    Leitrim is one of the most beautiful, unspoiled counties in Ireland, and relies heavily on tourism to bring money and employment into the locality.
    Not only is fracking extremely dangerous to the environment (wrt the chemicals used during the extraction process), but it is also an extremely unsightly process.

I can't see tourists travelling to see the extraction rigs of Leitrim

If I were a tourist, the sight of a fracking site would make me question the water in the surrounding areas. There are so many unknowns about what fracking may do to the water table that I wouldn't want to chance it. I'd take my custom elsewhere until I knew better.

Sadly, I am not a tourist but a Leitrim resident who lives not too far from Belcoo. I suppose I could be classed as a future guinnea pig.

Wish me well!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭uch

I heard wind turbines is the leading cause of homelessness and coal burning is making people addicted to heroin.

Jaysus I was only reading an article on that myself yesterday in the Daily Sport

21/25

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,465 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

If I were a tourist, the sight of a fracking site would make me question the water in the surrounding areas. There are so many unknowns about what fracking may do to the water table that I wouldn't want to chance it. I'd take my custom elsewhere until I knew better.

Sadly, I am not a tourist but a Leitrim resident who lives not too far from Belcoo. I suppose I could be classed as a future guinnea pig.

Wish me well!

We could use farming as an example as well. Artificial fertilisers animal waste so on so forth.

Well if a farmer shoots chemicals down through a rock and extracts a cow...... then yeah, same thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

At €8 billion interest per year paid by Ireland on debt, coupled with should Russia cut the taps to EU gas supply and opt instead with recent deal to China, will see energy prices soar througout the EU, and these considerations should be enough impetus to consider any viable energy options.

Also it would take a many many lifetimes to cover Ireland is so called wastelands – as usual taking a post out of context, twisting it into something surreal and serving back in a platter. Fracking sites are typically no bigger than quarries and this site (if it is to be believed) is being explored in a former quarry.

http://www.bloomberg.com/image/i9EMUyxp0E1g.jpg

As other people have asked, do you think the impact of fracking will be limited to the extent of the quarry? Do you think all the people in the US who can't drink their tap water anymore all live within a small radius of a fracking site?

Belcoo and the whole area there is on limestone bedrock geology - highly porous, and with huge interconnected water tables and underwater watercourses. Marble Arch caves are only a couple of miles away, an example of such. Belcoo is upstream of a huge catchment (the Erne) which drains to the sea at Ballyshannon, and provides drinking water for many towns and villages (Enniskillen being the largest). With so many examples of fracking elsewhere causing huge problems with groundwater and drinking water, the risks need to be critically analysed before this should go ahead. Having had experience of the standard of environmental impact assessment in Ireland, I'm not optimistic for the future of the local environment in Leitrim/Fermanagh...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Santa Cruz

uch wrote: »
    Jaysus I was only reading an article on that myself yesterday in the Daily Sport
    The Daily Sport is responsible for widespread emissions so are in no position to criticise

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,438 ✭✭✭5live

Tamboran have announced that they are to drill a shale gas well in the old quarry in Belcoo, just across the river from Blacklion, Co Cavan.
    Details here...just spreading the word. Do not sit on the fence.
    https://thegasmancometh.wordpress.com/
    Sure wouldn't the fence be the safest place to sit, with all the drilling going on underground and all...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,342 ✭✭✭MayoSalmon

Human beings are literally starting to ruin the earth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,118 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

MayoSalmon wrote: »
    Human beings are literally starting to ruin the earth

No they're not. The earth will be just fine after a bit of fracking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 341 ✭✭poppyvally

what about our forty shades of green?

Cienciano wrote: »
    No they're not. The earth will be just fine after a bit of fracking.

No it won't

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,118 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

No it won't

OF course it will. The earth is 6 billion years old. What long term damage will a bit of fracking do?

Cienciano wrote: »
    OF course it will. The earth is 6 billion years old. What long term damage will a bit of fracking do?

I am not debating whether the earth will vanish:confused: however fracking will result in long-term environmental damage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 710 ✭✭✭Reformed Character

I am not debating whether the earth will vanish:confused: however fracking will result in long-term environmental damage.

For which you can produce evidence I presume, specific evidence as it relates to the type of fracking planned here.

And which type of Hydraulic Fracturing of Shale rock for Gas Extraction is the good kind, exactly, Reformed Character? Peer-reviewed scientific reports and long term Environmental Impact Analyses with your answer please.

Well EPA are still conducting there studies in US I believe.

In the interim one of the most intractable problems related to fracking is that each well drilled creates millions of gallons of radioactive and toxic wastewater.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 johnk1960

I'm astonished at the level of ignorance and cynicism on this thread. This is not just about Leitrim, but the whole planet. Is climate change acceptable? Recently 74% of Germany's electrical load was met from photovoltaic and wind. Ireland reached 42% recently. Its really simple - leave the hydrocarbons in the ground! Jeez even a blind man can see this!

Maybe this is what happens when you start screaming about wind farms and using other means to generate power I know witch one I would rather have in my area...

Leitrim is a net exporter of wind generated electricity and there hasn't been any protest against it

Mr_Red wrote: »
    You see..... no one gives a toss about what happens in Co Leitrim.

I believe they do human experiments in Co Leitrim

Come visit... just for a wee experiment... on your mental health

There's plenty of space and bugger all people - frack away, as long as it efficiently taps natural resources, complies with EU regulations and provides tax revenue. It hasn't done America's tourist industry any harm, and it's a country that has become energy independent because of it, and soon will be an exporter through LNG port terminals.

Should it lead to gas at half its current price, like in Uncle Sam compared to Europe, then tear away - better than relying on Russians and Arabs with their unstable situations/supply/price hikes.

"bugger all people" - perhaps that sums you up

It would be infinitely preferable to generate all our electricity through renewable sources, then no fuel bill and security of supply

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 109 ✭✭Thelonious

Your concern is that those working at the drilling will bring sexual violence and drug abuse? Oh sweet lord!

Ha! Have you ever actually met a driller? They are often thugs on six figure salaries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 109 ✭✭Thelonious

circadian wrote: »
    This'll be some craic in 5 or so years.

Parts of Alberta are an absolute mess because of fracking.

Wrong that's from heavy oil production AKA tar sands. You're talking out of your hoop.