Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Worst public transport experience

• Closed Accounts Posts: 304 ✭✭Panda_Turtle

Bursting for a sh1te all the way home from town about an hour on the bus.

Got home and realised I was locked out. Luckily there was toilet paper in the shed so behind the hedge I went to drop the bombs.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

I've had a few nightmarish journeys in my life,

On the LUAS a few years ago I and a few more train passengers got on in Heuston including an elderly American couple with their baggage, anyway somehow the american man dropped a €2 coin and a scumbag skanger immediately pounced on the coin with cheetah like skills and picked it up only for the old American chap to say "hey excuse me, I dropped that give it to me" and then him and his wife were met with a total barrage of abuse from said scummer (of about 15 years) and a few of his mates, who were accusing the American guy of accusing him of being a thief.

It really rattled the old man as he and his wife were at least 75 to 80 but they said nothing and when the scummers couldn't provoke a reaction they moved up the tram. Both the american guy and I disembarked at Abbey St. and as he was walking up the street I just handed him a €5 note and said I'm sorry you had to witness that, these people are not representative of the real Ireland. I would have loved to have told-off said scummer and if it was my own elderly parents that it was done to I probably wouldn't have kept my cool.

I had to endure a nightmare train trip another time with drunken teenagers at 7am (up from the night before) and they were planning on getting to Dublin to see a Kerry game, they were totally out of control and I told the train staff who had the guards waiting and had them thrown off at Mallow a long time before they got to Dublin.

I've had a few long epic journeys involving trains, buses, and planes but thankfully never had any other people trouble along the way. A 47 hour marathon journey home from Bangkok two years ago was about as bad as that was. I did a 20 hour bus trip via Wales from London to Kerry before which was hellish because it was long etc.but the people were lovely consisting mainly of old grannies and a few broke students and two huge obese passengers whom I suspect were just too fat to fly.

I only ever encounter "People" trouble in Ireland I notice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭Maphisto

Stinicker wrote: »
    I've had a few nightmarish journeys in my life,

On the LUAS a few years ago I and a few more train passengers got on in Heuston including an elderly American couple with their baggage, anyway somehow the american man dropped a €2 coin and a scumbag skanger immediately pounced on the coin with cheetah like skills and picked it up only for the old American chap to say "hey excuse me, I dropped that give it to me" and then him and his wife were met with a total barrage of abuse from said scummer (of about 15 years) and a few of his mates, who were accusing the American guy of accusing him of being a thief.

It really rattled the old man as he and his wife were at least 75 to 80 but they said nothing and when the scummers couldn't provoke a reaction they moved up the tram. Both the american guy and I disembarked at Abbey St. and as he was walking up the street I just handed him a €5 note and said I'm sorry you had to witness that, these people are not representative of the real Ireland. I would have loved to have told-off said scummer and if it was my own elderly parents that it was done to I probably wouldn't have kept my cool.

Good for you ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 333 ✭✭deseil

Every summer from the age of seven I was put on a burkes bus from Dublin to Tuam to visit my granny,

My parents never had a car so I was not used to travelling and got motion sickness.
    I used to travel alone or with my sister and was given an empty plastic bag which was handed to granny at the end of each and every journey full of puke containing all the crap I'd bought on the rest stop at Moate.
    Sometimes the bag had a hole so I'd have a little puddle of puke at my feet and leave a trail of it all down the bus
    Everytime I was met by Granny saying "for f*ck sake" and apologising to the bus driver.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

I was served a slightly tepid glass of Champagne on Concorde once.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 731 ✭✭✭Butterface

I got marched off a tram and right up to a banklink by a tram inspector and an armed police officer in the Czech Republic. I had the wrong tram ticket (which I had been told to buy by the ticket vendor!). They demanded to see my passport and then at the next stop got off and walked off ahead with it up to a banklink. The only way I knew what was happening was a nice Polish girl got off the tram with me and tried to argue my case. I gave them about 30e and they gave me back my passport, but they were unneccessarily aggressive about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,666 ✭✭✭Tin Foil Hat

I was in a aisle seat on a bus in Rio. A stream of men filed past me, their bits and pieces stuffed into budgie-smugglers 20 centimeters from my face. Horrific!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 348 ✭✭AulBiddy

Had to take the bus home from work experience one day because I had no lift. Not many free seats so I sat next to a fairly innocent looking woman who was listening to music on her phone. As soon as the bus started to move she took out the smelliest tuna sandwich one could smell. It was absolutely roasting that day too. Luckily my journey was only 20 minutes long but my god was I glad to get off that bus. The sandwich seemed to last for eternity.

Also, refused to use the toilets at bus aras so had to hold my pee the whole way home (thought there would be a toilet on the bus). It was painful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,693 ✭✭✭Sgt Hartman

I'm a bit of a public transport veteran at this stage so I've bad quite a few crappy experiences..

On the train from Dublin to Limerick in June 99 I was sat across from a drunken dwarf who kept on spilling her can of cider on the table, it was dripping onto my legs. Another time back in June 2001 this extremely loud aggressive guy with one leg sat beside me. He was smoking and shouting over to his scummy mates all the time. I had to get up and go to a different carraige. I nearly puked from the smell of smoke and BO off him.

On the bus from Galway to Limerick there was this extremely camp effeminate guy who looked a bit like Colin Farrell. He was airing his dirty laundry quite loudly on the phone for the whole bus to hear. " You keep stirring up **** between me and my family, you're always stirring up **** between us. My sister is the only one in my family I talk to and you're stirring up **** between us again". Once he had finished that phonecall he rang someone else and quite loudly again he was like... "Oh HELLO dawlring, how are you sugar? What are you up to tonight chicken?" Ugg! It was painful :(

On the 101 Dublin to Drogheda bus a couple of years ago the bus was pulling away from the stop. As it was pulling away there was someone banging the side of the bus really aggressively shouting "OPEN THE GODDAMN DOOR YOU FCUKING ASSHOLE!" The bus stopped and this bearded, ponytailed middle-aged American fella got on with a young child and started berating the driver. "YOU FCUCKING ASSHOLE, LEAVING A YOUNG CHILD STANDING THERE IN THE RAIN!!" The weather was pretty bad that day and in fairness to the driver he musn't have seen the American guy with the child approaching the stop before he pulled off. The American guy plonked himself down on one of the seats while the driver told him to leave. He just sat there and wouldn't budge. The driver had to call the Gards and we waited about 20 minutes before the Gards came and took him off. All the while he was just sat there cursing. I felt sorry for the poor kid that was with him who looked really frightened and embarrassed.