Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

The Saturday Night Show May 31st

13»

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

TMI there George.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭goose2005

*blesses self*

*composes letter to archbishop*

• Registered Users Posts: 6,187 ✭✭✭jojofizzio

the tone of this is going waaaay down

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,695 ✭✭✭Lisha

Lapin wrote: »
    Shock horror.

George Hook talking about George Hook.

The no socks thing just doesn't work.

The lovely Ingrid would be entitled to
    Murder him after that :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83,517 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

When I see someone with no socks I automatically think vagrant or tramp.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,038 ✭✭✭Go Harvey Go

And now Hooky's stealing the limelight.

It's as if Carrie didn't turn up at all tonight... :rolleyes:

I think George Hook had one Heino too many at the RDS earlier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83,517 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Is this the first Dub ever to win a prize on the SNS?

Speaking of clothes is Brendan coming from a funeral?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭delaad

....or an undertaker's assistant, as in boc's case

• Registered Users Posts: 486 ✭✭DUBACC

Good god George! Did we really need that info?

The one good thing about George Hook talking about George Hook is keeping Brenda Donaghue quiet.

And that takes some doing !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,972 ✭✭✭cofy

The song by Chantele was a lovely lulaby, it sent Missy into a grand sleep

e170x5.jpg

Hope you all have a lovely summer xxx

DUBACC wrote: »
    Good god George! Did we really need that info?

I see another endorsement for a piece of "technology"

• Registered Users Posts: 1,520 ✭✭✭dcmm

She'll be less happy in a minute when George Hook tells her to get the hell out of his seat.

An invisible man brought out a replacement seat as Marion probably through nerves,sat on wrong seat, unbalancing Darren's ice cream wafer:p

• Registered Users Posts: 814 ✭✭✭cuculainn

is that a sinead oconnor original??? great song

• Registered Users Posts: 814 ✭✭✭cuculainn

cuculainn wrote: »
    is that a sinead oconnor original??? great song
    just realised the show is over and its a for one night only!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,695 ✭✭✭Lisha

Happy summer All :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

Gaybo has a very creepy affection towards this one. It's nauseating.

I guess Brendan's songs are well and truly a thing of the past now.

And if Twink did try to burst into the studio, then the security men did a mighty good job stopping her.

So, sadly, it didn't go out with a bang... :(

(Well, not to us, anyway. No doubt the producers think the opposite - and they probably don't really get Carrie, either. :rolleyes:)

Will the SNS find its way again when it returns in the autumn? We'll just have to wait and see - although given everything that's happened in the last five months (including tonight), I wouldn't get my hopes up too high...

In the meantime, I should think that Saturday Night with Miriam will be back for its tenth series. Will be interesting to see how many dresses she wears this time - she only wore one last year, and that came at the very end... :eek: :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,807 ✭✭✭take everything

Carrie Fisher interview was interesting.
    Real cynical, dry sense of humour (presumably how she deals with her bipolar affective disorder).
    Liked how she describes mania (as many patients do) as bloody great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

Carrie Fisher interview was interesting.
    Real cynical, dry sense of humour (presumably how she deals with her bipolar affective disorder).
    Liked how she describes mania (as many patients do) as bloody great.

I remember hearing Stephen Fry saying the same thing about his bipolar disorder. A lot of people just don't seem to know the difference between manic depression and clinical depression. They seem to lump them into the same category.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,675 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

Missed the show tonight.

Was yer one from The Blues Brothers any good?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,657 ✭✭✭CountyHurler

Just watching back through the show... (and reading back through the thread)..

9 pages???? Is that the best ye could do in my absence..

Really enjoyed listening to George Hook (and looking at Marion Heffernan)... Carrie Fisher was a good laugh as well.. It must be difficult when you walk on to every show for the last forty years and people are expecting the beautiful young woman in the gold bikini...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,321 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

Really enjoyed listening to George Hook (and looking at Marion Heffernan)... Carrie Fisher was a good laugh as well.. It must be difficult when you walk on to every show for the last forty years and people are expecting the beautiful young woman in the gold bikini...

Or your Summer Bay High school uniform.

*sigh*

Oops, sorry...Carrie, not Isla :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,321 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

Is 'Saturday Night With Miriam' back next week then?

Or your Summer Bay High school uniform.
    Oops, sorry...Carrie, not Isla :)

I remember the episode where she walked out of the sea wearing a purple bikini.. The parents had to resuscitate me after that one.

Is 'Saturday Night With Miriam' back next week then?

No.

http://entertainment.ie/tv/display.asp?channelid=&programme=&pn=1&programme_day=07+June+2014

Not too sure when it's back, actually - usually there are a few weeks between the SNS ending and SNWM starting, but there might be more this year because of certain events in Brazil.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

th?id=HN.608028830819090453&pid=15.1

Skid X - Grey so What - Welsh Megaman - County Hurler.

Ha, nice one Lapin.

I had to adjourn for the long weekend, I missed all the fun of the last weekend of the year for the LLSnSNS

Ah well, hope you all had a good time. Don't be strangers until the shows return, support the TV Forum thread over the Summer. There's always something going on :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,347 ✭✭✭LynnGrace

dee_mc wrote: »
    At least he didn't put him in skinny jeans... I'm in a counting my blessings kind of mood :P

I didn't see the Show, but this post is killing me :D

And there's that outdated clip of Piccadilly Circus once again... :rolleyes: ;)

sns-picc-circus.jpg

Your attention to detail is very impressive, GHG ... more than can be said about the SNS

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/travel/article-1357502/Sanyo-sign-Londons-Piccadilly-Square-LED-technology-takes-over.html

No.

http://entertainment.ie/tv/display.asp?channelid=&programme=&pn=1&programme_day=07+June+2014

Not too sure when it's back, actually - usually there are a few weeks between the SNS ending and SNWM starting, but there might be more this year because of certain events in Brazil.

Back on July 5th apparently, a bit later than in previous years
    Hi everyone! Saturday Night with Miriam is back for another season of great guests and music. The show will be on from the 5th July until the 23rd August so watch this space for details about who will be on the show each week. To apply for audience tickets please email saturdaynight@rte.ie

https://www.facebook.com/SaturdayNightWithMiriamRTE?ref=tn_tnmn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 408 ✭✭NormanNicetouch

In the meantime, I should think that Saturday Night with Miriam will be back for its tenth series. Will be interesting to see how many dresses she wears this time - she only wore one last year, and that came at the very end... :eek: :D

I'd be hopeful that Miriam will wear SOCKS with a decent trouser suit as an encouragement to the sock trade in this country which is on its knees.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,520 ✭✭✭dcmm

Knee socks?!:pac: