Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sunshine hits Dublin - The annual skanger scumbag beach invasion begins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,565 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

Only been to Bray a few times but it has more problems going for it than scumbags.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,216 ✭✭✭Looper007

anto9 wrote: »
    DAUGHTER YOU MEAN ?

Yeah sorry, you can be easy going but not too easy going when you're daughter ass cheeks are busting out of a pair of hot pants at 15. add it in with Drunken horny teenage scumbags that screw anything walking you asking for trouble.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,485 ✭✭✭dj jarvis

Jawgap wrote: »
    The irony is that if one of these darlings took a header off the pier, the a Guards would be expected to dive in, and put their lives on the line, to save the skanger.

Plus I wouldn't bother with the dogs, I'd ask France for a couple of CRS squads.....those boys like a good party by the sea.

they would be saving a teenager from drowning , as is their job , among other duty's

So "skangers" should be let drown - really idiotic post

The big problem is the amount of them hanging around together, it such a teenage thing after all no adult every went to pub with 50 of their friends. They have to go everywhere in crowds in case anyone thinks that are a billy no mates and large crowds like that are intimidating no matter how they behave.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,412 ✭✭✭Shakespeare's Sister

When I was 14/15, I made it my mission to dress as sluttily as possible.

Her clothes will cause a horny boy to **** her? Eh, she would have a role to play too. :)
    Sex education and contraceptives would be of more concern than what she is wearing, in my opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,269 ✭✭✭GalwayGuy2

Magaggie wrote: »
    When I was 14/15, I made it my mission to dress as sluttily as possible.

Her clothes will cause a horny boy to **** her? Eh, she would have a role to play too. :)
    Sex education and contraceptives would be of more concern than what she is wearing, in my opinion.

And, judging by the replies here, an age card that says she is underage :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,767 ✭✭✭SterlingArcher

Ugh. Am I the only one that thinks one good no holds barred beat down of these punks will serve as a deterrent for this annual trouble at the beach? Enough is enough. Violence begets violence, but this "police presence" is the essence of insanity. Expecting different results.

I'm sure there are thousands of families that would like a nice day at the beach. But they don't go there anymore. This is the real shame.

I would gladly wade into the pond of scum with a telescopic, like I'm orchestrating a beautiful bloody symphony. And then I would be labeled a monster, me being the bad guy. That's the world we live in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,840 ✭✭✭Calibos

dj jarvis wrote: »
    i dont think you could shoe horn the word Bray into a paragraph any more
    do you work for the Bray tourist board ?

and , sorry , slight exaggeration there bud , i lived in Bray for 10 years , for some of them ON the seafront , and never heard of or seen hundreds of youth
    roaming having "mini riots"
    sure you had bunches of skangers causing trouble , but nothing like what was reported for Sutton and Howth

LOVING the main street BTW , reminds me of Rotterdam , 1941

Snapchat/FB organised location mobbing was not a 'thing' when Bray was the day trip destination of these kids. Combine this with there being more for them to do in Bray back in the day in the form of fairgrounds, amusement arcades, pyromania on Bray Head, as well as the oft mentioned drunken intimidation on the seafront, well they were dispersed enough not to be one big homogenous group but with mini groupings still large enough to intimidate and to give Bray a rep as a place with lots of gangs of roaming skangers. There was one place where they all ended up together eventually though....the Dart Station. As a one-time seafront resident, are you really telling me you never heard of any of the mini riots at the dart station with Brays entire shift of Garda having to escort them onto the trains??

Maybe you are mis-interpreting my posts on the subject. I'm not saying Bray had it worse or better than Howth or Portmarnock, I'm saying that whether the recent event and the 2012/13 versions were non events or overblown, whether or not the complainants are sheltered individuals over reacting to some kids having the craic, the fact remains that it creates a bad impression of the places in the minds of most people rightly or wrongly that can have a deleterious effect on the fortunes of a town, as was the case in Bray for nearly a quarter of a century. It doesn't matter that you or I weren't intimidated by these type of kids or carry on but it very much matters that visitors to Bray on a Sunny weekend thought it was a skanger infested kip, 24/7/365.

As for the main street. It is indeed depressing, plenty of blame should be apportioned to inept local governance. However, like I said either in this thread or one on the Wicklow forum, the impression people have of Bray due in no small part to our historical skanger importation problem (we have enough homegrown ones thank you very much) has affected investment not just on the seafront but the Main Street as well. Investment is flowing on the seafront now after it's effective gentrification and hopefully people's impression of Bray will change and people will see it for the great place to live that it is with all it has to offer and as an investment opportunity. What other town has the kind of amenities we have so close by, has a population of 30,000, is the size of Dun Laoghaire to Dalkey to Cabinteely to Deansgrange and back to Dun Laoghaire with Sallynoggin in the middle all combined and yet has a crime rate that's probably less.

I am just a proud local resident and small business owner who wouldn't live anywhere else if you paid me who is sick of boardsies coming out with tired sh1te like 'Brayruit' etc.

It's pertinent to this thread as a case study of the effect this kind of carry on can have on a towns fortunes and how outsiders/visitors view it.
    steddyeddy wrote: »
    Only been to Bray a few times but it has more problems going for it than scumbags.

No one said it didn't, my thesis so to speak is that the aforementioned imported anti social problems and the impression they gave of the town are partly to blame for a lot of Brays other problems. Even granting all that, I would say Bray has less problems than most towns of its population and geographical size.

Calibos wrote: »
    Snapchat/FB organised location mobbing was not a 'thing' when Bray was the day trip destination of these kids. Combine this with there being more for them to do in Bray back in the day in the form of fairgrounds, amusement arcades, pyromania on Bray Head, as well as the oft mentioned drunken intimidation on the seafront, well they were dispersed enough not to be one big homogenous group but with mini groupings still large enough to intimidate and to give Bray a rep as a place with lots of gangs of roaming skangers. There was one place where they all ended up together eventually though....the Dart Station. As a one-time seafront resident, are you really telling me you never heard of any of the mini riots at the dart station with Brays entire shift of Garda having to escort them onto the trains??

Maybe you are mis-interpreting my posts on the subject. I'm not saying Bray had it worse or better than Howth or Portmarnock, I'm saying that whether the recent event and the 2012/13 versions were non events or overblown, whether or not the complainants are sheltered individuals over reacting to some kids having the craic, the fact remains that it creates a bad impression of the places in the minds of most people rightly or wrongly that can have a deleterious effect on the fortunes of a town, as was the case in Bray for nearly a quarter of a century. It doesn't matter that you or I weren't intimidated by these type of kids or carry on but it very much matters that visitors to Bray on a Sunny weekend thought it was a skanger infested kip, 24/7/365.

As for the main street. It is indeed depressing, plenty of blame should be apportioned to inept local governance. However, like I said either in this thread or one on the Wicklow forum, the impression people have of Bray due in no small part to our historical skanger importation problem (we have enough homegrown ones thank you very much) has affected investment not just on the seafront but the Main Street as well. Investment is flowing on the seafront now after it's effective gentrification and hopefully people's impression of Bray will change and people will see it for the great place to live that it is with all it has to offer and as an investment opportunity. What other town has the kind of amenities we have so close by, has a population of 30,000, is the size of Dun Laoghaire to Dalkey to Cabinteely to Deansgrange and back to Dun Laoghaire with Sallynoggin in the middle all combined and yet has a crime rate that's probably less than Dun Laoghaire alone.

I am just a proud local resident and small business owner who wouldn't live anywhere else if you paid me who is sick of boardsies coming out with tired sh1te like 'Brayruit' etc.

It's pertinent to this thread as a case study of the effect this kind of carry on can have on a towns fortunes and how outsiders/visitors view it.

No one said it didn't, my thesis so to speak is that the aforementioned imported anti social problems and the impression they gave of the town are partly to blame for a lot of Brays other problems. Even granting all that, I would say Bray has less problems than most towns of its population and geographical size.

was hoping you would point that out so i did not have to ,
    i think the tribes from fassaroe , old court , little bray ect ect can match the skangers from Dublin city ctr , and i have found , a LOT more trouble

as for the fights by the dart station , again , the "visitiors" may cause trouble 1 or 2 days a years , but the locals killing each other out side the station and Henry and rose chipper at chucking out time is a site to behold .

parts of bray are truly lovely , really nice Victorian feel to parts of the town , but others have a Dickensian feel to it , i have lived in North innner city Dublin with little or no trouble , and other major European citys with no bother , but Getting the ****e kicked out of you for NO REASON by the locals is a famed pastime in Bray.
    And they are always in gangs the little pr1icks , never the balls to try it alone

Love Bray - pity about a good lot of the inhabitants
    and bray has a bad rep not for skangers , it has a bad rap becasue its falling apart and looks like a kip

dont be blaming the teenagers for that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Lapin wrote: »
    “Just saw a kid steal a phone from 100 other kids in Howth. .."

Come again?

And why is it falling apart? Under investment. And why is it under invested in??......that's my point.

Find my a chipper close to pubs in any small town in the country never mind a large town like Bray that isn't a war zone at chuck out time. Even at that it's once in a blue moon that there is a big mill there. I should know, I live just around the corner.

Find me a town or metropolitan area in the country that doesn't have its versions of Fassaroe or Oldcourt. Even the marina building 'affluent' town of Greystones has its Kindlestown Park iirc.

I've lived here for 40 years in one part of Bray or another, currently near seafront, worked in the bars, worked in shops had friends from little Bray Fassaroe and Oldcourt and have 'somehow miraculously' never needed to throw or parry a punch in my life.

And why is it falling apart? Under investment. And why is it under invested in??......that's my point.

Find my a chipper close to pubs in any small town in the country never mind a large town like Bray that isn't a war zone at chuck out time. Even at that it's once in a blue moon that there is a big mill there. I should know, I live just around the corner.

Find me a town or metropolitan area in the country that doesn't have its versions of Fassaroe or Oldcourt. Even the marina building 'affluent' town of Greystones has its Kindlestown Park iirc.

I've lived here for 40 years in one part of Bray or another, currently near seafront, worked in the bars, worked in shops had friends from little Bray Fassaroe and Oldcourt and have 'somehow miraculously' never needed to throw or parry a punch in my life.

we were not discussing any other town , we were talking about Bray
    im not blind to other towns issues , but the thread was/is about sea side towns having trouble when the sun shines .
    and sorry to say , most of the trouble in that town is down to the locals
    and to your second highlighted point , i never said i threw punches , i was making the point that in my 40 odd years on the planet , i have been randomly attacked in Bray more often than anywhere else combined.

i must be fierce unlucky - like i said i like Bray , always have , but lumping the bad reputation of Bray on visitors is rubbish ,
    do you remember the last time the bray fightival was on the main st? , running battles with the cops, and they were not blow ins , not judging by the court pages of the bray people over the following weeks.

the usual suspects causing the same problems - the same as any town in ireland , but we are talking about Bray

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Really? I know a couple who live right next to Portmarnock beach just across from the entrance and they say (to paraphrase) it's a scum magnate when it's warm and sunny and it is a real issue for them. Are they lying?

It might be real issue for them, they might be spoofing too.

I'm saying that trouble is rare enough, even on sunny days.

But look summer brings out the best and worse in people, it gets the woolie jumpers off the chic's and brings out Dublin's scum but the problem isn't as big here (Portmarnock/Howth) as the media and some on this forum are making out.

I'd a lovely two hours on the beach this morning, spoilt only by some arsehole 'singer' (she sounded like a bag of cats) and her camera crew.

For the few occassions over the last few years when scum kicked off I wouldn't change living out this way or our weather for the world.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

The Indo.
    Tweets for journalistic research.
    'Up to 100' people involved.
    Widespread 'brawling' but no actual arrests

Next.

Jaysus, One major fraca at one festival in 1987. Scraping the barrel there. I'll even acknowlege smaller annual festival Moorehouse melee's that haven't happened in years once the instigators started dying off or got to old for it.

I still don't think you are getting my point. We are no worse and actually better than most similar sized geographical and population areas. I found this handy stats website

http://www.airo.ie/news/airo-crime-mapping-toolkits-irish-times-crime-statistics-ireland

Compared Population figures from 2006 for the regions of SoECoDu I mentioned earlier and Bray
    Compared crime figures for 2011 for Bray and the 3 Garda districts covering the region of SoECoDu. ie Dalkey(Now Closed) Dun Laoghaire and Cabinteely stations.

Population...within 1000
    Total Crime Stat....Bray 2700, SoECoDu 3000.

If you compare the stats of nearly any area of Dublin with Bray you'll get higher crime figures for Bray. If you compare any anecdotal reports from people that have lived in an area of Dublin as well as Bray, Bray will come out worse. However Bray is a very large town and if you actually compare like with like you find we are actually a safer place to live!

So even leaving the visitors out of it people like yourself have a bad impression of Bray based on personal anecdote but where the actual statistics show its a safer town to live in than most. So we're already fighting an uphill struggle against an undeserved bad rep. Now add the bad rep and impressions people have of the town caused over the last 25 years by the influx of skangers nearly every Sunny weekend up till a few years ago. Who wants to invest in a town that everyone seems to think is perpetually skanger infested (Whether Local or Imported) with a worse crime rate than anywhere else. Very Few, thats who. Thats why the place has run down over the last 25 years and thats why we need to get it through to people that we are actually safer than nearly all places our size and population, not more dangerous than nearly all places our size and population.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,220 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

Thanks Captain Serious

...because passing sexual remarks about an underage girl is funny... grow up...
    Looper007 wrote: »
    you got the question the parents for letting any under age girl out dressed like that, they are asking for their doctor to get knocked up by some scumbag.

Yes, where are the parents. Why are the parents not with this girl (and all the rest of the little shíts) 24 hours a day.

Maybe this is not what she went out dressed in? Maybe the parents would be appalled at what she's wearing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,544 ✭✭✭✭Alun

dj jarvis wrote: »
    i was making the point that in my 40 odd years on the planet , i have been randomly attacked in Bray more often than anywhere else combined.
    .. and in my 57 years in 4 different countries on this planet I have never once been randomly attacked at all, ever, even in Bray.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 425 ✭✭shroom007

and yet we still have to have discussions and referendum about abortion when clearly it should be mandatory for some sections of our society for now on or tipping point will be reached and there will be more of these cockroaches than not, but first water cannon into the water and let them take there chances or they can f*ckin walk home and the pneumonia will do us all a favour

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,219 ✭✭✭pablo128

Compared crime figures for 2011 for Bray and the 3 Garda districts covering the region of SoECoDu. ie Dalkey(Now Closed) Dun Laoghaire and Cabinteely stations.

Population...within 1000
    Total Crime Stat....Bray 2700, SoECoDu 3000.

If you compare the stats of nearly any area of Dublin with Bray you'll get higher crime figures for Bray. If you compare any anecdotal reports from people that have lived in an area of Dublin as well as Bray, Bray will come out worse. However Bray is a very large town and if you actually compare like with like you find we are actually a safer place to live!
    You do know Bray is in Wicklow?

Alun wrote: »
    .. and in my 57 years in 4 different countries on this planet I have never once been randomly attacked at all, ever, even in Bray.

good for you , i was , how does you not being randomly attacked in Bray change what and where i was ?

people just want to ignore i have said 3 time i like and would live in Bray no problem , but face facts , its far from the visitors causing most the problem

remember , the reason for the thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,679 ✭✭✭hidinginthebush

It might be real issue for them, they might be spoofing too.

I'm saying that trouble is rare enough, even on sunny days.

But look summer brings out the best and worse in people, it gets the woolie jumpers off the chic's and brings out Dublin's scum but the problem isn't as big here (Portmarnock/Howth) as the media and some on this forum are making out.

I'd a lovely two hours on the beach this morning, spoilt only by some arsehole 'singer' (she sounded like a bag of cats) and her camera crew.

For the few occassions over the last few years when scum kicked off I wouldn't change living out this way or our weather for the world.

Sums it up perfectly. Even all the videos of the "riots" last year was just a bunch of drunk kids chucking stuff at each other. I seem to remember reports of the "riots" in the news ffs. Really not a big bother, traffic is a bit of a pain, you decline to buy a few people cans, that's about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,878 ✭✭✭arse..biscuits

...because passing sexual remarks about an underage girl is funny... grow up...

Yes, where are the parents. Why are the parents not with this girl (and all the rest of the little shíts) 24 hours a day.

Maybe this is not what she went out dressed in? Maybe the parents would be appalled at what she's wearing.

I feel sorry for you. Try to smile and laugh now and again, it's good for you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,372 ✭✭✭LorMal

shroom007 wrote: »
    and yet we still have to have discussions and referendum about abortion when clearly it should be mandatory for some sections of our society for now on or tipping point will be reached and there will be more of these cockroaches than not, but first water cannon into the water and let them take there chances or they can f*ckin walk home and the pneumonia will do us all a favour

That's close to 'the Final Solution' - might want to tone it down a bit there Shroom.

LorMal wrote: »
    That's close to 'the Final Solution' - might want to tone it down a bit there Shroom.

Really give it 10yrs a thousand more skanks spat out ,this level of irish society are a disease and it only gonna get worse.

whats your solution a pat on the arse and a "run along you little scamp" from they senile middle class judge who listens and buys the ole poverty defence

water cannon the bastids into the irish sea job done,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 424 ✭✭SimonLynch

Karl Stein wrote: »
    In a complimentary way. It probably wouldn't be taken as a compliment anywhere else in the world but Ireland but there you go.

I'd give you a thanks if you weren't a cyclist :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,372 ✭✭✭LorMal

shroom007 wrote: »
    Really give it 10yrs a thousand more skanks spat out ,this level of irish society are a disease and it only gonna get worse.

whats your solution a pat on the arse and a "run along you little scamp" from they senile middle class judge who listens and buys the ole poverty defence

water cannon the bastids into the irish sea job done,

I hope you can see that just because I disagree with your intemperate posturing does not automatically mean that I condone this antisocial behaviour.
    However, we cannot call for indiscriminate violence (or indeed mass sterilization) toward any section of our society without (at best) mirroring those we are condemning in the first instance.

LorMal wrote: »
    I hope you can see that just because I disagree with your intemperate posturing does not automatically mean that I condone this antisocial behaviour.
    However, we cannot call for indiscriminate violence (or indeed mass sterilization) toward any section of our society without (at best) mirroring those we are condemning in the first instance.

well if you can give me any good reason why someone who has produced a pile of appalling little ****s should be free to continue to spit out even more I'd like to hear it

Thankfully the morale highground is so far above the streets where decent members of society have to live in the Sh*t their wonderful neighbors vomit out every day. from low end not giving a sh*t about the places they live to serious criminal behavior ,bullying intimidation and all or mostly at the expense of the taxpay,"Because their worth it"

if they chose not to give a sh*t about the society they live in why should they expect to seek its protection

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,481 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

bumper234 wrote: »
    I never suggested that they should do that, but when scrotes do start acting like they did in Howth and Portmarnock then the guards shouldn't hesitate to move in and take whatever appropriate action needed.
    they all ready do

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,481 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

Am I the only one that thinks one good no holds barred beat down of these punks will serve as a deterrent for this annual trouble at the beach?

no, but your wrong if you think it will serve as a deterrent, it won't
    I would gladly wade into the pond of scum with a telescopic, like I'm orchestrating a beautiful bloody symphony. And then I would be labeled a monster, me being the bad guy.

good for you, the guards use batons a good bit, if its justified then they don't have a problem and should be fine, if its not then they will be dealt with and rightly so

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,070 ✭✭✭Birroc

I'd go further and suggest nuking Dublin.

It often looks like it has been nuked already.