Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sunshine hits Dublin - The annual skanger scumbag beach invasion begins.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,871 ✭✭✭rolliepoley

The youth of the eighties and nineties giving out about the youth of the today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,565 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

The youth of the eighties and nineties giving out about the youth of the today.

More like a bunch of sheltered individuals sh1tting themselves whenever they see someone in a tracksuit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,256 ✭✭✭c0rk3r

I was on the pier yesterday. You only ever hear of the negative stories. After finishing some cycling intervals around howth hill I cycled the length of the pier to bring my heart rate down + there's great views there. There were gangs of teens sitting around doing nothing in particular. I cycled passed one group and heard a lad say to another, "the size of the legs on that cúnt".

I couldn't believe it ! i was absolutely delighted. You never really receive complements like that from strangers. In cycle terms my legs aren't really that big but still, chuffed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,780 ✭✭✭Frank Lee Midere

AlekSmart wrote: »
    Came across this video of The Pendennis Cup,sailing event at Falmouth Cornwall featuring a flying display by The Red Arrows..

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-wiRHL4BqyQ

However what struck me was the numbers and composure of the audience...same sand,same sea,same sky,same sun.....somewhat different behavioural pattern....why ?

That's true of most Irish events too. A sunny day is not an event though. It's just a sunny day.

Jawgap wrote: »
    You're right they don't, but they can, for instance, boycott the business in question and / or object to their liquour licence when it comes up for renewal.

The business selling alcohol that fuels (it doesn't 'cause') this behaviour is making a profit at the expense of the rest of community who are deprived access to the amenity.

No supermarket or convience store sells beer on the harbours side in howth probably for this reason. The nearest is the centra which is up a hill, a fair walk from the Dart. In other words this has already been done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,840 ✭✭✭Calibos

AlekSmart wrote: »
    Came across this video of The Pendennis Cup,sailing event at Falmouth Cornwall featuring a flying display by The Red Arrows..

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-wiRHL4BqyQ

However what struck me was the numbers and composure of the audience...same sand,same sea,same sky,same sun.....somewhat different behavioural pattern....why ?

Not sure what your point is? Its not the number of people attending or where, its the demographic thats attending that makes the difference.

Heres some vids of the 2013 Bray Air Show. Now that the Dublin skanger contingent are keeping their tourist euros in county Dublin, the vibe on a Sunny weekend in Bray would be magnitudes closer to the airshow vibe than the old days or the current vibe on a sunny weekend in Howth and Portmarnock. ie. families enjoying a day out as opposed to gangs of feral drunken skangers intimidating others.

steddyeddy wrote: »
    Seriously people need to sort out their attitudes towards different socio economic classes. We need to drive down education barriers based on socio economic distinctions to end thinking like this.

I know plenty of complete and utter scumbags who come from well off backgrounds. Plenty who start fights with other rugby heads every weekend and plenty in UCD who get locked every week and destroy peoples property week in week out. The ag society in UCD (mostly the sons of farmers) have destroyed hotels, pubs and estates around the Belfield/clonskeagh with zero respect for the people living there. Only a few years ago the pub The Goat was completely destroyed by the well off self entitled scum.

Anyway for all we know the children were from Howth. We have no evidence as to where they hail from only prejudice.

If they were from howth surely this would happen in the winter? All year around?

Yes people do forgive students too much, and yesterday's shenanigans were over hyped but you can't really escape the class realities of the situation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,296 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

More like a bunch of sheltered individuals sh1tting themselves whenever they see someone in a tracksuit.

Not really, I coach an U17 rugby team, so I spend a few days week with lads bigger than me in track suits trying to put me on my arse.....

.......and it's not just the youths, if you go down to the beach here later on this evening, you'll see used nappies, empty beer bottles and cans, discarded food, etc.

This despite Meath Co Co putting out dozens of 55 gal drums as bins. They'll have a crew there early in the morning to pick up all this sh1te while the Tidy Towns go around and pick up the litter in the town and re-plant the flower beds and boxes, except the ones that have been p1$$ed in, they throw the contents out! steam clean them and replant. And this despite toilets being available within about 50 metres of the beach.......

....I've done some silly things as a kid, but I never used a public flower bed as a urinal, and when I was older I brought the nappies from the kids home, instead of expecting some else to pick up after me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,213 ✭✭✭✭therecklessone

c0rk3r wrote: »
    I was on the pier yesterday. You only ever hear of the negative stories. After finishing some cycling intervals around howth hill I cycled the length of the pier to bring my heart rate down + there's great views there. There were gangs of teens sitting around doing nothing in particular. I cycled passed one group and heard a lad say to another, "the size of the legs on that cúnt".

I couldn't believe it ! i was absolutely delighted. You never really receive complements like that from strangers. In cycle terms my legs aren't really that big but still, chuffed.

He called you a cúnt but.

If they were from howth surely this would happen in the winter? All year around?

Yes people do forgive students too much too, and yesterday's shenanigans were over hyped but you can't really escape the class realities of the situation.

We don't know. It could be howth kids or it might not be I certainly have no reason to think their parents are on the dole.

The class realities of the situation extend only as far as the prejudice people aim at those born into poorer backgrounds.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

In a complimentary way. It probably wouldn't be taken as a compliment anywhere else in the world but Ireland but there you go.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,700 ✭✭✭tricky D

No supermarket or convience store sells beer on the harbours side in howth probably for this reason. The nearest is the centra which is up a hill, a fair walk from the Dart. In other words this has already been done.
    Correct. The notion they tried to profit is absurd seeing as they were robbed, obviously. And now they have to waste money on bouncers for the door again.
    Anyway for all we know the children were from Howth. We have no evidence as to where they hail from only prejudice.

I was down in the area of the station for a while and saw most the crap going on at the harbour after that, and precisely none were from Howth. Pretty much all of them arrived by DART. Your contention that they were not from Howth based on prejudice is pure rubbish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,586 ✭✭✭sock puppet

Nah definitely not from Howth. I was also on the Dart with around 100 of them. They got on at lots of different places, seemed to be a lot at Clonsilla, Coolmine and Broombridge. Then more at Connolly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 230 ✭✭robz150

Its a term of endearment in certain societies :D

tricky D wrote: »
    Correct. The notion they tried to profit is absurd seeing as they were robbed, obviously. And now they have to waste money on bouncers for the door again.

I was down in the area of the station for a while and saw most the crap going on at the harbour after that, and precisely none were from Howth. Pretty much all of them arrived by DART. Your contention that they were not from Howth based on prejudice is pure rubbish.

Actually my contention is we don't know where they were from and we certainly don't know that their parents are on the dole.

Nah definitely not from Howth. I was also on the Dart with around 100 of them. They got on at lots of different places, seemed to be a lot at Clonsilla, Coolmine and Broombridge. Then more at Connolly.

Well that's all the science I need!

Assuming that these kid's parents were on the dole is prejudice guys.

Assuming the dole is a bit yeah. However Dublin has very definable class accents. I don't believe these were middle class kids, but I also think the threat was exaggerated.

Well we agree then to a certain extent. I was born and raised in a council house and was educated to a level higher than most people. If you're wondering where the chip on peoples shoulder about those from well off backgrounds comes look no further than this thread. It comes from the assumption that social class is linked to educational aspiration, ambition in life parents on dole ect.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 94,516 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

kowloon wrote: »
    The heat would melt the nuke before it got there, we'll have to wait until next winter when the sun has cooled down.
    Even then you'd probably have to go at night

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,852 ✭✭✭satguy

I think most of the Bankers that robbed the country, and most of the accountants that help rich get away with paying no tax, live in Howth.

These scum need to be rounded up,,,

satguy wrote: »
    I think most of the Bankers that robbed the country, and most of the accountants that help rich get away with paying no tax, live in Howth.

Naw they mostly live on Dublin's south side. Howth isn't that rich, not on the Northern village end anyway. And people living up the hill would drive in via Sutton. They wouldn't have noticed anything yesterday. It's day trippers, tourists, and cyclists ( like myself) who run into this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,336 ✭✭✭wendell borton

The mods and the rockers kicking off again?

Well in fairness to them, they took some pride in themselves and listened to decent music.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,287 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

satguy wrote: »

These kind of garbage posts should be an insta-ban by now.

"Rabble rabble burn de bond holders!"

Shut up, you tiresome gimps.

These kind of garbage posts should be an insta-ban by now.

"Rabble rabble burn de bond holders!"

Shut up, you tiresome gimps.

As my post earlier stated you're going to get backlash if you keep discriminating against those born into lower levels of wealth ie they're all on the dole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,989 ✭✭✭kravmaga

Irish Times and Indo have cover this story also.

http://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/public-order-unit-on-alert-at-dublin-coastal-spots-1.1816812

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/schoolgirl-tells-of-being-punched-kicked-and-bitten-in-howth-attack-30320093.html

Myself and the girlfriend cycled out to Howth yesterday and witnessed the large numbers of teenagers arriving off the DART and then walk to the pier, they had cases of beer bottles, cans already with them.

When we rang Howth Garda station 3 times to report things getting out of hand when the youths arrived at the pier, "No Answer each time" :eek:

Very intimidating for tourists to witness large group of teenagers shouting, screaming and public drunkeness , play fighting etc.

Could not believe there were no arrests made under s.6 Public Order Criminal Justice Act 1994.

Gardai were seriously out numbered, we only saw 1x Public order Ford transit van, 2x marked units , 1x un-marked unit at the pier.

Also surprised to see no Garda dog units deployed as I would estimate in access of 350/ 400 youths on the pier.

Needless to say we departed Howth asap.

Sad to see scum being allowed to take over a public amenity.

AGS need more pro-active Policing instead of re-active Policing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,992 ✭✭✭Mongfinder General

kravmaga wrote: »
    Irish Times have an article on this also.

http://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/public-order-unit-on-alert-at-dublin-coastal-spots-1.1816812

Myself and the girlfriend cycled out to Howth yesterday and witnessed the large numbers of teenagers arriving off the DART and then walk to the pier, they had cases of beer bottles, cans already with them.

When we rang Howth Garda station 3 times to report things getting out of hand when the youths arrived at the pier, "No Answer each time" :eek:

Very intimidating for tourists to witness large group of teenagers shouting, screaming and public drunkeness , play fighting etc.

Very surprised no arrests made under s.6 Public Order Criminal Justice Act 1994.

Gardai were seriously out numbered, we only saw 1x Public order Ford transit van, 2x marked units , 1x un-marked unit at the pier.

Also surprised to see no dog units deployed as I would estimate 350/ 400 youths on the pier.

Needless to say we departed Howth asap.

Sad to see scum being allowed to take over a public amenity.

Release the hounds!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Same every year. Only seems to be certain beaches easily accessible from the shanty towns that attract them like flies on sh!t year in year out once the big yellow thing in the sky appears.

Forecast for sunshine should be good news for people living at the beach. Sadly in places like Portmarnock and Howth they dread it for good reason.

Oh btw the drinks industry have a lot of blame to take here as well.

We don't.

Its actually a rare occurance, mostly we're left to enjoy our beaches, promenades and harbour.

Just like everyone else I love the summer months and sunny days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,250 ✭✭✭✭bumper234

Release the hounds!

Too ****ing right, never a better sight to see than some loud mouthed scumbag crying for his mammy as a German Shepherd clamps onto his calf muscle and starts to shake. Pepper spray followed by K9 units and a liberal swing of the baton next time these knackers are up to this crap and that would be the end of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,154 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

bumper234 wrote: »
    Too ****ing right, never a better sight to see than some loud mouthed scumbag crying for his mammy as a German Shepherd clamps onto his calf muscle and starts to shake. Pepper spray followed by K9 units and a liberal swing of the baton next time these knackers are up to this crap and that would be the end of it.

And every single Garda involved, their management, and probably the dogs, would find themselves up in the High Court quicker than you can say Civil Liberties.

Sadly.