Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

BSM Draft League - Possible New GW

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

I'd say at the very earliest the beginning of the final round tbh.

Going to be interested to see who people go after for their 10 non-drafted picks tbh. Will there be bidding wars, battles. Will be straight up cash fights too, so do people blow their budgets to get a player? How far will they go at the risk of not being able to fill the rest of their squad with anything but kids :S

And who'll be the one idiot who accidently buys someone who was drafted :pac:

Messi is mine.

:P

Come on Governor!

/Said in ye old English accent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,029 ✭✭✭Maldjd23

Do we start with empty squads and have to buy the players we have drafted? Then use whatever is left from the 300 million to fill our squads?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

Maldjd23 wrote: »
    Do we start with empty squads and have to buy the players we have drafted? Then use whatever is left from the 300 million to fill our squads?

pretty much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,917 ✭✭✭✭GT_TDI_150

Guys,

I think if anyone reading this / involved in this GW commits to try and be online tonight we might get the picks completed ...

Personally I'll be online from 21:00 onwards, or once the little fella is gone asleep, which ever comes first.

And sure there's footy on the tele :D, eventhough that normally slows down the traffic here a fair bit :(

I'll be online and watching the match :)

Are we putting a time limit on this? Whatever about 10 or 12 hours but when it starts hitting 24+ we need to move on...

Anyone message The Governor?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭swoody

maybe he has his reasons but i noticed he was on around lunchtime today and he was on at 17:00. he's logged into SM as well today.

He might not realise it's his pick. I'll pm him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 949 ✭✭✭The Governor

Apologies didn't even realize it was my pick, thought there was a load of lads before me :(

Cheers for the PM Seaneh and Ctl alt del

Send Colemania a message there and give him a heads up it's his turn.

It was between Dzeko and another but couldn't risk being left with only one decent striker, just hope it's worth the risk and I still get the other lad

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,792 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

Plesntly surprised at how many people are obviously planning long term with their picks...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,721 ✭✭✭✭ctrl-alt-delete

On phone,

EB wants Coleman and Masherano if still available,

Can someone check and post please.

Plesntly surprised at how many people are obviously planning long term with their picks...

I haven't really but I don't mind, hopefully add youth when the bidding wars begin :) My squad isn't old but wouldn't be too young either. I've 2 picks left, one I'm almost guaranteed so hopefully get them both and I'll be happy. As I said before, I tried to get good players that cover a lot of positions and pretty happy the way it has gone so far! Bar De Rossi :P

Done and his and my picks done, back to Colemania.

Volland was the player I really wanted, held my nerve waiting till now but couldn't risk it any longer :)

Well, ****. EB choosing my next two picks...

And yeah Kersplat, I'd agree there. I'll be drawing up a list of 88s and 89s, though won't be getting into bidding wars. Will happily go after people others aren't :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 315 ✭✭jukebox2310

Good pace lads. Lets try get this finished tonight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭swoody

Good pace lads. Lets try get this finished tonight

i have budweiser on drip so i might delay this plan.

13picks and Im all done :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 315 ✭✭jukebox2310

Looks like the chance of getting the picks done tonight is down the toilet.....

With the RL match over, can we get the pick moving? .....

GT_TDI_150 wrote: »
    With the RL match over, can we get the pick moving? .....

I mailed him so hopefully he's on soon

Can we just pm people as we go?

I did and do on most picks that take some time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,244 ✭✭✭circadian

Seaneh wrote: »
    Can we just pm people as we go?

I'm getting live updates on the thread, I'm sure others are too. I'd agree a wee PM wouldn't go amiss when it lingers for a while.

circadian wrote: »
    I'm getting live updates on the thread, I'm sure others are too. I'd agree a wee PM wouldn't go amiss when it lingers for a while.

You're up!! :)

circadian wrote: »

those updates arent working .... you're next :)

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 8,579 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wilberto

This is just a hunch now but I don't think it's going to get to me tonight!! :P :pac:

All I need now though is a friend for Neymar up front, and there's quite a few of them still available!

This is getting ridiculous, he was on when it was his turn.

Thankfully only 16 signed up for the league :p

Picked Firmino. PM'd TSC.

All 3 AMs can cover all 3 AM positions :D
    Migniolet(90)

J. Cuardrado(91) -- E. Garay(91) -- Kompany(94) -- L. Shaw(88)

Thiago(91) -- ??

R. Firmino(90) -- E.Hazard(93) -- A.Griezmann(91)

Lukaku(90)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 639 ✭✭✭gerp99

Sirigu

Piszczek Godin David Luiz Moreno

Busquets Hamsik ???????

Suarez Falcao Nasri

One player left and I will be looking good!!! :D

The more I look the more ****e my team looks :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 639 ✭✭✭gerp99

Cant be arsed with youth so I'm just going for the highest rated team possible :P

3 more picks and I'm up again ... and then my first 11 will be built!

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 8,579 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wilberto

gerp99 wrote: »
    Cant be arsed with youth so I'm just going for the highest rated team possible :P

I always go for youth. It's my thing. FIFA, Pro Evo, Championship Manager, you name it, I'll always invariably aim for the younger less talented players.

Not that I have time to play any of those games any more though, unfortunately!!

Wilberto wrote: »
    I always go for youth. It's my thing. FIFA, Pro Evo, Championship Manager, you name it, I'll always invariably aim for the younger less talented players.

Not that I have time to play any of those games any more though, unfortunately!!

Soccermanager taking over or mod duties getting too much? :pac:

Might try FM again. Used to love it but it seems way over complicated now!

Lads,

Im bailing out for the night ...

I have a few players in mind for my final pick but need to see what gets picked before me ....

I'll try keep an eye on the thread tomorrow to ensure I dont leave to big a wait ...

KERSPLAT! wrote: »
    Soccermanager taking over or mod duties getting too much? :pac:

Might try FM again. Used to love it but it seems way over complicated now!

There was a recent thread in the FM forum saying the same thing. The guy wanted to go back to the simple enough games of old and not the ridiculously complex ones they're making now. So I made this suggestion to him:
    Wilberto wrote: »
    It sounds to me like champman0102.co.uk is your best bet. Championship manager 01/02 is now free to download (either there or from Eidos themselves as it's "officially" a free download). They also offer patches and data packs so you can update the database to the latest squads etc., and it's all free.

I actually downloaded this myself, and updated the database with the most recent packs, but I just had to delete it not long after (again) because it just consumes your evenings and weekends!

I'm sure I must have installed, and deleted it about four or five times now. It's currently off my laptop now but not even God himself knows how long for!!

Just installed Football Manager Handheld :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,072 ✭✭✭12gauge dave

Ye will kill me lads but ive decided to leave the game soccermanager in general. I was planning on waiting on for a season in this new gameworld but ive just lost interest big time.
    I know it makes things akward with the draft and that but im sure youll find someone to replace me. Apologies and goodbye to all

Ye will kill me lads but ive decided to leave the game soccermanager in general. I was planning on waiting on for a season in this new gameworld but ive just lost interest big time.
    I know it makes things akward with the draft and that but im sure youll find someone to replace me. Apologies and goodbye to all

Pitty to see you go!

Are you sure you wont give this GW a try, afterall that is some arsenal based team you have built up there.

Failing the above, ctrl-alt-delete, I think modo(not his exact username - but I think he posted in the drafts thread) expressed and interest a few days back in getting in on this gig. Might be worth contacting him?

If whoever comes can get in to make the last pick and maybe let them review the 10 previous picks when all 11 rounds have completed?

If 12gaugedave does not have a change of heart then we can see if anyone wants to take his team as is.

Shame to see you leave, and bad timing for the rest of us, but if you have lost interest it is understandable.

If we cannot find a replacement I think the only option is to put the players back in the pool but not to be drafted, and I will have to put the club in as unmanaged.

Serious lack of right backs left. Picking now...

I am just ignoring the issue, fcuk defence,

I've gone with Barkley.

Only need a wide attacking mid now, and there is dozens left :P

Going to start up my list of other players I wanna bid on now :D

I've struggled with this pick for a while and have kept putting it back in the hope that some of my preferences would be gone and I would be forced to take a particular pick ...

As it turns out, 2 South Americans I was contemplating are still there, 3 Europeans, 2 Africans and 1 Asian are all still there...

And when I cant decide, I have to go back to my roots and go Belgian, which leaves a pick of 2 and one fella(ini) didnt set the world on fire this season so I pick ... A. Witsel

THIS CONCLUDES THE AC MILAN DRAFT PICKS :cool:
    Migniolet(90)

J. Cuardrado(91) -- E. Garay(91) -- Kompany(94) -- L. Shaw(88)

A.Thiago(91) -- A. Witsel(91)

R. Firmino(90) -- E.Hazard(93) -- A.Griezmann(91)

Lukaku(90)

Looks like I'll be availing of the 25% discount on 6 of my 11 picks,
    leaving 5 ( A. Griezmann, J. Cuardrado, L. Shaw, R. Firmino, A. Witsel) at full cost.

I would like the organizer and the uptaking managers below, especially those at clubs where my players would have ended up. :)
    -- Manager -- | -- Team -- | My Picks | Cont'd.
    |
    | --- | --- |
    1. KERSPLAT! | Arsenal | |
    2. Maldjd23 | Liverpool | Migniolet |
    3. Wilberto | SL Benfica | E. Garay |
    4. swoody | Manchester City | V. Kompany |
    5. Seaneh | Chelsea | E. Hazard | R. Lukaku
    6. Colemania | Atletico Madrid | |
    7. 12gauge_dave | Bayern Munich | A. Thiago |
    8. TheGunns | Real Madrid | |
    9. gerp99 | Borussia Dortmund | |
    10. The Governor | Barcelona | |