Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

The Snapper

• 07-06-2014 1:05am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 440 ✭✭

Just watched "The Snapper". I find it great. Them times, Jaaaysss.. I put a kettle on..

It was all grand.

Discuss.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 59 ✭✭BeatlesFan1992

Sharonnnnnn

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,454 ✭✭✭Blondie919

No thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

George bleeding burges!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 440 ✭✭Pawn

burges!
    Haunts me now...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,593 ✭✭✭theteal

Give the auld teeth a brush

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Sky King

I find it great.
    It was A1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Proletarian fetish porn from lower middle class teacher.

Discuss.

anncoates wrote: »
    porn
    Me gusta.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

Best line in it is dezzy says t Sharon
    "A Spanish sailor? He could've been a Pakistani postman for all you know!"

Best line in it is dezzy says t Sharon
    "A Spanish sailor? He could've been a Pakistani postman for all you know!"

Laughed at that one alright

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,405 ✭✭✭Lone Stone

Kilbaray for the winay

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,206 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

The Snapper -
    Classic Irish comedy but sadly something that hasn't aged well :p

hasn't aged well :p

No gay, no Africans... No success I guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 880 ✭✭✭crybaby

The Snapper -
    Classic Irish comedy but sadly something that hasn't aged well :p

Really? Still seemed hilarious last time I stuck it on

crybaby wrote: »

First time I saw it tonite, I thought it was great. The real Irish.

• Registered Users Posts: 4 OffalyHead

Pawn wrote: »
    Just watched "The Snapper". I find it great. Them times, Jaaaysss.. I put a kettle on..

It was all grand.

Discuss.

Classic Irish comedy! I loved it before, and still do. A hilarious portrayal of the Ireland that was :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

• Registered Users Posts: 11 SawTroll

Good Girl Sharon

Karl Stein wrote: »
    Great cover version.
    Makes me want to go back to the early 90's

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Get off the road you dosy bollix.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 740 ✭✭✭Alf. A. Male

I only realised quite recently that Georgie Burgess and Pat Mustard are the same man.

I only realised
    .. that up the Pole is now racist :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭demanufactured

Are you alright Sharon?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

Two pages and still no mention of big baby/small for a turkey though

What is wrong with you people? :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,821 ✭✭✭fussyonion

Saw it for the first time recently. Didn't find it funny. Found the scenes with Sharon and her friends in the pub really corny.

The Van is funnier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,821 ✭✭✭fussyonion

ProudDUB wrote: »
    Two pages and still no mention of big baby/small for a turkey though

What is wrong with you people? :eek:

IS THA' A TURKEY OR A BABY!

fussyonion wrote: »
    Didn't find it funny
    Hello Mr. Burgess...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,206 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

crybaby wrote: »

Well... it's an Irish comedy movie. So the humor will always be there and that hasn't dated :)

It's just Dublin has changed. To be fair to the movie it's 21 years old so what can you expect :pac: But it's just the little things that make you go 'geez i remember that!' you know?

- The shot of Sharon coming out of Easons O'Connel street (you'd hardly know it lol)
    - Chipper Vans outside pubs.
    - even the old garda car :pac:
    - payphones.
    - The shot where Colm Meaney drives sharon to hospital and you see town.
    - I could go on... :)

Like The Snapper (visually) captured Dublin so well. Down to the little things :p But as I say... it's 21 years old.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

what if its a girl and it looks like mr burgess?
    oh ****e, i guess we'l have t smother it and leave it on his step.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 212 ✭✭DainBramage

Colm Meaney:

gives Darren new bike for birthday present:

'Throw your leg over that whaa'....Eh sorry Sharon'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Discuss.
    This just puts me right off this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 212 ✭✭DainBramage

Well... it's an Irish comedy movie. So the humor will always be there and that hasn't dated :)

It's just Dublin has changed. To be fair to the movie it's 21 years old so what can you expect :pac: But it's just the little things that make you go 'geez i remember that!' you know?

- The shot of Sharon coming out of Easons O'Connel street (you'd hardly know it lol)
    - payphones.

Like The Snapper (visually) captured Dublin so well. Down to the little things :p But as I say... it's 21 years old.

one thing that used to irk me about many irish made or based films was using outdated garda/cars and uniforms even up to mid 2000's

• Closed Accounts Posts: 642 ✭✭✭Bafucin

It was all grand.

Discuss.

The Snapper , The Van and The commitments....side splitting !

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,180 ✭✭✭Sunglasses Ron

- payphones.

All of this ;) I love late 80's early 90's Irish stuff, there's something that is just a great flashback, be it the locations, the clothes (old tracksuits, people wearing Opel branded Ireland jerseys), those s'hithole new estate pubs that feature in Roddy Doyle films before they all got renovated (still a few with the dank about I'm sure) the type of tellys we all had before widescreen became popular about 14 years ago (only got ours in 2003 or so), old motors (particularly ambulances, the old green Dublin buses, and cop cars), the furniture and decor in the houses, all of that.

I was watching a Roddy Doyle 3 part drama called Family not too long ago on Youtube. The storyline itself wasn't particularly great (wasn't awful like, but just had no real continuity to it), I just found the reminiscing value of it far more entertaining :pac: (the wife doing her shopping in Crazy Prices, I'd forgotten about them ;))

• Registered Users Posts: 2,247 ✭✭✭pauldla

"You cried during the World Cup!"
    "Sober, Sharon, sober. Drunk doesn't count."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,641 ✭✭✭paconnors

Dessie and Kay in the sitting room

Dessie: I suppose a roide is out of the question?

Kay: Hang on till i get this line done

Dessie: Are yeh serious?

Kay: I suppose so

Dessie: ****in Great, Its not even dark yet. Your not messin' now?

Kay: No just let me finish this.

Dessie: I'll Brush me teeth

Kay: That'll be nice

• Registered Users Posts: 1,885 ✭✭✭Optimalprimerib

Every line by colm meaney was gold.

"Poor little bastard will saw the bollox off himself"

• Registered Users Posts: 123 ✭✭40now

Every line by colm meaney was gold.

"Poor little bastard will saw the bollox off himself"

Ha ha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Hey OP, do you know what you do to your thread?

snip, snip!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

The films were gas ok but reading the trilogy,The commitments The van The snapper had me laughing out loud :-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,428 ✭✭✭.jacksparrow.

Oh baby it's a Georgey birdy!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Arthur Beesley

anncoates wrote: »
    Proletarian fetish porn from lower middle class teacher.

Discuss.

What do you wish to discuss? Your being a snob?

• Registered Users Posts: 313 ✭✭Shoelaces

Whats the point in guns if they dont give ya jaysus bullets?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,816 ✭✭✭Relikk

Wrong me bollix... ME BOLLIX!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,790 ✭✭✭maguic24

It was all grand.

Discuss.

That film gives me the heebeejeebies. Georgie Burgess, what a creep.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 306 ✭✭SweetChaos

"Do you know its a shock..

Whats that Kay?

To be married to someone for 20 years and suddenly discovering he's a pr1ck

It will be a long tome before someone gets a bit of gratitude in this house!"

"Im pedro the sailor man toot toot"

(its been a while since I saw this film so I might have got the quotes a bit @rseways)

Love love love this film

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,272 ✭✭✭✭Standard Toaster

Did ye not see me there, over by the vegetables.....

• Registered Users Posts: 27 DirtyLeeds14

I am, as the old song goes, "torn between two lovers"

P.S. The paper is my sisters.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,428 ✭✭✭.jacksparrow.

There's ten pounds, go buy yourself some sweets....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,413 ✭✭✭✭salmocab

will I make you some sandwiches?
    its the hospital we're going to not the ****ing pine forest