Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kids arrested for mouthing at Gardai (video)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,666 ✭✭✭pookiesboo

What a bunch of pussies. They're only putting handcuffs on them but with ''Josh" narrating it you'd swear they were getting the same treatment as the kids in Sleepers.
    Scarleh for em.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,293 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Hootanany wrote: »
    No just dont like there bullying are you a Guard?

You know well i'm not.
    I do however know when they're right as well as wrong so unlike you i'm not always on their case.
    In this case they are right. These young lads needed to be corrected.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,347 ✭✭✭No Pants

steddyeddy wrote: »
    the most hate filled, violent and expletive posts.
    You missed out on homophobic, xenophobic and racist for the full house. Shame.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭conorhal

gandalf wrote: »
    LOL what did they expect. Guards well within their rights to arrest them. The lad in blue shorts got arrested not only because he mouthed off, he got arrested because he was physically pushing a Guard and trying to stop him do his job.

Indeed, the degree to which some poeple think it's acceptable to interfere with the Guards doing their job is bizzare, can you imagine trying physically push around a cop in the states? Even putting a hand on him would earn you batton in the head and a face full of pepper spray.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Hootanany

You know well i'm not.
    I do however know when they're right as well as wrong so unlike you i'm not always on their case.
    In this case they are right. These young lads needed to be corrected.

I give credit where credit is due just have not seen anything in that vid to earn it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 798 ✭✭✭Midnight Sundance

It just shows you the respect some young people have towards authority today!
    A good clip round the ear for these lads should have been given a long time ago!!
    How they think it's ok to interfere with a Garda at work is beyond me!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,124 ✭✭✭joe swanson

Guards seemed to do a decent job there. Don't see what the fuss is about. Leave out the claims of Garda brutality for when its warranted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,293 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Hootanany wrote: »
    I give credit where credit is due just have not seen anything in that vid to earn it.

That's my point. You never do.
    It seems like garda = enemy to you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 990 ✭✭✭timetogo

The kids had loads of opportunity to walk away. FFS this is Ireland, they'll be taken to a Garda station, given a cup of tea and probably be out in an hour. It's not an episode of COPS.
    The Gard didn't mind being filmed, didn't seem to be particularly heavy handed and only arrested the guys after they were asked repeatedly to step away.
    I'm not sure why Joshs mate put the video on the internet. Didn't make him look particularly tough or smart.
    I'm sure the sore hand guy is at home by now and the only injury he has is his hand which he injured by punching a gate apparently. Another Mensa candidate there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 358 ✭✭WellThen?

steddyeddy wrote: »
    Jesus. It was just mentioned that the lad hadn't got an ideal upbringing. People in those circumstances are trying to survive despite the crappy hand life has given them. They didn't just decide one day they are going to waste people's time. It takes years of counselling and positive life events to turn around a kids life.

He IS wasting peoples time, regardless of how or when he decided to do it. This crappy upbringing does not excuse anything. He has been offered help, what else do you want. So if he bottled you in the face would you be okay with it because of his "difficult upbringing"? Doubt it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Hootanany

That's my point. You never do.
    It seems like garda = enemy to you.

That kind of answers the question

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 354 ✭✭pO1Neil

dmc17 wrote: »
    They should get their arses kicked for them to teach them to have some respect!

Yeah that's exactly what we need. A more authoritarian totalitarian regime.

McDermotX wrote: »
    Nice.......give em a few smacks for me.

Then hopefully they can give you a few smacks afterwards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,415 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

Ahoy Ahoy wrote: »
    Don't think they were that heavy handed at all. The young fellas were in the wrong....might teach them a lesson.
    the guardai are not in the business of "teaching people a lesson" they are in the business of enforcing the law and thats it, same as the courts, teaching people a lesson doesn't even come into it

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

conorhal wrote: »
    Indeed, the degree to which some poeple think it's acceptable to interfere with the Guards doing their job is bizzare, can you imagine trying physically push around a cop in the states? Even putting a hand on him would earn you batton in the head and a face full of pepper spray.

no, it would earn you being beaten to death and lies told, all though isn't that only reserved for homeless people? no the riffraff cops in sespit murika is something i'm glad we don't have thank you very much

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,987 ✭✭✭mikeym

Bloody hooligans.

I blame the parents.

pO1Neil wrote: »
    Yeah that's exactly what we need. A more authoritarian totalitarian regime.
    and which will teach them more disrespect, it would be laughable really if people weren't serious but they are in the belief that violence will make people respect someone

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 603 ✭✭✭Yellowblackbird

the guardai are not in the business of "teaching people a lesson" they are in the business of enforcing the law and thats it, same as the courts, teaching people a lesson doesn't even come into it

Man made laws are an extension of Natural Law. Sometimes in life the best thing that any of us might need is a kick up the hole. You will see it throughout nature and it is a self regulating mechanism for the universe to right it self.
    Things go wrong when we act against nature and allow actions without consequences, no distinction of right and wrong and no codes, rules or law.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,698 ✭✭✭Kat1170

mad muffin wrote: »
    Ladies and gentlemen. I present to you, our future dead gang member car jacker.

FYP

Man made laws are an extension of Natural Law. Sometimes in life the best thing that any of us might need is a kick up the hole. You will see it throughout nature and it is a self regulating mechanism for the universe to right it self.
    Things go wrong when we act against nature and allow actions without consequences, no distinction of right and wrong and no codes, rules or law.

a load of non-sensical nonsense, the law was enforced, kicking someone does not teach them respect, you either respect in the first place or you don't, if you don't then nothing is going to make you

and which will teach them more disrespect, it would be laughable really if people weren't serious but they are in the belief that violence will make people respect someone

I taught the sarcasm was a given in that one. Scarily enough a lot of people do seem to hold a lot of far right extremist views in this stqte.

So whats a good age to start beating people? 8, 6, 2, a couple of months? You psychopaths make me sick.

a load of non-sensical nonsense, the law was enforced, kicking someone does not teach them respect, you either respect in the first place or you don't, if you don't then nothing is going to make you

you re not trying to teach respect. you neefd to teach constraint, self discipline, work ethic and right and wrong. do gooders like you molly coddling these kids youre not helping them youre harming them. because of you and your kind thrse kids will grow up to be lay about, lazy, sponging parasites who have just enough energy to demand their rights and their social welfare.
    a kick up the hole and get some young lad to make something of himself. live a life he might be proud of at the end of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,564 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

you re not trying to teach respect. you neefd to teach constraint, self discipline, work ethic and right and wrong. do gooders like you molly coddling these kids youre not helping them youre harming them. because of you and your kind thrse kids will grow up to be lay about, lazy, sponging parasites who have just enough energy to demand their rights and their social welfare.
    a kick up the hole and get some young lad to make something of himself. live a life he might be proud of at the end of it.

I go to college with kids like you describe. When should I start beating them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,655 ✭✭✭✭McDermotX

Then hopefully they can give you a few smacks afterwards.

Does your hand still hurt ?

McDermotX wrote: »
    Does your hand still hurt ?

Why would my hand hurt? I'm not the one who wants to go around beating young kids like your pal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,291 ✭✭✭Simply Red

I really enjoyed that, little scumbags, well done to the guards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

Do you espouse the same philosophy for adult Gardai who behave like dicks? Yes or no?

Simply Red wrote: »
    I really enjoyed that, little scumbags, well done to the guards

You would have loved this place called Russia when it was run by a bloke called Stalin. Guards beating & killing people all the time over there.

I really hope the people fantasising about hurting kids aren't allowed have them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,696 ✭✭✭Jonny7

You would have loved this place called Russia when it was run by a bloke called Stalin. Guards beating & killing people all the time over there.

Yes because Ireland is comparable to Stalinist Russia during the 50's..

This is one incident - the Guards deal with these incidents day in day out. They face endless abuse, assaults and attacks - and it's getting worse

It's not necessarily linked to crime either - it's linked more to social attitudes, new generations that have absolutely no respect for the police, for other people, for anyone else's property

Few have any genuine sympathy for these kids, you can see that from the first page of this thread.

Do you espouse the same philosophy for adult Gardai who behave like dicks? Yes or no?

yes.

Jonny7 wrote: »
    Yes because Ireland is comparable to Stalinist Russia during the 50's..

This is one incident - the Guards deal with these incidents day in day out. They face endless abuse, assaults and attacks - and it's getting worse

It's not necessarily linked to crime either - it's linked more to social attitudes, new generations that have absolutely no respect for the police, for other people, for anyone else's property

Few have any genuine sympathy for these kids, you can see that from the first page of this thread.

No it's not, that's why he would have loved the USSR instead of moderate Ireland were beatings & killings are to rare for
    his liking.

And what I can tell from the first page is that this thread was going to contain a load of of far right drivel & it hasn't disappointed.

do gooders like you

don't exist, just a mythical bunch for the rabel rabel types like yourself to get angry at and blame for the fact your fantasies of a violent totalitarian state can't be a reality
    molly coddling these kids youre not helping them youre harming them.

i'm not because i'm not molly coddling anyone, run along now
    because of you and your kind thrse kids will grow up to be lay about, lazy, sponging parasites who have just enough energy to demand their rights and their social welfare.

LOL. no, not because of me, we tried your way it failed, i can at least admit my way is far from perfect but it has a better chance of working then the old failed ways which you subscribe to. oh and by the way when one mentions bull**** such as "do gooders, PC brigade" and so on it invalidates their point

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,428 ✭✭✭.jacksparrow.

You call that a beating, Lord.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,428 ✭✭✭.jacksparrow.

don't exist, just a mythical bunch for the rabel rabel types like yourself to get angry at and blame for the fact your fantasies of a violent totalitarian state can't be a reality

i'm not because i'm not molly coddling anyone, run along now

LOL. no, not because of me, we tried your way it failed, i can at least admit my way is far from perfect but it has a better chance of working then the old failed ways which you subscribe to. oh and by the way when one mentions bull**** such as "do gooders, PC brigade" and so on it invalidates their point

It doesn't really, it hammers the point home quite well.

Didnt see any beating or killing in that video

It doesn't really, it hammers the point home quite well.

You think "do gooders" are a problem? I.e. we should get rid of social workers ect.

And what I can tell from the first page is that this thread was going to contain a load of of far right drivel & it hasn't disappointed.

I don't have any problem with how the Gards handled the kids in that video, and it's clear the majority in this thread don't either

If the fringe who hate authority/cops and those that think these kids should be beaten half to death want to argue in the tail end of the thread.. well that;s the norm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

watched the video a few times and honestly fail to see the gardai involved doing anything wrong, can some one explain to me with time references on the video?

Didnt see any beating or killing in that video

You obviously didn't see any of the posts that were calling for more beatings & for the police to be given more extreme authority to deal with people.

Jonny7 wrote: »
    I don't have any problem with how the Gards handled the kids in that video, and it's clear the majority in this thread don't either

If the fringe who hate authority/cops and those that think these kids should be beaten half to death want to argue in the tail end of the thread.. well that;s the norm

I haven't made any comments about this video & have no complaints about this video in particular except the guard could have had a slight bit of more cop on.

It's the the extremists on here who think giving people a good hiding well solve all the problems. If you want to go ahead & get rid of democracy then go ahead & implement but don't come crying on here when the new Irish KGB or SS come to your door & blow your wife's brains out for criticizing the government.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭catallus

I [..]

It's the the extremists on here who think giving people a good hiding well solve all the problems. If you want to go ahead & get rid of democracy then go ahead & implement but don't come crying on here when the new Irish KGB or SS come to your door & blow your wife's brains out for criticizing the government.

If you think that the discretionary use of force by police in the reasonable chastisement of criminals leads to such scenarios then I might suggest that it is you who is the extremist.

I can understand your thinking, but only insofar as one cannot differentiate between the violence of the policeman and that of the criminal.

You obviously didn't see any of the posts that were calling for more beatings & for the police to be given more extreme authority to deal with people.
    Why dont you quote those posts then? :confused:
    All i see in this video is 2 scumbags being rightfully arrested for verbally abusing 2 guards while trying to do their job, nobody deserves to be spoken to like that while trying to do their job. Comparing that to stalin, riiiight

Well, just comes across as pot kettle black with analogies like that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39 Mark Oxford

Why dont you quote those posts then? :confused:
    All i see in this video is 2 scumbags being rightfully arrested for verbally abusing 2 guards while trying to do their job, nobody deserves to be spoken to like that while trying to do their job. Comparing that to stalin, riiiight

That's what almost everybody sees,apart from the wind up merchants here trying to stir things up.

Don't give them oxygen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,418 ✭✭✭JimiTime

Hellrazer wrote: »
    Its gas reading the comments here about this bunch of lads when I know one of them personally.
    Im involved with a charity in the area-a foster home for teenagers and the lad at the end is from that home. I give these lads work experience and if they work out I try get them into a full time job.My record so far isn't too bad...one lad is almost finished his apprenticeship and then this lad ****s up.
    The young lad in the blue shorts had the opportunity of a lifetime when he was offered an apprenticeship with us about 6 months ago.
    He was a great kid and deserved a chance and I tried to give him that chance. Unfortunately he fell in with a bad crowd from the area and tries to be the hard man around them when in reality hes the nicest kid you could meet and not at all like that whens hes not around these other lads.

Seeing him in that video has almost brought me to tears as I really really tried with him to sort his crap out.

So please stop judging people when you know nothing about them.I can only speak for this lad who I know well and he really doesn't deserve half the criticism aimed at him.Hes had a really bad upbringing living in homes for most of his life. Its really unfair to judge him without knowing anything about him.

Firstly, let me extend a very sincere thank you for being one of the people trying to make a genuine difference to society and trying to be a positive influence.
    However, I must also disagree with your premise of 'he's the nicest......' etc. Its this premise that see's people who commit crimes back onto the streets to reoffend and make victims of people who do not deserve it. Whatever the reasons people commit criminal acts, it matters not to the victims.
    I was in court recently watching a case of a woman who was caught shoplifting, she was HIV positive and also had Hep C. She shouted at the security guard all kinds of abuse, then she said I'm going to give you aids and Hep C and started to bite, scratch and spit at him. Then as the Gardaí took her away she laughed at the security guard 'My job is done, ha ha, you have aids and hep c, ha ha'. She got a 2 year suspended sentance after it was argues that 'She was actually very nice when she wasn't on drink or drugs' etc. During this suspended sentance, she attacked a post office clerk with a syringe, and also a taxi man. The argument was made in court again about her being fine when she's not on drugs etc, and that she had a child she was trying to get clean for etc. The fact is, we as a society should try our best to prevent the circumstances that can lead to child neglect etc. However, we cannot excuse people from their crimes because of their upbringing when their crimes make victims of innocent members of society.
    It may seem like judgmentalism to you what people say about these guys, but its actually quite a telling indicator of a persons path, when you see such disrespect of police officers. If they are like that with the law, how mech less will they respect an ordinary citizen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Foxhound38 wrote: »
    What do ye make of this?

He should be jailed for recording it Portrait

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,193 ✭✭✭Mark Tapley

You get the usual knee jerk halfwits on all these threads. Calling for draconian laws whilst revelling in their retribution fantasies.
    They should head over to the thread about the dead car jacker there's a party going on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Hellrazer wrote: »
    Its gas reading the comments here about this bunch of lads when I know one of them personally.
    Im involved with a charity in the area-a foster home for teenagers and the lad at the end is from that home. I give these lads work experience and if they work out I try get them into a full time job.My record so far isn't too bad...one lad is almost finished his apprenticeship and then this lad ****s up.
    The young lad in the blue shorts had the opportunity of a lifetime when he was offered an apprenticeship with us about 6 months ago.
    He was a great kid and deserved a chance and I tried to give him that chance. Unfortunately he fell in with a bad crowd from the area and tries to be the hard man around them when in reality hes the nicest kid you could meet and not at all like that whens hes not around these other lads.

Seeing him in that video has almost brought me to tears as I really really tried with him to sort his crap out.

So please stop judging people when you know nothing about them.I can only speak for this lad who I know well and he really doesn't deserve half the criticism aimed at him.Hes had a really bad upbringing living in homes for most of his life. Its really unfair to judge him without knowing anything about him.
    With all do respect to yourself, there is far too much forgiveness in society for the sake of forgiveness. Blame the video games blame the drugs blame the friends just don't ever blame the perpetrator.

I have my own friends in life, who have been raped, carried to term, and are the nicest most innocent seeming people you'll ever meet. Real sweet. But, they also then choose to hang out around drugs and alcohol, get DUI's, tweet about their coke habit, post videos and pictures of them beating up "their best friend" for sleeping with your ex boyfriend and - I could enumerate this for a while. I can point and say her company are a pack of fcuking idiots but at the same time thats the newsletter she wishes to subscribe to. So whose fault is that?