Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

2014 After Hours World Cup oh my god i can't wait for a month of football thread.

• 07-06-2014 6:17pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭

The World Cup starts in 5 days time.

Will you be watching?

Will you be giving out about the soaps not being shown at their usual times?

Is football the scourge of the English?

Are we all barstooling ****?

Who'll have the best looking supporters this time round?

Will Uncle Woy's lions not even make it from the group stages?

Will Ronaldo or Messi finally do it(durty) on the big stage?

Will Luis Suarez continue to be a rascist cannibalistic cheat?

Will Ze Germans win again.

Can Brazil win on home soil or will Spain continue to pass the ball 49485 times per game?

Will Wayne Rooney kick someone in the face?

No Roy Keane on ITV, do you care?

Who will have the best looking fans this time round?

Have you put any bets on?

Will Belgium be the dark horses?

ITV, BBC or Bill and the lads?

Who ate all the pies?

Is LizT the greatest mod ever?

This thread and all the other soccerball tournament threads are for the lighter side of the game. If you have access to the soccer forum then thats the place for discussing the offside rule.

Football. 481 votes

Go.On.My.Son
    0%
    Boooooooooo
    74%
    Dotsie~tmpSandSpearBigConondaflybanquofolanBacchusPherekydesBadly Drunk BoyAgent Smithrainbow kirbyStringthe_barfly1MyPeopleDrankTheSoupkeano_afcUnearthlyPlayboy[Deleted User]Zombienosh 357 votes
    We love GAAAAAAAAAA
    12%
    the_sycoSpeargeniePherekydes[Deleted User]the_barfly1[Deleted User]bikonicowaGhostInTheRuinstoddunctiousCaptain ChaosGaladrielronnie3585SpannerMonkeyRawrIwasfrozenJudgement DayG_RBonavox 60 votes
    LizT.
    13%
    SpearPherekydesBadly Drunk Boythe_barfly1squrmelefantbikochubba1984GrudaireNailzemeraldstarJesus WeptGAAmanGhostInTheRuinsTeebor15thee glitzCorcaigh84DeedsieWormking2002iDave 64 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Is Trevor ever getting up?

Will Dad ever get the garden cut?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,795 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

Boooooooooo
    Hoping Uruguay will grab a third world cup.

Also needed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭Schwiiing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,357 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

That was liquid football.

He's got a foot like a traction engine.

Boof!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,374 ✭✭✭Hotale.com

Boooooooooo
    Super-Rush wrote: »
    Will Wayne Rooney kick someone in the face?

The real Face Kicker?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,269 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

I'll be doing my best to avoid the over-paid primadonnas tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

LizT.
    Sleepy wrote: »
    I'll be doing my best to avoid the over-paid primadonnas tbh.

Yet you found your way into a thread dedicated to them?, not going so well is it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭Lucifer MorningStar

Boooooooooo

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 603 ✭✭✭Yellowblackbird

Also, who will have the best looking fans this time around?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭Lucifer MorningStar

Boooooooooo

Everyone but England

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭Schwiiing

Sweden aren't in it this year so it's all to play for. My money's on the Brazilians.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,374 ✭✭✭Hotale.com

Boooooooooo
    Schwiiing wrote: »
    Sweden aren't in it this year so it's all to play for. My money's on the Brazilians.

The Ghanaians, no question about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Boooooooooo
    FCUK THE BRITS

MUFCTID

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,089 ✭✭✭✭LizT

Yes but you're still on the list for forgetting to PM me :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

Am off Thursday, Friday and maybe Saturday. Looking forward to it, found someone at work who is interested in the game. :) All times below are BST. Zee Germans to win it out.

Group A
    Thursday June 12, 21.00 Brazil V Croatia

Group A
    Friday June 13, 17.00 Mexico V Cameroon
    Group B
    20.00 Spain V Netherlands
    23.00 Chile V Australia

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭Lyaiera

I wonder if we'll see many people trying to walk it in?

Boooooooooo
    Everyone but England

:(

Come on England!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭Chucken

LizT.
    Is Trevor ever getting up?

Will Dad ever get the garden cut?

Never in a month of Sundays!
    And that goes for the football too.
    Though, my absolutely brilliant fool proof way of picking the finalists should make me very rich.

Or at least a tenner up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

I'll be doing everything I can to avoid it, whilst simultaneously telling everybody that I'm avoiding it, and also glorying in my feigned lack of footballing knowledge.

Best of luck to Trap and the Lads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,889 ✭✭✭✭The Moldy Gowl

Boooooooooo
    Go sports team.

Sports harder than the other team.

Score the tries.

Boooooooooo
    Are we doing a sweepstake?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

LizT.
    Once it doesnt have this again :mad:

LizT.
    Are we doing a sweepstake?

Oh! What would the prize be?

Boooooooooo
    Chucken wrote: »
    Oh! What would the prize be?

One of SeaField's vuvuzelas!

LizT.
    One of SeaField's vuvuzelas!

I have one already :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

LizT.
    Chucken wrote: »
    I have one already :)

Well keep it to yourself :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,005 ✭✭✭✭Toto Wolfcastle

Kick that soccer ball!

Can't wait.

LizT.
    SeaFields wrote: »
    Well keep it to yourself :mad:

:( Ok. I was going to give it you as a present :P

LizT.
    Kick that soccer ball!

Can't wait.

I have no words to describe how I feel about that song :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 445 ✭✭rwg

Anyone But United

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Boooooooooo
    COM ON ENGLAND!! Till they get knocked out in the group stages, then...
    COM ON URUGUAY!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

I have put 100e on England to win it, or get at least to the semi final. Chucky Ar lar .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

A walrus is half fish half elephant.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭iDave

LizT.
    Cannot wait

Boooooooooo
    I'm probably gonna "out" my old username here but anyone who frequented the 2012 olympic megathread will know we had our own competition going on. Just for fun and to let everyone have a few teams to root for.

Trying to work out how we could have something similar here. So far, I have thought of 5 randomly chosen countries and points are added/stay the same/deducted for wins/draws/loses.

Anyone else (if interested) have any thoughts how we could do it? I don't mind keeping tallies and wotnot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,448 ✭✭✭crockholm

Is the official mascot an armadildo or something

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,191 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

LizT.
    I expect Eamon Dunphy will be banging on about the beautiful game while Italy and Uruguay hack each other to pieces.

LizT.
    I just hope the girl from Ipanema features...

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 26,403 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peregrine

We love GAAAAAAAAAA

She's alright :pac:

LizT.
    Will you be watching? Some games

Will you be giving out about the soaps not being shown at their usual times? Never ever watch soaps

Is football the scourge of the English? No. The Irish are the scourge of the English.

Who'll have the best looking supporters this time round? Brazil, obviously.

Will Uncle Woy's lions not even make it from the group stages? Yes.

Will Ronaldo or Messi finally do it(durty) on the big stage? Yes.

Will Luis Suarez continue to be a rascist cannibalistic cheat? Yes.

Will Ze Germans win again. No.

Can Brazil win on home soil or will Spain continue to pass the ball 49485 times per game? Yes to both.

Will Wayne Rooney kick someone in the face? Yes. (Himself)

No Roy Keane on ITV, do you care? Never watch ITV.

Who will have the best looking fans this time round? Argentina. (I thought we addressed this?)

Have you put any bets on? €350 on Costa Rica

Will Belgium be the dark horses? Yes, along with the African entries.

ITV, BBC or Bill and the lads? Yes.

Who ate all the pies? LizT

Is LizT the greatest mod ever? Yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,012 ✭✭✭uch

Barstooling wangers ;););)

21/25

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,898 ✭✭✭✭Ken.

After seeing the video made by the Chilean miners I'll follow their progress.
    Turn on captions for English subtitles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,089 ✭✭✭✭LizT

I don't like pies :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Boooooooooo
    I'm probably gonna "out" my old username here but anyone who frequented the 2012 olympic megathread will know we had our own competition going on. Just for fun and to let everyone have a few teams to root for.

Ah yes ;)

I did shít in that Olympic competition :pac:

You could get people to pick the finalists, winners, top scoring team, top goalscoring player, worst team in competition, total goals, total red cards and award points for each selection they get right

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

Boooooooooo
    bill o'herihilly will be retiring after this WC so savour each moment he's on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Ah the World Cup. The Quadrennial sporting festival where Irish football fans obsess themselves about the English football team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Boooooooooo
    Ah the World Cup. The Quadrennial sporting festival where Irish football fans obsess themselves about the English football team.

I'm more interested in Germany tbh.....tho the England group should have some cracking games in it given they are drawn with italy and Uruguay.....so if having a keen interest is the same as 'obsess' then yes, I am obsessed with the English football team

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

GOoooooooo Team

LizT.

Only to the point of watching them get beaten by Costa Rica. :D

Boooooooooo
    kfallon wrote: »
    Ah yes ;)

I did shít in that Olympic competition :pac:

You could get people to pick the finalists, winners, top scoring team, top goalscoring player, worst team in competition, total goals, total red cards and award points for each selection they get right

Hello *waves* long time no see :D

It could be just me and you doing this as no one else has expressed any interest. I'm liking your idea but how about, instead of picking the finalist, we choose the teams that get to quarter finals? Award points for getting to quarters, then semis, then final, then winner? Also have posters choose their winning team, worst team, goals, etc? It should keep more people in the running.

What do ya think?