Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

World Cup 2014 - as seen on TV (commentary, pundits, adverts, the whole shebang)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,009 ✭✭✭kronsington

Lads is there anywhere I can watch après match online? Im over in Canada and the coverage is absolutely awful

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,294 ✭✭✭LiamoSail

smurfs5 wrote: »
    Bit unfair IMO. He made some good points but that was lost in the monotone and robotic delivery. 400 complaints is outrageous - do people really have nothing better to do with their time ?

Id agree that people actually making complaints is unfair, but the issue is fair game. As a co-commentator he was abysmal. Perhaps he'd be better as a panelist where he's answering mundane questions as oppose to keeping the commentary flowing. Thrown in at the deep end no doubt

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Italy v Engand 14.4m average viewing on BBC1, the biggest audience for any programme this year and after 11 pm!

• Registered Users Posts: 777 ✭✭✭Pdoghue

Just flicked over to TV3, and the papers are saying Jimmy Magee is accusing RTE of ageism over their decision to not include him in their WC coverage.

McGee is a ****ing relic, things are superannuated enough as it stands. The game moves far too quickly for for Jimmy to follow. Actually it was already too speedy about 20 years ago, the guy has been coasting for decades. Memory man BS.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,456 ✭✭✭wonga77

Harsh but true, couldnt listen to him commentating

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,091 ✭✭✭trashcan

Some phrases I'd like to see banned from commentary/punditry:

"Two banks of four"

"shoulder of the last defender"

"living off/feeding off scraps"

Anyone got any more ?

• Registered Users Posts: 777 ✭✭✭Pdoghue

"there's no reason why ...."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,909 ✭✭✭Neeson

"Guile"

"Merit"

"Consummate ease"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭YFlyer

Pdoghue wrote: »
    Just flicked over to TV3, and the papers are saying Jimmy Magee is accusing RTE of ageism over their decision to not include him in their WC coverage.

He is differ class.

Put in a shift
    Do the hard yards
    Give it 110%

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,115 ✭✭✭Boom__Boom

Pdoghue wrote: »

Billo is 75 and Giles 73.

Pull the other one Jimmy.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,402 ✭✭✭Tinie

Henry loves to big up the MLS.

Give it up thierry, your fooling no one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Snake Plisken

I like Jim Beglin in co-commentator but would like to see him do some of the main matches with George.

Boom__Boom wrote: »
    Billo is 75 and Giles 73.

Pull the other one Jimmy.

That may prove that age is not a factor, but it also proves that merit isn't either

Loving klinsmann's yank/german accent

wonga77 wrote: »
    Loving klinsmann's yank/german accent

Kilnsmann: They're a damn good team, they know how to grind you

I think Shteve McClaren's copyright has been grossly infringed

LiamoSail wrote: »
    That may prove that age is not a factor, but it also proves that merit isn't either

I agree about the merit aspect.

Just the notion of RTE being ageist, especially when you compare the average ages of the various presenters in RTE to say ITV and BBC.

Basically Jimmy has the common RTE attitude of I should have a job for as long as I want no matter how old I am. He's 80 at his next birthday ffs.

Only 80 are you sure? I was certain he was closer to 100, he's around since time began

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,405 ✭✭✭Lightbulb Sun

I like Jim Beglin in co-commentator but would like to see him do some of the main matches with George.

I think Jim is in Dublin, George is in Brazil.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,288 ✭✭✭mickmackey1

I thought Brad Friedel was meant to be on the RTE panel this year? He's not on for the ghana-USA match :(. Was looking forward to him.

Ya strange one, was being trumpeted on the radio last week after they'd signed him up :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,919 ✭✭✭simongurnick

Lads is there anywhere I can watch après match online? Im over in Canada and the coverage is absolutely awful

Craig Forrest just not cutting it man! I feel your pain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,259 ✭✭✭✭flazio

I think Jim is in Dublin, George is in Brazil.
    True but the tournament is still young. As I said over on another thread maybe we should be telling RTÉ on twitter and Facebook that we'd like George and Jim to take us through the knock out stages and the finals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,156 ✭✭✭DubDani

LiamoSail wrote: »
    Kilnsmann: They're a damn good team, they know how to grind you

I think Shteve McClaren's copyright has been grossly infringed

He is married to an American, and has been living in the US since he retired as a player.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,753 ✭✭✭comongethappy

Ya strange one, was being trumpeted on the radio last week after they'd signed him up :confused:

He's been working on BBC radio.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60,928 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

I wish Kenny and Eamon would just stay quiet and let Didi talk!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,652 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

God I love Eamo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,758 ✭✭✭Strongbow10

Kenny is getting his knickers in a twist, I agree with Dunphy (hell must have frozen over)

Kenny utterly refusing to be impressed by Eamo's praise of the ref........[official confirmation he still has the hump from a few minutes ago]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

Bill just asked the panel if they thought the Mexican Referee was a "Homer" ... in a game between Belgium and Algeria played in Brazil. :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,819 ✭✭✭liam7831

Cringe Q & A session by Billo, jeez like the panel aint 7 years old. Eg Q. Which team in the world cup would you like to be in & why

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,652 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

Kenny is tad embarrassing himself

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,861 ✭✭✭fuzzydunlop85

Kenny utterly refusing to be impressed by Eamo's praise of the ref........[official confirmation he still has the hump from a few minutes ago]

Ha kenny gonna lose the rag completely with dunphy before this World Cup is out!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

liam7831 wrote: »
    Cringe Q & A session by Billo, jeez like the panel aint 7 years old. Eg Q. Which team in the world cup would you like to be in & why

Kenny would like to play for England to get to play with all that great young talent.

He must have hit Eamos stash before he came on.

Ha kenny gonna lose the rag completely with dunphy before this World Cup is out!

pretty sure he rolled his eyes at Eamo's answer to the what team he'd like to play with question.

Kenny and Eamo Diva fight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,909 ✭✭✭Neeson

Kenny wants to play behind the great talents of Sturridge and Sterling to look at their arses.

Gombeen.

Eamo says black - Kenny says white.

Something accross the camera there???

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,861 ✭✭✭fuzzydunlop85

Lol Kenny would disagree with Dunphy if he said the sky was blue. Kicking off again over Ashley Cole, love it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,198 ✭✭✭buckfasterer

I think Dunphy must have pissed in Kennys tea or something, he won't even look at him and is having a go at both him and Didi!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,951 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Something accross the camera there???

Some fella waving - "Nooo Bill, Do the competition first!"

• Registered Users Posts: 14,193 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

Kenny would want to lighten up a bit

Big serious head on him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 836 ✭✭✭fruvai

Didi - "If Baines gets suspended or injured,who would you rather have playing - Ashley Cole or Ashley Cole?"

Bill is an awful presenter :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,819 ✭✭✭liam7831

Neeson wrote: »
    Kenny wants to play behind the great talents of Sturridge and Sterling to look at their arses.

Gombeen.

Really, you know something we don't??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,951 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Whoops!! "We're on air??" :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,733 ✭✭✭SlipperyPeople

hahahhaha Eamonn with a couple of F-bombs

Car-Crash !!!

Dunphy drops a "f.u.c.k.ing"

We're not on air are we??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,677 ✭✭✭Aenaes

trashcan wrote: »
    Some phrases I'd like to see banned from commentary/punditry:

"Two banks of four"

"shoulder of the last defender"

"living off/feeding off scraps"

Anyone got any more ?

X player is looking lethargic out there. It's a phrase that seems to have been introduced on MOTD, dug in like an Alabama tick and now gets mentioned every week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,357 ✭✭✭papu

Oh dear Eamon .. Twice as well ..
    Will that be the end now please

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,231 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Pissing myself laughing at Dunphy :pac:

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,021 ✭✭✭FourFourRED

What happened there? Only caught the end where Dunphy said "we're not on air are we?"