Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

World Cup 2014 - as seen on TV (commentary, pundits, adverts, the whole shebang)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 913 ✭✭✭MacBizzle

Zico wrote: »
    At least that was a joke.

He's just said "The Dutch almost always qualify"

The opposite is actually true.

They've qualified for 6 of the last 7 world cups... :confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,416 ✭✭✭Zico

MacBizzle wrote: »
    They've qualified for 6 of the last 7 world cups... :confused:

8 of the last 17. (I saw Northern Ireland at more Worlds Cup than them when I was growing up.)

The Dutch are notorious for failing to qualify for World Cups! Beglin is just throwing out a cliche without even thinking about who he's applying it to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

Ardilles sounds like someone from those Pablo Picante ads you hear on the radio.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,193 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

Bill has got the three old lads on the ropes here,

Classic Bill,start a row and laugh away :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,066 ✭✭✭Washington Irving

8 of the last 17. (I saw Northern Ireland at more Worlds Cup than them when I was growing up.)

The Dutch are notorious for failing to qualify for World Cups! Beglin is just throwing out a cliche without even thinking about who he's applying it to.

Qualifying for six of the last seven World Cups is far more relevant than their record pre-1990. Had Beglin come out with that twenty years ago you might have had a valid point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,664 ✭✭✭dirkmeister

Have to say Giles is right, if Holland want to dish out the heavy stuff then they better be prepared to get it back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Paddy Viera likening Cahills foul to Roy Keane with Martin O.Neill in the next chair!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 978 ✭✭✭Fudge You

Great watching. Ossie is right for the right reasons. But Giles and Brady are right for the wrong reasons.

I love south park references!

• Registered Users Posts: 12,219 ✭✭✭✭Pro. F

Bill has got the three old lads on the ropes here,

Classic Bill,start a row and laugh away :D

That argument was a good way to pass the break. Well played all round.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

You've got to be winding us up.

Holland have a better record than almost any European team in World Cup Qualification in recent years. Even better than Northern Ireland :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,416 ✭✭✭Zico

Skid X wrote: »
    You've got to be winding us up.

Holland have a better record than almost any European team in World Cup Qualification in recent years. Even better than Northern Ireland :rolleyes:

In recent years? The World Cup is held every four years. :D

Australia nearly always qualify for the World Cup in recent years.

Bill is getting great mileage out of Ossie, the lads are bouncing off each other very well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Thus far I think the BBC output has pissed all over ITV. Even as a Utd fan I wouldn't be Rio's biggest fan but I think he has been a solid addition. Even Linekar doesn't seem to be annoying me as much as usual.

The only downside is the persistence with Shearer. They guy is a cliche machine and wrecks my head.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

Eamo must have got the day off, wonder why :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,553 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

nuxxx wrote: »
    Eamo must have got the day off, wonder why :)

Its his day off he said this morning on Ray D'Arcy. Also said jokingly that he was 'getting jarred' today! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,748 ✭✭✭✭Lovely Bloke

Jokingly?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,753 ✭✭✭comongethappy

According to Rio Ferdinand on the BBC, Alexi Sanchez is a complete "frwet"

• Registered Users Posts: 777 ✭✭✭Pdoghue

All that build-up on RTE and no discussion of the dropping of Xavi as far as I heard.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

Peter Collins still hasn't realised the music is purposely turned off.

Like a battle of who is the coolest on BBC,Seedorf,Rio and Henry

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Rio??? Cool... Snoop dog wannabe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,189 ✭✭✭jojofizzio

Like seriously...what is Ossie saying??Subtitles seriously wouldn't go astray...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,189 ✭✭✭jojofizzio

My sight might not be the best but I feel like im developing glaucoma looking at that fuzzy-round-the-edges RTE set..

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,231 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Great stuff from RTE :)

10441433_10152571136624203_8409911760473258182_n.jpg

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,909 ✭✭✭Neeson

Ossie - Iniesta is 26. He has his full career ahead of him.

Neeson wrote: »
    Ossie - Iniesta is 26. He has his full career ahead of him.

Ya Giles then looks at Brady :confused:

"I think he is more then 26"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

He's bald!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,330 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

The rte lads are making the same mistake all night claiming Spain are the first defending champions to go out at this stage since France in 2002. What about Italy in 2010 lads?

jojofizzio wrote: »
    Like seriously...what is Ossie saying??Subtitles seriously wouldn't go astray...

I have no idea why he is contracted as a panelist on an English speaking channel. His diction is laughable and you would be lucky to understand 1 word in 5 of his output. The same applies to Fabio Cannavaro on ITV.

It simply isn't good enough that they get a soft ride because they are legends of the game. They are panelists on English speaking channels despite seemingly having a barely basic grasp of the language. When you are having to strain yourself to understand what a panelist is saying than surely the game is up?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,115 ✭✭✭Boom__Boom

Aidric wrote: »
    I have no idea why he is contracted as a panelist on an English speaking channel. His diction is laughable and you would be lucky to understand 1 word in 5 of his output. The same applies to Fabio Cannavaro on ITV.

It simply isn't good enough that they get a soft ride because they are legends of the game. They are panelists on English speaking channels despite seemingly having a barely basic grasp of the language. When you are having to strain yourself to understand what a panelist is saying than surely the game is up?

Rio on the BBC, too.

Ossie's last game

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,292 ✭✭✭GreNoLi

HAha, fair play Ossie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,081 ✭✭✭peabutler

Noooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo not Ossie :'(

"Best player never to play in the World Cup, Ossie?"

"Has to be Eamon Dunphy, Bill" :D

Good man Ossie, a nice way to sign off.

I enjoyed his contributions.

• Registered Users Posts: 777 ✭✭✭Pdoghue

Bill: Who is the best player never to play at the World Cup:
    Ossie: Eamon Dunphy

Classic Ossie!!

His last game on RTE - he will be missed. I think he has been a very insightful analyst.

I think Ossie was wrong about Di Stefano, though. He never made it to the World Cup.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

Skid X wrote: »
    I think Ossie was wrong about Di Stefano, though. He never made it to the World Cup.

No never played in a World Cup for Argentina or Spain.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,998 ✭✭✭grohlisagod

Brian Kerr - "He's taken a bit of a dunt on his ankle". Never ceases to amaze.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,316 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

verb
    bump into or hit heavily.
    "she dunted my father in the side with her elbow"

noun
    a heavy dull-sounding blow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,091 ✭✭✭trashcan

"He got a right bang in the snot there" :D Brian is a legend.

• Registered Users Posts: 5 doctor2013

Are all of the RTE commentators and co-commentators in Brazil?

I know that George Hamilton and Ray Houghton are there. I was looking at twitter account of Stephen Alkin and he gives the impression that he is in Dublin.

• Registered Users Posts: 381 ✭✭The Showstopper

doctor2013 wrote: »
    Are all of the RTE commentators and co-commentators in Brazil?

I know that George Hamilton and Ray Houghton are there. I was looking at twitter account of Stephen Alkin and he gives the impression that he is in Dublin.

I think Peter Collins and Trevor Stevens are in Brazil along with Hamiliton and Houghton while the rest are in Dublin

During the BBC coverage of the Brazil game last night they were reading out tweets from viewers. Terrible idea particularly with Lawrenson on co commentary.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,906 ✭✭✭SarahBM

I love Didi and Richie on the panel.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,405 ✭✭✭Lightbulb Sun

What did Ossie say about Di Stefano?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭SantryRed

"hduhsdkhdjiusdghusug Di Stefano ljhkjashghoshgasiophg".

That's about right.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,402 ✭✭✭Tinie

That he played for Spain in a world cup.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,055 ✭✭✭IK09

trashcan wrote: »
    "He got a right bang in the snot there" :D Brian is a legend.

I dunno. I cringe when he talks, just waiting for him to embarrass himself. He sounds like a junkie.

• Registered Users Posts: 677 ✭✭✭vidor

IK09 wrote: »
    He sounds like a junkie.

Wtf?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,385 ✭✭✭Nerdlingr

Kerr describing Olic and Mandzukic "They're two great sniffers". :D:D