Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

World Cup 2014 - as seen on TV (commentary, pundits, adverts, the whole shebang)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,917 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

paulheu wrote: »
    I don't know what so many seem to find good about these guys. I find them boring and sometimes I get the feeling there's a bottle of Bushmills under the desk for some which start full and is gone before the end of the match.. Only one who to me comes across as sensible is Kenny.

It seems to me it's not just Spain and Italy who need younger players.. ;)

Maybe it's just me being from The Netherlands being spoiled by very entertaining and lively studio panels :D

I think the problem is the senior panelists like Giles and particualry Dunphy are indulged by RTE. Half of what they say is guff. People know its guff and tune in to see what guff they say!

Can you give us a clip of Netherlands Panelists having an argument? (give us the gist of the discussion first!)

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,906 ✭✭✭SarahBM

I've been watching on RTÉ all along, dad just switched over to ITV there for a sec, sweet jeebus the picture is awful, the score graphic in the top corner looks like something from 1982. But Collins and Houton are chronic!!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭Western Pomise

SarahBM wrote: »
    I've been watching on RTÉ all along, dad just switched over to ITV there for a sec, sweet jeebus the picture is awful, the score graphic in the top corner looks like something from 1982. But Collins and Houton are chronic!!
    Collins came out with a classic there,compared a bit of interplay between Valbuena and Debuchy. As 'reminding me of Xavi and Iniesta'!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,216 ✭✭✭Looper007

I like Sadlier, I wasn't sold on him at first but he's been quality so far in this World Cup, he doesn't have a patch on the Dunphy for pure entertainment value but as a straight talker he's far more erudite and knowledgeable than Cunningham who, by contrast, looks like he just watched a 5 minute Youtube guide on how to be a football pundit, and sounds like he just read "Football Cliches for Dummies" before taking his seat. He's the David Brent of football punditry.

I think in the future Sadlier will be a major part of the new panel, I think the problem with Cunningham, Hamann and Sadlier is they are good pundits but they lack the sheer entertainment of Giles, Brady and Dunphy. Hamann and Cunningham lack any kind of swagger to them, far too serious for my liking. Half of what Dunphy and Giles say is bull**** but they are far above BBC and Itv when it comes to Punditry, as Dunphy said once "We're in entertainment Baby".

I serious worry for RTE football punditry when those three retire.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,596 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

Think the Second Captains lads would make a very good go of it.

Scrap the cap!

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,805 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

McDevitt, Early, Hamann and Sadlier would make a great panel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60,929 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

Ken Early suddenly raising his voice to the shouting he does at a Dunphy comment would be so funny to see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,553 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

Dunphy now talking about Deschamps keeping out players that could upset the dressing room! LOL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

McDevitt, Early, Hamann and Sadlier would make a great panel.

Meh, I don't rate Early. He does himself no favours with his ramblings, even if he is knowledgeable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

O Neill very good on the ITV panel.

Cantona was retired by the time the 98 world cup came around.

So?

Do you realise how long Jacquet was in the job?

Get the hell out of here with your "facts"

Dempsey wrote: »
    So?

Do you realise how long Jacquet was in the job?

Dunphy said he left him out the squad for the 98 world cup.

Big difference from leaving someone out of a world cup squad and friendly's/qualifiers

Cantona retied in 97

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,805 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

His exile from international football probably contributed to his decision to retire.

Big difference form leaving someone out of a world cup squad and friendly's/qualifiers

Cantona retied in 97

Cantona was dropped in 1995 after he got a 1 year ban for his kung fu kick. He never played under Jacquet again. Retiring in 1997 to save face is all.

That's grand.

Just saying that Cantona was retired in 98 when the world cup in 98 came around and Dunphy was making out like it was the same as Nasri i.e had been in the squad up until the world cup and then dropped.

I agree with you, just Dunphy saying it wrong :D

• Registered Users Posts: 739 ✭✭✭Cantstandsya

Big difference from leaving someone out of a world cup squad and friendly's/qualifiers

Cantona retied in 97

He left Cantona out the same way Hodgson left the retired (from international football) John Terry out. Dunphy making a subtle statement to RTE tonight, there is no such thing as retirement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,071 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

Aww - Kenny's eyes lit up when Eamon said he agreed with him

tumblr_mny5phE4C61r4de4no1_500.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Don't then. I assume you own a remote control.

I assume you are aware this is a discussion board?

Did anyone here Alkin talking about Costa Rica earlier during the game?

He was saying they don't even have an army.

Oh yes "Stephen", I'm sure malevolent invading nations will turn right around when they remember this sterling victory over Italy on the soccer pitch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,877 ✭✭✭RayCon

Interesting fact? Totally meaningless, superficial analysis that Football Weekly specialises in...

I found it interesting (in a pub quiz type of way)

and it's a fact

hence = Interesting Fact.

I never said it had any influence on footballing matters

• Registered Users Posts: 4,906 ✭✭✭SarahBM

Ronnie and Giles with Bill, phew. Sense will prevail.
    And my Hero Brian Kerr on the commentary :)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,845 ✭✭✭Hidalgo

keith16 wrote: »
    Did anyone here Alkin talking about Costa Rica earlier during the game?

He was saying they don't even have an army.

Oh yes "Stephen", I'm sure malevolent invading nations will turn right around when they remember this sterling victory over Italy on the soccer pitch.

They actually disbanded their standing army in 1948, instead spending the money on universities and hospitals.

Also the happiest country in the world according to Billo a few days ago

• Registered Users Posts: 75 ✭✭timmaii

Kerr is great this World Cup. "A little bit of passing nearly broke out there in midfield" :-)

• Registered Users Posts: 14,193 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

Kerr "He went to Flamango in Brazil" :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭Dodd

I'm waiting for Kerr to say when someone dives "no one touched him,he feel on his ear.:)

Kerr is priceless :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,642 ✭✭✭Deco99

Kerr is the best for me. Seems to be only pundit to do research on teams especially useful for the lesser well known teams he seems to be getting. The odd mispronunciation justs adds to his performance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

Our Martin O'Neill was in fighting form on ITV tonight

http://thescore.thejournal.ie/martin-oneill-cannavaro-vieira-itv-1529800-Jun2014/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,762 ✭✭✭bmcc10

Skid X wrote: »
    Our Martin O'Neill was in fighting form on ITV tonight

http://thescore.thejournal.ie/martin-oneill-cannavaro-vieira-itv-1529800-Jun2014/

Chiles you utter clown.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

bmcc10 wrote: »
    Chiles you utter clown.

Follow paddypower on twitter, they are destroying him nightly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,596 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

FFS
    2 European Cups
    Captained Northern Ireland when they beat the WC hosts and made the QF

Chilesy doesn't have a clue.

Scrap the cap!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

dreamers75 wrote: »
    Follow paddypower on twitter
    I can't unrecommend this enough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,357 ✭✭✭OneColdHand

Chiles you utter clown.

Chiles earlier: 'You can tell the French love playing with each other.'

Childish, but I laughed. Particularly as he paused halfway though as he realised he was about to say something that might sound bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,917 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

I can't unrecommend this enough

I used to follow it the occasional tweet is mildly amusing at best.
    But most of it is inane student/hospital radio type ramblings with the odd "funny" accompanying picture.:eek:

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,276 ✭✭✭batistuta9

when the panelists on rte, when they aren't speaking or maybe just after speaking seem to be nodding their head to bill\darragh\crew who aren't in the shot at the time, the camera then focuses in on whoever is talking, anyone know what that's about?

Dunphy was doing it a couple of times last night, giles the night before

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 28 AreWeAlone

Kerr + Didi = the best

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,216 ✭✭✭Looper007

Chiles you utter clown.

god I wish Roy Keane was there, he always put the ****s up Chiles. The Distain Keane had for Chiles anytime he opened his mouth was wonderful. fair play to O'neill.

Just watching the highlights programme on RTE,Kenny looks more relaxed in the company of Noel King and Tony O Donoghue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,951 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Just watching the highlights programme on RTE,Kenny looks more relaxed in the company of Noel King and Tony O Donoghue.

Just opened this to say he was looking pretty aggressive again just now :)

Kenny really isn't suited to this sort of work. He just can't deal with anyone disagreeing with him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,951 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Jaysus! The 90s were worse than the 80s for fashion! :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,071 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

Just saw that RTE will be showing Cameroon v Brazil over Croatia V Mexico - shame as the latter will be a better match imo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 913 ✭✭✭MacBizzle

wprathead wrote: »
    Just saw that RTE will be showing Cameroon v Brazil over Croatia V Mexico - shame as the latter will be a better match imo

The other match will be on RTÉ Player :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,805 ✭✭✭Lennonist

Dunphy now talking about Deschamps keeping out players that could upset the dressing room! LOL

I seen Dunphy arguing with Kenny Cunningham about England not picking John Terry. He seemed to be arguing with him for the sake of winning the argument and putting down Cunningham because they obviously dislike each other. I don't think Dunphy really believed himself that if John Terry was there that it would've made a huge difference to England's World cup results, he was just trying to get one over Cunningham. Cunningham should know he's an argumentative little bollix, should've been prepared for him and should've stood his ground better with him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,805 ✭✭✭Lennonist

Bill O'Herlihy is leaving at the end of this isn't he? Eoin McDevitt surely would be in pole position for that number. Dunphy, Giles and Brady have been great entertainment at times but probably would be the right time to get rid of them all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

I'd keep Liam Brady, he's very easy to listen to. Giles is just embarrassing at this stage. I cringe when he starts talking :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

Would kerr not be a shout for in the studio? Seems like he's up for a laugh on commentary, him, brady, sadlier maybe? Nah chemistry doesn't feel right... Kenny cunningham will have been commited by then so he's out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,546 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

This ITV presentations of the lads on the beach in shorts is a bit "Look at us lucky bstards" about it doesn't it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,060 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

If Kenny Cunningham becomes one of the top 3 pundits on RTE, thats the day I stop watching it.

For some reason his constant face-pulling whilst making his points really grates on me.

Not mad keen on Kerr either on commentary, I think its that accent!

Sadlier is easy to listen to and talks a lot of sense.

Do you think once Bill goes we might see Giles & Dunphy retiring too? If so, it'll be the end of an era for sure. They were great to watch over the years.