Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Unpopular GAA opinions you hold

• Closed Accounts Posts: 695 ✭✭✭zombieHanalei

Games are never won and lost solely on refereeing decisions. The winning and losing of a match is always due to a culmination of a few hundred events; the key events being goals and points scored.

Often, a losing team chooses to focus on some events in a game where they felt the referee let them down as that is easier than looking at themselves and acknowledging all the other events that occurred in the game where they let themselves down. It's easier to look outwards for blame than it is to look inwards.

Going a man down does not automatically mean the team with 15 has the advantage. An extra man means nothing unless used properly, which is much easier said than done. Quite often the team with the extra man just has a headless chicken running around the place while the game almost defaults to a 14 v 14 situation. Also, it's important how a team reacts psychologically to going a man down, some teams fall to pieces, some up their game.

Referee's are no different to the other 30 players on the pitch, they too will have good days and not so good days. But over a 70 minute game, it's the collective efforts of both teams that ultimately decide the outcome. Refereeing decisions have an influence, but refereeing intervention is a small percentage of the total events that will occur in a game, there are always things both teams could have done differently.

Unfortunately that reality is lost on way too many associated with the game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,395 ✭✭✭megadodge

curioser wrote: »
    TBH the administration of the rules by referees has been a pet moan of mine for years.

Another one I've always hated is the mantra "neither team deserved to lose that", facilitated by generations of referees engineering draws, particularly in championship games, tho' this has become less frequent since referees now have to announce the approximate additional time to be played. We now see less championship games ending with one point margins, which would have been inconceivable not so long ago. I've always thought the team that is ahead at the end of the allotted playing time deserves to win.

In fact, if Pat McEneaney had not been of the "neither team deserved to lose" persuasion, Mayo would not be still moaning about not having won a senior All Ireland since 1951 as they would have deservedly beaten Meath in 1996.

As a person who has made a lot of money over the years backing draws, I disagree strongly with the highlighted statement.

IMO there are more one point margins nowadays (much to my frustration) because 1. there are more evenly matched teams 2. with the announcement of the extra time allotted, the refs can't do much about 'playing for the draw'.

• Registered Users Posts: 599 ✭✭✭curioser

megadodge wrote: »
    As a person who has made a lot of money over the years backing draws, I disagree strongly with the highlighted statement.

IMO there are more one point margins nowadays (much to my frustration) because 1. there are more evenly matched teams 2. with the announcement of the extra time allotted, the refs can't do much about 'playing for the draw'.
    Sorry, I made a complete horlicks of my point - I intended to say that we tend to get more one point results than we did in the days when additional time was solely at the discretion of the referee and did not have to be announced

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,851 ✭✭✭Mountainlad

There's been 4 draws in the senior hurling championship, I would have thought that was above average?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,085 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

I always have and always will despise Kieran Donaghy.

Seeing him come on on Sunday made me absolutely seeth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

I always have and always will despise Kieran Donaghy.

Seeing him come on on Sunday made me absolutely seeth.

Did you not read the thread title. This is the unpopular opinions thread. :D

He was a brilliant, brilliant player in this prime, but outside of The Kingdom, there would be a fair few people who are not fans of all the whinging and moaning and yapping that he does on the pitch. I'd have more respect for the like of the O'Shea's or the Gooch, who let their play, do all their talking for them.

Aaaaaaaand it's 3-2-1 before I get it in the neck from all the Kerry people.....:p

ProudDUB wrote: »
    Did you not read the thread title. This is the unpopular opinions thread. :D

He was a brilliant, brilliant player in this prime, but outside of The Kingdom, there would be a fair few people who are not fans of all the whinging and moaning and yapping that he does on the pitch. I'd have more respect for the like of the O'Shea's or the Gooch, who let their play, do all their talking for them.

Aaaaaaaand it's 3-2-1 before I get it in the neck from all the Kerry people.....:p

You didn't see what I put in originally...

His shambolic performance v Monaghan in Croker in 08 where he played like a drunk baby giraffe all day and fell over at every given opportunity, still pees me off no end. And as for the "goal" he scored that day...

Thankfully that wonderful Tyrone team saw to them in the end.

But sure here goes...

I don't like the Gooch either. In fact, given my obsessive dislike for Kerry and Munster "football" in general I can't bring myself to appreciate his "skills". When I think of Darragh Ó and Galvin, I can appreciate what absolute geniuses they were.

The latter's destruction of Dublin in that 17-point mauling in 2009 was a masterclass. And the sole reason I could stomach the misery until the FT whistle.

But I just don't get the obsession with the Gooch at all.

HON MAIGH EO!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

Aaaaaaallrighty then.

You are from Mayo.

You should have led off with that bit.

Backs away sloooooooooowly.......

:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,016 ✭✭✭Hulk Hands

My unpopular opinion - I think Donaghy was a great player and completely underrated. People only remember the high balls caught, but he was one of the most consistent forwards in the country for getting out in front of his man and winning low ball also. His basketball skills were unique on a football pitch, and it meant that once he won primary possession at which he was so adept, he very rarely gave the ball away. Some of the rolling, twisting and jinking to get into a position to lay the ball off to a forward in a scoring position was genuis, as was his vision which was still evident on Sunday. I wouldnt like to see the game filled with forwards of Donaghy's ilk, but he was/is certainly effective and entertaining. Most iconic moment of the 00's for me, the 'breaking of the blanket' catch over Francie Bellew and finish to the Armagh net in 06. Loved that goal

ProudDUB wrote: »
    Aaaaaaallrighty then.

You are from Mayo.

You should have led off with that bit.

Backs away sloooooooooowly.......

:D:D:D

Nope I'm a Jack boyo!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,561 ✭✭✭AugustusMinimus

Amprodude wrote: »
    Some counties have nothing won in that time and Cork are only county to win AI in both codes in that time.. Jealous much?

Its just jealousy on here. Pure and simple. The current hurling team isn't anywhere near what I'd considering a good Cork hurling team and yet were robbed of an All-Ireland last year by a ref who wanted to play for the draw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,480 ✭✭✭robbiezero

Its just jealousy on here. Pure and simple. The current hurling team isn't anywhere near what I'd considering a good Cork hurling team and yet were robbed of an All-Ireland last year by a ref who wanted to play for the draw.

Had Cork won it, it would have been one of the luckiest All-Irelands ever. Clare were ten points a better team both days. The best team in the country won the All-Ireland last year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,998 ✭✭✭randd1

Watching the hurling this year.

First unpopular opinion - Last years hurling All-Ireland's were two of the most entertaining in memory on the surface. However, the defending was junior standard at the very best, the positional play by both defenses was so poor it allowed for a shoot-out which masked the sheer poverty of both defenses. And this year when they met the first sides that were prepare to clatter into them and take them their defense with clever ball, both Clare and Cork were shown up.

Second unpopular opinion - Clare won't win another hurling AI for at least another 3/4 years at least as they need to mature physically to compete against the best. Last year was a fluke in so far as they won it a good few years ahead of schedule (though it was a deserved AI contrary to opinion).

Third unpopular opinion - Clare were the best of a bad bunch last year because Tipp and Kilkenny had a poor year. Had Kilkenny or Tipp played last year with this years form and quality, Clare would not have won the AI.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 695 ✭✭✭zombieHanalei

Sorry randd1, there's unpopular opinions and there's just plain wrong; no All-Ireland title win past, present or in the future has been or will ever be a "fluke".

• Registered Users Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭citykat

randd1 wrote: »
    Watching the hurling this year.

First unpopular opinion - Last years hurling All-Ireland's were two of the most entertaining in memory on the surface. However, the defending was junior standard at the very best, the positional play by both defenses was so poor it allowed for a shoot-out which masked the sheer poverty of both defenses. And this year when they met the first sides that were prepare to clatter into them and take them their defense with clever ball, both Clare and Cork were shown up.

Second unpopular opinion - Clare won't win another hurling AI for at least another 3/4 years at least as they need to mature physically to compete against the best. Last year was a fluke in so far as they won it a good few years ahead of schedule (though it was a deserved AI contrary to opinion).

Third unpopular opinion - Clare were the best of a bad bunch last year because Tipp and Kilkenny had a poor year. Had Kilkenny or Tipp played last year with this years form and quality, Clare would not have won the AI.

There's a lot there I'd agree with. Instead of being a positive, I think all this U21 success Clare have had and continue to have could tell against them. Their fans expect a smooth transition from U21 to senior and for success to follow. It doesn't work like that. It's a fair step up from U21 to senior for a lot of lads. Generally most U21s don't make that transition especially when the senior team is strong. There'll be savage pressure on Clare next year probably from the start of the league. Whatever stipend Davy receives will be more than earned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,561 ✭✭✭AugustusMinimus

robbiezero wrote: »
    Had Cork won it, it would have been one of the luckiest All-Irelands ever. Clare were ten points a better team both days. The best team in the country won the All-Ireland last year.

And how does that play out this year. Cork had an off day against Tipp but looked good the rest of the year. Clare have been poor throughout the year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,480 ✭✭✭robbiezero

And how does that play out this year. Cork had an off day against Tipp but looked good the rest of the year. Clare have been poor throughout the year.

Clare have been poor this year and the big 3 and Limerick have all raised their game from last year.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,091 ✭✭✭savannahkat

I want to see divisional teams in the all Ireland minor, under21, and senior hurling championships drawn from counties other than Cork, Clare Waterford Tipp Limerick, Kilkenny, Dublin, Galway & Wexford. I want to let the best of the rest get a chance to win All Ireland Hurling medals at the highest level and not Christ Ring or Mackey or whatever they call them these days.
    A divisional team for south of the Dublin Galway line and one for north of it.

I want to see divisional teams in the all Ireland minor, under21, and senior hurling championships drawn from counties other than Cork, Clare Waterford Tipp Limerick, Kilkenny, Dublin, Galway & Wexford. I want to let the best of the rest get a chance to win All Ireland Hurling medals at the highest level and not Christ Ring or Mackey or whatever they call them these days.
    A divisional team for south of the Dublin Galway line and one for north of it.

There's definitely a case for an Ulster "county" team at this stage. All down to Antrim to allow it at this stage.
    It's about the only one I can see having an identity that could stick.

The hardest part about non-county teams is that it's difficult for the "supporter" to identify with them if not done correctly.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,091 ✭✭✭savannahkat

An Ulster team would be a good starting place. A rest of Leinster, A Kerry /Connaught selection.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭AudreyHepburn

That not everything that goes wrong is down to the referee or the managers.

In fact more often than not it's the teams themselves that are the architects of their own downfalls.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

That not everything that goes wrong is down to the referee or the managers.

In fact more often than not it's the teams themselves that are the architects of their own downfalls.

like Mayo today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,580 ✭✭✭ArielAtom

Delighted Mayo were dumped out today

• Registered Users Posts: 191 ✭✭sammy37

ArielAtom wrote: »

Well thats not an unpopular opinion down in kerry anyway!

• Registered Users Posts: 212 ✭✭davidfitz22

ArielAtom wrote: »
    TBH so am I, they're supporters believe sam is coming to Mayo every year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,166 ✭✭✭zetecescort

Horan has turned Mayo from likeable losers to hated losers. Btw, Kerry are more cynical than any Ulster team.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭Dirty Dingus McGee

I know. Isn't it terrible that supporters might have a bit of optimism

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

When a team starts moaning about a venue and trying to get suspended players off they invariably lose focus.
    Mayo should have shut up shop all week and not uttered a word.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,998 ✭✭✭randd1

nice_guy80 wrote: »
    When a team starts moaning about a venue and trying to get suspended players off they invariably lose focus.
    Mayo should have shut up shop all week and not uttered a word.

Agree. They should have said we don't care where we play Kerry, its an AI SF, we'll play them wherever they want us to play.

And after all their giving out about it, they didn't even fill the venue, only 36000 at it.

The last few years they've just become Moaning Mayo.

• Registered Users Posts: 191 ✭✭sammy37

Tommy carr knows absolutely nothing about football or would that be a popular opinion.

sammy37 wrote: »
    Tommy carr knows absolutely nothing about football or would that be a popular opinion.

Very popular I would say.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,562 ✭✭✭eyescreamcone

Great to see the honours being shared around again this year
    Kerry v Dublin
    Tipp v KK

Apologies to Donegal

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,851 ✭✭✭Mountainlad

Kerry v Dublin
    Tipp v KK

Apologies to Donegal

I know Kilkenny obviously and exception, but Tipp have only won 3 all irelands in the last 24 years.

In the same period Clare have 3, Cork have 3, Offaly have 2 and Wexford have 1.

They've been in a few finals recently but it's not like they win all-irelands every other year. I am actually looking forward to this years final.

I hate when people look at the final and say things like that when its clear as day that the game is becoming more competitive than ever (with the exception of the mid nineties).

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,562 ✭✭✭eyescreamcone

Kerry v Dublin
    Tipp v KK

Apologies to Donegal

Ooops!
    Apologies to Dublin 

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭dundalkfc10

If Cluxton and Brogan hadnt missed their frees (some handy ones) and Dublin kicked hadnt of kicked 3 silly wides from inside 30 yards in the 2nd half, They would have won

Nobody to blame but the players. They bottled it!

• Registered Users Posts: 541 ✭✭✭Hibbeler

Depite todays result, this Dublin team are still likely to be dominant in the coming years

• Registered Users Posts: 485 ✭✭donnem33

Hibbeler wrote: »
    Depite todays result, this Dublin team are still likely to be dominant in the coming years

dont think any team will dominate tbh...its very difficult to win 2 in a row!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭dundalkfc10

Hibbeler wrote: »

How so? Donegal have proved how to stop them and Dublin had No Plan B, C or D

I think Donegal should be split in 2.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,870 ✭✭✭CrabRevolution

The phrase "hurling/football needs a strong X" is among the stupider ones thrown out there. Why does football need a strong Galway any more than it needs a strong Leitrim?

Same with hurling, why is it a crying shame that Offaly arent able to compete with decent teams? Is the fact Meath and Kildare have at no stage ever been near the top in hurling not an even bigger shame?

On the topic of Offaly, I think people expect too much of them. Their hurling success from the 80's and 90's, when they won 9 Leinsters in 16 years was a statistical anomaly if you look at their overall history.

Offaly only won their first Leinster SHC in 1980, before that Laois had appeared in the final more regularly than them, and even won it on a few occasions. Offaly werent much more competitive than say Meath or Westmeath before the late 70s, none of them winning any Leinster minor/U21 titles, or national leagues. Offaly obviously upped the socks and worked hard to pull themselves into the top tier in the 70s, but I think they're returning to that lower level now really.

• Registered Users Posts: 541 ✭✭✭Hibbeler

donnem33 wrote: »
    dont think any team will dominate tbh...its very difficult to win 2 in a row!

I don't necessarily mean that they will win 5 in a row or anything like that but if they won 2 out of the next 3 all irelands I would not be surprised. That would be fairly dominant tbh. They've already won 2 out of the last 3.
    How so? Donegal have proved how to stop them and Dublin had No Plan B, C or D

Simply they have the playing talent and the resources and one of the best managers in the country at the moment.

They haven't needed a plan B in the last few years but that will change no doubt

• Registered Users Posts: 5,382 ✭✭✭Duffy the Vampire Slayer

Had Dublin won today, I mightn´t have even bothered watching the final as I wouldn´t want either Kerry or Dublin to win another All-Ireland. Delighted at least one of them is out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Amprodude

Had Dublin won today, I mightn´t have even bothered watching the final as I wouldn´t want either Kerry or Dublin to win another All-Ireland. Delighted at least one of them is out.

If Kerry win final they will earn it against Donegal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,344 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

Amprodude wrote: »
    If Kerry win final they will earn it against Donegal.

I hope you don't think that's an unpopular opinion !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,776 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

Kerry possibly hated more than Dublin I think at this stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,506 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Yes Dublin's substitutes have made an impact off the bench this year but how many of their scores were actual game-changing scores considering their margin of victories in their championship campaign so far? One might argue Costello's goal against Wexford finally killed off the Wexford challenge, but those anyone really believe that they were in trouble had that goal not gone in? It was basically target practise by the time they came on in each of the three games to date. In contrast, Mayo were on the ropes somewhat against Roscommon and Moran came off the bench to make a tangible difference and kicked two points. Not half the hype afterwards though.

It'll be a different kettle of fish altogether should they find themselves 2-3 points down in the closing few minutes against the likes of Monaghan or Donegal. You'd swear they were the only top inter-county ever to have competition for places the way the media build them up.

I love it when an opinion is proven right :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,593 ✭✭✭DoctaDee

keane2097 wrote: »

Need a hug brother ? :pac: .. youse will be fine !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,776 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

DoctaDee wrote: »
    Need a hug brother ? :pac: .. youse will be fine !

Unlike a lot of people I always enjoy being hated (in a sporting context :pac:). It wouldn't be half as much craic winning an AI with everyone on your side.

I always say when I'm playing anything myself, winning is great but if you can do it sickening the other crowd at the same time there's nothing better!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,593 ✭✭✭DoctaDee

Unlike a lot of people I always enjoy being hated (in a sporting context :pac:). It wouldn't be half as much craic winning an AI with everyone on your side.

I always say when I'm playing anything myself, winning is great but if you can do it sickening the other crowd at the same time there's nothing better!

LMAO.. oh I hear ya .. my Dublin championship medal was against our local rivals, we played a charity game 10 years on and scores were still being setlled :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Amprodude

Well with 36 All Ireland's, Kerry don't ever need to win again. Nice to see other counties winning it. Hopefully Donegal can do it come the 21st.