Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Manchester United Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread - Mod Notes in OP,22/7

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,067 ✭✭✭KH25

TheDoc wrote: »
    Why would Bayern entertain letting him go. They obviously know something we don't.

I'm always worried when we sign a world class player from another big club. I always get the feeling that maybe they knew something we don't and are having a right laugh.

I still can't fathom Chelsea selling Mata. I fully appreciate that managers have certain ideas and require certain players with specific traits. But this is a guy who was easily the best in the league two years running, and has the creative spark that was so evidently missing in the Chelsea squad last season when it came into the final third.

I'm just waiting to see something go horribly wrong, like Mata has a closet cocaine addiction or something.

I'd be extremely happy with Schweinsteiger, big fan of his. Shoulda broke the bank for him after that World cup where was easily for me player of the tournament. Ozil was getting all the praise and attention, we should have got in there and tested Bayerns metal.

Mata isn't a Jose player. Thats why we got him. Jose also preferred Oscar and United made a very good offer. Bayern have a lot of midfielders so maybe Pep doesn't like Schweinsteiger too much. Who knows.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

we should have got in there and tested Bayerns metal.

You mean like for compressive and tensile strength? I'm sorry, I can't help myself! :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,206 ✭✭✭Lucas Hood

Maybe Pep prob wants to build his midfield around Thiago & Kroos.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 18,681 Mod ✭✭✭✭DM_7

Why would Bayern entertain letting him go. They obviously know something we don't.

I'm always worried when we sign a world class player from another big club. I always get the feeling that maybe they knew something we don't and are having a right laugh.

Don't be silly :)

Sell a 29 year old and keep Kroos.

Make space for Martinez and Thiago.

They are stacked in midfield

DM-ICE wrote: »

Think Martinez is destined for CB under Pep. Don't know why he seems to like doing that with players so much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,223 ✭✭✭Macca07

KH25 wrote: »
    Think Martinez is destined for CB under Pep. Don't know why he seems to like doing that with players so much.

He likes a good ball-playing CB, which is hard to get. Converting a DM is the easier option.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,575 ✭✭✭NTMK

Im starting to believe that he likes mids at CB because they push up so high on the field that the CB's are effectively midfielders

and that they spend so much time on the ball that the good defenders can be sacrificed for players that are good on the ball

that or bayern like to stockpile midfielders

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭newballsplease

Schweinsteiger and Strootman(in january maybe) seems to be the main 2 more than likely so for Midfield. Id be delighted with that.
    Shaw i think seems to be a done deal(hopefully).

So center of defence needs to be addressed also...

That will be a good summer if they are completed. I dont give a f**k how much is spent. Just get it done Utd.

Macca07 wrote: »
    He likes a good ball-playing CB, which is hard to get. Converting a DM is the easier option.
    NTMK wrote: »
    Im starting to believe that he likes mids at CB because they push up so high on the field that the CB's are effectively midfielders

and that they spend so much time on the ball that the good defenders can be sacrificed for players that are good on the ball

that or bayern like to stockpile midfielders

Makes sense, but I think not buying a proper CB and using Mascherano in Puyol's absence weakened Barca at the back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,575 ✭✭✭NTMK

Makes sense, but I think not buying a proper CB and using Mascherano in Puyol's absence weakened Barca at the back.

when it works its excellent bayern went 6/7 games where even if they didnt have a gk they still wouldnt have conceeded. when it fails its a disaster (BM-Barca, RM - BM).

its all about weighing up whether having a player thats good on the ball is more valuable than a CB who isnt when you have 70% possesion the ball player is probably more use

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,219 ✭✭✭✭Pro. F

You mean like for compressive and tensile strength? I'm sorry, I can't help myself! :o

I never knew that was a different word. I might as well knock off for the evening now, new word for the day learned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,140 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

but your not just talking about a makeshift CM or some periphery player.

This is a leader, a commanding general in the middle of the pitch, thorough bred through the Munich system since he was a kid. Central to all their success in the past 6 seasons, pivotal in the revival to their stutters. The putty for which Lowe moulded his new look Germany that burst onto the scene, with a decent winger turned into a nearly overnight world class deep lying midfielder.

This is the guy who absolutely made a mockery out of Gerrard and Lampard in South Africa. Maybe thinking back with a certain shade of glasses, but he mesmerized me that tournament, and the standout performance was how he was so central to a demolition of England, and what were at the time regarded as two of the best CM's operating in the English league.

Alongside Lahm he is the essential captain elect, leader and role model for the squad.

Although from having a little read, ( which I'm trying to avoid this summer) seems the relationship between the pair isn't great.

He's a player I look forward to watching at the WC, I simply love watching the Kroos/ Schweinsteiger axis (o look a pun) operating for the German national side.

I get the love for him Doc but Bayern need to regenerate and renew or they will end up in a gradual regression like Barca did.

If you are Bayern what would you do? Entertain the idea of him going or sell Kroos? The two of them won't be played by Pep who I think has Thiago and Lahm ahead of them. I doubt they want to sell him but it is likely a favourable option if it means not moving others on. They need to get Gotze into the team as well restricting where Thiago or Kroos would play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,140 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

I get the love for him Doc but Bayern need to regenerate and renew or they will end up in a gradual regression like Barca did.

If you are Bayern what would you do? Entertain the idea of him going or sell Kroos? The two of them won't be played by Pep who I think has Thiago and Lahm ahead of them. I doubt they want to sell him but it is likely a favourable option if it means not moving others on. They need to get Gotze into the team as well restricting where Thiago or Kroos would play.

Just seems I'd say if any movement comes about its the player pushing it through. Can't fathom why a club would let such a talismatic, iconic club figure part ways.

I think the Pirlo to Juve fired a shot across the bow of all clubs willing to cut ties with a key figure sighting age being the issue.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,437 ✭✭✭redbaron_99

A lot of big name midfielders being mentioned, but it irks me that so many solid midfielders have been available in recent times and we haven't gone for them. Is the club allergic to midfielders or something?
    We probably could have gotten Cabeye and Gustavo if we'd bothered. Both have moved in the last twelve months. Combined transfer fee £36m. Not a hell of a lot more than we paid for Fellaini... The two of them aren't exactly big names, but they would have been a massive upgrade on what we've had to put up with recent times. One defensive midfielder, regular in the Brazilian national team, experience of a big club in Bayern. One playmaker who is a regular for France, experienced and proven premier league player.

And that's only two of many that we could have bought over the last few years. Annoying!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,241 ✭✭✭Vic Vinegar

A lot of big name midfielders being mentioned, but it irks me that so many solid midfielders have been available in recent times and we haven't gone for them. Is the club allergic to midfielders or something?
    We probably could have gotten Cabeye and Gustavo if we'd bothered. Both have moved in the last twelve months. Combined transfer fee £36m. Not a hell of a lot more than we paid for Fellaini... The two of them aren't exactly big names, but they would have been a massive upgrade on what we've had to put up with recent times. One defensive midfielder, regular in the Brazilian national team, experience of a big club in Bayern. One playmaker who is a regular for France, experienced and proven premier league player.

And that's only two of many that we could have bought over the last few years. Annoying!

Aye, we had that solid looking young prospect too that we let go for nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,726 ✭✭✭Rubber_Soul

Tbh I can see why the club weren't willing to spend near 40m on the players mentioned when you hear about the deals they were working on. That they haven't materialised is a different matter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,437 ✭✭✭redbaron_99

Aye, we had that solid looking young prospect too that we let go for nothing.

Let's not go there ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,158 ✭✭✭✭hufpc8w3adnk65

So what's been happening today? Haven't been able too check any sports news/sites since 6am

MrMac84 wrote: »
    So what's been happening today? Haven't been able too check any sports news/sites since 6am

Ducker has been saying that we're after Schweinsteiger and the Shaw deal is agreed in principle but won't be completed until after the WC. Few others saying the same so probably means a club briefing.

De Gea has been bigging Van Gaal up.

Van Gaal has been bigging himself up talking about the Spanish players he mentored.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,741 ✭✭✭Hococop

speaking of Schweinsteiger seen this photo of the german team on one article, the legs on Schweinsteiger, dude is built like a tank

10429348_791821994170786_1907759990507670756_n.jpg?oh=1e704ab1dbb9defc9fce0db63657d416&oe=539D42F9&__gda__=1402814854_3e7c2f4926a4ee1b8e2b3431938f68c0

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,066 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

Hococop wrote: »
    speaking of Schweinsteiger seen this photo of the german team on one article, the legs on Schweinsteiger, dude is built like a tank

Schweiny tree trunks

They are huge!! They look freaky.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,475 ✭✭✭Zico

Hococop wrote: »

10429348_791821994170786_1907759990507670756_n.jpg?oh=1e704ab1dbb9defc9fce0db63657d416&oe=539D42F9&__gda__=1402814854_3e7c2f4926a4ee1b8e2b3431938f68c0

The lads in the Nike trainers look a bit special.

Zico wrote: »
    The lads in the Nike trainers look a bit special.

Kevin Groscruits? Class player!

I'm sure you've spelled that wrong but I know who you're talking about.:D

Zico wrote: »
    I'm sure you've spelled that wrong but I know who you're talking about.:D

I KNOW I did.
    I was driving tho.
    It's Kevin Großkreutz

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,791 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

I KNOW I did.
    I was driving tho.
    It's Kevin Großkreutz

The **** you doing posting while driving? Disgraceful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,741 ✭✭✭Hococop

Hernandez just on now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,873 ✭✭✭Iseedeadpixels

But Judge I had to post on boards.ie it was important...and yes I didnt see the lamp post.

You'll be happy too know I was stopped in traffic, the light was about too go green tho

De Guzman to Unired rumours start now :p

You'll be happy too know I was stopped in traffic, the light was about too go green tho

Garda would still hit you with a fine!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭Larry Wildman

Porto's Hector Herrera was superb for Mexico. He looks like a quality midfielder. Per his Wikipedia page:

"He is known as a "classic box-to-box midfielder who is equally adept at halting advances from opposing players as he is creating opportunities by distributing the ball or shooting on goal."

He's only 24 too.

A guy like that would transform our midfield.

(N.B. He's not the Herrera that was the subject of the fake lawyers debacle last season)

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 11,395 Mod ✭✭✭✭lordgoat

Porto's Hector Herrera was superb for Mexico. He looks like a quality midfielder. Per his Wikipedia page:

"He is known as a "classic box-to-box midfielder who is equally adept at halting advances from opposing players as he is creating opportunities by distributing the ball or shooting on goal."

He's only 24 too.

(N.B. He's not the Herrera that was the subject of the fake lawyers debacle last season)

Hopefully LVG saw his 85 mins or so today and looked up his wiki page. If he has I can safely say he's the answer to all our problems..

He's only 24 too.

United were strongly linked with him a couple of years back

• Good piece on van gal on BBC there.

Rio getting grilled on RVP and Moyes

Interesting from Rio there confirming RVP's nose was out of joint last season as he wasn't the star man under Moyes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

I have said, and I am sure others have also said (Headshot springs to mind) that Schweinsteiger is not the same player he was, injury has curtailed him a bit and it should be made even more obvious that Bayern would be willing to let one of the golden boys go.

I think he would be an improvement, obviously, but would worry that people would be under the impression we are signing the Bastian of 2010 or 2012 even. The 2014 version is a different animal. Wouldn't say no for the right money of course.

We don't need action man so 2014 Schweinsteiger would still be fantastic for United.

kryogen wrote: »
    I have said, and I am sure others have also said (Headshot springs to mind) that Schweinsteiger is not the same player he was, injury has curtailed him a bit and it should be made even more obvious that Bayern would be willing to let one of the golden boys go.

I think he would be an improvement, obviously, but would worry that people would be under the impression we are signing the Bastian of 2010 or 2012 even. The 2014 version is a different animal. Wouldn't say no for the right money of course.

The midfield has been held together with the duct tape of guys like Scholes and Giggs for seasons now. Even Schweinsteiger with miles on the clock will be like fresh legs to this team, very big legs.;)

I have no confidence that we'll sign him.

We don't need action man so 2014 Schweinsteiger would still be fantastic for United.

Dynamism is exactly what we need in the middle of the field!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,456 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

Go wan RVP

Delighted for him, go wan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,066 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

Straight to LVG to celebrate.

He was like a salmon leaping out of water for that header!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,241 ✭✭✭Vic Vinegar

Headshot wrote: »
    Go wan RVP

Delighted for him, go wan

What a fooking goal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭Crimson King

Sign that Dutch striker up, he looks the business

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,037 ✭✭✭✭adox

A thing of beauty that header.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,456 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

I love that high 5 from RVP and LVG. Great to see that

Man love is strong between himself and Van Gaal :)

Super header, just brilliant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

That was the best headed goal I've ever seen. There'll be GIFs doing the rounds.