Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Manchester United Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread - Mod Notes in OP,22/7

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

When smalling had a little run at cb beside vidic a few seasons back he looked absolutely superb. Looked like him and vidic were becoming the first choice pairing. Then vidic got injured.

I remember that spell and it had a master & apprentice feel about it. Smalling looked very good and I think Smalling really needs to stay at CB.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭irishfeen

Anyone know this chap? - (Retweeted by Alistair Fergusson)

Tom McDermott ‏@FootballMcD 1 hr
    Shaw & Herrera a v good start imo. Another midfielder(s) and centre half on the way.

Ha its probably pure s.hite but I love that optimism :)

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,606 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

Ah, Valencia. Awesome work at the World Cup :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 14,193 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

Feck sake Tony V

• Registered Users Posts: 2,489 ✭✭✭Ordinary man

Valencia sent off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,862 ✭✭✭statto25

Tony V sent off. Studs up challenge. Straight Red.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭newballsplease

Deserved the Red. Stupid stupid challange.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,222 ✭✭✭✭Will I Amnt

Could have been worse lads, he could have bit him :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

I wonder if he was any good would we feel different about it? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,424 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

just pretend we did not see it.

I wonder if he was any good would we feel different about it? :pac:

If it was RvP or Mata I'd be absolutely defending him. Tony V??? Hang him out to dry.

just pretend we did not see it.

Did he even connect? I'll need 20 gifs, 2 vids and 100 stills to be totally sure.

• Registered Users Posts: 972 ✭✭✭Deiseboy01

Evra was in his ear before the restart, probably called a favour or two to ensure the left back is in no position to take his spot!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,048 ✭✭✭Unearthly

I blame France and Switzerland for that red card

Did he even connect? I'll need 20 gifs, 2 vids and 100 stills to be totally sure.

im still not convinced.

Only God can judge him at the gates of heaven as far as im concerned.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,193 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

Poor Tony V another victim of a "European conspiracy" :)

• Site Banned Posts: 4,925 ✭✭✭Agueroooo

Could have been worse lads, he could have bit him :pac:

That's another one!

Jeez man you're slipping. Up your game ffs.

*I have pitched you a straight one there. Hit it out of the ground to get the confidence back up :p

im still not convinced.

Only God can judge him at the gates of heaven as far as im concerned.

Not sure Fowler would be the fairest judge :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,437 ✭✭✭redbaron_99

Maybe fowler was "eating the grass" again ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,748 ✭✭✭✭Lovely Bloke

It was a nothing challenge.

Agueroooo wrote: »
    That's another one!

Jeez man you're slipping. Up your game ffs.

*I have pitched you a straight one there. Hit it out of the ground to get the confidence back up :p

I've never had anywhere to slip from, I'm fine where I am.

*insert Stevie G joke here*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭djPSB

Disgusting from Valencia.

Really hope FIFA punish him appropriately.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,177 ✭✭✭TheTownie

djPSB wrote: »

Its cool. The ref did a pretty good job of dealing with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,116 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

You're not very good at this

• Registered Users Posts: 2,690 ✭✭✭ElChe32

Guys it's a culture thing in Ecuador. That's how you great someone you respect highly. Jeez.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 18,425 Mod ✭✭✭✭DM_7

Maybe after 20odd hours of replays showing some lad biting another player I am desensitised but Valencia didn't do a whole lot to get sent off.

If a defender slides in is he just supposed to stand there?, he tried to protect the ball and like the rest of his play he did it badly but it wasn't malicious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

It was a nothing challenge.

"These things happen on the field..."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 61 ✭✭josh101st

Have man u agreed terms for vermealan or are they just rumours

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,772 ✭✭✭✭Paul Tergat

I'd say it would be fun to go into the England v Ecuador thread and see just what some of the above had to say when Tony as on the other side of that sort of a tackle....

• Registered Users Posts: 25 john moloney

josh101st wrote: »
    Have man u agreed terms for vermealan or are they just rumours

I would say rumours, Until its announced I wouldn't believe the media

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭djPSB

TheTownie wrote: »
    Its cool. The ref did a pretty good job of dealing with it.

Second sending off in the space of a few weeks.

FIFA really need to clamp down on this before someone gets badly hurt.

They should consider an International and Club ban.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,026 ✭✭✭duffman13

Valencia, sign that lad up!!!

Edit: Eder Valencia that is!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,772 ✭✭✭✭Paul Tergat

This crap wont work.

To be honest we would be happy to see him not play for us.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,416 ✭✭✭Zico

2 year ban in all competitions at least if you ask me. It'll send a message that FIFA takes player welfare seriously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,026 ✭✭✭duffman13

Most United fans would agree! 6 month ban for two red cards in a few weeks seems fair

• Closed Accounts Posts: 61 ✭✭josh101st

I would say rumours, Until its announced I wouldn't believe the media

thanks john

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 18,425 Mod ✭✭✭✭DM_7

A please ban Valencia campaign by United fans would be hilarious :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 483 ✭✭Mr_Red

You keep calling but there is no one home

200.gif

Could not resist a bite?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,437 ✭✭✭redbaron_99

Bill and the lads think it was a fair challenge. After the replay, I agree. He tackles the ball.
    Still potentially dangerous.
    Yellow in my opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,495 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

We need to be careful, an international ban might mean Barca or Madrid won't want to buy Valencia this summer.

Bill and the lads think it was a fair challenge. After the replay, I agree. He tackles the ball.
    Yellow in my opinion.

Studs up equals a red these days. It has to really

• Registered Users Posts: 1,831 ✭✭✭Peanut Butter Jelly

How would people like this design for next years jersey?

YXGQZBL.jpg

(I know it's a polo and not a jersey, I just photoshopped it to get an opinion)

• Registered Users Posts: 7,521 ✭✭✭Giggsy11

We need to be careful, an international ban might mean Barca or Madrid won't want to buy Valencia this summer.

Poor Antonio. Needs professional help.

Now that he got 2 red cards in short span we can be happy that none of the big 2 in Spain or Bayern will bid for our Antonio.

Rejoice this moment and enjoy when you can.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,610 ✭✭✭Iseedeadpixels

Valencia whao
    He comes from Ecuador and leaves em on the floor

What a **** chant but best I can do.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,416 ✭✭✭Zico

Now that he's shown a sinister side Liverpool might be back in for him.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,019 ✭✭✭✭adox

Ah was a red all day long. The lads on rte are just taking bollix for the second night in a row.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,495 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

Yellow in my opinion.

I turned off when those idiots started down that road, it was a red card all day long. Both feet off the ground, then the right foot hits the ball, goes over the ball and down the defenders leg.

"Tackling" the ball is utterly irrelevant when the tackle is deemed to be dangerous.

Hopefully he is banned from football for life and hopefully United are insured against that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,385 ✭✭✭✭Liam O

If Valencia went in studs up he'll be rightly condemned but Digne did an interview with his socks still on and was acting the bollox all game. I doubt Valencia even slid at this stage with the evidence we have.

• Registered Users Posts: 25 john moloney

Yellow in my opinion.

I agree, there was no intent and because they werent sure i felt a yellow would have beeb fair