Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Most arrogant county in modern Hibernia

• Closed Accounts Posts: 237 ✭✭Wordless

Spoken like a true kildare man :)
    I jest!

Ha ha as much as I love Kildare I love the west too and all the Dubs I work with are sound :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭Herb Powell

As opposed to every muck spreading bogman culchie on the island

Dublin without a doubt, it's really only them who come out with this shhite most of the time. Even the scumbags outside Dublin are friendlier!

Capital city syndrome, like. No one would give a ****, but we're all bleeeedin culchies to ye.

Now Cork, there's a county that's earned it's arrogance :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭KKkitty

Jawgap wrote: »
    Not sure about that......:)

I was arranging a training visit to a company in Kilkenny once and they asked if they could change the date I'd allocated because it was the Tuesday after the All-Ireland Hurling Final Weekend......this was in April :)

Even though they did go on to win it that year, it was still pretty arrogant to be arranging the celebrations before a sliotar had been hit in anger.......

In all fairness how could you call that arrogance? That's just forward thinking :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

I always find it entertaining that the majority of people in Dublin are culchies and the culchies outside Dublin attack the ones within.

Dubs live in the suburbs and communter towns,culchies reside in the city centre with the junkies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,642 ✭✭✭MRnotlob606

people from kerry

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,642 ✭✭✭MRnotlob606

seems like kilkennny people have no other shirt then their kilkenny jersey, and they love prancing around other counties to let them know whos the boss in hurling.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 15 NilesCrane

MacBizzle wrote: »
    You're Orangesoda aren't you!?!? :D:D:D

Answering the question: It's definitely us down in Cork, or those Kilkenny hurling c*nts. Thinking about it now it's probably those Kilkenny hurling c*nts, at least we've more than our hurling to be proud of :cool:

no, i typed that name into the search box and their last activity was in may 2014, you joined in june 2014 so you maybe are a re-reg?

In other matters does anyone here watch Frasier at all?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,839 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Rasheed wrote: »
    Love what?

I think she means random debates by anonymous users on an internet forum.

I can't see the attraction myself though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Arthur Beesley

joeguevara wrote: »
    Any person who calls Ireland 'hibernia'!

Agreed. Sounds like something Michael D. Hobbit would say.

Cork langers and all this real capital crap.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 719 ✭✭✭Tobyglen

To be fair, Cork people are smarter, far better looking and much more powerful than the other saps produced in other counties.

Tobyglen wrote: »
    To be fair, Cork people are smarter, far better looking and much more powerful than the other saps produced in other counties.

All cork people? Or just the blowins?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,986 ✭✭✭WesternZulu

Carlow, the out-and-out arrogance to think that they could pull off their lollipop themed jersey!

seems like kilkennny people have no other shirt then their kilkenny jersey, and they love prancing around other counties to let them know whos the boss in hurling.

Well we are the county with the most wins after all so why not flaunt our success every once in a while.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,944 ✭✭✭✭Rothko

NilesCrane wrote: »
    no, i typed that name into the search box and their last activity was in may 2014, you joined in june 2014 so you maybe are a re-reg?

In other matters does anyone here watch Frasier at all?

I like Frasier

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭magentis

KKkitty wrote: »
    Well we are the county with the most wins after all so why not flaunt our success every once in a while.
    your footballers are fantastic though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭magentis

Has to be those nordies,trouble no matter where they go.

Leitrim......
    Said nobody ever!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 504 ✭✭✭Zed Bank

As a Waterford man who lives on the border, I have to put up with this kind of muppetry most days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,412 ✭✭✭Shakespeare's Sister

dd972 wrote: »
    village idiot island.
    Don't be so hard on yourself. :(

magentis wrote: »
    your footballers are fantastic though.

Might as well excel at one sport rather than be mediocre at two.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 913 ✭✭✭MacBizzle

Might as well excel at one sport rather than be mediocre at two.

Or just be like Cork and be class at three :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 756 ✭✭✭Vita nova

I always find it entertaining that the majority of people in Dublin are culchies and the culchies outside Dublin attack the ones within.

Dubs live in the suburbs and communter towns,culchies reside in the city centre with the junkies.

Whatever about the most arrogant county in Ireland, certainly any Dubliner who uses the term culchie is arrogant by definition, come on, using a synonym for a country bumpkin as a generic word for all non-Dubliners.

Fortunately from my 40+ years experience of Dubliners, it's only a small minority... about as common as an English person using the term Paddy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 516 ✭✭✭Jogathon

Or just be like Cork and be class at three :cool:

Three? What three? Is it not four? Hurling, football, camogie and ladies football? The only county that has done a treble, and the only county that could do all four.

Jogathon wrote: »
    Three? What three? Is it not four? Hurling, football, camogie and ladies football? The only county that has done a treble, and the only county that could do all four.

Make that five! Forgot about the ladies' equivalents.

Soccer, hurling, football, ladies' football, camogie. Basketball maybe. Aren't most of the cricket lads from Cork too?

We've Rob Heffernan too, and Sonia.

Oh Cork, we're so great :)

Soccer, hurling, football, ladies' football, camogie. Basketball maybe. Aren't most of the cricket lads from Cork too?

And Roy. Don't forget Roy.

ROG, Denis Irwin, Donncha O'Callaghan. Rory Gallagher grew up here too. Christy Ring.

Damn. Was hoping you would deny your claim on Roy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭Davarus Walrus

I've found Galway people often have a heightened sense of self-importance and misguided pride in the supposed magic and mystique of their county and city. Waxing lyrical about the culture and artistic 'vibe' about the place.

It's a small city with a theatre of no great artistic importance, a jaded art festival, a glut of neckbeards and crusties hanging around, and a handful of moderately decent pubs. You'd think some of the residents were living in 1920's Berlin the way they waffle on about it. Damp is the word that springs to mind when I think of Galway. It's a small parochial backwater.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭boodiebhoy

All that and great on the lambeg drum as well!

Damn. Was hoping you would deny your claim on Roy.

Joint ownership with Donegal ;)

Did he consider himself more of a Corkman or a Donegalman would you know? I've always wondered this :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,984 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

I've found Galway people often have a heightened sense of self-importance and misguided pride in the supposed magic and mystique of their county and city. Waxing lyrical about the culture and artistic 'vibe' about the place.

It's a small city with a theatre of no great artistic importance, a jaded art festival, a glut of neckbeards and crusties hanging around, and a handful of moderately decent pubs. You'd think some of the residents were living in 1920's Berlin the way they waffle on about it. Damp is the word that springs to mind when I think of Galway. It's a small parochial backwater.

We have a nice beach though :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,636 ✭✭✭feargale

That was to make sure people include all the island

Hibernia atque in duo partes divisa est. :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,636 ✭✭✭feargale

That was to make sure people include all the island

Hibernia atque in duo partes divisa est. :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,623 ✭✭✭thegreatgonzo

Most of that lyrical waxing you speak of is mainly from people who have moved to Galway. We can't help it if other people like the place so much they want to stay and tell the world how great it is:D

Also I think most of the crusties have moved to Clare now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 109 ✭✭kikidelvin

Fingal?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

The Kingdom. Sure just look at what they call themselves

Gouging tourists is the local pastime

Droning on about football, yawn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,499 ✭✭✭Potatoeman

Like Munster rugby fans when the Irish team are playing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

Yeah well.. that's just like, your opinion man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,876 ✭✭✭✭bear1

The amount of crap that can be said in one post amazes me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

Anyone that thinks they and the people residing near them are somehow different to other people due to the fact that they happen to reside a few miles more from them is a ****ing moron.

No one outside Ireland would be able to spot any noticeable difference between the personalities of people from Cork, Dublin, Clare, Louth or Galway, because there are none, and if you think you can then, at the risk of labouring the point, you're a ****ing moron.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭Davarus Walrus

bear1 wrote: »
    The amount of crap that can be said in one post amazes me.

Galway is a small city. It has a couple of pubs, a few decent restaurants and a small cultural scene. It's also the dampest place I've ever been to. The type of damp that seeps through your clothes and into your bones.

I went there for the 1st time expecting this vibrant melting pot of art, culture and food. What I got was a Latin Quarter that appeared to consist of two short streets, hugely overated fish and chips from McDonagh's, crusties hanging around the Spanish Arch, and lots of red-faced mucksavages drinking in the type of pub you'd find in anyother part of the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,876 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Galway is a small city. It has a couple of pubs, a few decent restaurants and a small cultural scene. It's also the dampest place I've ever been to. The type of damp that seeps through your clothes and into your bones.

I went there for the 1st time expecting this vibrant melting pot of art, culture and food. What I got was a Latin Quarter that appeared to consist of two short streets, hugely overated fish and chips from McDonagh's, crusties hanging around the Spanish Arch, and lots of red-faced mucksavages drinking in the type of pub you'd find in anyother part of the country.

You went there for the first time and had a bad experience, that doesn't make the city out the way you are saying it does.
    Shop Street (one of the 2 streets I guess you meant) is vibrant and touristy and then leads onto a nice promenade overlooking the ocean.
    Eyre Square on a sunny day is a lovely place.
    I had no idea Galway had 2 pubs, the center is just packed with pubs and clubs. As you said it's a small city so I don't know what you are expecting.. New York maybe? I've no idea what a crusty is either :confused:
    We are on an island, obviously cities next to the ocean/sea will have a damp feeling but I never got this damp feeling in Galway nor in Limerick/Cork/Waterford/Dublin whatever.
    We will obviously disagree on this so lets just leave it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,882 ✭✭✭Saipanne

Tyrone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,854 ✭✭✭lertsnim

There are arrogant ****ers in every county.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,623 ✭✭✭thegreatgonzo

It is small. Is that a bad thing?
    It has about 100 pubs between Salthill and Bohermore as you head out towards Tuam Rd as far as I know.
    It has more than a few decent restaurants in my opinion, personally I don't care about fish and chips so the McDonagh's thing isn't really for me but I don't expect everyone to like the same things as me.
    I'm sorry you don't like the colour of my country face but calling us muck savages makes you look like a churlish oaf not us.
    But you are right about the dampness especially as it never ever rains anywhere else in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,376 ✭✭✭The_Captain

Vita nova wrote: »
    Whatever about the most arrogant county in Ireland, certainly any Dubliner who uses the term culchie is arrogant by definition, come on, using a synonym for a country bumpkin as a generic word for all non-Dubliners.

Fortunately from my 40+ years experience of Dubliners, it's only a small minority... about as common as an English person using the term Paddy.

Hate to break it to you but pretty much every Dub use the word culchie to describe someone from not-Dublin (except Nordies).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,662 ✭✭✭dublinman1990

And Graham Norton and the lot from RTE as well like Paschal Sheehy, Jennie O'Sullivan, Daire O'Brien and George Hook as well. Don't forget that folks.

Back on topic. In my experience there are arrogant people living all over the country no matter what county in Ireland you'll find it. I have experienced this many times as a Dub myself and it's quite surprising as where you will find it even when its outside of Dublin.

A sensible question from the OP could be as to why is nearly every facet of Ireland's population is so arrogant in the first place?

That could be a topic for another thread. I wouldn't mind responding to that myself if I had the chance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,652 ✭✭✭I am pie

For such a small country we seem supremely capable of producing small minded twits who like to stereotype, criticise and generally moan about their own countrymen whilst failing to see their own faults.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

I am pie wrote: »
    For such a small country we seem supremely capable of producing small minded twits who like to stereotype, criticise and generally moan about their own countrymen whilst failing to see their own faults.

Yeah, they never do that in other countries.