Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Most arrogant county in modern Hibernia

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,105 ✭✭✭beano345

seems like kilkennny people have no other shirt then their kilkenny jersey, and they love prancing around other counties to let them know whos the boss in hurling.

Work in Kilkenny most days and it seems everybody carries a Hurley around...even the women!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

A lot of people are calling the Dubs arrogant. It's not arrogance if we're correct though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

Nailz wrote: »
    That may well be the case, but it's particularly true about the Dubs, they're just generally quite arrogant and some can be very annoying because of that. Reasons for such arrogance are typically unfounded too.

Yeah...I hate the way they generalise too....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

A lot of people are calling the Dubs arrogant. It's not arrogance if we're correct though.

Or if they're jealous....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,315 ✭✭✭Reventon93

I'm pretty sure theres at least 10 pubs in the Latin Quarter of Galway alone...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭Davarus Walrus

It has more than a few decent restaurants in my opinion, personally I don't care about fish and chips so the McDonagh's thing isn't really for me but I don't expect everyone to like the same things as me.

It has Aniar and Sushi in the Sky. Apart from that it isn't really a dining destination of note. Plenty of good places serving up decent food I'm sure, but it isn't exactly the gastronomic heart of Ireland. Most places on the west coast also have an awful tendency to take great seafood and then overcook it.

I don’t dislike Galway. It’s a grand spot. I’ve been there a number of times, and I’m sure I’ll be there again. What irks me is this idea that it’s the beating heart of Ireland’s art, music, food and culture scenes. It really isn’t. It’s pubs aren’t that special, it’s university is distinctly average and it’s art scene isn’t really up to much if you don’t like crusties with dreadlocks beating drums.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,934 ✭✭✭Renegade Mechanic

No one has mentioned Tipperary. Because we just put our heads down and get sh*t done. No moaning, no boasting no "holier than thou" attitude anywhere here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,984 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

No one has mentioned Tipperary. Because we just put our heads down and get sh*t done. No moaning, no boasting no "holier than thou" attitude anywhere here.

I saw a few of ye burn the Galway flag in the square in Portumna.

Amazing how a few pints of porter make lads brave.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭Davarus Walrus

The only thing worse than being talked about is not being talked about. The place is utterly irrelevant to be honest. It's the hairy belly button of Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭magentis

The only thing worse than being talked about is not being talked about. The place is utterly irrelevant to be honest. It's the hairy belly button of Ireland.

The hairy ar$ehole of Ireland more like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36 UserNo1

This thread made me laugh as a former Gaa follower

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭WilyCoyote

I miss orangesoda on these kinda threads. :cool:

Why? Did somebody drink it? Or did it get binned?

joeguevara wrote: »
    Any person who calls Ireland 'hibernia'!

Presumably that includes Julies Caesar?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

WilyCoyote wrote: »
    Presumably that includes Julies Caesar?

Pff. What did the Romans ever do for us?

old hippy wrote: »
    Pff. What did the Romans ever do for us?

Sweet FA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,507 ✭✭✭✭salmocab

Why do people think that the size of a city matters to the inhabitants? Telling people from Galway that their city is small is not an insult they won't be offended. People from Dublin don't think its a sprawling metropolis they know its a fairly big city for a city in the western world not massive but big, pointing out London is much bigger isn't an insult just a fact nobody in Dublin would care.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

Galway's own Donetsk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 913 ✭✭✭MacBizzle

You've just made yourself sound arrogant :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,485 ✭✭✭dj jarvis

B_Rabbit wrote: »
    Definitely the Dubs. Every second one thinks they're a fcuking comedian, as well as the most intelligent person alive.

Awwwww - did a jakeen show you up once ? - oh poor lambkins :-(
    It must have really stung seeing you dragged this view of an entire population of a county into adulthood ( im guessing you are over 16 ? )

those Dubs , sure are funny ****ers , but they are of average intelligence , its you that's just not clever - sorry to break it to you dude :-(

Amazing how a few pints of porter make lads brave.

Eh, thatd be the Offaly influence. We dont normally talk about them boys..

You know, going by your posts I dare say nothing could describe your way through life better than that bolded bit.
    Anyway, Tipperary is really just a very well kept secret;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 204 ✭✭STADEdeLUC

dj jarvis wrote: »
    Awwwww - did a jakeen show you up once ? - oh poor lambkins :-(
    It must have really stung seeing you dragged this view of an entire population of a county into adulthood ( im guessing you are over 16 ? )

those Dubs , sure are funny ****ers , but they are of average intelligence , its you that's just not clever - sorry to break it to you dude :-(

Thats a shocking post, Luimneach abú

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,485 ✭✭✭dj jarvis

STADEdeLUC wrote: »
    Thats a shocking post, Luimneach abú

na , the shocking bit is Limerick !!!!!!

anyone who have a blanket dislike of a county is a brain dead gobshoite
    thus making them LESS intelligent than the average ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭Duck's hoop

It has Aniar and Sushi in the Sky. Apart from that it isn't really a dining destination of note. Plenty of good places serving up decent food I'm sure, but it isn't exactly the gastronomic heart of Ireland. Most places on the west coast blah blah

I don’t dislike Galway. It’s a grand spot. I’ve been there a number of times, and I’m sure I’ll be there again. What irks me is this idea that it’s the beating heart of Ireland’s art, music, food and culture scenes. It really isn’t. It’s pubs aren’t that special, it’s university is distinctly average and it’s art scene isn’t really up to much if you don’t like crusties with dreadlocks beating drums.

It's not a spot for po faced condescension. In that regard you may have felt slightly out of place.

Btw, possessive pronoun 'its' has no apostrophe. (Alumnus of aforementioned distinctly average uni).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 756 ✭✭✭Vita nova

Hate to break it to you but pretty much every Dub use the word culchie to describe someone from not-Dublin (except Nordies).
    I've lived in and around Dublin most of my life (40+ years). I worked in Dublin for almost 18 years, most of my clients are in Dublin, I never heard any of my Dublin colleagues use the term culchie, and I'd be surprised if I did.

I've heard it used by Dubliners four times in the RL outside work.

Just because a word has a universal meaning amongst a group of people doesn't mean most use it. Just because Paddy is a term for an Irish person in England doesn't mean most English people use it... I could quote many other examples

As far as I'm concerned only ignorant Dubliners use culchie, likewise ignorant non-Dubliners use the J-word. In general only stupid prejudiced people use pejorative generics to describe any group of people of which they are not a member.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭Herb Powell

Vita nova wrote: »
    As far as I'm concerned only ignorant Dubliners use culchie, likewise ignorant non-Dubliners use the J-word. In general only stupid prejudiced people use pejorative generics to describe any group of people of which they are not a member.

Getting a good kick out of this one I must say :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,440 ✭✭✭The Aussie

dd972 wrote: »
    Dubs think they're living in some major world city when you could fit the city centre into Paris or London about six times over, Dublin thinks it's also cool and cosmopolitan when in reality it's obsessed with ''knacker'' and ''quare'' spotting like the rest of the village idiot island.

Loads of Corkonians have the weird notion that everyone else has missed out by not being born one of them even though the reality is the opposite.

Plus Ulster Prod's think they're some sort of Aryan, Calvinist, Nordic master race when in reality most of them are like a cross between Rab C Nesbitt and a Jeremy Kyle show guest.

Yep, that just about hits the nail on the head, thanks for saving me the effort...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

strobe wrote: »
    Anyone that thinks they and the people residing near them are somehow different to other people due to the fact that they happen to reside a few miles more from them is a ****ing moron.

No one outside Ireland would be able to spot any noticeable difference between the personalities of people from Cork, Dublin, Clare, Louth or Galway, because there are none, and if you think you can then, at the risk of labouring the point, you're a ****ing moron.

People think we're British for the love of go,d so they'd absolutely laugh in our ruddy, red, freckled Irish faces if we insisted that there was any noticeable difference between us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,376 ✭✭✭The_Captain

I've lived in and around Dublin most of my life (40+ years). I worked in Dublin for almost 18 years, most of my clients are in Dublin, I never heard any of my Dublin colleagues use the term culchie, and I'd be surprised if I did.

I've heard it used by Dubliners four times in the RL outside work.

Just because a word has a universal meaning amongst a group of people doesn't mean most use it. Just because Paddy is a term for an Irish person in England doesn't mean most English people use it... I could quote many other examples

I've lived in Dublin for over 30 years and it's the standard word used to describe someone from down the country. It's a bit bizarre that you think it's an insult to be honest

If its not an insult what is it?

A term of endearment?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 756 ✭✭✭Vita nova

I've lived in Dublin for over 30 years and it's the standard word used to describe someone from down the country.
    Not amongst the Dubliners I know
    It's a bit bizarre that you think it's an insult to be honest
    It's a synonym for a country bumpkin and you're using it as a generic word for non-Dubliners... it's not bizarre!
    Sure non-Dubliners use it but in a self-deprecating self-identifying way much the same way as black people use the N-word or Irish people use the term Paddy, that sense doesn't exist when a Dubliner or other urban dweller uses it.
    Maybe you should take a trip outside Dublin, and refer to the locals as culchies and see how people react.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,823 ✭✭✭WakeUp

dd972 wrote: »
    Dubs think they're living in some major world city when you could fit the city centre into Paris or London about six times over, Dublin thinks it's also cool and cosmopolitan when in reality it's obsessed with ''knacker'' and ''quare'' spotting like the rest of the village idiot island

Dublin is a global world city. Cities are ranked alpha,beta,gamma Dublin has an alpha - ranking placing it in the top 48 cities on the planet. Hardly major but hardly insignificant either.

WakeUp wrote: »
    Dublin is a global world city. Cities are ranked alpha,beta,gamma Dublin has an alpha - ranking placing it in the top 48 cities on the planet. Hardly major but hardly insignificant either.

Its still a kip though.

magentis wrote: »
    Its still a kip though.

:-)

Huh, only half an hour into the day and I've already learned my new thing. This is a real thing.

Ranked above places like Rome, Berlin, Lisbon and Athens. Same ranking as Washington, D.C. :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,297 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

Huh, only half an hour into the day and I've already learned my new thing. This is a real thing.

Ranked above places like Rome, Berlin, Lisbon and Athens. Same ranking as Washington, D.C. :eek:

From Dublin, happy to be from Dublin and like James Joyce said, "when I die Dublin will be found engraved on my heart"

But the idea that Dublin is a significant city globally is ridiculous. If it wasn't a capital city it wouldn't even be significant in European terms.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 656 ✭✭✭NipNip

Haven't read thread, but Cork people tend to be quite arrogant about their place of birth.

I'm friends with people from loads of different parts of Ireland, and different parts of the world. We all get along grand most of the time sure.

There's díckheads in every town, in every city, in every country in the world too. Luckily they're in the minority.

Lots of angry people in this thread though. Some of the vitriol spouted here is pretty unsettling and worrying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,375 ✭✭✭DoesNotCompute

Has to be Donegal.

Bandits who take more out of the economy than they put in, then they wonder why their county is so devoid of services. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,205 ✭✭✭Wompa1

Jesus, This Hibernia place you're all talking about sounds f'kin terrible!

Parts of Dublin but not all of it.

Never really had a problem with Cork. Most people I've met there and from there have been fairly sound. They are a different breed though!

I like Donegal. Only problem there is the boy racers.

Galway has got up it's own hole from around 1999 onwards. It's always been a small town labelled as a city, with the beautiful waterways, salthill right there, good food, bad shops. A small town for humble people. Unfortunately, at some point it went from Irish people playing Irish music and doing cultural things out of tradition, pride and passion. To this bohemian nonsense, in which people are trying to live with some heightened sense of self importance and frankly considering the always high unemployment rate, entitlement.

I miss the old Galway. When there was still a sense of community. I'd guess that generation died off, their places were sold off or rented out to students. And the only ones left in the city are students or the career unemployed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,733 ✭✭✭Balmed Out

You're having a laugh, that or you misunderstand the word(s) bizarre or insult.

Jawgap wrote: »
    From Dublin, happy to be from Dublin and like James Joyce said, "when I die Dublin will be found engraved on my heart"

But the idea that Dublin is a significant city globally is ridiculous. If it wasn't a capital city it wouldn't even be significant in European terms.

You're entitled to your opinion and all, but I'd be inclined to put more weight in that of the guys at the Globalization and World Cities Research Network. It just seems like they would know more about it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,091 ✭✭✭✭bnt

I wonder if they have threads like this in the USA? "Most arrogant county in modern Colorado"?

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

―Oscar Wilde predicting Social Media, in The Picture of Dorian Gray

bnt wrote: »
    I wonder if they have threads like this in the USA? "Most arrogant county in modern Colorado"?

There'd be nothing to discuss, it's clearly El Paso.

You're entitled to your opinion and all, but I'd be inclined to put more weight in that of the guys at the Globalization and World Cities Research Network. It just seems like they would know more about it!

The fact that they rank Dublin ahead of Rome, Berlin, Tel Aviv, Luxembourg, Rio de Janeiro, etc suggests their methodology is somewhat flawed......

..........the fact that they rank Dublin as equivalent to Washington D.C., Boston, Zurich, Seoul, San Francisco, and Delhi merely confirms it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭Herb Powell

Not amongst the Dubliners I know

It's a synonym for a country bumpkin and you're using it as a generic word for non-Dubliners... it's not bizarre!
    Sure non-Dubliners use it but in a self-deprecating self-identifying way much the same way as black people use the N-word or Irish people use the term Paddy, that sense doesn't exist when a Dubliner or other urban dweller uses it.
    Maybe you should take a trip outside Dublin, and refer to the locals as culchies and see how people react.

It's not even remotely close to "niigger".

And funny how you had no problem typing "culchie"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,733 ✭✭✭Balmed Out

It's not even remotely close to "niigger".

And funny how you had no problem typing "culchie"

the c word might confuse :)

Jawgap wrote: »
    The fact that they rank Dublin ahead of Rome, Berlin, Tel Aviv, Luxembourg, Rio de Janeiro, etc suggests their methodology is somewhat flawed......

..........the fact that they rank Dublin as equivalent to Washington D.C., Boston, Zurich, Seoul, San Francisco, and Delhi merely confirms it.

Yep , as Dublin is ranked higher than and equivalent to the above obviously the methodology is flawed. And the cities ranked above Dublin it's flawed for them too. Wonder why they even bothered with the ranking system at all and why cities actively seek alpha status wonder what that's all about :-)

Balmed Out wrote: »
    the c word might confuse :)

Or not:D

Yep , as Dublin is ranked higher than and equivalent to the above obviously the methodology is flawed. And the cities ranked above Dublin it's flawed for them too. Wonder why they even bothered with the ranking system at all and why cities actively seek alpha status wonder what that's all about :-)

By their own admission it's a ranking based on "....connectivity through four "advanced producer services": accountancy, advertising, banking/finance, and law."

There's much more to city life that those four activities/services.

I think Dublin is a great city - I grew up here, went to uni here, and now I'm lucky to work here. It's a nice city that has a 'human' scale to it, it's easy to move around, the architecture is nice and there's plenty happening......

......but you can say that about dozens of other cities (a lot with better weather, much better public transport and greater cultural offerings).

It's a second or third rate European capital - or to put it another way, if the city disappeared into a huge hole tomorrow would the world actually notice?