Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Today I saw a classic and took a pic thread! Part 2

• Registered Users Posts: 2,807 ✭✭✭BionicRasher

Tip top mint condition

111716.jpg

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,159 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

That's a beauty! :eek: :) I think they're still a very stylish looking car especially in the coupe version. So tiny though. Fantastic access to the oily bits as well.

My dad had one of them before I came along and for a while after. As a baby I was stuffed into a Moses basket behind the passenger seat. Safety be damned. :D He loved that car, but it had to go and he couldn't give it away back then and it was a Triumph works car. Bigger engine, twin carbs, disk brakes, mount on the dash for stopwatches, beefed up suspension too. Almost certainly turned into manhole covers now. :( Be worth few bob today.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,995 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

Are the wipers fitted back to front or were they all fitted the same way regardless of RHD or LHD?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,270 ✭✭✭Chiparus

Are the wipers fitted back to front or were they all fitted the same way regardless of RHD or LHD?

Google images of the herald and LHD versions have the wipers reversed .

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 2,957 Mod ✭✭✭✭macplaxton

Are the wipers fitted back to front

A lot of RHD cars had wipers fitted that way in ye olden days.

Austin%201100%20(1).jpg
    Triumph-dolomite-sprint.jpg
    1969-hillman-hunter-gt-with-female-model_a-l-15102105-14258387.jpg
    ford-anglia-105e_17018.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 2,937 ✭✭✭SmartinMartin

An actual1979 Abu Dhabi Police car. Bit different than the Garda Renault 4s!

20181130-131453.jpg

20181130-131435.jpg

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,558 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dades

Very cool!

• Registered Users Posts: 9,060 ✭✭✭Kenny Logins

The exhausts on all those 6 series were awful. They look like they were an afterthought and their central position looks tacky.

They don't look like that yoke.

...and they're slightly off-centre to the right to pass between the spare wheel well (on the left) and fuel tank.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,937 ✭✭✭SmartinMartin

• Registered Users Posts: 17,266 ✭✭✭✭gammygils

1985 Merc 280SL (I think) spotted in Tuam tonight in the dark

WH1DT71h.jpg

X7oyu83h.jpg

4LayX0Dh.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 1,268 ✭✭✭MrCostington

gammygils wrote: »
    1985 Merc 280SL (I think) spotted in Tuam tonight in the dark

That's a W123 Coupe so a 280CE (assuming it's a 280!) - the C is for coupe and the E means fuel injection

• Registered Users Posts: 65,438 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

That's a W123 Coupe so a 280CE (assuming it's a 280!)

Reg says it is a 280CE!

No tax though and hasn't had an NCT in a decade. Lovely car all the same.

unkel wrote: »
    Reg says it is a 280CE!

No tax though and hasn't had an NCT in a decade. Lovely car all the same.

How are you finding the tax details, I know of the NCTS site and Carrtell etc but just see the rates on motortax.ie?

• Registered Users Posts: 65,438 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

carsireland.ie

Click to advertise a car, enter the reg, and the site will reliably tell you until when the tax and NCT are valid as well as a load of other info about options, number of owners etc. (a lot of this other info is not very reliable though)

• Registered Users Posts: 12,079 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

Ringsend

45305726835_f799a96a4a_c.jpg

Ringsend

Am pretty sure this car parks in my office (East Wall Rd) the odd time - driver looks like I remember - I did think to take a pic but he generally parks near the security hut so felt odd taking a pic. He did park beside me once, I hung around for a few seconds but he was not getting out. Hate bothering people :)

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,558 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dades

Ringsend
    Great shot - like something you'd see in a classic car mag. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

Ringsend

Back in 77, 78 , 79 I took a leather walloping from a christian brother because I was late back to school after looking at a brand new one of them at lunchtime.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,995 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

A couple of Citroens. The first in Portmarnock yesterday evening and the second in Skerries this morning.

ueXavOEh.jpg

3bBSSRkh.jpg?1

• Registered Users Posts: 725 ✭✭✭IrishPlayer

Arran Quay, Dublin
    IMG-20181208-132103.jpg
    IMG-20181208-132106.jpg
    IMG-20181208-132118.jpg
    IMG-20181208-132120.jpg

That Visa is an excellent spot. It was on DoneDeal recently in the midlands for near enough €10k. I wonder if it has been sold to Dublin

• Registered Users Posts: 7,101 ✭✭✭Max Headroom

A couple of Citroens. The first in Portmarnock yesterday evening and the second in Skerries this morning.

ueXavOEh.jpg

3bBSSRkh.jpg?1

You been chased by Claude Greengrass...........:p

• Registered Users Posts: 22,319 ✭✭✭✭Esel

sligojoek wrote: »
    Back in 77, 78 , 79 I took a leather walloping from a christian brother because I was late back to school after looking at a brand new one of them at lunchtime.
    Glutton for punishment? :)

Not your ornery onager

Thought you would have learned after 77............:P
    Youd pay good money for that sort of carry-on thesedays.....:D

• Registered Users Posts: 629 ✭✭✭Tommyboy40

We had a brother who kept his up his sleeve, called it Rebecca

Tommyboy40 wrote: »
    We had a brother who kept his up his sleeve, called it Rebecca

Dirty boy....I call mine Pamela.....she's very "hands on"........:D.

BTW..didnt see ANY classics out today..:o

Coolock

45365044735_563afb4f99_c.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 1,497 ✭✭✭woejus

Looked brand new, looked like a total rebuild.

VY4RS7Z.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 111 ✭✭Donegal Overlanding

I didn't take this today so hopefully I'm not derailing the thread. I did take it a few months back in Donegal though and I obviously had to park next to it in my 1996 Disco.

By the way what year does a vehicle have to be to be considered a classic?

porsche.jpg

Nice Beetle ;)

Is suppose 30 years old is the technical answer to your question, but you can insure 15 year old cars as classics these days! Its really subjective