Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Today I saw a classic and took a pic thread! Part 2

• Registered Users Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭power pants

how come the mark 1 escorts have the wing mirrors at windows, when I was younger and had a mark 1 the wing mirrors were chrome and at the front of each wing?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,033 ✭✭✭Silvera

Run of the mill stuff is pretty boring though it has to be said. I can't understand how some people pay so much money for bland cars like Escorts and Kadetts and similar. I just don't get that really.

Nostalgia/Memories of youth.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,079 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

Run of the mill stuff is pretty boring though it has to be said. I can't understand how some people pay so much money for bland cars like Escorts and Kadetts and similar. I just don't get that really.

It's nice to see a nice, original "run of the mill" yoke on the road and at shows compared to a Uk plated €50k Jag that gets trailered around by an old ponce of an owner who wouldn't let you breathe on it

In my opinion of course..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,585 ✭✭✭jca

It's nice to see a nice, original "run of the mill" yoke on the road and at shows compared to a Uk plated €50k Jag that gets trailered around by an old ponce of an owner who wouldn't let you breathe on it

In my opinion of course..

Exactly.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,428 ✭✭✭tc20

daily driver spotted at lunchtime

tc20 wrote: »
    daily driver spotted at lunchtime

Interesting to see a Mk1 Fiesta being used in it's 'working clothes' (as opposed to a restored example)! :)

Silvera wrote: »
    Interesting to see a Mk1 Fiesta being used in it's 'working clothes' (as opposed to a restored example)! :)

Indeed - quite a rare sight these days outside of the show arena.
    We rented a Mk1 on holidays when I was a kid (79/80) and a neighbour had a Ghia model from new in the metallic brown of the time.

Indeed - quite a rare sight these days outside of the show arena.
    We rented a Mk1 on holidays when I was a kid (79/80) and a neighbour had a Ghia model from new in the metallic brown of the time.

My dad owned a 1978 white Mk1 Fiesta 'NIC 538' back in the 80's (got it at a good price). It was kinda 'souped up' by a previous owner (wide black arches and 4-spoke Ford alloys) ...my dad often had young male drivers asking him was it for sale! :D

Ghia Fiesta? That was a rare model in Ireland back in those days!

• Registered Users Posts: 12,079 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

1723246_684547694920791_993920718_n.jpg?oh=f9ed36e962fc23a5929f8bc59791f884&oe=55E4199A

This was my daily driver last year. Bought for €200, drove her on for a few months and got €380 for it. It was a solid car! Also 311 BLI is also a Mk1 Fiesta still going round Westmeath with it's original owner

^^ My Uncle owned a new Mk1 Fiesta in that colour back in 1983...he won it in a draw! It was a 'San Moritz' model and only had c.25,000 miles on it when he sold it on c.1996.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,042 ✭✭✭kaizersoze

^^ My Uncle owned a new Mk1 Fiesta in that colour back in 1983...he won it in a draw! It was a 'San Moritz' model and only had c.25,000 miles on it when he sold it on c.1996.

We had a 1980 model in that beige colour. Our first family car. Twas a dinger to go. 29EIM was the reg. I'd love to find it but it's probably well gone by now. Still shows up on MyWheels though.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,264 ✭✭✭✭Standard Toaster

Lovely British Racing Green 1965 Jaguar E Type on M1. She could move!

BRD 999C

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭Long Time Lurker

Some from the American show in Kinnegad today. Never been before. Bit of an anti climax. Not a great number of cars on display and an awful lot of it was junk. I know the scene is small but I was just expecting something a bit better. Pretty much a glorified parish festival with some pretty basic folks. Anyway heres what I thought was worth taking a picture off.

My dad owned a 1978 white Mk1 Fiesta 'NIC 538' back in the 80's (got it at a good price). It was kinda 'souped up' by a previous owner (wide black arches and 4-spoke Ford alloys) ...my dad often had young male drivers asking him was it for sale! :D

Ghia Fiesta? That was a rare model in Ireland back in those days!

I think my neighbour bought it (the Ghia) as a retirement gift to himself. It was only used as a shopping car, he'd often just sit in the car in the drive, door open, having a fag and watching the world go by.

Another daily spotted in the business park - looks to be in good condition. I'm not too up on my Civics, so not sure what model this one is

• Registered Users Posts: 3,382 ✭✭✭jimmyw

I think my neighbour bought it (the Ghia) as a retirement gift to himself. It was only used as a shopping car, he'd often just sit in the car in the drive, door open, having a fag and watching the world go by.

Another daily spotted in the business park - looks to be in good condition. I'm not too up on my Civics, so not sure what model this one is

Wow, what good condition she is in.We used to have a red one.Twin carbs, lively machine.Ya cant bate the honda. :DThey were made between 88-92 I think.

This is her here beside my other accord a good few years ago.

• Registered Users Posts: 568 ✭✭✭CianDon

Worthersee show wwek/sorta month has been kicking off down my neck of the woods in Austria the past few days. Plenty of ground scraping modern stuff but great mix of proper older stuff thrown in

17098537967_c3f159aca7_c.jpg

17118437200_29905a38db_c.jpg

16683525664_3050b37408_c.jpg

17305520341_f01d592687_c.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭Diabhalta

cork
    20150428_161551.jpg

20150428_161633.jpg

20150428_163343.jpg

20150428_163330.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 2,324 ✭✭✭w124man

CianDon wrote: »
    Worthersee show wwek/sorta month has been kicking off down my neck of the woods in Austria the past few days. Plenty of ground scraping modern stuff but great mix of proper older stuff thrown in

I love looking at the Worthersee FB page. Some really fabulous cars there.

w124man wrote: »
    I love looking at the Worthersee FB page. Some really fabulous cars there.

If your on FB I'm gonna be uploading plenty of pics over the next few weeks from all around Worthersee at https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.10205359091830519.1073741858.1045385322&type=1&l=98fd1c1491. Its the weirdest event to get the head around in so much as the actual organised 'show' is in 2 weeks time but between then and now we're gonna get thousands of show quality cars down for a few days at a time who stay around for a few days in the general Worthersee area, park up a few times and head away again without ever going near the 'show'. The petrol station I was at yesterday had about 60 top show cars parked up and then their owners stood around or sat watching hundreds more drive up and down banging turbo's and spinning wheels.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,219 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Not sure what you're going to make of this one....

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    Not sure what you're going to make of this one....

What the hell?!:eek: ...looks like talcum powder exploded all over it?!:D

• Registered Users Posts: 6,222 ✭✭✭bonzodog2

I reckon its been in a corner of a dusty shed for a longtime and it hasn't rained yet.

If your on FB I'm gonna be uploading plenty of pics over the next few weeks from all around Worthersee at https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.10205359091830519.1073741858.1045385322&type=1&l=98fd1c1491. Its the weirdest event to get the head around in so much as the actual organised 'show' is in 2 weeks time but between then and now we're gonna get thousands of show quality cars down for a few days at a time who stay around for a few days in the general Worthersee area, park up a few times and head away again without ever going near the 'show'. The petrol station I was at yesterday had about 60 top show cars parked up and then their owners stood around or sat watching hundreds more drive up and down banging turbo's and spinning wheels.

Brilliant stuff

17119298817_fbe2218025_c.jpg

17137327710_c381538b69_c.jpg

16706493983_ed7cde2d33_c.jpg

17326743845_01bc8a34af_c.jpg

17326740415_5fea725f2e_c.jpg

16706496203_ffda137873_c.jpg

@ Ciandon ..... One of the pics I saw had a red T3 Syncro. Did you take it?

@ everyone else ..... how do you get paintwork that shiny? Golf G60

• Registered Users Posts: 617 ✭✭✭mikehn

Listowel today a few oldies at the Military Reenactment.
    [IMG][/img]DSC00178_1.jpg
    [IMG][/img]DSC00179.jpg
    [IMG][/img][IMG][/img]DSC00182.jpg
    [IMG][/img]DSC00198.jpg
    That last one would'nt be the most aerodynamic set up ever, check out the attachments to the load bed.:eek:

Clonmel Vintage & Classic Car Club - 6th Annual Show Autojumble & Auction Sunday 3rd May 2015.

Went to this show in Clonmel today (c. 2 hour drive for me, each way).

Having read the leaflet advertising this show/autojumble/sale (handed out at Durrow show two weeks ago) it seemed like it was going to be a good day out, i.e. leaflet stated 'Draw for vintage car, Auction by well known personality, bikes, cars, tractors, kiddies funfair, visit by Welsh Motor Club, etc etc
    What a disappointment! Only about 8 x cars lined up for sale/auction and only 2 x autojumble stands ....I was hoping for at least 8-10 x autojumble stands! (There was a closed-in area if weather was an issue for autojumblers)

Added to that the fact that the vintage/classic cars werent even clearly 'sectioned off' from where visitors were parking their (modern) cars made the whole event seem 'cluttered' and unorganised?! What a disappointment :(

Took a few pics. Left after 20 mins (waste of €10 entry fee...plus c.€30 in petrol, snacks) :(

• Registered Users Posts: 2,565 ✭✭✭Blue850

I was at Clonmel too, autojumble was very disappointing alright, the weather didn't help and they did say another event in Thurles took away from the day.
    2 hr drive for me too but got in as an exhibitor with a 1990 Merc:rolleyes:

edit: Paid a tenner on raffle tickets but luckily DIDN'T win the Allegro Vanden Plas

Small turnout but there was some very nice cars there.

DSC04548.jpg

DSC04538.jpg

DSC04559.jpg

DSC04610.jpg

DSC04618.jpg

DSC04617.jpg

DSC04624.jpg

DSC04634.jpg

DSC04673.jpg

DSC04541.jpg

DSC04537.jpg

Worthersee has been bouncing all weekend with every meet up and roadside packed and thousands of cars about but some sweet classics floating about giving a proper lesson in style to all the fancy lads in modern cars

17153301907_a9b54e0711_c.jpg

17360418281_359ca7955a_c.jpg

17358858292_204e891d9f_c.jpg

17174573759_4f876e007e_c.jpg

17172986738_2bb3c46e67_c.jpg

17358871302_27e63ce09d_c.jpg

17334800316_f47f01c9e0_c.jpg

17173186640_6b81f869d4_c.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭Diabhalta

Worthersee has been bouncing all weekend with every meet up and roadside packed and thousands of cars about but some sweet classics floating about giving a proper lesson in style to all the fancy lads in modern cars

17360418281_359ca7955a_c.jpg

Germans have incredible ability the destroy the look of any car with some really s**ty wheels.