Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Today I saw a classic and took a pic thread! Part 2

• Registered Users Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭mb1725

^^ That Minor was in Cork yesterday, gets around.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭Diabhalta

mint Sierra (Mahon Point shopping centre, Cork)

20160517_125339.jpg

Little Island, Cork

20160517_162307.jpg

20160517_162052.jpg

20160517_162117.jpg

20160517_162338.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 7,042 ✭✭✭kaizersoze

Diabhalta wrote: »
    mint Sierra (Mahon Point shopping centre, Cork)

20160517_125339.jpg

Sweet.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,159 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

kaizersoze wrote: »
    Sweet.
    +1. That's in fantastic condition too. I can't remember the last time I saw one in the wild. I knew a few back in the day. Mates who had them, from basic models through the range up to Cossies. Revolutionary looks at the time. Usual Ford dead easy to work on.

I do recall rust in the hidden spots could be a real issue with them. Or maybe that was just the few I knew? One chap had a gorgeous burgundy coloured RWD Cosworth. He was the second owner(IIRC he worked in a company that had a group scheme so could afford the insurance). He loved that car. One day in a mutual mechanic mate's garage they put it up on the lift to fit antiroll bushings I think and everything looked as clean as above until a closer inspection of the inner sills. :eek: Serious tinworm. And it was not an old car at that stage.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users Posts: 568 ✭✭✭CianDon

That's my buddy's 325i with the black BBS's. Serious weapon of a car, preety much a bare shell rebuild a few years back. Totally mint all rount, and by god does it sound incredible on the road

CianDon wrote: »
    That's my buddy's 325i with the black BBS's. Serious weapon of a car, preety much a bare shell rebuild a few years back. Totally mint all rount, and by god does it sound incredible on the road

Both cars have black BBSs :) ... tell him to put some air into his tyres. Esp the right front one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,973 ✭✭✭Sh1tbag OToole

Renault

• Registered Users Posts: 4,033 ✭✭✭Silvera

Renault

Lovely (Swiss) Renault Alpine :cool:

Judging by the lack of a rear plate...either a dealer's car or the owner has 'dual use plates' i.e. two cars registered under one set of plates.

Grand Parade, Cork

20160520_130610.jpg

20160520_130625.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 1,497 ✭✭✭woejus

Michael Bolton Greatest Hits on centre console...

0HwODa2.jpg

wjr77SR.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 17,266 ✭✭✭✭gammygils

VW Camper in Tuam today

• Registered Users Posts: 20,054 ✭✭✭✭neris

This came in to the yard today

20160522_152536.jpg

20160522_152530.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 2,428 ✭✭✭tc20

^ that Maestro looks immaculate. Is the W123 yours neris?

a rare enough E30 4x4 (LHD) in Greystones yesterday, the Wolseley was in D4.
    Also, the W108 with the Michael Bolton fan posted on the last page is for sale

https://www.donedeal.ie/vintagecars-for-sale/mercedes-280se-3-5-v8-w108-greasemonkey-ie/12148872

• Registered Users Posts: 20,054 ✭✭✭✭neris

Neither of them are mine. The black merc belongs to the guy in the unit next to us , he does up old trucks and cars and was stripping down a 95 C class at the weekend. The van was 2 northern lads who came to look at the cars and vans of the guy we share our unit with.

Not my pics but was a classic car run in Howth yesterday so nicked these from HYC.IE

13230325_1222807014404818_980591862004581138_n.jpg?oh=efe5802b408f7ae4168c1dd7a4777464&oe=57E227A2

13254029_1222807011071485_2529498561917907768_n.jpg?oh=8aebb403c257b5068207c8f09ec8eb89&oe=57D63F65

13244716_1222807047738148_6589458047350717563_n.jpg?oh=525a2f815b7594b80e608da1d515aae5&oe=57E02CFC

a few from lunchtime around Bray

(excuse the bad pic of the TVR)
    the E30 is a regular if not daily driver
    iirc the W123 was for sale not too long ago

• Registered Users Posts: 287 ✭✭winnie the schtink

woejus wrote: »
    Michael Bolton Greatest Hits on centre console...

0HwODa2.jpg

wjr77SR.jpg

if you listen closely you can hear it rusting

• Registered Users Posts: 2,917 ✭✭✭red sean

if you listen closely you can hear it rusting

Is that a Michael Bolton song? :p:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 111 ✭✭john hanrahan

neris wrote: »
    This came in to the yard today

20160522_152536.jpg

20160522_152530.jpg

that merc is a w116

• Registered Users Posts: 3,105 ✭✭✭hi5

20160522_152530.jpg

That reg is worth more than the van, I'd say its just resting there:)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,033 ✭✭✭Silvera

^^^ I thought the same about the reg plate when I first saw the pic. A nice long-term investment for the owner of the Maestro van!

Some Porsche 911 owner will pay good money for that plate down the line!

• Registered Users Posts: 568 ✭✭✭CianDon

26717443344_74f580f48d_c.jpg

27049852560_ec78cde4a7_c.jpg

27049787310_244cc978cd_c.jpg

27324640555_968006f7c5_c.jpg

26717400404_0d56845585_c.jpg

27227628402_011cca9dbd_c.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭mb1725

26717443344_74f580f48d_c.jpg

That could almost pass for a 1970s sales brochure shot.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,079 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

I was just going to say, that is a stunning car (and photo)

Great work

• Registered Users Posts: 9,256 ✭✭✭squonk

I love the two toyota coupés. Not sure what they are but I love that era of Toyota design. I think the really nailed it.

Why are those wheels so small on that blue Escort? Esp. the rear ones. I noticed that on Capris mk1 and mk2 as well. They are tucked in inside which means they are far from wheel arches making the car funny looking. Must have zero traction in corners making the car useless.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,105 ✭✭✭hi5

Diabhalta wrote: »
    Why are those wheels so small on that blue Escort? Esp. the rear ones. I noticed that on Capris mk1 and mk2 as well. They are tucked in inside which means they are far from wheel arches making the car funny looking. Must have zero traction in corners making the car useless.

Cos they know that in 40 years time everyone would be sticking 7x13 minilites and revolutions on.:)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,159 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

squonk wrote: »
    I love the two toyota coupés. Not sure what they are but I love that era of Toyota design. I think the really nailed it.
    Toyota a86's? I like that look too myself
    hi5 wrote: »
    Cos they know that in 40 years time everyone would be sticking 7x13 minilites and revolutions on.:)
    . :D T'was the fashion at the time. Now we've gone the other extreme with rubber bands stretched over 40 inch rims. On a Yaris. :) As for traction.. I ran a couple of Capris and drove many a Mark 2 escort, inc one RS2000 and found traction wasn't an issue really. Both were very forgiving at the limit and tended to let you know way before the ditch and fiery death beckoned. There's a reason why the Escort was one of the most successful race cars ever made. The brakes on the other hand. Or lack thereof. Oh god get from any modern yoke into a Ford from that era and it'll be a shock alright.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

couple of recent spots -

the Lancia (I think) looked to be in fantastic condition

The Orange Beetle is a daily driver

• Registered Users Posts: 4,358 ✭✭✭kev1.3s

Lancia is a series 1 Fulvia berlinia 2c, very rare little car. I seen it a month ago or so with the engine and gearbox on the floor, nice to see her back on the road.